This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Halali Camp
Halali Camp
Halali Camp
Halali Camp
Halali Camp
Halali Camp

Reviews of Halali Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

321 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Halali Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jun-2018, 28 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Halali Camp.
Lion

77% success

Leopard

36% success

Cheetah

4% success

Zebra

100% success

Giraffe

96% success

Oryx

96% success

Wildebeest

93% success

Elephant

92% success

Black Rhino

75% success

Spotted Hyena

52% success

White Rhino

39% success

Eland

27% success

Brown Hyena

10% success

Sable antelope

6% success

Roan antelope

5% success

Aardvark

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Showing 281-290 of 321
Duration
Arrival date
Caracal party
London

"Lovely quiet waterhole in middle of Etosha"

1 night Arrived 20 Jun 2008
"Halali was very good, much better appointed than we expected with good service and a very good meal in the restaurant.

The waterhole is a little quieter than Okaukuejo but still worth time sitting in the evening, we saw a lovely family of elephant drinking." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia; 3n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Mr P & Mrs C
UK

"Halali Restcamp review"

2 nights Arrived 28 May 2008
"Of all the restcamps, this is the one that has been refurbished the most appropriately, with good rooms of a reasonable size, not overdone like Namutoni, and with easy access.

Food and service still leave a lot to be desired, and with no shop to speak of to even buy something for a picnic lunch, we recommend taking an early breakfast before the gates open, and taking a carryout from there of cold meats, cheese, eggs etc." See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Poor
Mr D
Sword

"Night safari at Halali"

2 nights Arrived 16 May 2008
"We had a bit of an adventure here - or at least, on the way here. Our rental car broke down in the middle of the park and we had to get a lift to Halali Restcamp. The manager here was exceptionally helpful and professional in helping us out of our predicament - namely, stuck in the park with no car. He helped us to arrange delivery of a new car the following morning, and in the meantime had our car towed back to Okaukuejo. His staff also retrieved our luggage from the boot of our car and brought it to our room for us.

The room itself was fine, they are stand-alone buildings and quite spacious, with a small kitchen and sitting room. The food here was fine as well, nothing spectacular but then unlike the other private lodges, this place is open to the public during the day as it's inside the park. The waterhole is definitely worth a visit here! One of the highlights of our trip was seeing a family of four (!) rhino visiting the waterhole in the evening. Very exciting.

We went for a night game drive here, which overall we found slightly disappointing, but worth the trip nevertheless. The driver had a lot on his plate - driving the big 4x4, giving a running commentary, and directing the lamp to try to spot the animals. We did see a lion, and a hyena, bat-eared fox, hares and a couple of other animals, but overall we found it rather expensive.

Two things would have made the night safari better - firstly, if the driver had been accompanied by a separate guide. That way, the driver could concentrate on the road while the guide used the lamp to spot animals. Secondly, it would have added to the sense of adventure if we had gone down some roads that aren't normally accessible to the public, rather than staying on the same roads we had been driving on during the day. However, the guide made a good effort to explain a lot of things to us about the animals and geology of Etosha pan." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
The rhinos
UK

"Halali Restcamp review"

1 night Arrived 7 Apr 2008
"We were extremely pleased with the quality of the Bush Chalet at Halali. The accommodation was spacious, comfortable and had air conditioning. Food was very good.

The waterhole offers excellent opportunities to spot animals - we were lucky enough to spot 7 rhinos and 2 hyenia in one evening!" See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Blackwinged stilts
UK

"Halali Restcamp review"

2 nights Arrived 16 Mar 2008
"This place was a lot better than the previous Etosha restcamp. I thought the room was much better and more attractive. The layout was better, it was much lighter and brighter. The food here was also an improvement and marginally cheaper so we ate at the restaurant both nights.

The service at the front desk was better than the previous etosha restcamp but it was not particulary good and there seemed to be a few unhappy guests queing up to complain about something in their room. The pool area was good here but with only about 5 sunloungers around a very large pool, you had to lie on the hard concrete to relax." See all these reviews: 21n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Mr & Mrs Lion
Maine

"Halali Restcamp--more casual than Okaukuejo"

2 nights Arrived 22 Feb 2008
"Halali's position deeper in the park lends it more of a sense of wilderness. There are many shade trees that make walking around the grounds a pleasure.

The dining area has an institutional look, but the swimming pool was large enough to swim laps. As at Okaukeujo, the store's picnic supplies were limited and we wished we had brought in groceries from outside the park for our picnic lunches." See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia; 9n in Botswana; 6n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr T & Ms M
W Molesey

"Halali Restcamp review"

3 nights Arrived 12 Dec 2007
"Refurbishment of bush chalets is a vast improvement .

Outside eating area still needs to be improved.

Food in the restaurant variable from poor to reasonable seemingly dependent on number of guests." See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Mr O
US

"Halali Restcamp review"

1 night Arrived 15 Nov 2007
"Like Okaukeujo, the rooms were small, clean, and comfortable. We enjoyed the waterhole at this camp as well, where we saw many elephants.

Service in the dining room was a little better than at Okaukeujo." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mr & Mrs Tru
UK

"Great waterhole. Large camping area"

2 nights Arrived 29 Oct 2007
"Great waterhole viewing. Well situated for drives and great very pretty waterholes to be sought out.

No organisation at all in restaurant and needs someone senior as in Okaukvejo. Too much standing around and doing nothing!" See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Mr I & Mrs K
UK

"Halali Restcamp review"

3 nights Arrived 27 Oct 2007
"I understand the camp accommodation had been given a facelift. It was certainly wonderful and of a high standard. A huge advantage was being in the park. It meant after sunset we spent many hours by the lit waterhole at the edge of camp where we were privileged to see so many animals and their behaviour to each other.

The food was quite repetitive with basically the same menu each day. It would have been quite nice to have "snacks" available. More choice would add to the high standard of the camp. However, in terms of priorities food was way down on our list.

The staff were attentive and very helpful." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Showing 281-290 of 321
79%
321 reviews of Halali Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
85
154
66
14
2
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Etosha National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

Set within Etosha National Park, Okaukuejo Resort is a large camp with a productive, floodlit waterhole.


83% (657 reviews)
Mushara Bush Camp

Mushara Bush Camp

The family-friendly Mushara Bush Camp offers great value and is an excellent base from which to explore Etosha National Park.


94% (247 reviews)
Ongava Tented Camp

Ongava Tented Camp

Set around a waterhole on a private reserve, the small Ongava Tented Camp combines understated comfort with activities that include walks and night drives.


93% (147 reviews)
Ongava Lodge

Ongava Lodge

With fantastic views over a private reserve bordering Etosha, the smart Ongava Lodge offers driving and walking safaris on the reserve, and guided drives in Etosha.


92% (148 reviews)
Dolomite Camp

Dolomite Camp

Opened in 2011, Dolomite Camp allows visitors access to the far west side of Etosha National Park, which was previously off limits to most visitors.


86% (94 reviews)
Onguma Tented Camp

Onguma Tented Camp

Onguma Tented Camp is a lovely, little tented camp which centres around an attractive waterhole a short drive from the Von Lindequist Gate to eastern Etosha.


92% (87 reviews)
Mushara Lodge

Mushara Lodge

Close to the eastern entrance to Etosha, the comfortable Mushara Lodge is well-placed for exploring the park in your own vehicle or on a guided drive.


92% (87 reviews)
Namutoni Camp

Namutoni Camp

Centred on an old fort, the government run Namutoni Camp is located just inside Etosha National Park, close to Fisher's Pan.


82% (83 reviews)
Onguma Bush Camp

Onguma Bush Camp

For great wildlife viewing without breaking the bank, the affordable and understated luxury of Onguma Bush Camp could be perfect.


93% (78 reviews)
Hobatere Lodge

Hobatere Lodge

To the west of Etosha National Park, on the edge of Damaraland, Hobatere Lodge offers good game-viewing on its own reserve.


89% (71 reviews)
Mushara Outpost

Mushara Outpost

The most luxurious property on the reserve, Mushara Outpost is well-placed to explore nearby Etosha National Park on your own or on a guided drive.


94% (56 reviews)
Onguma Tree Top Camp

Onguma Tree Top Camp

For a bird’s eye view across African bush, the stilted rooms at Onguma Tree Top are truly special.


97% (42 reviews)
Onguma The Fort

Onguma The Fort

The Fort is the jewel in the crown of the Onguma lodges, and arguably the whole of eastern Etosha.


95% (38 reviews)
Onguma Forest Camp

Onguma Forest Camp

From its woodland setting on the Onguma Reserve, Forest Camp is within easy striking distance of Namibia’s flagship national park.


90% (33 reviews)
Safarihoek Lodge

Safarihoek Lodge

At the heart of the private Etosha Heights Reserve, Safarihoek Lodge offers comfortable accommodation and excellent game-viewing.


95% (32 reviews)
Taleni Etosha Village

Taleni Etosha Village

Only 4km from Etosha's southern entrance, Taleni Etosha Village is an affordable base from which to explore the park.


93% (26 reviews)
Little Ongava

Little Ongava

The beautifully located and luxurious Little Ongava is a stunning place to stay in order to explore Etosha National Park and the private Ongava Reserve.


97% (24 reviews)
Etosha Safari Lodge

Etosha Safari Lodge

A short drive from Etosha National Park's southern entrance, Etosha Safari Lodge is a convenient base from which to explore the park.


84% (24 reviews)
Etosha Safari Camp

Etosha Safari Camp

Funky, low-key and very original, Etosha Safari Camp is well placed for visiting Etosha National Park on a self-drive or guided safari.


86% (22 reviews)
Mokuti Etosha Lodge

Mokuti Etosha Lodge

With 106 rooms, child-friendly Mokuti Etosha Lodge is more like a hotel than a lodge. Facilities to include a gym, spa, tennis courts and even a snake park.


92% (10 reviews)
Mountain Lodge

Mountain Lodge

In the heart of the private Etosha Heights Reserve, the family-friendly Mountain Lodge offers game drives and bush walks within an exclusive environment.


97% (7 reviews)
Andersson's at Ongava

Andersson's at Ongava

With game drives on both its private reserve and in Etosha, Andersson's at Ongava also offers access to the Ongava Research Centre.


94% (7 reviews)
Villa Mushara

Villa Mushara

Offering luxury on a peaceful and isolated private reserve, Villa Mushara is a great choice for honeymooners & those wishing to indulge themselves.


95% (4 reviews)
Vreugde Guest Farm

Vreugde Guest Farm

Vreugde Guest Farm is a delightful owner-run and working sheep farm where you can expect a warm welcome and charming hospitality.


95% (4 reviews)
Etosha Garden Hotel

Etosha Garden Hotel

Safari in Etosha National Park Namibia, whilst based at the nearby Etosha Garden Lodge.


60% (4 reviews)
Safari House

Safari House

The private Safari House on the Etosha Heights reserve is a great option families or friends travelling together.


100% (1 review)
Toshari Lodge

Toshari Lodge

Safari in Etosha National Park Namibia, whilst based at Etosha Gateway Lodge.


80% (1 review)
Etosha Oberland Lodge

Etosha Oberland Lodge

A short drive from Etosha National Park's southern entrance, Etosha Oberland Lodge promises a convenient base from which to explore the park.


100% (1 review)
Onkoshi Camp

Onkoshi Camp

Onkoshi Camp is owned and run by Namibia Wildlife Resorts. Built on elevated wooden platforms it overlooks Etosha Pan.


No reviews yet
Etosha King Nehale

Etosha King Nehale

A short drive from the national park's northern entrance, Etosha King Nehale Lodge is an interesting and comfortable base from which to explore the park.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa