This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Halali Camp
Halali Camp
Halali Camp

Reviews of Halali Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

316 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Halali Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jun-2018, 24 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Halali Camp.
Lion

86% success

Leopard

42% success

Cheetah

0% success

Elephant

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Giraffe

96% success

Oryx

95% success

Wildebeest

91% success

Black Rhino

76% success

Spotted Hyena

52% success

White Rhino

37% success

Eland

26% success

Brown Hyena

11% success

Sable antelope

7% success

Roan antelope

5% success

Aardvark

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Showing 111-120 of 316
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs D
Bristol

"Best food in Etosha "

2 nights Arrived 22 Jun 2014
"The food here was of a very high standard and well served. The accommodation was very modern and well designed. Bed was comfortable. Staff were friendly and helpful. We tried driving out to some of the water holes near the Camp, but the approach roads to some were in very poor condition. However, we did see some animals especially rhinos, elephants, springbok and zebra in great numbers. The water hole is delightful but you do need to be pretty nimble on your feet. We did not do any game drives here." See all these reviews: 20n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Taylor family
UK

"Halali Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 11 Jun 2014
"For a public camp and one of the few places to stay in Etosha we found it to be well run and perfectly adequate for our needs. The chalet was clean, comfortable and roomy. The restaurant was excellent with a wide choice in the buffet, and the pack lunches we ordered from there were very good value and huge!

The only downside of Halali was the state of the water hole which had been a big draw. The waterhole was very noisy, and over crowded at prime times. The layout of it means that people have to clamber over the rocks to get to a good view and there was so much noise it was like being in a zoo. We were not here at peak season so I can only imagine how noisy it gets.

It could do with a member of staff around who could keep people in order? Or possibly a restriction on eating and drinking there? All in all a good central base and the accomodation was fine but the waterhole a bit of a let down. I saw my first ever leopard near Halali, at Goas waterhole, so it will always hold a special place in my heart, regardless!!" See all these reviews: 25n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr D & Ms E
Herts

"Pleasant stay at Halali"

2 nights Arrived 29 May 2014
"The waterhole at Halali was excellent, we were able to view large numbers of animals both at night and during the day.

The buffet food in the evening was very good." See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs C
Wokingham

"Halali Camp"

2 nights Arrived 23 Mar 2014
"It was what we expected - adequate but not outstanding.

Room was in reasonable order for a rest camp - most fixtures and fittings worked. Food was better than expected. Reception was useless for any enquiries/help.

It was the end of the rainy season so we knew that game viewing might be poor - and it was. We drove almost every inch of the avaoilable roads and didn't see a single elephant or rhino in 3 days - there was so much water available in the bush that they didn't need to visit the waterholes. Not complaing but it might help other people's expectations.

We did see two groups of lions and quite a lot of small game near Namutoni.

We did meet some people who had got stuck in a muddy marked road to a waterhole. There was no cellphone coverage and the road hadn't been marked as closed. They told us they waited for another car and none came for 90 minutes so were settling down for a night in the car when another car appeared some distance away. The other family had a satphone and called the rangers who arrived as it was getting dark and got their car stuck in the mud - they had no radio!! It took several hours for all 4 of them to get free of the mud and by then it was completely dark.

From their experience, we'd suggest this:
Consider renting a sat-phone.

The rangers told them that the best thing to do if you're stuck at night is leave the engine running and put headlights on - then the anti-poaching patrol might spot you. (this doesnt appear in any guidance we've seen)
" See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia; 4n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Poor
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
A & W Party
UK

"Halali Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 26 Jan 2014
"Halali was our favourite Etosha camp, more friendly staff than the first camp, good water hole, great night drive." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms G & Mr M
Spain

"Not a must, except for the waterhole."

1 night Arrived 8 Nov 2013
"The place is well located, but the facilities are not very good. Terrible food.

Nice (big) swimming pool." See all these reviews: 21n in Namibia; 10n in Botswana; 3n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Poor
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Terrible
Facilities:
Good
Mr M & family
UK

"Great Safari Camp"

2 nights Arrived 28 Oct 2013
"A big thank you to Sabina as she persuaded us to choose this camp and yes would not have missed it . Basic accommodation compared to other places we had stayed at and food in restaurant not as varied choice but the evening watering holes made up for this greatly . We saw some wonderful sights at the watering hole , especially young elephants and a young rhinoceros . Martin and I felt very comfortable allowing the children to set their alarms for 2 am and go down to the watering hole .

We came away from Etosha feeling we would have spent a couple more nights here in this are not necessarily at this park but perhaps to the east as we didn't really cover that area .


Driving ourselves was a great family experience and in our 3 weeks we never felt in danger or out of our comfort zone although I do admit prior to arriving in Namibia I did have some concerns ." See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Dr & Mrs M
Newcastle

"Halali Camp"

2 nights Arrived 16 Oct 2013
"Comfortable accomodation with large bedroom and kitchen/ living room. Enjoyed watching the wildlife at the water hole although there was not much there. Very good location for trips out into the park.

We went out for the whole day to the east and saw lots of animals." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs B
Hampshire

"Excellent waterhole at Halali"

2 nights Arrived 24 Sep 2013
"Disabled persons review: All areas of this lodge were easily accessible.

The three main camps in Etosha are more basic than the private lodges but we expected that. Rooms at Halali were clean and well equipped and despite the number of rooms it was quiet in the evenings. The waterhole is set away from the accommodation so was quiet and we saw elephants, giraffe, zebra and various antelope each evening.

A coffee table in the room by the armchairs would have been useful, there being plenty of space for this." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia; 9n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr N & Mrs J
Wilts

"Halali Camp review"

1 night Arrived 20 Sep 2013
"Not a good experience - this was overpriced both in the shop and the restaurant. The waterhole was good, but a long way from the camp.

There were several large groups present in the camp during our stay, which affected the service we received." See all these reviews: 20n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Poor
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Poor
Facilities:
Good
Showing 111-120 of 316
79%
316 reviews of Halali Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
83
153
65
13
2
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Etosha National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

Set within Etosha National Park, Okaukuejo Camp is a large, well-equipped restcamp, with a productive floodlit waterhole.


83% (639 reviews)
Mushara Bush Camp

Mushara Bush Camp

The family-friendly Mushara Bush Camp offers a beautifully designed lodge, friendly service and a great base from which to explore Etosha National Park.


94% (237 reviews)
Ongava Tented Camp

Ongava Tented Camp

Built around a waterhole Ongava Tented Camp offers good service, delicious food, comfortable rooms, easy access to Etosha and wildlife in camp.


93% (146 reviews)
Ongava Lodge

Ongava Lodge

Ongava is a smart lodge with fantastic views that offers a range of driving and walking safaris on its own reserve, and guided drives in Etosha.


92% (144 reviews)
Dolomite Camp

Dolomite Camp

Opened in 2011, Dolomite Camp allows visitors access to the far west side of Etosha National Park, which was previously off limits to most visitors.


86% (94 reviews)
Mushara Lodge

Mushara Lodge

Not far from the entrance to Etosha, Mushara Lodge offers comfortable and tastefully decorated rooms in a convenient location for exploring the park.


92% (85 reviews)
Namutoni Camp

Namutoni Camp

Centred on an old fort, the government run Namutoni Camp is located just inside Etosha National Park, close to Fisher's Pan.


82% (82 reviews)
Onguma Tented Camp

Onguma Tented Camp

Onguma Tented Camp is a lovely, little tented camp which centres around an attractive waterhole a short drive from the Von Lindequist Gate to eastern Etosha.


93% (79 reviews)
Onguma Bush Camp

Onguma Bush Camp

For great wildlife viewing without breaking the bank, the affordable and understated luxury of Onguma Bush Camp could be perfect.


93% (77 reviews)
Hobatere Lodge

Hobatere Lodge

To the west of Etosha National Park, on the edge of Damaraland, Hobatere Lodge offers good game-viewing on its own reserve.


90% (67 reviews)
Mushara Outpost

Mushara Outpost

Mushara Outpost is a comfortable, stylish lodge, and a good base from which to explore nearby Etosha National Park on your own or with a guided safari.


93% (55 reviews)
Onguma Tree Top Camp

Onguma Tree Top Camp

For a bird’s eye view across African bush, the stilted rooms at Onguma Tree Top are truly special.


97% (42 reviews)
Onguma The Fort

Onguma The Fort

The Fort is the jewel in the crown of the Onguma lodges, and arguably the whole of eastern Etosha.


95% (35 reviews)
Onguma Etosha Aoba

Onguma Etosha Aoba

From its woodland setting on the Onguma Reserve, Etosha Aoba is within easy striking distance of Namibia’s flagship national park.


89% (32 reviews)
Taleni Etosha Village

Taleni Etosha Village

Only 4km from Etosha's southern entrance, Taleni Etosha Village is an affordable base from which to explore the park.


93% (26 reviews)
Etosha Safari Lodge

Etosha Safari Lodge

A short drive from Etosha National Park's southern entrance, Etosha Safari Lodge is a convenient base from which to explore the park.


84% (24 reviews)
Etosha Safari Camp

Etosha Safari Camp

Funky, low-key and very original, Etosha Safari Camp is well placed for visiting Etosha National Park on a self-drive or guided safari.


87% (23 reviews)
Little Ongava

Little Ongava

The beautifully located and luxurious Little Ongava is a stunning place to stay in order to explore Etosha National Park and the private Ongava Reserve.


97% (23 reviews)
Safarihoek Lodge

Safarihoek Lodge

In the middle of the Etosha Heights Reserve, Safarihoek Lodge offers comfortable accommodation and excellent game-viewing.


95% (21 reviews)
Mokuti Etosha Lodge

Mokuti Etosha Lodge

With 106 rooms, child-friendly Mokuti Etosha Lodge is more like a hotel than a lode. Facilities to include a gym, spa, tennis courts and even a snake park.


92% (10 reviews)
Mountain Lodge

Mountain Lodge

In the heart of the Etosha Heights Reserve, Mountain Lodge offers the chance for game drives and bush walks away from some of the crowds of Etosha.


97% (7 reviews)
Andersson's at Ongava

Andersson's at Ongava

With game drives on both its private reserve and in Etosha, Andersson's at Ongava also offers access to the Ongava Research Centre.


100% (5 reviews)
Etosha Garden Hotel

Etosha Garden Hotel

Safari in Etosha National Park Namibia, whilst based at the nearby Etosha Garden Lodge.


60% (4 reviews)
Vreugde Guest Farm

Vreugde Guest Farm

Vreugde Guest Farm is a delightful owner-run and working sheep farm where you can expect a warm welcome and charming hospitality.


95% (4 reviews)
Villa Mushara

Villa Mushara

Villa Mushara offers luxury in a peaceful and isolated location. It is a good choice for honeymooners & those wishing to indulge themselves.


93% (3 reviews)
Toshari Lodge

Toshari Lodge

Safari in Etosha National Park Namibia, whilst based at Etosha Gateway Lodge.


80% (1 review)
Onkoshi Camp

Onkoshi Camp

Onkoshi Camp is owned and run by Namibia Wildlife Resorts. Built on elevated wooden platforms it overlooks Etosha Pan.


No reviews yet
Safari House

Safari House

The private Safari House on the Etosha Heights reserve is a great option families or friends travelling together.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa