This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Okaukuejo Camp
Okaukuejo Camp
Okaukuejo Camp
Okaukuejo Camp
Okaukuejo Camp
Okaukuejo Camp
Okaukuejo Camp
Okaukuejo Camp
Okaukuejo Camp
Okaukuejo Camp
Okaukuejo Camp

Reviews of Okaukuejo Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

637 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Okaukuejo Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 46 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Okaukuejo Camp.
Lion

79% success

Leopard

6% success

Cheetah

11% success

Giraffe

98% success

Oryx

98% success

Elephant

98% success

Zebra

96% success

Wildebeest

91% success

Black Rhino

90% success

Spotted Hyena

51% success

Eland

42% success

White Rhino

26% success

Roan antelope

19% success

Brown Hyena

16% success

Sable antelope

15% success

Aardvark

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Showing 261-270 of 637
Duration
Arrival date
Ms B & Mr L
Australia

"Okaukujejo premier water hole cabins"

2 nights Arrived 21 May 2014
"We were lucky enough to book a premier water hole cabin which sleeps 4 with our friends who were also travelling in Namibia at the same time as us. They had stayed at Okaukuejo twice before, and so knew that number 34 was the best place to be. They were absolutely right.

From the terrace you can see directly into the water hole, and we stayed up till midnight both nights we were there watching a progression of elephants, zebra, impala, rhinos and one night 2 lions come down to drink, as well as lots of birds. The food was adequate, and apparently had improved a lot in last 6 years, according to our friends. The 2 bedrooms were spacious and upstairs ensuite large. Sitting area small but not much time to sit around! Kettle and fridge provided.

Really must stay inside the park for a few days if you visit etosha as so good going out for early drive and coming back for breakfast at the camp." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia; 5n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Mr & Mrs G
N London

"Best camp in Etosha"

2 nights Arrived 21 May 2014
"We stayed in Premier Waterhole chalet 34 with a balcony with a great view over the waterhole, which we highly recommend.

We have stayed at Okaukuejo twice before and they've really got their act together compared to our previous visits, especially the food, which is vastly improved. Overall our expectations were exceeded." See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia; 2n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Mr F & Mrs B
UK

"Enjoyed stay"

1 night Arrived 8 May 2014
"Very clean and well run for a large busy establishment with excellent waterhole." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr D & Mrs J
Dudley

"Okaukuejo Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 6 Apr 2014
"Staff could not be bothered to even fetch a drink for you.

They didn't want to serve you in the shops
Every thing was too much effort
Good thing the petrol station accepted credit cards.
Would be better staying just outside the reserve." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Poor

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Terrible
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Ms T & Mr R
Bath

"Okaukuejo Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 16 Feb 2014
"Again a bigger tourist camp so less personalised but it worked well and the bush chalets were roomy and had excellent air con. Nice to have a pool.

The shop was not well stocked with food supplies so not easy to find food for the braie or even lunch!

The waterhole there was the highlight of the trip." See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
A & W Party
UK

"Okaukuejo Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 24 Jan 2014
"After two wonderful private lodges this camp seemed at first somewhat basic, the staff doing their jobs without the enthusiasm we had experienced to date. However the food was good, the waterhole provided excellent wildlife and it was in fact as good as any state- owned African lodges we had previously experienced." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs F
Ealing

"A relatively large camp inside Etosha"

2 nights Arrived 8 Jan 2014
"We had been spoiled staying in small luxurious lodges in Caprivi and this is quite a large complex of individual bungalows, like a small town rather than a safari lodge, and caters for relatively large numbers of people. So the restaurant is a self-service buffet and the food, although good, was not to the "gourmet" standards of some of the more exclusive lodges.

Although we rated it "average", the quality of this camp was quite acceptable - just that "excellent" and "good" in Namibia really mean something that is exceptionally good by international standards.

Unfortunately the water hole for animals by the camp, one of our reasons for wanting to stay there, was completely devoid of any four-legged visitors in the evening perhaps because it was the rainy season when there are plenty of alternative water sources." See all these reviews: 25n in Namibia; 3n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Mr F & Mrs B
Preston

"Etosha is green !!"

2 nights Arrived 28 Dec 2013
"We were surprised by the Main Camp here as we did not expect it to be as good as it was. The room was certainly satisfactory. Food was OK but nothing special however this did not detract from the stay there.

Plenty of water in Etosha so the animals were not visiting the known waterholes as much." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia; 3n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Dr M & Mrs S
UK

"Okaukuejo"

2 nights Arrived 1 Dec 2013
"This was not to our personal taste as it was relatively commercialised, large and busy. However, the area was fascinating and we enjoyed looking at the wildlife at the waterhole.

I think it needs to be emphasised a bit more that finding wildlife is definitely harder when the rains start. But we still enjoyed our stay and were lucky to see quite a lot of animals. The food was again a bit canteen like and too much choice.

We felt that the waterhole needed to be monitored at least some of the time as one person decided to throw stones at a sleeping black rhino to persuade it to move. We did not expect to see such behaviour in a place like that!" See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs T
Hampshire

"Okaukuejo Camp"

6 nights Arrived 15 Nov 2013
"Reception switched our room to W10, one of the four best round the waterhole. This year was lion year, saw many but no kills.

The room was kept immaculate by our room girl. Take away breakfasts were always ready on time so we could get into the park when the gate opened. Enjoyed evening meals. Little shop had everything we needed." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Showing 261-270 of 637
83%
637 reviews of Okaukuejo Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
236
281
99
19
2
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Etosha National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Halali Camp

Halali Camp

Halali is a large, government-run restcamp in a convenient central location inside Etosha National Park.


79% (320 reviews)
Mushara Bush Camp

Mushara Bush Camp

The family-friendly Mushara Bush Camp offers a beautifully designed lodge, friendly service and a great base from which to explore Etosha National Park.


94% (238 reviews)
Ongava Tented Camp

Ongava Tented Camp

Built around a waterhole Ongava Tented Camp offers good service, delicious food, comfortable rooms, easy access to Etosha and wildlife in camp.


93% (146 reviews)
Ongava Lodge

Ongava Lodge

Ongava is a smart lodge with fantastic views that offers a range of driving and walking safaris on its own reserve, and guided drives in Etosha.


92% (144 reviews)
Dolomite Camp

Dolomite Camp

Opened in 2011, Dolomite Camp allows visitors access to the far west side of Etosha National Park, which was previously off limits to most visitors.


86% (94 reviews)
Mushara Lodge

Mushara Lodge

Not far from the entrance to Etosha, Mushara Lodge offers comfortable and tastefully decorated rooms in a convenient location for exploring the park.


92% (85 reviews)
Namutoni Camp

Namutoni Camp

Centred on an old fort, the government run Namutoni Camp is located just inside Etosha National Park, close to Fisher's Pan.


82% (82 reviews)
Onguma Tented Camp

Onguma Tented Camp

Onguma Tented Camp is a lovely, little tented camp which centres around an attractive waterhole a short drive from the Von Lindequist Gate to eastern Etosha.


92% (80 reviews)
Onguma Bush Camp

Onguma Bush Camp

For great wildlife viewing without breaking the bank, the affordable and understated luxury of Onguma Bush Camp could be perfect.


93% (77 reviews)
Hobatere Lodge

Hobatere Lodge

To the west of Etosha National Park, on the edge of Damaraland, Hobatere Lodge offers good game-viewing on its own reserve.


90% (67 reviews)
Mushara Outpost

Mushara Outpost

Mushara Outpost is a comfortable, stylish lodge, and a good base from which to explore nearby Etosha National Park on your own or with a guided safari.


93% (55 reviews)
Onguma Tree Top Camp

Onguma Tree Top Camp

For a bird’s eye view across African bush, the stilted rooms at Onguma Tree Top are truly special.


97% (42 reviews)
Onguma The Fort

Onguma The Fort

The Fort is the jewel in the crown of the Onguma lodges, and arguably the whole of eastern Etosha.


95% (36 reviews)
Onguma Etosha Aoba

Onguma Etosha Aoba

From its woodland setting on the Onguma Reserve, Etosha Aoba is within easy striking distance of Namibia’s flagship national park.


89% (32 reviews)
Taleni Etosha Village

Taleni Etosha Village

Only 4km from Etosha's southern entrance, Taleni Etosha Village is an affordable base from which to explore the park.


93% (26 reviews)
Etosha Safari Lodge

Etosha Safari Lodge

A short drive from Etosha National Park's southern entrance, Etosha Safari Lodge is a convenient base from which to explore the park.


84% (24 reviews)
Etosha Safari Camp

Etosha Safari Camp

Funky, low-key and very original, Etosha Safari Camp is well placed for visiting Etosha National Park on a self-drive or guided safari.


87% (23 reviews)
Little Ongava

Little Ongava

The beautifully located and luxurious Little Ongava is a stunning place to stay in order to explore Etosha National Park and the private Ongava Reserve.


97% (23 reviews)
Safarihoek Lodge

Safarihoek Lodge

In the middle of the Etosha Heights Reserve, Safarihoek Lodge offers comfortable accommodation and excellent game-viewing.


95% (22 reviews)
Mokuti Etosha Lodge

Mokuti Etosha Lodge

With 106 rooms, child-friendly Mokuti Etosha Lodge is more like a hotel than a lodge. Facilities to include a gym, spa, tennis courts and even a snake park.


92% (10 reviews)
Mountain Lodge

Mountain Lodge

In the heart of the Etosha Heights Reserve, Mountain Lodge offers the chance for game drives and bush walks away from some of the crowds of Etosha.


97% (7 reviews)
Andersson's at Ongava

Andersson's at Ongava

With game drives on both its private reserve and in Etosha, Andersson's at Ongava also offers access to the Ongava Research Centre.


100% (5 reviews)
Etosha Garden Hotel

Etosha Garden Hotel

Safari in Etosha National Park Namibia, whilst based at the nearby Etosha Garden Lodge.


60% (4 reviews)
Vreugde Guest Farm

Vreugde Guest Farm

Vreugde Guest Farm is a delightful owner-run and working sheep farm where you can expect a warm welcome and charming hospitality.


95% (4 reviews)
Villa Mushara

Villa Mushara

Villa Mushara offers luxury in a peaceful and isolated location. It is a good choice for honeymooners & those wishing to indulge themselves.


93% (3 reviews)
Toshari Lodge

Toshari Lodge

Safari in Etosha National Park Namibia, whilst based at Etosha Gateway Lodge.


80% (1 review)
Onkoshi Camp

Onkoshi Camp

Onkoshi Camp is owned and run by Namibia Wildlife Resorts. Built on elevated wooden platforms it overlooks Etosha Pan.


No reviews yet
Etosha Oberland Lodge

Etosha Oberland Lodge

A short drive from Etosha National Park's southern entrance, Etosha Oberland Lodge promises a convenient base from which to explore the park.


No reviews yet
Safari House

Safari House

The private Safari House on the Etosha Heights reserve is a great option families or friends travelling together.


No reviews yet
Etosha King Nehale

Etosha King Nehale

A short drive from the national park’s northern entrance, Etosha King Nehale Lodge is an interesting and comfortable base from which to explore the park.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa