This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Halali Camp
Halali Camp
Halali Camp

Reviews of Halali Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

316 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Halali Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jun-2018, 24 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Halali Camp.
Lion

86% success

Leopard

42% success

Cheetah

0% success

Elephant

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Giraffe

96% success

Oryx

95% success

Wildebeest

91% success

Black Rhino

76% success

Spotted Hyena

52% success

White Rhino

37% success

Eland

26% success

Brown Hyena

11% success

Sable antelope

7% success

Roan antelope

5% success

Aardvark

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Showing 201-210 of 316
Duration
Arrival date
Family M
USA

"Halali Camp review"

1 night Arrived 6 Aug 2010
"a nice camp. especially the night watering hole. very quiet considering the large crowd." See all these reviews: 5n in Namibia; 2n in Zimbabwe; 1n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
E & D
New Mexico

"Restful camp in the heart of Etosha"

1 night Arrived 10 May 2010
"We thought this might be the low point of our trip but instead found Halili to be more than acceptable. There are several good waterholes nearby, in addition to Halali's own, and we enjoyed sharing a beer around the campfire with some Australian visitors that we had met at two of our other stops.

Since we had our own car we explored on our own. One of the best sights was a troop of Banded Mongooses splayed out in the white gravel road, enjoying the reflected heat." See all these reviews: 22n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr C
Cyprus

"Halali Camp review"

1 night Arrived 29 Nov 2009
"Need to have sugar free fruit juice and fresh cold water on breakfast buffet.

On my return hom I checked my bank account and discovered that I had been ouble charged for dinner and purchases made in the tourist shop. I have contacted my bank in this regard. It suggests that a scam may be taking place here.

The Halali Tourist Shop did not know what a VAT Invoice was and I was unable to claim a refund of R231,44 upon my departure from Namibia." See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mr M-S
UK

"Halali Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 25 Nov 2009
"We drove ourselves around the area visiting nearby waterholes etc.instead of taking an organised game drive. As a result we did not see as much as we might, but did see a good variety at the camp's own waterhole over two evenings.

The two bedroom chalet was clean and comfortable, if a bit small." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mr T & Ms M
W Molesey

"Halali Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 12 Nov 2009
"We would not recommend the double/twin rooms,the redesign of these rooms needs a rethink especially the toilet/shower area,just about enough room for one small person to use! Considering the recent makeover of this camp things are beginning to look tatty.Missing chair,only one glass,reception say they do not have any replacements.We do not understand the deposit/inventory system as nobody checks anything when you leave.

Anyway the main reason for staying here is the ability to drive around ETOSHA from daybreak to dusk and the animals did not let us down particularly the waterhole at Rietfontein,huge numbers of elephants.The Moringa watehole in the camp 'a bit hit and miss' for night watchers,surprisingly quiet at times." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Poor
Food:
Average
Mr B & Mr K
Kent

"Halali Camp review"

1 night Arrived 28 Oct 2009
"Not terribly impressed compared to every thing elsewhere. Accomodation wasnt up to much and neither was the food.

On top of that there werent any animals at all at the waterhole. We came away thinking it was a waste of time." See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Poor

Location:
Average
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Poor
Food:
Poor
Mr & Mrs H
Bucks

"Relaxed camp with lovely waterhole"

2 nights Arrived 27 Oct 2009
"It seems to be quite big and so busy but the rooms are spaced out so it's not noisey at all. Rooms are very nice, clean and comfortable. Restaurant is buffet style with a good choice of food. Chef cooks steaks etc quickly as you wait - a good humouired performance!

The waterhole is a little walk (or you can drive) from the centre of the camp. There are rustic benches overlooking the waterhole which is floodlit at night. On the whole people sit very quietly and there is a great atmosphere of waiting and expectation as different animals and birds come and go. Both nights we were there white rhino came to drink. During the day it was nice to be able to watch animals without being in a vehicle." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs A
Hants

"Halali holiday camp"

3 nights Arrived 13 Oct 2009
"All roads south of the main road and east of Halali to Springbokfontein (a block of about 30km by 25km) were closed for reconstruction until at least mid-December. Extensive bush fires east of Halali had apparently driven game to the west of the Park towards Okaukuejo.

This was our second visit to Halali. In spite of the extensive refurbishment, there was still something of a holiday camp atmosphere about the rest camp, although the food was good. There is now less storage space in the chalets folllowing refurbishment and cooking facilites have been removed except for the braai outside. However, a kettle and fridge were still provided. The far bed in both bedrooms was against a skew wall and the prospective occupant needed to be agile.

Good floodlit waterhole for night-time game viewing.

Notwithstanding, we found standards acceptable for the location and we have seen fit to return. In the short term at least, Okaukuejo would make a better located base in Etosha." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia; 4n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Mr & Mrs L
Northants

"Halali Camp review"

1 night Arrived 12 Oct 2009
"Our chalet was very pleasant: roomy, backing onto woodland and with a fine view of the sunset throught the trees. The staff at reception were pleasant and efficient.

The waterhole, quite a way from the chalets, is insignificant compared to Okaukuejo. The approach at night is dark and when you get there the ground is rocky and uneven.

The restaurant was awful. The cook was a jolly individual and his food was adequate but we had the impression that all the other staff there were either asleep or deliberately avoiding us. It felt like you could have sat down, died of starvation and been eaten by jackals without anyone taking any notice. Noone offered to serve us a drink, the table was dirty and was not cleared or set. No member of staff engaged with us at any time, until we paid.

A place to avoid - they really do not deserve being paid for the (non-existent) service we received" See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia; 2n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Poor

Location:
Average
Service:
Terrible
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Poor
Mr S & Ms M
USA

"Halali Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 7 Oct 2009
"Ordinarily, this would have been a fine place to stay, however, many of the roads East of Halali and West of Springbokfontein are closed for the remainder of 2009.

This meant that a number of waterholes were inaccessible and that we needed to drive at least 20 kilometers each day to get to see any animals (waterholes with water). It was repetitive driving too --- one road in and one road out.

Expert Africa: While roads are closed I would avoid Halali and have guests stay at Okakuejo or Namatumi." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Showing 201-210 of 316
79%
316 reviews of Halali Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
83
153
65
13
2
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Etosha National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

Set within Etosha National Park, Okaukuejo Camp is a large, well-equipped restcamp, with a productive floodlit waterhole.


83% (639 reviews)
Mushara Bush Camp

Mushara Bush Camp

The family-friendly Mushara Bush Camp offers a beautifully designed lodge, friendly service and a great base from which to explore Etosha National Park.


94% (237 reviews)
Ongava Tented Camp

Ongava Tented Camp

Built around a waterhole Ongava Tented Camp offers good service, delicious food, comfortable rooms, easy access to Etosha and wildlife in camp.


93% (146 reviews)
Ongava Lodge

Ongava Lodge

Ongava is a smart lodge with fantastic views that offers a range of driving and walking safaris on its own reserve, and guided drives in Etosha.


92% (144 reviews)
Dolomite Camp

Dolomite Camp

Opened in 2011, Dolomite Camp allows visitors access to the far west side of Etosha National Park, which was previously off limits to most visitors.


86% (94 reviews)
Mushara Lodge

Mushara Lodge

Not far from the entrance to Etosha, Mushara Lodge offers comfortable and tastefully decorated rooms in a convenient location for exploring the park.


92% (85 reviews)
Namutoni Camp

Namutoni Camp

Centred on an old fort, the government run Namutoni Camp is located just inside Etosha National Park, close to Fisher's Pan.


82% (82 reviews)
Onguma Tented Camp

Onguma Tented Camp

Onguma Tented Camp is a lovely, little tented camp which centres around an attractive waterhole a short drive from the Von Lindequist Gate to eastern Etosha.


93% (79 reviews)
Onguma Bush Camp

Onguma Bush Camp

For great wildlife viewing without breaking the bank, the affordable and understated luxury of Onguma Bush Camp could be perfect.


93% (77 reviews)
Hobatere Lodge

Hobatere Lodge

To the west of Etosha National Park, on the edge of Damaraland, Hobatere Lodge offers good game-viewing on its own reserve.


90% (67 reviews)
Mushara Outpost

Mushara Outpost

Mushara Outpost is a comfortable, stylish lodge, and a good base from which to explore nearby Etosha National Park on your own or with a guided safari.


93% (55 reviews)
Onguma Tree Top Camp

Onguma Tree Top Camp

For a bird’s eye view across African bush, the stilted rooms at Onguma Tree Top are truly special.


97% (42 reviews)
Onguma The Fort

Onguma The Fort

The Fort is the jewel in the crown of the Onguma lodges, and arguably the whole of eastern Etosha.


95% (35 reviews)
Onguma Etosha Aoba

Onguma Etosha Aoba

From its woodland setting on the Onguma Reserve, Etosha Aoba is within easy striking distance of Namibia’s flagship national park.


89% (32 reviews)
Taleni Etosha Village

Taleni Etosha Village

Only 4km from Etosha's southern entrance, Taleni Etosha Village is an affordable base from which to explore the park.


93% (26 reviews)
Etosha Safari Lodge

Etosha Safari Lodge

A short drive from Etosha National Park's southern entrance, Etosha Safari Lodge is a convenient base from which to explore the park.


84% (24 reviews)
Etosha Safari Camp

Etosha Safari Camp

Funky, low-key and very original, Etosha Safari Camp is well placed for visiting Etosha National Park on a self-drive or guided safari.


87% (23 reviews)
Little Ongava

Little Ongava

The beautifully located and luxurious Little Ongava is a stunning place to stay in order to explore Etosha National Park and the private Ongava Reserve.


97% (23 reviews)
Safarihoek Lodge

Safarihoek Lodge

In the middle of the Etosha Heights Reserve, Safarihoek Lodge offers comfortable accommodation and excellent game-viewing.


95% (21 reviews)
Mokuti Etosha Lodge

Mokuti Etosha Lodge

With 106 rooms, child-friendly Mokuti Etosha Lodge is more like a hotel than a lode. Facilities to include a gym, spa, tennis courts and even a snake park.


92% (10 reviews)
Mountain Lodge

Mountain Lodge

In the heart of the Etosha Heights Reserve, Mountain Lodge offers the chance for game drives and bush walks away from some of the crowds of Etosha.


97% (7 reviews)
Andersson's at Ongava

Andersson's at Ongava

With game drives on both its private reserve and in Etosha, Andersson's at Ongava also offers access to the Ongava Research Centre.


100% (5 reviews)
Vreugde Guest Farm

Vreugde Guest Farm

Vreugde Guest Farm is a delightful owner-run and working sheep farm where you can expect a warm welcome and charming hospitality.


95% (4 reviews)
Etosha Garden Hotel

Etosha Garden Hotel

Safari in Etosha National Park Namibia, whilst based at the nearby Etosha Garden Lodge.


60% (4 reviews)
Villa Mushara

Villa Mushara

Villa Mushara offers luxury in a peaceful and isolated location. It is a good choice for honeymooners & those wishing to indulge themselves.


93% (3 reviews)
Toshari Lodge

Toshari Lodge

Safari in Etosha National Park Namibia, whilst based at Etosha Gateway Lodge.


80% (1 review)
Etosha Oberland Lodge

Etosha Oberland Lodge

A short drive from Etosha National Park's southern entrance, Etosha Onderland Lodge promises a convenient base from which to explore the park.


No reviews yet
Onkoshi Camp

Onkoshi Camp

Onkoshi Camp is owned and run by Namibia Wildlife Resorts. Built on elevated wooden platforms it overlooks Etosha Pan.


No reviews yet
Safari House

Safari House

The private Safari House on the Etosha Heights reserve is a great option families or friends travelling together.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa