This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Okaukuejo Camp
Okaukuejo Camp
Okaukuejo Camp
Okaukuejo Camp

Reviews of Okaukuejo Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

635 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Okaukuejo Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 45 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Okaukuejo Camp.
Lion

79% success

Leopard

3% success

Cheetah

12% success

Giraffe

98% success

Oryx

98% success

Elephant

98% success

Zebra

95% success

Wildebeest

91% success

Black Rhino

90% success

Spotted Hyena

50% success

Eland

40% success

White Rhino

27% success

Roan antelope

19% success

Brown Hyena

16% success

Sable antelope

15% success

Aardvark

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Showing 251-260 of 635
Duration
Arrival date
Ms A
Australia

"Okakuejo -once again for us !!"

4 nights Arrived 11 Jul 2014
"I have stayed here many times and it does not ever disappoint. We had a self catering family chalet for 3 nights and then 2 Bush chalets on night 4 which was fine. We had enough food for our 4th. night and as it was not set up for self catering the kitchen lent us plates ,utensils and would not hesitate to do this again.

The waterhole is wonderful with a fabulous lot of animals visiting particularly in the evening.It is a big camp and I must say it is amazingly quiet for the number housed there. I guess a lot of people go to bed early to be out early on their game drives.We self drove which is always satisfying.

The accommodation was clean and when we had to change chalets they made our new chalet priority cleaning so that we could move early. I would not like to stay in the more upmarket waterfront chalets as they have too much foot traffic past them and I find the appearance of the camping area ,bleak.

It is a quite basic camp but I will definitely go back again and probably again. The staff at reception were great and I saw some appalling behaviour from some guests and the staff were calm and polite." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Mr & Mrs P
Sydney

"Okaukuejo Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 11 Jul 2014
"Having stayed here before there were no surprises, great place to stay and well appointed, and equipped for self catering in the family chalet.

this is a great holiday place ,clean, tidy and full of activity, pool lovely and of course the waterhole never lets yoiu down, we will return!! shop adequate and office girls very helpful.

Even though it was busy with school holiday campers etc it was not truly crowded. excellent" See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs D
Bristol

"Best water hole in Etosha"

2 nights Arrived 20 Jun 2014
"The accommodation was comfortable and warm. Staff were friendly and helpful.The food was much better than we were expecting from reading other reviews. It was also well served. The maintain attraction was the water hole which could be reached on foot from our lodge. It is very well designed and a large number of people could be accommodated without difficulty. The animals did not disappoint. On the very first evening 35 elephants came down to drink. On the second night we saw 7 rhinos. Springboks, zebras and jackals were part of the supporting cast.

" See all these reviews: 20n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr R & Mrs E
Bucks

"Okaukuejo Camp Review"

2 nights Arrived 16 Jun 2014
"We had been told this camp might be a little 'touristy' and perhaps below the standard we had so far experienced. It was indeed busy but the buffet style food was excellent, the staff helpful and friendly. Although the room was within a complex with no view, it was clean and of a good standard. No complaints.

The floodlit waterhole was a novelty and a treat. One evening we saw eight black rhino at the water's edge alongside a large herd of elephant (35+).

An excellent base for visiting central waterholes and the salt pan." See all these reviews: 26n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Taylor family
UK

"Okaukuejo Camp review"

1 night Arrived 13 Jun 2014
"Again for a public camp in the National Park we found it to be well run, clean and organised. The chalet was more basic than the one at Halali but still had all that was required. The restaurant here was lovely and again the range of food on offer was extensive. The buffet style set up is good as you can chosse what to eat, so no problem for vegetarians.

The waterhole at Okaukuejo was so much nicer than the one at Halai. There are seats and a viewing platform spread over a large area and people don't have to climb past you for a view. It seemed so much more civilised! The lighting was good as well and we saw so many elephants and Rhino's, it was amazing. You could sit out here all night if you desired.

All in all another perfectly pleasant place to stay in a good location in the park." See all these reviews: 25n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs V
Coleraine

"Convenient location for self drive in Etosha"

2 nights Arrived 12 Jun 2014
"Excellent wildlife viewing at the waterhole. The food was good and the chalet was functional and clean." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs O
Chester

"The waterhole camp at Okaukuejo"

2 nights Arrived 28 May 2014
"Yes a large camp

We could only book two separate rooms for our two night stay and staff were most unhelpful about moving from one to the other. We asked that perhaps the new room could be made available as soon as possible but they were not in the least accommodating. We were made to be "homeless" from 10 am until 2 pm - unnecessarilly we thought.

Food was poor and waiters totally useless" See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Poor
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Poor
Mr D & Ms E
Herts

"Booking confusion"

2 nights Arrived 27 May 2014
"Wonderful location in Etosha but the accommodation is only average and the buffet food in the evening was quite poor." See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Poor
Facilities:
Average
Ms B & Mr L
Australia

"Okaukujejo premier water hole cabins"

2 nights Arrived 21 May 2014
"We were lucky enough to book a premier water hole cabin which sleeps 4 with our friends who were also travelling in Namibia at the same time as us. They had stayed at Okaukuejo twice before, and so knew that number 34 was the best place to be. They were absolutely right.

From the terrace you can see directly into the water hole, and we stayed up till midnight both nights we were there watching a progression of elephants, zebra, impala, rhinos and one night 2 lions come down to drink, as well as lots of birds. The food was adequate, and apparently had improved a lot in last 6 years, according to our friends. The 2 bedrooms were spacious and upstairs ensuite large. Sitting area small but not much time to sit around! Kettle and fridge provided.

Really must stay inside the park for a few days if you visit etosha as so good going out for early drive and coming back for breakfast at the camp." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia; 5n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Mr & Mrs G
N London

"Best camp in Etosha"

2 nights Arrived 21 May 2014
"We stayed in Premier Waterhole chalet 34 with a balcony with a great view over the waterhole, which we highly recommend.

We have stayed at Okaukuejo twice before and they've really got their act together compared to our previous visits, especially the food, which is vastly improved. Overall our expectations were exceeded." See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia; 2n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Showing 251-260 of 635
83%
635 reviews of Okaukuejo Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
235
280
99
19
2
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Etosha National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Halali Camp

Halali Camp

Halali is a large, government-run restcamp in a convenient central location inside Etosha National Park.


79% (319 reviews)
Mushara Bush Camp

Mushara Bush Camp

The family-friendly Mushara Bush Camp offers a beautifully designed lodge, friendly service and a great base from which to explore Etosha National Park.


94% (237 reviews)
Ongava Tented Camp

Ongava Tented Camp

Built around a waterhole Ongava Tented Camp offers good service, delicious food, comfortable rooms, easy access to Etosha and wildlife in camp.


93% (146 reviews)
Ongava Lodge

Ongava Lodge

Ongava is a smart lodge with fantastic views that offers a range of driving and walking safaris on its own reserve, and guided drives in Etosha.


92% (144 reviews)
Dolomite Camp

Dolomite Camp

Opened in 2011, Dolomite Camp allows visitors access to the far west side of Etosha National Park, which was previously off limits to most visitors.


86% (94 reviews)
Mushara Lodge

Mushara Lodge

Not far from the entrance to Etosha, Mushara Lodge offers comfortable and tastefully decorated rooms in a convenient location for exploring the park.


92% (85 reviews)
Namutoni Camp

Namutoni Camp

Centred on an old fort, the government run Namutoni Camp is located just inside Etosha National Park, close to Fisher's Pan.


82% (82 reviews)
Onguma Tented Camp

Onguma Tented Camp

Onguma Tented Camp is a lovely, little tented camp which centres around an attractive waterhole a short drive from the Von Lindequist Gate to eastern Etosha.


93% (79 reviews)
Onguma Bush Camp

Onguma Bush Camp

For great wildlife viewing without breaking the bank, the affordable and understated luxury of Onguma Bush Camp could be perfect.


93% (77 reviews)
Hobatere Lodge

Hobatere Lodge

To the west of Etosha National Park, on the edge of Damaraland, Hobatere Lodge offers good game-viewing on its own reserve.


90% (67 reviews)
Mushara Outpost

Mushara Outpost

Mushara Outpost is a comfortable, stylish lodge, and a good base from which to explore nearby Etosha National Park on your own or with a guided safari.


93% (55 reviews)
Onguma Tree Top Camp

Onguma Tree Top Camp

For a bird’s eye view across African bush, the stilted rooms at Onguma Tree Top are truly special.


97% (42 reviews)
Onguma The Fort

Onguma The Fort

The Fort is the jewel in the crown of the Onguma lodges, and arguably the whole of eastern Etosha.


95% (35 reviews)
Onguma Etosha Aoba

Onguma Etosha Aoba

From its woodland setting on the Onguma Reserve, Etosha Aoba is within easy striking distance of Namibia’s flagship national park.


89% (32 reviews)
Taleni Etosha Village

Taleni Etosha Village

Only 4km from Etosha's southern entrance, Taleni Etosha Village is an affordable base from which to explore the park.


93% (26 reviews)
Etosha Safari Lodge

Etosha Safari Lodge

A short drive from Etosha National Park's southern entrance, Etosha Safari Lodge is a convenient base from which to explore the park.


84% (24 reviews)
Etosha Safari Camp

Etosha Safari Camp

Funky, low-key and very original, Etosha Safari Camp is well placed for visiting Etosha National Park on a self-drive or guided safari.


87% (23 reviews)
Little Ongava

Little Ongava

The beautifully located and luxurious Little Ongava is a stunning place to stay in order to explore Etosha National Park and the private Ongava Reserve.


97% (23 reviews)
Safarihoek Lodge

Safarihoek Lodge

In the middle of the Etosha Heights Reserve, Safarihoek Lodge offers comfortable accommodation and excellent game-viewing.


95% (21 reviews)
Mokuti Etosha Lodge

Mokuti Etosha Lodge

With 106 rooms, child-friendly Mokuti Etosha Lodge is more like a hotel than a lode. Facilities to include a gym, spa, tennis courts and even a snake park.


92% (10 reviews)
Mountain Lodge

Mountain Lodge

In the heart of the Etosha Heights Reserve, Mountain Lodge offers the chance for game drives and bush walks away from some of the crowds of Etosha.


97% (7 reviews)
Andersson's at Ongava

Andersson's at Ongava

With game drives on both its private reserve and in Etosha, Andersson's at Ongava also offers access to the Ongava Research Centre.


100% (5 reviews)
Etosha Garden Hotel

Etosha Garden Hotel

Safari in Etosha National Park Namibia, whilst based at the nearby Etosha Garden Lodge.


60% (4 reviews)
Vreugde Guest Farm

Vreugde Guest Farm

Vreugde Guest Farm is a delightful owner-run and working sheep farm where you can expect a warm welcome and charming hospitality.


95% (4 reviews)
Villa Mushara

Villa Mushara

Villa Mushara offers luxury in a peaceful and isolated location. It is a good choice for honeymooners & those wishing to indulge themselves.


93% (3 reviews)
Toshari Lodge

Toshari Lodge

Safari in Etosha National Park Namibia, whilst based at Etosha Gateway Lodge.


80% (1 review)
Onkoshi Camp

Onkoshi Camp

Onkoshi Camp is owned and run by Namibia Wildlife Resorts. Built on elevated wooden platforms it overlooks Etosha Pan.


No reviews yet
Safari House

Safari House

The private Safari House on the Etosha Heights reserve is a great option families or friends travelling together.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa