This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Okaukuejo Camp
Okaukuejo Camp
Okaukuejo Camp
Okaukuejo Camp
Okaukuejo Camp
Okaukuejo Camp
Okaukuejo Camp
Okaukuejo Camp
Okaukuejo Camp
Okaukuejo Camp
Okaukuejo Camp

Reviews of Okaukuejo Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

637 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Okaukuejo Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 46 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Okaukuejo Camp.
Lion

79% success

Leopard

6% success

Cheetah

11% success

Giraffe

98% success

Oryx

98% success

Elephant

98% success

Zebra

96% success

Wildebeest

91% success

Black Rhino

90% success

Spotted Hyena

51% success

Eland

42% success

White Rhino

26% success

Roan antelope

19% success

Brown Hyena

16% success

Sable antelope

15% success

Aardvark

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Showing 271-280 of 637
Duration
Arrival date
Mr T & Ms M
W Molesey

"A very busy place"

1 night Arrived 14 Nov 2013
"Our one night stay here was enough, although the accommodation was fine the catering was fairly chaotic with so many people the staff had a tough time keeping up with buffet content.

The waterhole had plenty of visiting animals and is always great watching" See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Poor
Facilities:
Good
Mr G & Ms W
London

"Watering hole is the only reason to stay here"

2 nights Arrived 10 Nov 2013
"We had very low expectations staying here. The sole, and only reason for booking Okaukuejo, was to stay close to the flood-lit watering hole. And for that reason alone, it was worth it.

We knew that the government run camp would be fairly basic and without a lot of character. So those expectations were met. The room was very tidy, clean and roomy. The other facilities - i.e. the swimming pool - were not as clean.

The food was below our expectations - very poor. Dinner consisted of overcooked grilled game and mayonnaise laden salads. Vegetables were so overcooked that there was no taste.

Service/friendliness was the worst we experienced on our entire trip. It wasn't that it was so bad, but everywhere else was much better.

However, that being all said, the watering hole was indeed amazing, and for that alone, we are happy we stayed here. The amount and variety of wildlife was incredible. We had never expected to see rhinos, never mind baby rhinos. And at one point, during the sunset, it felt like a scene out of "The Lion King" but without the cheesy music.

So, if you are looking for a reliable place to view wildlife within the comfort of your room, and can put up with bad food and mediocre accommodation/service, then we can highly recommend it." See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Terrible
Facilities:
Poor
Ms G & Mr M
Spain

"The best waterhole in Etosha to see wildlife."

2 nights Arrived 6 Nov 2013
"It is a great place to watch wildlife right a few meters from your room. The service is poor." See all these reviews: 21n in Namibia; 10n in Botswana; 3n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Poor
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Poor
Facilities:
Poor
Mr G x 4
Norway

"Okaukuejo Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 1 Nov 2013
"We had 2 nights in main camp.

Well organised and we could sense a bit more service minded staff compared to our visit two years ago, so keep at like that.

A lot of animals showing up at the waterhole and we had some stunning encounters with lions at two other waterholes as well.

The chalets were very nice and all in all good service." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mr & Mrs G
Haslemere

"Better than expected at Okaukuejo"

2 nights Arrived 23 Oct 2013
"We had a waterhole chalet, and used it to advantage, even going out to look at the waterhole in the middle of the night, seeing both rhino & herds of elephant, as well as many other game species. Though some aspects were below par, it is a definite must in terms of a 2 night stay.

Though it is a self-service restaurant, service was very poor, with almost no attention given to us once we'd been seated. However the food was better than we'd expected. Wine was half the price we found elsewhere - only N$70 for a bottle of Rosé.

Rooms were good and comfortable and included a fridge, which many other private lodges did not have.
The pool filtering system was either switched off or wasn't working, so the water surface wasn't pleasant. Also there were insufficient loungers for those that wanted to sunbathe, which after a long drive we certainly wanted to do." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia; 6n in Mozambique; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Poor
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Dr & Mrs M
Newcastle

"Okaukuejo Camp"

1 night Arrived 18 Oct 2013
"Accomodation itself was very good.

We were glad that we had gone to Halail first- we saw lots of animals in the eastern part of the park and then returned west to Okaukuejo. We went out to the west of the camp but saw very little wildlife. If we had gone here first , I think we would have been disappointed." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs M
Kingsley

"Okaukuejo Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 17 Oct 2013
"This definitely was very like Butlins with lions but however the location and waterhole were such a big plus that it didn't matter.

It was a great base to explore the park and the sheer numbers and variety of animals around is mind boggling. The room was OK,a bit dark, but we spent very little time in it as there was so much to see. The swimming pools were pleasant and much appreciated in the hot afternoons.

The restaurant was a self service buffet and was OK but not all elements turned up at the right time and service, seating and amount of cutlery were very hit and miss. Had a local school singing one night and that was excellent.

The only organised activity we took part in was the night drive and we saw a huge amount of night, the occasional rhinos rear end retreating into the distance, but little else. The driver was not to be deterred and he drove us endlessly for hours only stopping after a near collision with an extremely large, very cross elephant. An interesting experience but not one I would recommend.

When we left we drove to the other end of Etosha which was very different and I would have liked to have spent a bit more time in maybe one of the other lodges in the park." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Activities:
Terrible
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Mr A & Ms M
Sante Fe

"Okaukuejo Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 16 Oct 2013
"In six weeks of traveling in Africa staying at 15 safari camps, this is the only one we were unhappy with.

Although we were warned by Chris McIntyre's book that the camp had variable reports, we did want to stay near the waterhole.

First, the staff was unfriendly, not knowledgable about Etosha and not helpful. We couldn't an answer to even simple questions like "is there a restaurant at Halali?" I suppose it's a reflection of the staff dealing with masses of people but we didn't have any such experiences elsewhere.

The food was really awful. The first night there was sufficient food but it was all cooked badly. The second night they seemed to have run out food. The trays that were full of food (rice, vegetables, etc) were almost all empty. Since we don't eat meat (which was not a problem at any other lodge), we were reduced to a dinner of rice and ice cream. At breakfast the next morning most of the food that had been there the previous morning wasn't there. When we got to Halali for lunch, we found that they had run out of a lot food.

Unfortunately, we didn't see much at the water hole while we were there and, as the book warned, there was a lot of noise from people talking loudly on their cell phones.

We did have some great sightings at the water holes in the park during the day so would have been much happier at a lodge outside the park." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Poor
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Terrible
Mr & Mrs H
Kent

"Busy and impersonal"

1 night Arrived 9 Oct 2013
"What this camp lacked in the personal touch and quality services, it more than made up for with its location inside Etosha national park and its floodlit waterhole. Here, we could sit in comfort for as long as we wished watching a procession of animals coming to drink at the water hole right under our noses.

Our cabin was nice, but the overall welcome and restaurant service were no better than average. The camp was very large, busy and not very attractive looking. But then that is reflected in the price, which is considerably less than the luxury lodges outside the park." See all these reviews: 8n in Namibia; 7n in Zambia; 2n in Zimbabwe; 2n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Poor
Facilities:
Average
Mr J & Mrs C
Kent

"Worth tolerating for the incredible waterhole"

2 nights Arrived 8 Oct 2013
"The overall rating is Good due to the Waterhole, which is without doubt the saviour of the camp, but we knew that before we went - and the waterhole is why we picked this camp. The big surprise for us was that the rooms weren't at all bad - apart from the slightly institutional feel - and perfectly adequate. The rest of the camp isn't great though - especially at dinner time which is, frankly, a zoo. The food isn't very good either (save for terrific grilled impala on our first night) and my husband was ill while we were here - although I do mainly blame him for eating a clearly undercooked sausage at breakfast.
What's frustrating is that it wouldn't take much effort for this all to be considerably improved.

But the waterhole - oh my goodness. It was breathtaking. We sat for hours and hours here - 2 hours before dinner, and 2 after dinner each night (the second night slightly aborted due to a horrible dust storm). Then 2 hours the next morning between 9 and 11 having visited other waterholes earlier. We couldn't tear ourselves away - families of elephants trumpeting as they charged in to drink, 13 giraffes nervously approaching before drinking, a pride of lions on both nights, 8 black rhino, including a tiny baby, hundreds and hundreds of kudu, sprinkbok, wildebeest, oryx & zebra. It was mesmerising.

As grim as some aspects were of this camp, we'd happily do it all again." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Poor
Facilities:
Average
Showing 271-280 of 637
83%
637 reviews of Okaukuejo Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
236
281
99
19
2
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Etosha National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Halali Camp

Halali Camp

Halali is a large, government-run restcamp in a convenient central location inside Etosha National Park.


79% (320 reviews)
Mushara Bush Camp

Mushara Bush Camp

The family-friendly Mushara Bush Camp offers a beautifully designed lodge, friendly service and a great base from which to explore Etosha National Park.


94% (238 reviews)
Ongava Tented Camp

Ongava Tented Camp

Built around a waterhole Ongava Tented Camp offers good service, delicious food, comfortable rooms, easy access to Etosha and wildlife in camp.


93% (146 reviews)
Ongava Lodge

Ongava Lodge

Ongava is a smart lodge with fantastic views that offers a range of driving and walking safaris on its own reserve, and guided drives in Etosha.


92% (144 reviews)
Dolomite Camp

Dolomite Camp

Opened in 2011, Dolomite Camp allows visitors access to the far west side of Etosha National Park, which was previously off limits to most visitors.


86% (94 reviews)
Mushara Lodge

Mushara Lodge

Not far from the entrance to Etosha, Mushara Lodge offers comfortable and tastefully decorated rooms in a convenient location for exploring the park.


92% (85 reviews)
Namutoni Camp

Namutoni Camp

Centred on an old fort, the government run Namutoni Camp is located just inside Etosha National Park, close to Fisher's Pan.


82% (82 reviews)
Onguma Tented Camp

Onguma Tented Camp

Onguma Tented Camp is a lovely, little tented camp which centres around an attractive waterhole a short drive from the Von Lindequist Gate to eastern Etosha.


92% (80 reviews)
Onguma Bush Camp

Onguma Bush Camp

For great wildlife viewing without breaking the bank, the affordable and understated luxury of Onguma Bush Camp could be perfect.


93% (77 reviews)
Hobatere Lodge

Hobatere Lodge

To the west of Etosha National Park, on the edge of Damaraland, Hobatere Lodge offers good game-viewing on its own reserve.


90% (67 reviews)
Mushara Outpost

Mushara Outpost

Mushara Outpost is a comfortable, stylish lodge, and a good base from which to explore nearby Etosha National Park on your own or with a guided safari.


93% (55 reviews)
Onguma Tree Top Camp

Onguma Tree Top Camp

For a bird’s eye view across African bush, the stilted rooms at Onguma Tree Top are truly special.


97% (42 reviews)
Onguma The Fort

Onguma The Fort

The Fort is the jewel in the crown of the Onguma lodges, and arguably the whole of eastern Etosha.


95% (36 reviews)
Onguma Etosha Aoba

Onguma Etosha Aoba

From its woodland setting on the Onguma Reserve, Etosha Aoba is within easy striking distance of Namibia’s flagship national park.


89% (32 reviews)
Taleni Etosha Village

Taleni Etosha Village

Only 4km from Etosha's southern entrance, Taleni Etosha Village is an affordable base from which to explore the park.


93% (26 reviews)
Etosha Safari Lodge

Etosha Safari Lodge

A short drive from Etosha National Park's southern entrance, Etosha Safari Lodge is a convenient base from which to explore the park.


84% (24 reviews)
Etosha Safari Camp

Etosha Safari Camp

Funky, low-key and very original, Etosha Safari Camp is well placed for visiting Etosha National Park on a self-drive or guided safari.


87% (23 reviews)
Little Ongava

Little Ongava

The beautifully located and luxurious Little Ongava is a stunning place to stay in order to explore Etosha National Park and the private Ongava Reserve.


97% (23 reviews)
Safarihoek Lodge

Safarihoek Lodge

In the middle of the Etosha Heights Reserve, Safarihoek Lodge offers comfortable accommodation and excellent game-viewing.


95% (22 reviews)
Mokuti Etosha Lodge

Mokuti Etosha Lodge

With 106 rooms, child-friendly Mokuti Etosha Lodge is more like a hotel than a lodge. Facilities to include a gym, spa, tennis courts and even a snake park.


92% (10 reviews)
Mountain Lodge

Mountain Lodge

In the heart of the Etosha Heights Reserve, Mountain Lodge offers the chance for game drives and bush walks away from some of the crowds of Etosha.


97% (7 reviews)
Andersson's at Ongava

Andersson's at Ongava

With game drives on both its private reserve and in Etosha, Andersson's at Ongava also offers access to the Ongava Research Centre.


100% (5 reviews)
Etosha Garden Hotel

Etosha Garden Hotel

Safari in Etosha National Park Namibia, whilst based at the nearby Etosha Garden Lodge.


60% (4 reviews)
Vreugde Guest Farm

Vreugde Guest Farm

Vreugde Guest Farm is a delightful owner-run and working sheep farm where you can expect a warm welcome and charming hospitality.


95% (4 reviews)
Villa Mushara

Villa Mushara

Villa Mushara offers luxury in a peaceful and isolated location. It is a good choice for honeymooners & those wishing to indulge themselves.


93% (3 reviews)
Toshari Lodge

Toshari Lodge

Safari in Etosha National Park Namibia, whilst based at Etosha Gateway Lodge.


80% (1 review)
Onkoshi Camp

Onkoshi Camp

Onkoshi Camp is owned and run by Namibia Wildlife Resorts. Built on elevated wooden platforms it overlooks Etosha Pan.


No reviews yet
Etosha Oberland Lodge

Etosha Oberland Lodge

A short drive from Etosha National Park's southern entrance, Etosha Oberland Lodge promises a convenient base from which to explore the park.


No reviews yet
Safari House

Safari House

The private Safari House on the Etosha Heights reserve is a great option families or friends travelling together.


No reviews yet
Etosha King Nehale

Etosha King Nehale

A short drive from the national park’s northern entrance, Etosha King Nehale Lodge is an interesting and comfortable base from which to explore the park.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa