This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Okaukuejo Camp
Okaukuejo Camp
Okaukuejo Camp
Okaukuejo Camp

Reviews of Okaukuejo Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

635 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Okaukuejo Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 45 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Okaukuejo Camp.
Lion

79% success

Leopard

3% success

Cheetah

12% success

Giraffe

98% success

Oryx

98% success

Elephant

98% success

Zebra

95% success

Wildebeest

91% success

Black Rhino

90% success

Spotted Hyena

50% success

Eland

40% success

White Rhino

27% success

Roan antelope

19% success

Brown Hyena

16% success

Sable antelope

15% success

Aardvark

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Showing 471-480 of 635
Duration
Arrival date
Mr M & Ms H
UK

"A good base for Exploring Western Etosha"

2 nights Arrived 3 Jun 2010
"The Waterhole Chalet we had, had the best view of the waterhole and saw some stunning sunsets and sunrises and plenty of game, even from our bed!

Lettie in the restaurant was particulary friendly and very helpful.

The staff in the office on arrival were a little officious and it is where we encountered the biggest problem with trying to use the South African Rand and they wouldn't accept any.

Our only puncture of the whole trip was while we were parked at Okaukuejo. It was caused by a sliver of metal, possibly a knife blade. We are a little suspicious about it not being an accident.

We were surprised that there wasn't an ATM at such a large site which is also a main tourist destination point. We discovered this because of the issue s we were having with the Rands.

Our Chalet was wonderful, but again no safe. Overall very good, and had a great time despite the couple of problems." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Mr & Mrs B
Winchester

"Okaukuejo Camp review"

1 night Arrived 28 May 2010
"Large and crowded centre in Etosha. Evening food average as a BBQ. Great waterhole.

Accommodation was utilitarian, but a good base for visiting Etosha." See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Ms G
Luxembourg

"Okaukuejo Camp - OK for one night"

1 night Arrived 20 May 2010
"The room we had (waterhole chalet) was small but very clean and new.

The shower could have been more powerful, but otherwise it was OK. The camp is like a little village with shops, a petrol station, a post office, a pool and a canteen-like restaurant with rather average food.

The staff was either business-like or grumpy, but we didn't really mind as we only stayed there for one night." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Mr & Mrs B
Ceredigion

"A surprise!"

2 nights Arrived 19 May 2010
"We were very surpised at our accomodation which was excellent - despite reading some poor reviews before we left. We stayed in a Bush Chalet.

The floodlit waterhole was perhaps even better than the park itself and although very cold at night [ in May]- observing something akin to the 'Lion King Prade' was exhillaring. We saw baby rhino's, jackals, giraffe and elephants as well as Eagles. Sadly, we saw no lion or Cheethah during our self drives round the park ; but Olliphantsbad waterhole and the Etosha Pan itself provided us views of a myriad of animals.

Food was ok; but again here the staff were wonderful.

The only negative was that we had not realised the camp fees were not included in our accomodation and one member of staff at the gate was very rude about this. However, overall this was a great place." See all these reviews: 25n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Excellent
4 travellers
UK & Zam

"Standard government-run accom at Okaukuejo"

1 night Arrived 18 May 2010
"Rooms small but warm, with nice beds & bedding, tea & coffeee facilities, plus mosquito nets. Not very nice setting though.
Food was as bad as you'd expect from a government-run camp.

We tried one of their night drives, expensive at 60 pounds per person. The middle row of seats was set at such a height that all one could see was the top of the windscreen and the sun visor. After less than 2 of the 3 hour drive the 2nd spotlight failed so we could only see in fron of us. The guide was not very informative and failed to stop for interesting animals - except, of course, lions. Very dull and not recommended." See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Poor
Activities:
Poor
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Poor
Facilities:
Average
Ms F
Essex

"Okaukuejo Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 18 May 2010
"I think we had been spoilt with our previous accomodation as this was very large and impersonal. However in terms of position there is a great waterhole where we saw 7 rhino one night, and the room was fantastic as it was a full chalet with two bedrooms and bathrooms, with kitchen and sitting area to ourselves.

Saw lots of exotic birds and of course you are already based in the park which is ideal." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
E & D
New Mexico

"Truly amazing sights at the waterhole"

2 nights Arrived 8 May 2010
"It was utter magic to walk up to the waterhole at the edge of camp to discover 4 adults and 1 baby Black Rhino drinking, their strange shapes reflecting in the black still water at 7:30pm. We returned at the same time the next night and there they were again, only this time very skittish due to the presence of at least 2 lions waiting in the dark just beyond the reach of the floodlights.

We were pleasantly surprized by the good quality of our private suite and despite the large number of guests at the dining hall, had no trouble with either food or service." See all these reviews: 22n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Mr & Mrs R
Warks

"Okaukuejo Camp review"

1 night Arrived 17 Apr 2010
"Had heard bad reviews of this lodge and had been advised by our travel consultant not to expect too much but had to stay here because of the floodlit waterhole. They must have taken notice of the adverse reports as we were very pleasantly surprised, the chalets had obviously been recently refurbished, the waiting staff had been on courses - ours was charming and could not do enough for us.

The food was fine, not as good as some of the smaller lodges but considering the numbers of people staying there more than acceptable and better than many large hotels that I've stayed at in the UK!

A great centre for touring the easter Etosha Park and the waterhole adjacent to the lodge was wonderful , we had a bull elephant for approx. 2 hours from about 9pm and hunting Eagle Owl for several hours. We were back before first light the next morning to photograph the numerous zebras and antelope coming to drink." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Mr & Mrs L
Sheffield

"Okaukuejo Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 9 Apr 2010
"A busy camp, met our needs. No problems with inventory." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia; 4n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mr & Mrs W
Bucks

"Okaukuejo Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 15 Feb 2010
"What an improvement on the accommodation since 2003 Very comfortable beds" See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Food:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Showing 471-480 of 635
83%
635 reviews of Okaukuejo Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
235
280
99
19
2
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Etosha National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Halali Camp

Halali Camp

Halali is a large, government-run restcamp in a convenient central location inside Etosha National Park.


79% (319 reviews)
Mushara Bush Camp

Mushara Bush Camp

The family-friendly Mushara Bush Camp offers a beautifully designed lodge, friendly service and a great base from which to explore Etosha National Park.


94% (237 reviews)
Ongava Tented Camp

Ongava Tented Camp

Built around a waterhole Ongava Tented Camp offers good service, delicious food, comfortable rooms, easy access to Etosha and wildlife in camp.


93% (146 reviews)
Ongava Lodge

Ongava Lodge

Ongava is a smart lodge with fantastic views that offers a range of driving and walking safaris on its own reserve, and guided drives in Etosha.


92% (144 reviews)
Dolomite Camp

Dolomite Camp

Opened in 2011, Dolomite Camp allows visitors access to the far west side of Etosha National Park, which was previously off limits to most visitors.


86% (94 reviews)
Mushara Lodge

Mushara Lodge

Not far from the entrance to Etosha, Mushara Lodge offers comfortable and tastefully decorated rooms in a convenient location for exploring the park.


92% (85 reviews)
Namutoni Camp

Namutoni Camp

Centred on an old fort, the government run Namutoni Camp is located just inside Etosha National Park, close to Fisher's Pan.


82% (82 reviews)
Onguma Tented Camp

Onguma Tented Camp

Onguma Tented Camp is a lovely, little tented camp which centres around an attractive waterhole a short drive from the Von Lindequist Gate to eastern Etosha.


93% (79 reviews)
Onguma Bush Camp

Onguma Bush Camp

For great wildlife viewing without breaking the bank, the affordable and understated luxury of Onguma Bush Camp could be perfect.


93% (77 reviews)
Hobatere Lodge

Hobatere Lodge

To the west of Etosha National Park, on the edge of Damaraland, Hobatere Lodge offers good game-viewing on its own reserve.


90% (67 reviews)
Mushara Outpost

Mushara Outpost

Mushara Outpost is a comfortable, stylish lodge, and a good base from which to explore nearby Etosha National Park on your own or with a guided safari.


93% (55 reviews)
Onguma Tree Top Camp

Onguma Tree Top Camp

For a bird’s eye view across African bush, the stilted rooms at Onguma Tree Top are truly special.


97% (42 reviews)
Onguma The Fort

Onguma The Fort

The Fort is the jewel in the crown of the Onguma lodges, and arguably the whole of eastern Etosha.


95% (35 reviews)
Onguma Etosha Aoba

Onguma Etosha Aoba

From its woodland setting on the Onguma Reserve, Etosha Aoba is within easy striking distance of Namibia’s flagship national park.


89% (32 reviews)
Taleni Etosha Village

Taleni Etosha Village

Only 4km from Etosha's southern entrance, Taleni Etosha Village is an affordable base from which to explore the park.


93% (26 reviews)
Etosha Safari Lodge

Etosha Safari Lodge

A short drive from Etosha National Park's southern entrance, Etosha Safari Lodge is a convenient base from which to explore the park.


84% (24 reviews)
Etosha Safari Camp

Etosha Safari Camp

Funky, low-key and very original, Etosha Safari Camp is well placed for visiting Etosha National Park on a self-drive or guided safari.


87% (23 reviews)
Little Ongava

Little Ongava

The beautifully located and luxurious Little Ongava is a stunning place to stay in order to explore Etosha National Park and the private Ongava Reserve.


97% (23 reviews)
Safarihoek Lodge

Safarihoek Lodge

In the middle of the Etosha Heights Reserve, Safarihoek Lodge offers comfortable accommodation and excellent game-viewing.


95% (21 reviews)
Mokuti Etosha Lodge

Mokuti Etosha Lodge

With 106 rooms, child-friendly Mokuti Etosha Lodge is more like a hotel than a lode. Facilities to include a gym, spa, tennis courts and even a snake park.


92% (10 reviews)
Mountain Lodge

Mountain Lodge

In the heart of the Etosha Heights Reserve, Mountain Lodge offers the chance for game drives and bush walks away from some of the crowds of Etosha.


97% (7 reviews)
Andersson's at Ongava

Andersson's at Ongava

With game drives on both its private reserve and in Etosha, Andersson's at Ongava also offers access to the Ongava Research Centre.


100% (5 reviews)
Etosha Garden Hotel

Etosha Garden Hotel

Safari in Etosha National Park Namibia, whilst based at the nearby Etosha Garden Lodge.


60% (4 reviews)
Vreugde Guest Farm

Vreugde Guest Farm

Vreugde Guest Farm is a delightful owner-run and working sheep farm where you can expect a warm welcome and charming hospitality.


95% (4 reviews)
Villa Mushara

Villa Mushara

Villa Mushara offers luxury in a peaceful and isolated location. It is a good choice for honeymooners & those wishing to indulge themselves.


93% (3 reviews)
Toshari Lodge

Toshari Lodge

Safari in Etosha National Park Namibia, whilst based at Etosha Gateway Lodge.


80% (1 review)
Onkoshi Camp

Onkoshi Camp

Onkoshi Camp is owned and run by Namibia Wildlife Resorts. Built on elevated wooden platforms it overlooks Etosha Pan.


No reviews yet
Safari House

Safari House

The private Safari House on the Etosha Heights reserve is a great option families or friends travelling together.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa