This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Mushara Lodge
Mushara Lodge
Mushara Lodge
Mushara Lodge
Mushara Lodge

Reviews of Mushara Lodge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

96 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Mushara Lodge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jun-2018, 13 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Mushara Lodge.
Lion

75% success

Leopard

63% success

Cheetah

33% success

Giraffe

100% success

Oryx

100% success

Wildebeest

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Elephant

92% success

Black Rhino

70% success

Spotted Hyena

57% success

White Rhino

57% success

Eland

44% success

Brown Hyena

13% success

Aardvark

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Roan antelope

0% success

Sable antelope

0% success

Showing 31-40 of 96
Duration
Arrival date
Drs F & S
Oregon

"A nice venue on the eastern edge"

2 nights Arrived 18 Sep 2017
"This property was very nice but I think we could have just stayed one day." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms S & Mr E
NSW

"Mushara Lodge - back to luxury"

4 nights Arrived 16 Aug 2017
"Mushara Lodge has a stunning main lodge building, with reception, lounge, library, dining and curio shop in beautifully decorated surrounds. The meals were some of the best we had on our holiday in Namibia.

Our chalet was beautifully furnished and decorated. It was clean and well maintained.

Note - the chalets face fairly thick scrub land and not the pool." See all these reviews: 24n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
J Family
Washington

"Mushara Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 10 Aug 2017
"This lodge was near perfect and one of our favorites. The grounds are beautiful and the chalets are decorated with taste and character and well spaced out for privacy. The main lodge itself is a glorious large wood and thatch building that is comfortable and stylish. Dinner outside on the patio is lovely. There are even numerous interesting birds and animals one can spot on the grounds. The location, just 8 km outside the park is excellent. And the food was probably the best of our trip; incredibly well prepared, interesting, and creative. The chef is skilled and cares, and it shows.

The only weakness of the place, surprisingly, was the reticence of the staff. The staff was polite and professional, but quite reserved. We're not an especially talkative bunch, but we were consistently the ones to greet staff members we encountered during our stay. Everyone was quite serious and we didn't see many smiles or get the welcoming warmth we found at a number of the other lodges. None of this would be very noticeable except that they do everything else so well here. For example, for my wife's birthday we found a beautiful bouganvillia arrangement around her place setting and a nice note -- but the staff never actually wished her a happy birthday or said anything at all to her about it. Also, both nights the server broke the cork trying to take it out of the wine bottle. Not a big deal, but a better cork screw and perhaps some additional training would have prevented that. And when we checked in, we were left standing at the desk for nearly ten minutes with the staff unable to find our reservation and going off to seek help. But when I glanced down at the reception table, I could see the paper listing our names and rooms. These are all small things and hardly worth mentioning but they were noticeable because the quality level here was otherwise so high. One last suggestion would be to create a walking or driving trail for guests. Or even a guided walk or drive if there is a wildlife concern.

Mushara was also the only lodge we visited where we were told at check in that the activities for the next morning were already booked and full." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs S
Wellington

"Mushara Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 12 Jul 2017
"Very pleasant. Good food. Nice staff.

Did two very good game drives with the Lodge guide." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia; 2n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr M
Stockport

"Mushara Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 19 Jun 2017
"Second stay at this lodge.

Lovely comfortable room.

Food bit off first night, meat chewy in the Goulash! Second night good barbecue with great oryx steak.

Policy of having doors open in a morning while eating encourages squirrel like creatures to roam, not ideal.

Handy for the east side of the park.

Had a quick email response to food quality and service being a bit overt rather than helpful. Did not raise the squirrel issue." See all these reviews: 8n in Namibia; 2n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Mr & Mrs J
Kent

"Self drive safari in Etosha"

2 nights Arrived 15 May 2017
"~We enjoyed our day driving ourselves around the waterholes of the eastern side of Etosha National Park." See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr B & Mrs C
Glasgow

"The best lodge "

2 nights Arrived 8 Apr 2017
"We spent 2 weeks in Namibia , drove 3500 k and stayed in 7 lodges . All well organised by Sabina at Expert Africa . All lodges had strengths but Mushara was our favourite .

We stayed 2 nights in room 2 - a separate cottage - very private rear veranda - wifi - air conditioning - very easy to use shower - very large room with space for everything . Huge 5 star central lounge with very good coffee and cake . Breakfast on terrace with warthogs and barbecue dinner in boma excellent .

Big garden had cool pool , warthog family , mongoose hunting in long grass(snakes?) dik dik , numerous birds and enough space for privacy . Staff friendly and efficient - a rare combination achieved seldom ." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mrs CH
Wimbledon

"Lovely lodge just outside Etosha National Pk"

3 nights Arrived 19 Mar 2017
"We stayed for 3 nights in a thatched cottage. Staff were warm and welcoming, food was first class, the furnishings were lovely.

We had a great early morning game drive with an excellent guide.

Mosquitos outside at dinner were voracious." See all these reviews: 26n in Namibia; 2n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs T
Cardiff

"Very nice accommodation & close to Etosha"

2 nights Arrived 11 Mar 2017
"The accommodation was excellent and the service good. We liked the location of the individual rooms with close views of birds and wildlife.

We felt a bit put under pressure to sign up for a game drive - we didn't sign up as we had already spent 3 days in Etosha and wanted to do our own thing. Though we missed out on seeing elephants we had excellent views of lions and a cheetah and a view of a white rhino from our own vehicle.

The food at the lodge was disappointing. Breakfast was fine but the dinner dishes - especially starters - we very complicated, the main courses were nothing special and deserts were disappointing (one was basically jelly and custard). As we were eating with low lighting levels it wasn't always possible to detect what the food items were give the mix and/or lack of flavour.

The pool looked very nice but we didn't find time in daylight to use it." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Mr & Mrs B
Colorado

"Mushara Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 6 Mar 2017
"We absolutely loved Mushara Lodge. The setting is gorgeous and serene. The lodge was beautifully decorated and the staff warm & welcoming.

The pool area is such a nice place to relax and quite a bit of wildlife visited us, including warthogs, mongooses, many interesting birds, and dik diks. The room was lovely and romantic. We were very happy with the food and they were kind enough to prepare very nice vegetarian options for me that I greatly enjoyed.

We mostly did self-driving through the park but the one game drive we did was excellent and we finally got to see our elephants!" See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 31-40 of 96
93%
96 reviews of Mushara Lodge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
69
20
6
0
1
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Etosha National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

Set within Etosha National Park, Okaukuejo Resort is a large camp with a productive, floodlit waterhole.


83% (701 reviews)
Halali Camp

Halali Camp

The smallest of Etosha's erstwhile restcamps, overlooking its own floodlit waterhole, Halali has a superb location near the centre of Etosha Pan.


79% (330 reviews)
Mushara Bush Camp

Mushara Bush Camp

The family-friendly Mushara Bush Camp offers great value and is an excellent base from which to explore Etosha National Park.


94% (261 reviews)
Ongava Lodge

Ongava Lodge

With fantastic views over a private reserve bordering Etosha, the smart Ongava Lodge offers driving and walking safaris on the reserve, and guided drives in Etosha.


92% (158 reviews)
Ongava Tented Camp

Ongava Tented Camp

Set around a waterhole on a private reserve, the small Ongava Tented Camp combines understated comfort with activities that include walks and night drives.


93% (153 reviews)
Onguma Tented Camp

Onguma Tented Camp

Onguma Tented Camp is a lovely, little tented camp which centres around an attractive waterhole a short drive from the Von Lindequist Gate to eastern Etosha.


92% (103 reviews)
Dolomite Camp

Dolomite Camp

Opened in 2011, Dolomite Camp allows visitors access to the far west side of Etosha National Park, which was previously off limits to most visitors.


86% (97 reviews)
Namutoni Camp

Namutoni Camp

Centred on an old fort, the government run Namutoni Camp is located just inside Etosha National Park, close to Fisher's Pan.


82% (89 reviews)
Onguma Bush Camp

Onguma Bush Camp

For great wildlife viewing without breaking the bank, the affordable and understated luxury of Onguma Bush Camp could be perfect.


94% (84 reviews)
Hobatere Lodge

Hobatere Lodge

To the west of Etosha National Park, on the edge of Damaraland, Hobatere Lodge offers good game-viewing on its own reserve.


89% (74 reviews)
Mushara Outpost

Mushara Outpost

Intimate and luxurious, Mushara Outpost is well-placed on a private reserve to explore nearby Etosha National Park on your own or on a guided drive.


94% (68 reviews)
Onguma Camp Kala

Onguma Camp Kala

For a bird’s eye view across African bush, the stilted rooms at Onguma Camp Kala are truly special.


97% (43 reviews)
Onguma The Fort

Onguma The Fort

The Fort is the jewel in the crown of the Onguma lodges, and arguably the whole of eastern Etosha.


96% (41 reviews)
Onguma Forest Camp

Onguma Forest Camp

From its woodland setting on the Onguma Reserve, Forest Camp is within easy striking distance of Namibia’s flagship national park.


88% (36 reviews)
Safarihoek Lodge

Safarihoek Lodge

At the heart of the private Etosha Heights Reserve, Safarihoek Lodge offers comfortable accommodation and excellent game-viewing.


95% (36 reviews)
Taleni Etosha Village

Taleni Etosha Village

Only 4km from Etosha's southern entrance, Taleni Etosha Village is an affordable base from which to explore the park.


93% (26 reviews)
Etosha Safari Lodge

Etosha Safari Lodge

A short drive from Etosha National Park's southern entrance, Etosha Safari Lodge is a convenient base from which to explore the park.


85% (26 reviews)
Little Ongava

Little Ongava

The beautifully located and luxurious Little Ongava is a stunning place to stay in order to explore Etosha National Park and the private Ongava Reserve.


97% (25 reviews)
Etosha Safari Camp

Etosha Safari Camp

Funky, low-key and very original, Etosha Safari Camp is well placed for visiting Etosha National Park on a self-drive or guided safari.


86% (22 reviews)
Andersson's at Ongava

Andersson's at Ongava

With game drives on both its private reserve and in Etosha, Andersson's at Ongava also offers access to the Ongava Research Centre.


94% (18 reviews)
Mountain Lodge

Mountain Lodge

In the heart of the private Etosha Heights Reserve, the family-friendly Mountain Lodge offers game drives and bush walks within an exclusive environment.


97% (14 reviews)
Mokuti Etosha Lodge

Mokuti Etosha Lodge

With 106 rooms, child-friendly Mokuti Etosha Lodge is more like a hotel than a lodge. Facilities to include a gym, spa, tennis courts and even a snake park.


93% (11 reviews)
Etosha Oberland Lodge

Etosha Oberland Lodge

A short drive from Etosha National Park's southern entrance, Etosha Oberland Lodge is a very comfortable base from which to explore the park, with excellent food.


100% (6 reviews)
Vreugde Guest Farm

Vreugde Guest Farm

Vreugde Guest Farm is a delightful owner-run and working sheep farm where you can expect a warm welcome and charming hospitality.


92% (5 reviews)
Etosha Garden Hotel

Etosha Garden Hotel

Safari in Etosha National Park Namibia, whilst based at the nearby Etosha Garden Lodge.


60% (4 reviews)
Villa Mushara

Villa Mushara

Offering luxury on a peaceful private reserve close to Etosha, Villa Mushara is a great choice for honeymooners & those wishing to indulge themselves.


95% (4 reviews)
Etosha King Nehale

Etosha King Nehale

A short drive from the national park's northern entrance, Etosha King Nehale Lodge is an interesting and comfortable base from which to explore the park.


100% (2 reviews)
Safari House

Safari House

The private Safari House on the Etosha Heights reserve is a great option families or friends travelling together.


100% (1 review)
Toshari Lodge

Toshari Lodge

Safari in Etosha National Park Namibia, whilst based at Etosha Gateway Lodge.


80% (1 review)
Onkoshi Camp

Onkoshi Camp

Onkoshi Camp is owned and run by Namibia Wildlife Resorts. Built on elevated wooden platforms it overlooks Etosha Pan.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa