This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Taj Pamodzi Hotel
Taj Pamodzi Hotel
Taj Pamodzi Hotel

Reviews of Taj Pamodzi Hotel

Wildlife sightings and reviews

82 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Taj Pamodzi Hotel and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 51-60 of 82
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs SA
Norfolk

"Back to earth with a bump"

1 night Arrived 15 Oct 2008
"I am sure the service was good however after Tafika we felt that the hotel did not really want to see us and we were just another 2 tourists passing through.

The evening meal was poor.....we had a steak each and returned Pam's since it was cold and we were not sure it had been cooked.

The room was average and neither Pam or I slept well.........Oh for the delights of Tafika." See all these reviews: 12n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Average
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Poor
Mr & Mrs S
Northants

"the end of our holiday unfortunately!"

1 night Arrived 10 Oct 2008
"well organised but a shock after the bush !" See all these reviews: 14n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Dr & Mrs C
Henley

"Taj Pamodzi Hotel review"

1 night Arrived 3 Oct 2008
"smart place and very typical international hotel. Indian buffet meal was fun. They need to advise visitors to Luzaka Airport that they will meet them outside the terminal, not inside with other "meet and greet" activities.

1/2 hour trip to airport is fine.

A bit unnecessarily smart for the ex-bushcamp folk who looked rather scruffy compared with the immaculate locals. One nearer and cheaper for the airport would probably do." See all these reviews: 14n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mr GP
Manchester

"good stopover at taj"

1 night Arrived 1 Oct 2008
"good hotel for one night stopover did everything it said on the tin pick up on time ,nice room ,excellent room service and food breakfast ready at five as stated transport to airport may be a touch early but people on the bus were on an earlier flight to joburg so that could be the reason

a nice rest before flight home" See all these reviews: 12n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr C
Canada

"Taj Pamodzi Hotel review"

1 night Arrived 24 Sep 2008
"A night at the Taj Pamodzi is a very nice way to end a trip in Zambia." See all these reviews: 16n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs M
Nottingham

"Taj Pamodzi Hotel review"

1 night Arrived 24 Sep 2008
"An overly ornate gin palace dripping with wealth with poverty nextdoor. A real culture shock after a safari very inpersonal and beeter suited to business clients than tourists even if they want a bit of comfort on their final night in Zambia, suggest you consider alternatives (Anna I know you are doing)

I wanted to go back to the bush!!"!" See all these reviews: 9n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
The Sand Martins
Oxon

"Taj Pamodzi Hotel review"

1 night Arrived 22 Sep 2008
"Only spent barely 12 hours there; location was very convenient for the early morning return flight to the UK.

The transfer with Voyages Ndola worked well." See all these reviews: 12n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Four
Wokingham

"Taj Pamodzi Hotel review"

1 night Arrived 22 Sep 2008
"Was here 15 years ago and the hotel has improved beyond recognition." See all these reviews: 6n in Zambia; 5n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Mr P
Wallingford

"Poor value for money - certainly not 4/5 star"

1 night Arrived 15 Sep 2008
"We only stayed 1 night here en route to our Kafue safari . It took over 2 hours to have a one course meal since the meal my wife ordered from the menu was not what was placed in front of her and we had to reorder. The staff said they did not have half the ingredients including the main one!!

Our room was very noisy throughout the night - we do not know what it was - some kind of machinery - and we found in the early hours that the toilet did not flush. All this was reported to the duty manager in the morning and he took my email address - I have still not heard from them.

On a point of safety there was a small step from the bathroom to the bedroom which we both tripped or fell over during the night - fortunately with no injury. This is an unnecessary hazard.

We were also briefed to expert a message in the hotel from Wilderness Safaris concerning our flight to Kafue. Despite asking 3 times during the evening we were there and also the following morning we heard nothing. The end result was another Wilderness shambles with us being stranded on the wrong side of Lusaka Airport as the Taj Pomodzi driver had no idea where Sefofane was and was misdirected to the wrong operator!!" See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia; 3n in South Africa; 1n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Poor

Location:
Good
Service:
Poor
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Poor
Food:
Average
G & G
Glasgow

"Taj Pamodzi Hotel review"

1 night Arrived 12 Sep 2008
"Clean efficient business hotel.

Arrived late and left early so not much more than a bed for the night.

As the early transfer back to airport is at 5.30am, there's no time to get breakfast so a room only rate would be better." See all these reviews: 12n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Showing 51-60 of 82
78%
82 reviews of Taj Pamodzi Hotel by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
18
45
15
2
2
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zambia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zambia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Lusaka area

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Pioneer Camp

Pioneer Camp

Pioneer Camp, situated 14 kilometres from Lusaka's international airport is ideal for a night's stopover at the end of your trip.


79% (122 reviews)
Latitude 15

Latitude 15

Latitude 15 is a small but comfortable, boutique hotel in Lusaka's suburbs, with a modern, Africa-chic style.


93% (58 reviews)
Eight Reedbuck Hotel

Eight Reedbuck Hotel

Eight Reedbuck looks like any other Zambian house in the road, but inside you'll find it to be an interesting and eclectic little hotel with a real flavour of Zambia.


84% (38 reviews)
Radisson Blu Hotel

Radisson Blu Hotel

Radisson Blu is a modern hotel with friendly staff, spacious rooms and good facilities just 20 minutes’ drive from Lusaka Airport.


83% (38 reviews)
Lilayi Lodge

Lilayi Lodge

Lilayi is a boutique lodge on the outskirts of Luaska, located on its own game farm in a lovely rural setting.


92% (10 reviews)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa