This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Halali Camp
Halali Camp
Halali Camp

Reviews of Halali Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

316 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Halali Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jun-2018, 24 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Halali Camp.
Lion

86% success

Leopard

42% success

Cheetah

0% success

Elephant

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Giraffe

96% success

Oryx

95% success

Wildebeest

91% success

Black Rhino

76% success

Spotted Hyena

52% success

White Rhino

37% success

Eland

26% success

Brown Hyena

11% success

Sable antelope

7% success

Roan antelope

5% success

Aardvark

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Showing 271-280 of 316
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs R
Salisbury

"Better room than Okaukuejo"

1 night Arrived 22 Jul 2008
"As for Okaukuejo - if you decide to stay in Eotsha, then you stay in the three rest camps or nowhere. The family room we had here was better than the two adjoining doubles we had in Okaukuejo and the self catering faciltiies were better - albeit still at the kettle and fridge only level.

It is a smaller place than the other two camps and less affected by tour buses and overland trucks. However, there is a slight paucity of good waterholes nearby" See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Family H
Surrey

"Halali Restcamp review"

2 nights Arrived 15 Jul 2008
"The accommodation exceeded our expectations and our game viewing was first class.

The shop at the camp was inadequately stocked for anybody wanting to enjoy a picnic lunch.

The evening meal buffet would have been repetitive for anything beyond a 2 night stay." See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia; 6n in Botswana; 1n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Water dikkops
Calgary

"ok"

1 night Arrived 13 Jul 2008
"Camping very dusty, but this is to be expected. Nice facilities for camping. However, the camp site was only about 1/4 full yet they assigned us all sites right next to each other. Not too impressed with this! If they spread us out there is less noise issues and less dust issues. Seems like a simple change that would make the camping so much nicer.

We didn't notice any of this, maybe they have it but if so, they need to promote it. When we were in Kruger each camp had a set of activities you could sign up for. Such as night drives, day drives (which I think Etosha does have this) but they also had bush walks and guided mtn biking on game trails, which gave us some of the best experiences we had while in South Africa. These are very good ideas!" See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Excellent
Activities:
Poor
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Sitatungas
Sterling

"Halali Restcamp review"

2 nights Arrived 3 Jul 2008
"Despite the commendation in Bradt, I thought this was a little disappointing. We had to change chalets after the first night and were promised this would all be done by their staff while we were out. But in the event we had to take all our luggage to Reception and pick it up later in the day.

The chalets were well designed but one had no sitting out chairs; the other no kind of table in the living room. Towel rails in both chalets either fell off the wall or threatened to do so. On the other hand the restaurant was pleasant and the food good.

We visited their waterhole on 4 different occasions but saw very few animals - night or day. But it is a good enough base for drives outside the camp, where there is plenty of game. (We were unable to book Namatoni, which was the preferred option)" See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mr & Mrs C
Lancashire

"Halali Restcamp review"

3 nights Arrived 20 Jun 2008
"The chalet at Halali was double the size of the waterhole chalet at Okaukuejo and very relaxing. The waterhole at Halali was, not surprisingly a little disapointing after Okaukuejo.

The best waterhole outside the camp was probably Rietfontein." See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Caracal party
London

"Lovely quiet waterhole in middle of Etosha"

1 night Arrived 20 Jun 2008
"Halali was very good, much better appointed than we expected with good service and a very good meal in the restaurant.

The waterhole is a little quieter than Okaukuejo but still worth time sitting in the evening, we saw a lovely family of elephant drinking." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia; 3n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Mr P & Mrs C
UK

"Halali Restcamp review"

2 nights Arrived 28 May 2008
"Of all the restcamps, this is the one that has been refurbished the most appropriately, with good rooms of a reasonable size, not overdone like Namutoni, and with easy access.

Food and service still leave a lot to be desired, and with no shop to speak of to even buy something for a picnic lunch, we recommend taking an early breakfast before the gates open, and taking a carryout from there of cold meats, cheese, eggs etc." See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Poor
Mr D
Sword

"Night safari at Halali"

2 nights Arrived 16 May 2008
"We had a bit of an adventure here - or at least, on the way here. Our rental car broke down in the middle of the park and we had to get a lift to Halali Restcamp. The manager here was exceptionally helpful and professional in helping us out of our predicament - namely, stuck in the park with no car. He helped us to arrange delivery of a new car the following morning, and in the meantime had our car towed back to Okaukuejo. His staff also retrieved our luggage from the boot of our car and brought it to our room for us.

The room itself was fine, they are stand-alone buildings and quite spacious, with a small kitchen and sitting room. The food here was fine as well, nothing spectacular but then unlike the other private lodges, this place is open to the public during the day as it's inside the park. The waterhole is definitely worth a visit here! One of the highlights of our trip was seeing a family of four (!) rhino visiting the waterhole in the evening. Very exciting.

We went for a night game drive here, which overall we found slightly disappointing, but worth the trip nevertheless. The driver had a lot on his plate - driving the big 4x4, giving a running commentary, and directing the lamp to try to spot the animals. We did see a lion, and a hyena, bat-eared fox, hares and a couple of other animals, but overall we found it rather expensive.

Two things would have made the night safari better - firstly, if the driver had been accompanied by a separate guide. That way, the driver could concentrate on the road while the guide used the lamp to spot animals. Secondly, it would have added to the sense of adventure if we had gone down some roads that aren't normally accessible to the public, rather than staying on the same roads we had been driving on during the day. However, the guide made a good effort to explain a lot of things to us about the animals and geology of Etosha pan." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
The rhinos
UK

"Halali Restcamp review"

1 night Arrived 7 Apr 2008
"We were extremely pleased with the quality of the Bush Chalet at Halali. The accommodation was spacious, comfortable and had air conditioning. Food was very good.

The waterhole offers excellent opportunities to spot animals - we were lucky enough to spot 7 rhinos and 2 hyenia in one evening!" See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Blackwinged stilts
UK

"Halali Restcamp review"

2 nights Arrived 16 Mar 2008
"This place was a lot better than the previous Etosha restcamp. I thought the room was much better and more attractive. The layout was better, it was much lighter and brighter. The food here was also an improvement and marginally cheaper so we ate at the restaurant both nights.

The service at the front desk was better than the previous etosha restcamp but it was not particulary good and there seemed to be a few unhappy guests queing up to complain about something in their room. The pool area was good here but with only about 5 sunloungers around a very large pool, you had to lie on the hard concrete to relax." See all these reviews: 21n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Showing 271-280 of 316
79%
316 reviews of Halali Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
83
153
65
13
2
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Etosha National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

Set within Etosha National Park, Okaukuejo Camp is a large, well-equipped restcamp, with a productive floodlit waterhole.


83% (639 reviews)
Mushara Bush Camp

Mushara Bush Camp

The family-friendly Mushara Bush Camp offers a beautifully designed lodge, friendly service and a great base from which to explore Etosha National Park.


94% (237 reviews)
Ongava Tented Camp

Ongava Tented Camp

Built around a waterhole Ongava Tented Camp offers good service, delicious food, comfortable rooms, easy access to Etosha and wildlife in camp.


93% (146 reviews)
Ongava Lodge

Ongava Lodge

Ongava is a smart lodge with fantastic views that offers a range of driving and walking safaris on its own reserve, and guided drives in Etosha.


92% (144 reviews)
Dolomite Camp

Dolomite Camp

Opened in 2011, Dolomite Camp allows visitors access to the far west side of Etosha National Park, which was previously off limits to most visitors.


86% (94 reviews)
Mushara Lodge

Mushara Lodge

Not far from the entrance to Etosha, Mushara Lodge offers comfortable and tastefully decorated rooms in a convenient location for exploring the park.


92% (85 reviews)
Namutoni Camp

Namutoni Camp

Centred on an old fort, the government run Namutoni Camp is located just inside Etosha National Park, close to Fisher's Pan.


82% (82 reviews)
Onguma Tented Camp

Onguma Tented Camp

Onguma Tented Camp is a lovely, little tented camp which centres around an attractive waterhole a short drive from the Von Lindequist Gate to eastern Etosha.


93% (79 reviews)
Onguma Bush Camp

Onguma Bush Camp

For great wildlife viewing without breaking the bank, the affordable and understated luxury of Onguma Bush Camp could be perfect.


93% (77 reviews)
Hobatere Lodge

Hobatere Lodge

To the west of Etosha National Park, on the edge of Damaraland, Hobatere Lodge offers good game-viewing on its own reserve.


90% (67 reviews)
Mushara Outpost

Mushara Outpost

Mushara Outpost is a comfortable, stylish lodge, and a good base from which to explore nearby Etosha National Park on your own or with a guided safari.


93% (55 reviews)
Onguma Tree Top Camp

Onguma Tree Top Camp

For a bird’s eye view across African bush, the stilted rooms at Onguma Tree Top are truly special.


97% (42 reviews)
Onguma The Fort

Onguma The Fort

The Fort is the jewel in the crown of the Onguma lodges, and arguably the whole of eastern Etosha.


95% (35 reviews)
Onguma Etosha Aoba

Onguma Etosha Aoba

From its woodland setting on the Onguma Reserve, Etosha Aoba is within easy striking distance of Namibia’s flagship national park.


89% (32 reviews)
Taleni Etosha Village

Taleni Etosha Village

Only 4km from Etosha's southern entrance, Taleni Etosha Village is an affordable base from which to explore the park.


93% (26 reviews)
Etosha Safari Lodge

Etosha Safari Lodge

A short drive from Etosha National Park's southern entrance, Etosha Safari Lodge is a convenient base from which to explore the park.


84% (24 reviews)
Etosha Safari Camp

Etosha Safari Camp

Funky, low-key and very original, Etosha Safari Camp is well placed for visiting Etosha National Park on a self-drive or guided safari.


87% (23 reviews)
Little Ongava

Little Ongava

The beautifully located and luxurious Little Ongava is a stunning place to stay in order to explore Etosha National Park and the private Ongava Reserve.


97% (23 reviews)
Safarihoek Lodge

Safarihoek Lodge

In the middle of the Etosha Heights Reserve, Safarihoek Lodge offers comfortable accommodation and excellent game-viewing.


95% (21 reviews)
Mokuti Etosha Lodge

Mokuti Etosha Lodge

With 106 rooms, child-friendly Mokuti Etosha Lodge is more like a hotel than a lode. Facilities to include a gym, spa, tennis courts and even a snake park.


92% (10 reviews)
Mountain Lodge

Mountain Lodge

In the heart of the Etosha Heights Reserve, Mountain Lodge offers the chance for game drives and bush walks away from some of the crowds of Etosha.


97% (7 reviews)
Andersson's at Ongava

Andersson's at Ongava

With game drives on both its private reserve and in Etosha, Andersson's at Ongava also offers access to the Ongava Research Centre.


100% (5 reviews)
Etosha Garden Hotel

Etosha Garden Hotel

Safari in Etosha National Park Namibia, whilst based at the nearby Etosha Garden Lodge.


60% (4 reviews)
Vreugde Guest Farm

Vreugde Guest Farm

Vreugde Guest Farm is a delightful owner-run and working sheep farm where you can expect a warm welcome and charming hospitality.


95% (4 reviews)
Villa Mushara

Villa Mushara

Villa Mushara offers luxury in a peaceful and isolated location. It is a good choice for honeymooners & those wishing to indulge themselves.


93% (3 reviews)
Toshari Lodge

Toshari Lodge

Safari in Etosha National Park Namibia, whilst based at Etosha Gateway Lodge.


80% (1 review)
Onkoshi Camp

Onkoshi Camp

Onkoshi Camp is owned and run by Namibia Wildlife Resorts. Built on elevated wooden platforms it overlooks Etosha Pan.


No reviews yet
Etosha Oberland Lodge

Etosha Oberland Lodge

A short drive from Etosha National Park's southern entrance, Etosha Onderland Lodge promises a convenient base from which to explore the park.


No reviews yet
Safari House

Safari House

The private Safari House on the Etosha Heights reserve is a great option families or friends travelling together.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa