This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Halali Camp
Halali Camp
Halali Camp

Reviews of Halali Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

316 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Halali Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jun-2018, 24 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Halali Camp.
Lion

86% success

Leopard

42% success

Cheetah

0% success

Elephant

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Giraffe

96% success

Oryx

95% success

Wildebeest

91% success

Black Rhino

76% success

Spotted Hyena

52% success

White Rhino

37% success

Eland

26% success

Brown Hyena

11% success

Sable antelope

7% success

Roan antelope

5% success

Aardvark

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Showing 281-290 of 316
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs Lion
Maine

"Halali Restcamp--more casual than Okaukuejo"

2 nights Arrived 22 Feb 2008
"Halali's position deeper in the park lends it more of a sense of wilderness. There are many shade trees that make walking around the grounds a pleasure.

The dining area has an institutional look, but the swimming pool was large enough to swim laps. As at Okaukeujo, the store's picnic supplies were limited and we wished we had brought in groceries from outside the park for our picnic lunches." See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia; 9n in Botswana; 6n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr T & Ms M
W Molesey

"Halali Restcamp review"

3 nights Arrived 12 Dec 2007
"Refurbishment of bush chalets is a vast improvement .

Outside eating area still needs to be improved.

Food in the restaurant variable from poor to reasonable seemingly dependent on number of guests.




" See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Mr O
US

"Halali Restcamp review"

1 night Arrived 15 Nov 2007
"Like Okaukeujo, the rooms were small, clean, and comfortable. We enjoyed the waterhole at this camp as well, where we saw many elephants.

Service in the dining room was a little better than at Okaukeujo." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mr & Mrs Tru
UK

"Great waterhole. Large camping area"

2 nights Arrived 29 Oct 2007
"Great waterhole viewing. Well situated for drives and great very pretty waterholes to be sought out.

No organisation at all in restaurant and needs someone senior as in Okaukvejo. Too much standing around and doing nothing!" See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
M & L
Vancouver, BC

"Halali Restcamp review"

3 nights Arrived 27 Oct 2007
"Nice renovated rooms

Buffet food acceptable - not great. Staff friendly and helpful" See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Mr I & Mrs K
UK

"Halali Restcamp review"

3 nights Arrived 27 Oct 2007
"I understand the camp accommodation had been given a facelift. It was certainly wonderful and of a high standard. A huge advantage was being in the park. It meant after sunset we spent many hours by the lit waterhole at the edge of camp where we were privileged to see so many animals and their behaviour to each other.

The food was quite repetitive with basically the same menu each day. It would have been quite nice to have "snacks" available. More choice would add to the high standard of the camp. However, in terms of priorities food was way down on our list.

The staff were attentive and very helpful." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
The Kettle family
UK

"Halali Restcamp review"

1 night Arrived 24 Oct 2007
"We had the best sleep of our holiday here - the rooms have fabulous airconditioning and the beds are super comfy. But what miserable recpetion staff. Didn't bother to give us details on breakfast and check-out times so that when we returned at 9 from our early morning drive - as one would expect to do - we were surprised - and hungry to find the restaurant closed.

Seems as if the restaurant hours and the likelihood of people being on safari during those hours hasn't been thought out. It was a shame because whilst they have obviously put a lot of thought into the accommodation, the attitude of those working there does not seem to be any different from what you would expect in a backpackers hostel.

Lovely waterhole. Could have done with 2 nights here." See all these reviews: 7n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Poor
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Poor
Miss R & Mr N
Surrey

""Hell - ali" restcamp"

1 night Arrived 22 Oct 2007
"This was the low point of the holiday. What a contrast to everywhere else we stayed, especially Etendeka.
Rude, surly and unfriendly service - should they be working in a service industry?

Shop was poorly stocked. Restaurant baking hot (although you could eat outside)
Breakfast was abysmal -poor choice and poor quality, tinned fruit cocktail, bread (dry from the atmosphere) no toaster and not even marmalade or jam and they made us pay $12 for it although our voucher stated we had B&B. Didn't fancy anything cooked.

Made to pay $500 room deposit in case we stole anything or trashed the room - what sort of welcome is that?
Room had been very nicely refurbed and was very clean, lovely bedlinen.

Suggest Expert Africe arrange some form of" bond" should any of their guests "trash" the room - an event that I believe will never happen. It would be better to bring your own packed food that eat here.

" See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Terrible

Location:
Good
Service:
Terrible
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Terrible
Mr & Mrs D
Oxon

"Halali Restcamp review"

2 nights Arrived 22 Oct 2007
"After Ongava this was disapointing. The bungalow was air conditioned and comfortable but could have been in suburbia. The restaurant was not good with pretty mediocre food. The waterhole , which had a fabulous location produced no game morning or evening - possibly due to the large number of noisy, smoking, flash photography people.

I think it is worth emphasising that the Rest camps are in no way comparable to the private lodges" See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Poor

Location:
Good
Service:
Poor
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Poor
Mr P
Penny

"A different view"

2 nights Arrived 20 Oct 2007
"Halali, of course, offers a view of wild life rather different from the one available farther west. And it might just be worth staying here for that reason. The accommodation, recently refurbished, too, is excellent and the service here, if anything, worse than at Okaukuejo.

We stood in a queue at the bar in the evening while waiters were served before us (they, too, used the same facility) only to be told, when we reached its head, that they couldn't serve us because they had run out of glasses. Tempers became pretty frayed. One tour operator had a public row with the restaurant manager - 'if you charge premium prices you must deliver premium service'. We had some sympathy with that.

A waitress who might or might not serve you - she certainly wouldn't expect to supply you with cutlery - could never be found to give you a bill; if you wrested her from the kitchen, she would have to go to a madame sitting in a booth to get the bill, to bring it to you, to take it back to madame, to grope for change, to take it to madame .... You had to start this process early - we were committed to a night drive at 8.00 p.m. and asked for a bill at 7.30 p.m. Tempting providence. We were just lucky - I fancy there are still some folk waiting even now to pay - or, more likely, they've sneaked off without paying out of sheer frustration.

The following morning, the same waitress is listlessly mopping the floor; madame objects to being invited to give us a bill direct. Systems, procedure, management .... dire. And all those lovely rooms. The waterhole was disappointing, too, though we do remember that wild animals are exactly that and you take your choice; and we did come across eight lions sitting by the rpoadside on our way out." See all these reviews: 26n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Terrible
Facilities:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Poor
Showing 281-290 of 316
79%
316 reviews of Halali Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
83
153
65
13
2
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Etosha National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

Set within Etosha National Park, Okaukuejo Camp is a large, well-equipped restcamp, with a productive floodlit waterhole.


83% (639 reviews)
Mushara Bush Camp

Mushara Bush Camp

The family-friendly Mushara Bush Camp offers a beautifully designed lodge, friendly service and a great base from which to explore Etosha National Park.


94% (237 reviews)
Ongava Tented Camp

Ongava Tented Camp

Built around a waterhole Ongava Tented Camp offers good service, delicious food, comfortable rooms, easy access to Etosha and wildlife in camp.


93% (146 reviews)
Ongava Lodge

Ongava Lodge

Ongava is a smart lodge with fantastic views that offers a range of driving and walking safaris on its own reserve, and guided drives in Etosha.


92% (144 reviews)
Dolomite Camp

Dolomite Camp

Opened in 2011, Dolomite Camp allows visitors access to the far west side of Etosha National Park, which was previously off limits to most visitors.


86% (94 reviews)
Mushara Lodge

Mushara Lodge

Not far from the entrance to Etosha, Mushara Lodge offers comfortable and tastefully decorated rooms in a convenient location for exploring the park.


92% (85 reviews)
Namutoni Camp

Namutoni Camp

Centred on an old fort, the government run Namutoni Camp is located just inside Etosha National Park, close to Fisher's Pan.


82% (82 reviews)
Onguma Tented Camp

Onguma Tented Camp

Onguma Tented Camp is a lovely, little tented camp which centres around an attractive waterhole a short drive from the Von Lindequist Gate to eastern Etosha.


93% (79 reviews)
Onguma Bush Camp

Onguma Bush Camp

For great wildlife viewing without breaking the bank, the affordable and understated luxury of Onguma Bush Camp could be perfect.


93% (77 reviews)
Hobatere Lodge

Hobatere Lodge

To the west of Etosha National Park, on the edge of Damaraland, Hobatere Lodge offers good game-viewing on its own reserve.


90% (67 reviews)
Mushara Outpost

Mushara Outpost

Mushara Outpost is a comfortable, stylish lodge, and a good base from which to explore nearby Etosha National Park on your own or with a guided safari.


93% (55 reviews)
Onguma Tree Top Camp

Onguma Tree Top Camp

For a bird’s eye view across African bush, the stilted rooms at Onguma Tree Top are truly special.


97% (42 reviews)
Onguma The Fort

Onguma The Fort

The Fort is the jewel in the crown of the Onguma lodges, and arguably the whole of eastern Etosha.


95% (35 reviews)
Onguma Etosha Aoba

Onguma Etosha Aoba

From its woodland setting on the Onguma Reserve, Etosha Aoba is within easy striking distance of Namibia’s flagship national park.


89% (32 reviews)
Taleni Etosha Village

Taleni Etosha Village

Only 4km from Etosha's southern entrance, Taleni Etosha Village is an affordable base from which to explore the park.


93% (26 reviews)
Etosha Safari Lodge

Etosha Safari Lodge

A short drive from Etosha National Park's southern entrance, Etosha Safari Lodge is a convenient base from which to explore the park.


84% (24 reviews)
Etosha Safari Camp

Etosha Safari Camp

Funky, low-key and very original, Etosha Safari Camp is well placed for visiting Etosha National Park on a self-drive or guided safari.


87% (23 reviews)
Little Ongava

Little Ongava

The beautifully located and luxurious Little Ongava is a stunning place to stay in order to explore Etosha National Park and the private Ongava Reserve.


97% (23 reviews)
Safarihoek Lodge

Safarihoek Lodge

In the middle of the Etosha Heights Reserve, Safarihoek Lodge offers comfortable accommodation and excellent game-viewing.


95% (21 reviews)
Mokuti Etosha Lodge

Mokuti Etosha Lodge

With 106 rooms, child-friendly Mokuti Etosha Lodge is more like a hotel than a lode. Facilities to include a gym, spa, tennis courts and even a snake park.


92% (10 reviews)
Mountain Lodge

Mountain Lodge

In the heart of the Etosha Heights Reserve, Mountain Lodge offers the chance for game drives and bush walks away from some of the crowds of Etosha.


97% (7 reviews)
Andersson's at Ongava

Andersson's at Ongava

With game drives on both its private reserve and in Etosha, Andersson's at Ongava also offers access to the Ongava Research Centre.


100% (5 reviews)
Etosha Garden Hotel

Etosha Garden Hotel

Safari in Etosha National Park Namibia, whilst based at the nearby Etosha Garden Lodge.


60% (4 reviews)
Vreugde Guest Farm

Vreugde Guest Farm

Vreugde Guest Farm is a delightful owner-run and working sheep farm where you can expect a warm welcome and charming hospitality.


95% (4 reviews)
Villa Mushara

Villa Mushara

Villa Mushara offers luxury in a peaceful and isolated location. It is a good choice for honeymooners & those wishing to indulge themselves.


93% (3 reviews)
Toshari Lodge

Toshari Lodge

Safari in Etosha National Park Namibia, whilst based at Etosha Gateway Lodge.


80% (1 review)
Onkoshi Camp

Onkoshi Camp

Onkoshi Camp is owned and run by Namibia Wildlife Resorts. Built on elevated wooden platforms it overlooks Etosha Pan.


No reviews yet
Etosha Oberland Lodge

Etosha Oberland Lodge

A short drive from Etosha National Park's southern entrance, Etosha Onderland Lodge promises a convenient base from which to explore the park.


No reviews yet
Safari House

Safari House

The private Safari House on the Etosha Heights reserve is a great option families or friends travelling together.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa