This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Mushara Lodge
Mushara Lodge
Mushara Lodge
Mushara Lodge
Mushara Lodge

Reviews of Mushara Lodge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

99 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Mushara Lodge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jun-2018, 15 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Mushara Lodge.
Lion

71% success

Leopard

60% success

Cheetah

30% success

Giraffe

93% success

Oryx

93% success

Wildebeest

93% success

Zebra

93% success

Elephant

86% success

Black Rhino

64% success

Spotted Hyena

50% success

White Rhino

50% success

Eland

45% success

Brown Hyena

11% success

Aardvark

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Roan antelope

0% success

Sable antelope

0% success

Showing 21-30 of 99
Duration
Arrival date
Dune lover
London

"Mushara Lodge Reivew"

2 nights Arrived 19 May 2019
"Our stay at this Lodge was also excellent (although anything was going to be a difficult act to follow after Safarihoek). The chalet was well appointed and comfortable, the staff were friendly and helpful and the main room in the Lodge very "out of Africa" looking.

One comment we would make was that it just had a slightly more commercial feel to it after all the other Lodges we stayed in. However, we enjoyed our stay and the surroundings were very pretty. It was a great location to explore the eastern side of Etosha and we thoroughly enjoyed the Lodge's own safaris. We would recommend using a Lodge safari as the guides are in communication with other guides and they advise each other where to go for the best animal sitings at the various waterholes. However, despite seeing lion tracks, we only actually saw one lion. Got the most amazing photos of a leopard chasing a young springbok. We should have made a note at the time of which animals we saw at each location but we were too excited taking photos." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia; 3n in Zimbabwe; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

9 sightings

Leopard

2 sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Oryx

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

7 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mrs F.
Aylesbury

"Mushara Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 1 Nov 2018
"A pleasant place to stay having driven across Etosha that day. Clean and comfortable. Nice pool. Good dinner outside one night.

Slightly disappointing that the only excursions were back into Etosha. We self-drove. We did have the thrill of seeing a leopard on the way to Mushara, sitting right on the side of the road.

All animals listed as seen below, where seen in Etosha not Mushara." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Elephant

3 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

3 sightings

Oryx

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

White Rhino

1 sighting

Wildebeest

9 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr & Mrs L
Norwich

"Mushara Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 1 Oct 2018
"good quality well laid out some way out of Etosha

The most disappointing feature was the quality of the guiding which was below the standard experienced in Zim, Zambia Tanz and RSA

The guide was charming and v willing but added v little value to that of a driver." See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Average
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Poor
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

Multiple sightings

Brown Hyena

1 sighting

Cheetah

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Lion

1 sighting

Oryx

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr D.
Chelmsford

"Mushara Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 27 Sep 2018
"Disappointing in many ways - flattering to deceive and certainly not a patch on Ongava and Onguma fort.

Food very average" See all these reviews: 20n in Namibia; 5n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Poor
Facilities:
Average
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

1 sighting

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Oryx

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mrs K
Andover

"Amazing Mushara"

2 nights Arrived 23 Jun 2018
"Mushara Lodge was beautiful with fabulous rooms and the best staff of the holiday.

Had a wedding anniversary and birthday here and the staff helped celebrate with flowers, candles and singing.

Food was delicious with a braai one evening in a magically lit boma with beautifully laid tables and again catered for vegetarian members really well. Also enjoyed sitting by the roaring fire in the lodge.

We had issues with our hire car whilst staying here and the staff could not have been more helpful in sorting a replacement. As we were without our car for a day we decided to take a guided safari from the lodge. So pleased we did. With Solomon’s (our guide) knowledge of the local wildlife in the eastern section of Etosha we spotted a leopard and a cheetah with 3 cubs. Wow.

Thank you Mushara for a memorable stay." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Cheetah

4 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Oryx

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Linda & Paul
UK

"Probably the best place I have ever stayed at"

2 nights Arrived 16 May 2018
"An outstanding lodge in every respect. Wonderful room, excellent meals and two wonderful locations to enjoy the dining experience.

The BBQ on our second night was one that I will certainly not forget!" See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs CH
Guildford

"Wonderful lodge with outstanding service"

3 nights Arrived 27 Apr 2018
"We stayed her in 2017 and made the right decision to go back. It is a lovely lodge with great food, service and style." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia; 5n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mr & Mrs JW
SW London

"Divided opinion between us"

2 nights Arrived 14 Mar 2018
"Whilst this is a beautiful place, very well equipped and comfortable with lovely rooms, our opinions were divided.

Perhaps it was our fault but we didn't realise in advance that the only trips were back into Etosha, where we had just spent the previous four days. One of us went on one of these in the morning and was quite happy but the other didn't on the basis that we had seen all we wanted to see. So one of us spent the whole day hanging around in Mushara with nobody else around (there were no other guests at the time) and literally nothing to do. No walks (you can't go far because there are animals roaming the Mushara grounds), no waterhole and no views. It was a shame because it is lovely, but it flatters to deceive. It is fine if you just want to crash out for a day or if you treat it as a base for Etosha.

If you've already spent a few days in Etosha and don't want to go back there isn't really much point in staying here. It falls short of excellent because of the lack of things to do." See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia; 5n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Mr P & Mrs L
Uk

"Mushara Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 16 Feb 2018
"We had originally booked to stay in the Bush Camp, but upon arrival in mid afternoon found the "tent" too hot for us.

So moved to Mushara Lodge with a/c ! Lovely lodge. Convenient to re-enter Etosha via Von Lindequist Gate. Beautiful pool area.

The lady who looked after us during our stay was Lunkrentia (Lu for short). A really helpful cheerful young lady." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
The Rolling Crones
UK

"Mushara Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 26 Jan 2018
"Only one night here, so difficult to make proper comment. However they did help me celebrate my birthday with flowers on the breakfast table and the staff sang to me. A nice touch" See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Showing 21-30 of 99
93%
99 reviews of Mushara Lodge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
71
21
6
0
1
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Etosha National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

Set within Etosha National Park, Okaukuejo Resort is a large camp with a productive, floodlit waterhole.


83% (706 reviews)
Halali Camp

Halali Camp

The smallest of Etosha's erstwhile restcamps, overlooking its own floodlit waterhole, Halali has a superb location near the centre of Etosha Pan.


79% (331 reviews)
Mushara Bush Camp

Mushara Bush Camp

The family-friendly Mushara Bush Camp offers great value and is an excellent base from which to explore Etosha National Park.


94% (264 reviews)
Ongava Lodge

Ongava Lodge

With fantastic views over a private reserve bordering Etosha, the smart Ongava Lodge offers driving and walking safaris on the reserve, and guided drives in Etosha.


92% (161 reviews)
Ongava Tented Camp

Ongava Tented Camp

Set around a waterhole on a private reserve, the small Ongava Tented Camp combines understated comfort with activities that include walks and night drives.


93% (154 reviews)
Onguma Tented Camp

Onguma Tented Camp

Onguma Tented Camp is a lovely, little tented camp which centres around an attractive waterhole a short drive from the Von Lindequist Gate to eastern Etosha.


92% (103 reviews)
Dolomite Camp

Dolomite Camp

Opened in 2011, Dolomite Camp allows visitors access to the far west side of Etosha National Park, which was previously off limits to most visitors.


86% (97 reviews)
Namutoni Camp

Namutoni Camp

Centred on an old fort, the government run Namutoni Camp is located just inside Etosha National Park, close to Fisher's Pan.


82% (89 reviews)
Onguma Bush Camp

Onguma Bush Camp

For great wildlife viewing without breaking the bank, the affordable and understated luxury of Onguma Bush Camp could be perfect.


94% (85 reviews)
Hobatere Lodge

Hobatere Lodge

To the west of Etosha National Park, on the edge of Damaraland, Hobatere Lodge offers good game-viewing on its own reserve.


89% (74 reviews)
Mushara Outpost

Mushara Outpost

Intimate and luxurious, Mushara Outpost is well-placed on a private reserve to explore nearby Etosha National Park on your own or on a guided drive.


94% (68 reviews)
Onguma Camp Kala

Onguma Camp Kala

For a bird’s eye view across African bush, the stilted rooms at Onguma Camp Kala are truly special.


97% (43 reviews)
Onguma The Fort

Onguma The Fort

The Fort is the jewel in the crown of the Onguma lodges, and arguably the whole of eastern Etosha.


96% (41 reviews)
Safarihoek Lodge

Safarihoek Lodge

At the heart of the private Etosha Heights Reserve, Safarihoek Lodge offers comfortable accommodation and excellent game-viewing.


95% (37 reviews)
Onguma Forest Camp

Onguma Forest Camp

From its woodland setting on the Onguma Reserve, Forest Camp is within easy striking distance of Namibia’s flagship national park.


88% (36 reviews)
Taleni Etosha Village

Taleni Etosha Village

Only 4km from Etosha's southern entrance, Taleni Etosha Village is an affordable base from which to explore the park.


93% (26 reviews)
Etosha Safari Lodge

Etosha Safari Lodge

A short drive from Etosha National Park's southern entrance, Etosha Safari Lodge is a convenient base from which to explore the park.


85% (26 reviews)
Little Ongava

Little Ongava

The beautifully located and luxurious Little Ongava is a stunning place to stay in order to explore Etosha National Park and the private Ongava Reserve.


97% (25 reviews)
Etosha Safari Camp

Etosha Safari Camp

Funky, low-key and very original, Etosha Safari Camp is well placed for visiting Etosha National Park on a self-drive or guided safari.


86% (22 reviews)
Andersson's at Ongava

Andersson's at Ongava

With game drives on both its private reserve and in Etosha, Andersson's at Ongava also offers access to the Ongava Research Centre.


95% (19 reviews)
Mountain Lodge

Mountain Lodge

In the heart of the private Etosha Heights Reserve, the family-friendly Mountain Lodge offers game drives and bush walks within an exclusive environment.


97% (14 reviews)
Mokuti Etosha Lodge

Mokuti Etosha Lodge

With 106 rooms, child-friendly Mokuti Etosha Lodge is more like a hotel than a lodge. Facilities to include a gym, spa, tennis courts and even a snake park.


93% (11 reviews)
Etosha Oberland Lodge

Etosha Oberland Lodge

A short drive from Etosha National Park's southern entrance, Etosha Oberland Lodge is a very comfortable base from which to explore the park, with excellent food.


100% (6 reviews)
Vreugde Guest Farm

Vreugde Guest Farm

Vreugde Guest Farm is a delightful owner-run and working sheep farm where you can expect a warm welcome and charming hospitality.


90% (6 reviews)
Etosha Garden Hotel

Etosha Garden Hotel

Safari in Etosha National Park Namibia, whilst based at the nearby Etosha Garden Lodge.


60% (4 reviews)
Villa Mushara

Villa Mushara

Offering luxury on a peaceful private reserve close to Etosha, Villa Mushara is a great choice for honeymooners & those wishing to indulge themselves.


95% (4 reviews)
Etosha King Nehale

Etosha King Nehale

A short drive from the national park's northern entrance, Etosha King Nehale Lodge is an interesting and comfortable base from which to explore the park.


100% (2 reviews)
Safari House

Safari House

The private Safari House on the Etosha Heights reserve is a great option families or friends travelling together.


100% (1 review)
Toshari Lodge

Toshari Lodge

Safari in Etosha National Park Namibia, whilst based at Etosha Gateway Lodge.


80% (1 review)
Onkoshi Camp

Onkoshi Camp

Onkoshi Camp is owned and run by Namibia Wildlife Resorts. Built on elevated wooden platforms it overlooks Etosha Pan.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa