This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Okaukuejo Camp
Okaukuejo Camp
Okaukuejo Camp
Okaukuejo Camp
Okaukuejo Camp
Okaukuejo Camp
Okaukuejo Camp
Okaukuejo Camp
Okaukuejo Camp
Okaukuejo Camp
Okaukuejo Camp

Reviews of Okaukuejo Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

638 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Okaukuejo Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 47 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Okaukuejo Camp.
Lion

80% success

Leopard

5% success

Cheetah

11% success

Giraffe

98% success

Oryx

98% success

Elephant

98% success

Zebra

96% success

Wildebeest

91% success

Black Rhino

88% success

Spotted Hyena

50% success

Eland

41% success

White Rhino

26% success

Roan antelope

18% success

Brown Hyena

15% success

Sable antelope

14% success

Aardvark

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Showing 461-470 of 638
Duration
Arrival date
Mr M & Mr C
Lausanne

"Okaukuejo Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 10 Sep 2010
"the restaurant with its food could be better... but it's satisfactory!" See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia; 2n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Dr M.
Loughborough

"Great waterhole"

2 nights Arrived 7 Sep 2010
"The floodlit waterhole continues to be the greatest asset of the camp, but the rooms are also well appointed and regularly cleaned.

Dining outside at the restaurant and listening to the Okaukuejo Primary School choir who come to sing and dance there occasionally is also a delight." See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Mrs L & family
Kent

"Great few days, lots of animals..."

2 nights Arrived 7 Sep 2010
"Very much improved facilities & whole area /site looks cared for & inviting since our last visit, 4 years ago ! !

Lovely white bed linen, good moquito netting, lounge area comfortable & good cupboard space. However we had a bit of trouble with drainage of toilet/shower.

Friendly staff, food not wonderful for veggies, but we expected that as catering for many people. Super waterhole, excellent for viewing plenty of animal interaction." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Ms M
North London

"Functional"

3 nights Arrived 28 Aug 2010
"I didn't really expect very much from Okaukuejo.

In it's favour, our room was big, clean and comfortable. We were close to the waterhole which is superb. We spent hours sitting at the waterhole and were never disappointed.

On the down side, it is very big and impersonal and not very friendly (and with some pretty obnoxious guests). The canteen-like food was basic and very limited for vegetarians and very expensive for what it was. At the end of the day, you stay for the waterhole and easy access to Etosha, not for service and good food, and that is certainly what you get.

Final point, I don't understand why they demand a 500N$ key deposit. It's not for the contents of the rooms or breakages, because they don't check the room when you leave. Does anyone really walk away with the key to their room?" See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Poor
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Poor
Ms A & M & Miss E
UK

"Okaukuejo Luxury experience"

2 nights Arrived 20 Aug 2010
"Wow how fantastic was the Premier waterhole room!!!

On arrival I thought I was going to be disappointed because of the size of the place and we had become used to the more personal surroundings of the other places. However, I was proved to be wrong. The amount of wildlife at the waterhole was amazing.

The staff in the restaurant were very welcoming and the entertainment by the local children was outstanding. Once again we had a fantastic yet different time. The proximity to Etosha made exploring very easy." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs B
Beds

"Good as always"

3 nights Arrived 19 Aug 2010
"Accommodation was excellent in the family bungalow. Close to waterhole, swimming pool, restaurant, shop etc. Two double bedrooms both ensuite and good kitchen facilities.

Nowhere to eat outside the accom. the building is there but no furniture to go in it

The shop was poorly stocked and the service was dreadful but apparently all the parks had new computer systems which didn't work so it was painfully slow to buy anything. The icecreams were melted before they were paid for. Luckily we had bought a few tins of food before arriving so we could enjoy a couple of braais. The restaurant food at night was quite basic and although the service was good we thought it was quite expensive." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Mr & Mrs D
Worcester

"One night in Etosha"

1 night Arrived 6 Aug 2010
"Considering the number of guests they process with many, like us, staying just the one night, the staff here do a pretty good job. Checking in was of necessity a bit more formal than most other places but it only took a few minutes and they had the restaurant booking sheet there too for us to fill in. We had bush chalet no.80 which was very convenient for the waterhole. Room bigger than expected and clean with a kitchen area with fridge and kettle etc.

We ate early at 6 and then spent the evening at the waterhole. Activity rather slow but four rhino, a dozen or so elephants and a few giraffe wasn't bad. The next morning there were zebra, springbok and kudu." See all these reviews: 20n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mr P & Mrs P
Holland

"Okaukuejo Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 4 Aug 2010
"Apart from the slightly grumpy lady who took care of the park payments everyone at this camp was super friendly and efficient. The grumpy lady was quite hilarious, so we could not be bothered.

The room was great too, very comfortable, nice decoration and spotless. We did not have a kettle in the room when we got in, but it was brought in within minutes after we informed the reception.

And the waterhole was spectacular: we had 2 pairs of rhino battling it out for hours, with another one drinking right in front of us." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia; 1n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Mr & Mrs E
Morden

"Okaukuejo Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 3 Aug 2010
"Camping at Okaukuejo was great, the waterhole brilliant and the facilities easy to find.

We were in one of the newer camping spots which didn't have the advantage of a well grown tree (i.e. not picturesque) but we were either at the waterhole, pool or driving through the park so this didn't matter to us." See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Facilities:
Average
Mrs A & family
UK

"Overnight stay in Etosha"

1 night Arrived 2 Aug 2010
"Okaukuejo is not an attractive campus. A lot of concrete, a lot of visitors, and an impersonal welcome on arrival. I suppose this is to be expected in a large camp, but we were pleased we had only booked one night there. Taleni Etosha Village, at Andersons gate, was a much nicer place to stay.

That said, the water hole was fantastic. There were a group of 25-30 Elephant the night we were there, together with a black and white rhino, all having a stand off around the rim of the water hole. We wouldn't have seen that anywhere else. We sat and watched for ages.

The rooms were simply arranged, but clean and with perfectly adequate bathroom/kitchen facilities.

The food was average, but fresh and plentiful. The staff in the restaurant were helful and friendly: in the shops the service was excruciatingly slow as items were not priced, and had to be individually looked up, and then stock codes typed in. We avoided shopping for snacks and souvenirs as a result.

Worth staying to get overnight views of the water hole (anyone can visit during the day), and also has the best swimming pool we found (also can buy a day ticket for this), but otherwise would suggest Teleni Etosha village and driving in from there in the morning." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 461-470 of 638
83%
638 reviews of Okaukuejo Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
236
282
99
19
2
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Etosha National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Halali Camp

Halali Camp

Halali is a large, government-run restcamp in a convenient central location inside Etosha National Park.


79% (321 reviews)
Mushara Bush Camp

Mushara Bush Camp

The family-friendly Mushara Bush Camp offers a beautifully designed lodge, friendly service and a great base from which to explore Etosha National Park.


94% (238 reviews)
Ongava Tented Camp

Ongava Tented Camp

Built around a waterhole Ongava Tented Camp offers good service, delicious food, comfortable rooms, easy access to Etosha and wildlife in camp.


93% (146 reviews)
Ongava Lodge

Ongava Lodge

Ongava is a smart lodge with fantastic views that offers a range of driving and walking safaris on its own reserve, and guided drives in Etosha.


92% (144 reviews)
Dolomite Camp

Dolomite Camp

Opened in 2011, Dolomite Camp allows visitors access to the far west side of Etosha National Park, which was previously off limits to most visitors.


86% (94 reviews)
Mushara Lodge

Mushara Lodge

Not far from the entrance to Etosha, Mushara Lodge offers comfortable and tastefully decorated rooms in a convenient location for exploring the park.


92% (85 reviews)
Namutoni Camp

Namutoni Camp

Centred on an old fort, the government run Namutoni Camp is located just inside Etosha National Park, close to Fisher's Pan.


82% (82 reviews)
Onguma Tented Camp

Onguma Tented Camp

Onguma Tented Camp is a lovely, little tented camp which centres around an attractive waterhole a short drive from the Von Lindequist Gate to eastern Etosha.


92% (80 reviews)
Onguma Bush Camp

Onguma Bush Camp

For great wildlife viewing without breaking the bank, the affordable and understated luxury of Onguma Bush Camp could be perfect.


93% (77 reviews)
Hobatere Lodge

Hobatere Lodge

To the west of Etosha National Park, on the edge of Damaraland, Hobatere Lodge offers good game-viewing on its own reserve.


90% (67 reviews)
Mushara Outpost

Mushara Outpost

Mushara Outpost is a comfortable, stylish lodge, and a good base from which to explore nearby Etosha National Park on your own or with a guided safari.


93% (55 reviews)
Onguma Tree Top Camp

Onguma Tree Top Camp

For a bird’s eye view across African bush, the stilted rooms at Onguma Tree Top are truly special.


97% (42 reviews)
Onguma The Fort

Onguma The Fort

The Fort is the jewel in the crown of the Onguma lodges, and arguably the whole of eastern Etosha.


95% (36 reviews)
Onguma Etosha Aoba

Onguma Etosha Aoba

From its woodland setting on the Onguma Reserve, Etosha Aoba is within easy striking distance of Namibia’s flagship national park.


89% (32 reviews)
Taleni Etosha Village

Taleni Etosha Village

Only 4km from Etosha's southern entrance, Taleni Etosha Village is an affordable base from which to explore the park.


93% (26 reviews)
Etosha Safari Lodge

Etosha Safari Lodge

A short drive from Etosha National Park's southern entrance, Etosha Safari Lodge is a convenient base from which to explore the park.


84% (24 reviews)
Etosha Safari Camp

Etosha Safari Camp

Funky, low-key and very original, Etosha Safari Camp is well placed for visiting Etosha National Park on a self-drive or guided safari.


87% (23 reviews)
Little Ongava

Little Ongava

The beautifully located and luxurious Little Ongava is a stunning place to stay in order to explore Etosha National Park and the private Ongava Reserve.


97% (23 reviews)
Safarihoek Lodge

Safarihoek Lodge

In the middle of the Etosha Heights Reserve, Safarihoek Lodge offers comfortable accommodation and excellent game-viewing.


96% (23 reviews)
Mokuti Etosha Lodge

Mokuti Etosha Lodge

With 106 rooms, child-friendly Mokuti Etosha Lodge is more like a hotel than a lodge. Facilities to include a gym, spa, tennis courts and even a snake park.


92% (10 reviews)
Mountain Lodge

Mountain Lodge

In the heart of the Etosha Heights Reserve, Mountain Lodge offers the chance for game drives and bush walks away from some of the crowds of Etosha.


97% (7 reviews)
Andersson's at Ongava

Andersson's at Ongava

With game drives on both its private reserve and in Etosha, Andersson's at Ongava also offers access to the Ongava Research Centre.


100% (5 reviews)
Etosha Garden Hotel

Etosha Garden Hotel

Safari in Etosha National Park Namibia, whilst based at the nearby Etosha Garden Lodge.


60% (4 reviews)
Vreugde Guest Farm

Vreugde Guest Farm

Vreugde Guest Farm is a delightful owner-run and working sheep farm where you can expect a warm welcome and charming hospitality.


95% (4 reviews)
Villa Mushara

Villa Mushara

Villa Mushara offers luxury in a peaceful and isolated location. It is a good choice for honeymooners & those wishing to indulge themselves.


93% (3 reviews)
Toshari Lodge

Toshari Lodge

Safari in Etosha National Park Namibia, whilst based at Etosha Gateway Lodge.


80% (1 review)
Onkoshi Camp

Onkoshi Camp

Onkoshi Camp is owned and run by Namibia Wildlife Resorts. Built on elevated wooden platforms it overlooks Etosha Pan.


No reviews yet
Etosha Oberland Lodge

Etosha Oberland Lodge

A short drive from Etosha National Park's southern entrance, Etosha Oberland Lodge promises a convenient base from which to explore the park.


No reviews yet
Safari House

Safari House

The private Safari House on the Etosha Heights reserve is a great option families or friends travelling together.


No reviews yet
Etosha King Nehale

Etosha King Nehale

A short drive from the national park’s northern entrance, Etosha King Nehale Lodge is an interesting and comfortable base from which to explore the park.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa