This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Halali Camp
Halali Camp
Halali Camp
Halali Camp
Halali Camp
Halali Camp

Reviews of Halali Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

321 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Halali Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jun-2018, 28 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Halali Camp.
Lion

77% success

Leopard

36% success

Cheetah

4% success

Zebra

100% success

Giraffe

96% success

Oryx

96% success

Wildebeest

93% success

Elephant

92% success

Black Rhino

75% success

Spotted Hyena

52% success

White Rhino

39% success

Eland

27% success

Brown Hyena

10% success

Sable antelope

6% success

Roan antelope

5% success

Aardvark

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Showing 291-300 of 321
Duration
Arrival date
M & L
Vancouver, BC

"Halali Restcamp review"

3 nights Arrived 27 Oct 2007
"Nice renovated rooms

Buffet food acceptable - not great. Staff friendly and helpful" See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
The Kettle family
UK

"Halali Restcamp review"

1 night Arrived 24 Oct 2007
"We had the best sleep of our holiday here - the rooms have fabulous airconditioning and the beds are super comfy. But what miserable recpetion staff. Didn't bother to give us details on breakfast and check-out times so that when we returned at 9 from our early morning drive - as one would expect to do - we were surprised - and hungry to find the restaurant closed.

Seems as if the restaurant hours and the likelihood of people being on safari during those hours hasn't been thought out. It was a shame because whilst they have obviously put a lot of thought into the accommodation, the attitude of those working there does not seem to be any different from what you would expect in a backpackers hostel.

Lovely waterhole. Could have done with 2 nights here." See all these reviews: 7n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Poor
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Poor
Mr & Mrs D
Oxon

"Halali Restcamp review"

2 nights Arrived 22 Oct 2007
"After Ongava this was disapointing. The bungalow was air conditioned and comfortable but could have been in suburbia. The restaurant was not good with pretty mediocre food. The waterhole , which had a fabulous location produced no game morning or evening - possibly due to the large number of noisy, smoking, flash photography people.

I think it is worth emphasising that the Rest camps are in no way comparable to the private lodges" See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Poor

Location:
Good
Service:
Poor
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Poor
Miss R & Mr N
Surrey

""Hell - ali" restcamp"

1 night Arrived 22 Oct 2007
"This was the low point of the holiday. What a contrast to everywhere else we stayed, especially Etendeka.
Rude, surly and unfriendly service - should they be working in a service industry?

Shop was poorly stocked. Restaurant baking hot (although you could eat outside)
Breakfast was abysmal -poor choice and poor quality, tinned fruit cocktail, bread (dry from the atmosphere) no toaster and not even marmalade or jam and they made us pay $12 for it although our voucher stated we had B&B. Didn't fancy anything cooked.

Made to pay $500 room deposit in case we stole anything or trashed the room - what sort of welcome is that?
Room had been very nicely refurbed and was very clean, lovely bedlinen.

Suggest Expert Africe arrange some form of" bond" should any of their guests "trash" the room - an event that I believe will never happen. It would be better to bring your own packed food that eat here." See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Terrible

Location:
Good
Service:
Terrible
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Terrible
Mr P
Penny

"A different view"

2 nights Arrived 20 Oct 2007
"Halali, of course, offers a view of wild life rather different from the one available farther west. And it might just be worth staying here for that reason. The accommodation, recently refurbished, too, is excellent and the service here, if anything, worse than at Okaukuejo.

We stood in a queue at the bar in the evening while waiters were served before us (they, too, used the same facility) only to be told, when we reached its head, that they couldn't serve us because they had run out of glasses. Tempers became pretty frayed. One tour operator had a public row with the restaurant manager - 'if you charge premium prices you must deliver premium service'. We had some sympathy with that.

A waitress who might or might not serve you - she certainly wouldn't expect to supply you with cutlery - could never be found to give you a bill; if you wrested her from the kitchen, she would have to go to a madame sitting in a booth to get the bill, to bring it to you, to take it back to madame, to grope for change, to take it to madame .... You had to start this process early - we were committed to a night drive at 8.00 p.m. and asked for a bill at 7.30 p.m. Tempting providence. We were just lucky - I fancy there are still some folk waiting even now to pay - or, more likely, they've sneaked off without paying out of sheer frustration.

The following morning, the same waitress is listlessly mopping the floor; madame objects to being invited to give us a bill direct. Systems, procedure, management .... dire. And all those lovely rooms. The waterhole was disappointing, too, though we do remember that wild animals are exactly that and you take your choice; and we did come across eight lions sitting by the rpoadside on our way out." See all these reviews: 26n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Terrible
Facilities:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Poor
Mrs B
Hampshire

"Halali Restcamp review"

2 nights Arrived 18 Oct 2007
"rooms excellent, looked all brand new" See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Mr Sand Martin
UK

"Halali Restcamp review"

4 nights Arrived 12 Oct 2007
"This is by far the best cap in Etosha as little has been done to it other than adding shade to the waterhole viewing area and refurbishing the rooms

The night drives are over-priced and are frankly terrible. The guides are not properly trained and give inaccurate or downright wrong information. The drives are run on the cheap with the driver trying to operate the spotlight as well as drive which doesnt work well" See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Activities:
Poor
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Poor
Ms H & Family
Surrey

"lovely waterhole at halali restcamp"

1 night Arrived 10 Oct 2007
"We were slightly anxious about this venue as we had been informed that it would be basic, but we were very pleasantly surprised. Our chalet was very clean and spacious, the food, in the school dining room atmosphere, was fine and we had a lovely few hours by the waterhole, which is set away from the rooms, watching elephant.

We only stayed one night and left early in the morning so did not really have a chance to use facilities etc." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Mr N & Ms S
Zambia

"Sound accommodation, great waterhole"

2 nights Arrived 10 Oct 2007
"After one or two comments we had heard at Ongava we were slightly cautious of what to expect here and at Okaukuejo: however, in both cases, we were pleasantly surprised.

The accommodation at Halali is better than adequate and the location is prime - we used it as a base to explore a significant proportion of the eastern end of Etosha going as far round as Tsumcor (which is well worth the trek). Of course, Halali's strongest point is the waterhole which is brilliant: we were fortunate enough to see myriad elephants and five black rhinos there as well as a wide range of herbivores.

We did not do any organised activities out of Halali but drove ourselves and simply enjoyed the waterhole at the camp.
In the context of exploring the east, from our brief stop there we'd be a little cautious of Namutoni (which we note you didn't recommend) where we were unimpressed by the waterhole." See all these reviews: 7n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mr & Mrs A
Notts

"Halali Restcamp review"

2 nights Arrived 3 Oct 2007
"We had decided to stay at Halali because we believed that it would be quieter than Okaukuejo rest camp. This was the case but in fact the whole park was so quiet in comparison to the Kruger Park that we needn't have worried. Halali camp felt spacious and there was plenty of birdlife in camp, while the floodlit waterhole was in a lovely setting 200m from the main camping area but less busy with animal visitors than Okaukuejo.

My only criticism with this camp would be with the catering facilities - the lighting in the dining room was so bright at dinner in the evening that it felt like a school canteen and the air conditioning was ineffective making life very uncomfortable. Also the shop had minimal goods and in order to self cater (even for sandwiches) one needed to bring food into the park and could not rely on buying anything on site." See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Showing 291-300 of 321
79%
321 reviews of Halali Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
85
154
66
14
2
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Etosha National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

Set within Etosha National Park, Okaukuejo Resort is a large camp with a productive, floodlit waterhole.


83% (657 reviews)
Mushara Bush Camp

Mushara Bush Camp

The family-friendly Mushara Bush Camp offers great value and is an excellent base from which to explore Etosha National Park.


94% (247 reviews)
Ongava Tented Camp

Ongava Tented Camp

Set around a waterhole on a private reserve, the small Ongava Tented Camp combines understated comfort with activities that include walks and night drives.


93% (147 reviews)
Ongava Lodge

Ongava Lodge

With fantastic views over a private reserve bordering Etosha, the smart Ongava Lodge offers driving and walking safaris on the reserve, and guided drives in Etosha.


92% (148 reviews)
Dolomite Camp

Dolomite Camp

Opened in 2011, Dolomite Camp allows visitors access to the far west side of Etosha National Park, which was previously off limits to most visitors.


86% (94 reviews)
Onguma Tented Camp

Onguma Tented Camp

Onguma Tented Camp is a lovely, little tented camp which centres around an attractive waterhole a short drive from the Von Lindequist Gate to eastern Etosha.


92% (87 reviews)
Mushara Lodge

Mushara Lodge

Close to the eastern entrance to Etosha, the comfortable Mushara Lodge is well-placed for exploring the park in your own vehicle or on a guided drive.


92% (87 reviews)
Namutoni Camp

Namutoni Camp

Centred on an old fort, the government run Namutoni Camp is located just inside Etosha National Park, close to Fisher's Pan.


82% (83 reviews)
Onguma Bush Camp

Onguma Bush Camp

For great wildlife viewing without breaking the bank, the affordable and understated luxury of Onguma Bush Camp could be perfect.


93% (78 reviews)
Hobatere Lodge

Hobatere Lodge

To the west of Etosha National Park, on the edge of Damaraland, Hobatere Lodge offers good game-viewing on its own reserve.


89% (71 reviews)
Mushara Outpost

Mushara Outpost

The most luxurious property on the reserve, Mushara Outpost is well-placed to explore nearby Etosha National Park on your own or on a guided drive.


94% (56 reviews)
Onguma Tree Top Camp

Onguma Tree Top Camp

For a bird’s eye view across African bush, the stilted rooms at Onguma Tree Top are truly special.


97% (42 reviews)
Onguma The Fort

Onguma The Fort

The Fort is the jewel in the crown of the Onguma lodges, and arguably the whole of eastern Etosha.


95% (38 reviews)
Onguma Forest Camp

Onguma Forest Camp

From its woodland setting on the Onguma Reserve, Forest Camp is within easy striking distance of Namibia’s flagship national park.


90% (33 reviews)
Safarihoek Lodge

Safarihoek Lodge

At the heart of the private Etosha Heights Reserve, Safarihoek Lodge offers comfortable accommodation and excellent game-viewing.


95% (32 reviews)
Taleni Etosha Village

Taleni Etosha Village

Only 4km from Etosha's southern entrance, Taleni Etosha Village is an affordable base from which to explore the park.


93% (26 reviews)
Little Ongava

Little Ongava

The beautifully located and luxurious Little Ongava is a stunning place to stay in order to explore Etosha National Park and the private Ongava Reserve.


97% (24 reviews)
Etosha Safari Lodge

Etosha Safari Lodge

A short drive from Etosha National Park's southern entrance, Etosha Safari Lodge is a convenient base from which to explore the park.


84% (24 reviews)
Etosha Safari Camp

Etosha Safari Camp

Funky, low-key and very original, Etosha Safari Camp is well placed for visiting Etosha National Park on a self-drive or guided safari.


86% (22 reviews)
Mokuti Etosha Lodge

Mokuti Etosha Lodge

With 106 rooms, child-friendly Mokuti Etosha Lodge is more like a hotel than a lodge. Facilities to include a gym, spa, tennis courts and even a snake park.


92% (10 reviews)
Mountain Lodge

Mountain Lodge

In the heart of the private Etosha Heights Reserve, the family-friendly Mountain Lodge offers game drives and bush walks within an exclusive environment.


97% (7 reviews)
Andersson's at Ongava

Andersson's at Ongava

With game drives on both its private reserve and in Etosha, Andersson's at Ongava also offers access to the Ongava Research Centre.


94% (7 reviews)
Villa Mushara

Villa Mushara

Offering luxury on a peaceful and isolated private reserve, Villa Mushara is a great choice for honeymooners & those wishing to indulge themselves.


95% (4 reviews)
Vreugde Guest Farm

Vreugde Guest Farm

Vreugde Guest Farm is a delightful owner-run and working sheep farm where you can expect a warm welcome and charming hospitality.


95% (4 reviews)
Etosha Garden Hotel

Etosha Garden Hotel

Safari in Etosha National Park Namibia, whilst based at the nearby Etosha Garden Lodge.


60% (4 reviews)
Safari House

Safari House

The private Safari House on the Etosha Heights reserve is a great option families or friends travelling together.


100% (1 review)
Toshari Lodge

Toshari Lodge

Safari in Etosha National Park Namibia, whilst based at Etosha Gateway Lodge.


80% (1 review)
Etosha Oberland Lodge

Etosha Oberland Lodge

A short drive from Etosha National Park's southern entrance, Etosha Oberland Lodge promises a convenient base from which to explore the park.


100% (1 review)
Onkoshi Camp

Onkoshi Camp

Onkoshi Camp is owned and run by Namibia Wildlife Resorts. Built on elevated wooden platforms it overlooks Etosha Pan.


No reviews yet
Etosha King Nehale

Etosha King Nehale

A short drive from the national park's northern entrance, Etosha King Nehale Lodge is an interesting and comfortable base from which to explore the park.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa