This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Taj Pamodzi Hotel
Taj Pamodzi Hotel
Taj Pamodzi Hotel

Reviews of Taj Pamodzi Hotel

Wildlife sightings and reviews

82 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Taj Pamodzi Hotel and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 61-70 of 82
Duration
Arrival date
Mr T
Hertfordshire

"Taj Pamodzi Hotel review"

1 night Arrived 11 Sep 2008
"Lusaka has clearly develped a lot since I was last in town, when I remember it took almost two hours to get a Coke at the poolside bar of the then best hotel in town! My stay there , and transfers to and from the airport, were without problems." See all these reviews: 12n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
The Crocodiles
Utah

"Taj Pamodzi Hotel review"

1 night Arrived 23 Aug 2008
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Partridge family
Kent

"One night in Lusaka"

1 night Arrived 8 Aug 2008
"The Taj Pomodzi Hotel was the only slight let-down of the entire trip. A courtesy minibus was supposed to meet us off our flight but wasn't there. The local airline, Proflight, were very helpful in contacting the hotel for us, and after a 50 minute wait the minibus turned up. We then had to arrange with the hotel for another courtesy minibus to take us back to the airport the following morning. The hotel said that they only had one minibus and that it would be leaving the hotel at 5.30 a.m. or 8.00 a.m. If we were to take the earlier one we would get to the airport ridiculously early, but if we took the later one, then we would miss our flight. Eventually the hotel reluctantly agreed to lay on a minibus for us that would leave the hotel at 6.30 a.m., magically producing a second minibus, having of course told us that they only had one.

In addition, to be honest, the Taj Pomodzi was far too luxurious for our needs. We had spent two weeks staying in extremely comfortable but quite basic bushcamps, but we were now propelled back in to the 21st century and staying in a top class hotel. Maybe this would suit people who have been on a more luxurious safari, but for people like ourselves I think that it would have been better to recommend a less flashy hotel - and probably a lot less expensive." See all these reviews: 7n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
The Rollers
New York

"Taj Pamodzi Hotel review"

1 night Arrived 23 Jul 2008
"Good overall hotel for overnighting in Lusaka

Shuttle service to airport not oseful for the Lusaka-london flight as the first bus at 5:30AM is too early and the next one, at 8:00AM, too late. Taxi was available for $46.00 USA; not a big deal, but an annoying expense as transfer was supposedly included
Unfortunately, many roaches seen in both the grill restaurant wherer we had dinner, as werll as the more immediate restaurant where brekfast was served
" See all these reviews: 12n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Poor
Leopards
Cambridge

"Taj Padmozi - a lot better than we expected"

1 night Arrived 18 Jul 2008
"We'd been told of poor decor and food, but actually both were fine. We'd still prefer to be going straight from camp to the plane home, but if you have to do a stopover you could do a lot worse. And we discovered the South Africans make pretty decent cider! Why don't they serve this at camps for those of us who don't like beer?" See all these reviews: 9n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mr & Mrs Hadeda
UK

"Taj Pamodzi Hotel review"

1 night Arrived 9 Jul 2008
"The Taj Pamodzi is a good airport stop-over with comfortable rooms and a decent restaurant. However the promised "transfers" to the hotel from the airport are non-existent. To get to the hotel we had to rely on the bus from the Intercontinental Hotel (whilst avoiding what appeared the very dodgy attentions of our airline Proflight - whose staff had a "friend" who was prepared to taxi us to the hotel - at a cost of course).

The promised free transfer in the other direction (from the hotel back to the airport) consisted of a bus in the very very early hours of the morning. Instead we ended up paying for a ludicrously expensive taxi (arranged of course by the hotel - with the staff member who arranged it noticeably taking a cash payment from the taxi driver). I found this very very annoying.

For a holiday of this cost I would prefer to pay the cost of a pre-arranged private transfer - instead of feeling that we were at the mercy of rip-off merchants on the ground." See all these reviews: 12n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Poor
Facilities:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mr N
Southampton

"Taj Pamodzi Hotel review"

1 night Arrived 4 Jul 2008
"Our flight from Mfuwe to Lusaka was about an hour and a half late, apparently an unexceptional occurrence. There was nobody to rendevous with as there had been on our arrival at Lusaka from London and the hotel transport did not appear at the designated location at the airport for over an hour. (We found this location on our own as there were no instructions in any information you had sent us.)

After an hour, I made representations to Zambian Airways to phone the hotel, which they did, and the transport arrived about 30 minutes later. Zambian Airways invited us to stay in there office until the minibus arrived. Zambian Airways were very helpful. At the hotel the check-in process was perfunctory and no explanation or apology as offered for the failure of the transport to show up.

On checking out we were presented with a bill and when we expalined we had handed in vouchers on check-in the bill was eventually rescinded with ill grace, the check out process lasted 15 minutes. There was only one service to the airport in the morning, at 5.30 am, therfore we arrived an hour too early for our check-in at the airport. For an alledged top class hotel the staff were surly and incommunicative and a complete contrast to the staff at all Norman Carr venues.

We do not know what caused the failure to pick us up at the airport. Should there have been someone to meet us? Were the hotel responsible for this? Our information from you was inadequate. Having been through many airports in Africa, S America and Asia, it is fortunate that Lusaka airport on a quite evening was not a threatening place. However had my wife been travelling alone it might not have felt so unintimidating. I would not recommend the Taj Pamodzi to anyone." See all these reviews: 11n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Poor

Location:
Average
Service:
Terrible
Rooms:
Average
Broadbilled roller
UK

"Taj Pamodzi Hotel review"

1 night Arrived 24 Jun 2008
"Due to our flight problem we missed the shuttle from the airport to the hotel and had to take a taxi. The lady at the Information Desk at the airport as helpful and passed us to a Taxi Driver that she knew. The hotel quickly changed dollars into local currency to pay the driver.

Location was not any concern as we were there for one night. 30 minutes from hotel to airport isn't bad.

Room was good.

Unfortunately the steaks we ordered in the Grill were terrible! We ordered sirloin and I queried mine as it did not look like sirloin. I was assured it was and tried to eat it. It was tough! Dave's was full of gristle. We didn't have a chance to call anyone over, one of the servers at an adjacent table approached us. The Chef himself came out and offered replacements which we declined - too tired by then to be bothered, and after all the food we had eaten, not hungry enough. He offered dessert and Dave took him up on Cheese and Biscuits.

The Chef's explanation was that it was a new delivery of steak and that he would check it out. After pondering about the shape of the meat, I think that we had been served stewing or braisng steak! Full marks though to the observant server and the Chef.

The band was excellent, especially when they went into reggae mode. I had my "Delilah" moment on an Monday instead of a Friday. I might even let Chris Evans hear about it!

The transfer to the airport went well.

Didn't have time to try any of the facilities although our porter was enthusiastic in pointing them out." See all these reviews: 10n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Terrible
Bushcampers
UK

"Awful"

1 night Arrived 20 Jun 2008
"This was by far the worst part of the trip. The hotel was 25+ K from the airport and they forgot to pick us up. We had to phone them to come and collect. This took about an hour. They tried to charge us for the room and once shown to the room moved us to another across the hall a quarter of an hour later. We could have been in the shower. The reason given was that the original room had a 'connecting room'. The room was identical in every way.

The room was really quite small and in both cases only set up for one person. When I queried if it was a 'superior' was told that we had been upgraded to an 'executive'! The mini bar was empty in both cases. This room was also noisy at night, I think this was caused by air conditioning units below.

The staff were generally surly and unhelpful particularly in the Business centre which we used to book our flight seats. We were ignored at bthe bar until I made a point of waving at the staff standing around doing nothing. In the resturant we were told a table would be ready in 10 mins but had to wait at least an hour.We made it clear that if there was to be a wait we would use one of their other resturants. Later we ordered a nightcap and were given a choice of whiskys. We chose Jamesons. The drink provided was clearly scotch which is much darker than Irish. We complained but were presented with the bttle of Jamesons which they perported to have used by the bar manager. Being quite tired and frustrated by how we accepted the drink as scotch, paid £7.50 a shot and the waitress then tried to take the drinks away! We retired to the room with the drink.

We had already enquired about the transfer to the airport and were told that the earliest trip was 5.30 for our flight at 8.55 but breakfast would be available from 5.00 am. At 5.05 we turned up for breakfast to find the room in darkness. We found a waitior who kindly provided us with coffee and toast. This was the only 'good' service we received.

We were then asked to check out and were again given a bill. After much palavar they agreed we had paid but had to ask if everything was OK. It was truly an awful experience and if this is what international hotels are like, give me bush camps every time!
" See all these reviews: 11n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Terrible

Location:
Poor
Service:
Terrible
Facilities:
Poor
Rooms:
Poor
Food:
Good
The Firefinches
Kent

"Taj Pamodzi Hotel review"

1 night Arrived 31 Mar 2008
"The hotel itself was comfortable, but the staff on the front desk and in the cashier's office were totally incompetent, not bothering to communicate with each other (or listening to their guests) and then trying to charge us for the room which had already been paid for.

Staff training will need to be given to ensure that the sort of welcome and stay that people would expect at this class of hotel is available all the time. We did not get breakfast because we had to leave at 5:30 to get to the airport for the flight to UK. There was only one transfer time and one vehicle. We cannot believe that the hotel only had one mini-bus to transport people to and from the airport.

The hotel restaurant was very poorly lit, but the the food was fine and the staff pleasant and tried to be helpful, unlike their colleagues on the reception desk. Overall the stay was something one could put up with for one night, but if we had not had such a good holiday prior to this overnight, we would have been even more annoyed.

One of the morning reception staff rudely insisted that we had to pay and that they did not have (could not find is the truth of the matter) the voucher we had given them on arrival, and which they attached to the paperwork. We just ignored her and her rudeness!" See all these reviews: 10n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Average
Service:
Terrible
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Showing 61-70 of 82
78%
82 reviews of Taj Pamodzi Hotel by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
18
45
15
2
2
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zambia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zambia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Lusaka area

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Pioneer Camp

Pioneer Camp

Pioneer Camp, situated 14 kilometres from Lusaka's international airport is ideal for a night's stopover at the end of your trip.


79% (120 reviews)
Latitude 15

Latitude 15

Latitude 15 is a small but comfortable, boutique hotel in Lusaka's suburbs, with a modern, Africa-chic style.


93% (58 reviews)
Radisson Blu Hotel

Radisson Blu Hotel

Radisson Blu is a modern hotel with friendly staff, spacious rooms and good facilities just 20 minutes’ drive from Lusaka Airport.


83% (38 reviews)
Eight Reedbuck Hotel

Eight Reedbuck Hotel

Eight Reedbuck looks like any other Zambian house in the road, but inside you'll find it to be an interesting and eclectic little hotel with a real flavour of Zambia.


84% (38 reviews)
Lilayi Lodge

Lilayi Lodge

Lilayi is a boutique lodge on the outskirts of Luaska, located on its own game farm in a lovely rural setting.


92% (10 reviews)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa