This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Okaukuejo Camp
Okaukuejo Camp
Okaukuejo Camp
Okaukuejo Camp
Okaukuejo Camp
Okaukuejo Camp
Okaukuejo Camp
Okaukuejo Camp
Okaukuejo Camp
Okaukuejo Camp
Okaukuejo Camp

Reviews of Okaukuejo Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

637 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Okaukuejo Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 46 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Okaukuejo Camp.
Lion

79% success

Leopard

6% success

Cheetah

11% success

Giraffe

98% success

Oryx

98% success

Elephant

98% success

Zebra

96% success

Wildebeest

91% success

Black Rhino

90% success

Spotted Hyena

51% success

Eland

42% success

White Rhino

26% success

Roan antelope

19% success

Brown Hyena

16% success

Sable antelope

15% success

Aardvark

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Showing 511-520 of 637
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs R
Victoria

"Okaukuejo Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 17 Aug 2009
"Loved it here. We had a waterhole chalet which was new and very nice. We saw lots of animals at the waterhole on our first night, not so many on the second.

The dining room served good food considering the number of people they had to cater for." See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Family P
Belgium

"Okaukuejo Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 15 Aug 2009
"We were in two nice sized double rooms next to each other, each with a fridge and a small lounge area. There was a communal BBQ area so we were able to cook for ourselves although had to be careful not to share the meal with the resident jackals!

The floodlit waterhole is just amazing and there seemed to be something to see at almost any time of the day or night. We were lucky to see a family of rhinos coming down to drink on our second evening. We didn't do any of the organized trips, preferring to drive ourselves around.

The pool area was nice although busy and quite noisy. There was a useful snack bar selling burgers and chips, but opening hours were limited and it frequently ran out of supplies!" See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mr & Mrs W-J
UK

"Much better than expected"

2 nights Arrived 15 Aug 2009
"We drove straight here from the airport, having arrived via Air Namibia at about 07.45; with two of us it was a perfectly comfortable drive allowing for stop offs to buy food and have lunch at a road-side picnic spot, where we started the birding list. Having done a couple of short game drive loops we arrived at the camp around 3.30pm.

We were very pleasantly surprised by Okaukeujo, having read reports of poor food and surly staff. From check-in to check-out all staff were friendly and helpful and the food from the restaurant was good (and good value) with both dinner and breakfast cooked to order. We thought the wine prices were particularly good value. Having said that, we used the braai at our Bush Chalet on our second night – wood and firelighters from the shop (plenty for two braais) were fine but you do need to take your own utensils and crockery – you can buy these in the supermarkets in Okajandia and Otjiwarongo. It's best to buy food there too as the selection in camp is restricted. If you braai you are likely to be visited by the local jackals and foxes – not a problem – they're cute and curious but not insistent.

Our Bush Chalet was very comfortable with comfy beds and fluffy pillows. Either no duvet or very thick though! Efficient air-conditioning but shower dripped during the night.

We didn't eat at the camp at lunchtime but picnicked on food bought outside Etosha – recommend the sausage rolls from the bakery in Outjo!! Delicious!

The waterhole was excellent – we saw 7 rhino (5 white , 2 black one evening). It's a shame so many people stay 1 night and leave first thing in the morning – spend an hour between 8.30 to 10 ish and you should have excellent animal viewing – after all the camps outside the park bring their guests there at that time because they think it's the best waterhole in the park! Why rush to leave??

Fill up with fuel before entering Etosha – the restcamps are 5% dearer than anywhere else." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia; 3n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mr M & Ms H
London

"Amazing waterhole, but downhill from there"

2 nights Arrived 13 Aug 2009
"This was the only disappointing accommodation on our trip, feeling every bit the government run camp it is. Rooms were average, though poor value for money in comparison to other places we stayed, but food was a real shock after our other experiences - a real scrum, and akin to a Little Chef in terms of quality, which left us resorting to bread and coleslaw! The basic service all round is also a let-down after other places.

However, the Waterhole probably just makes all this worth putting up with, given the amazing views of all sorts of game long into the night." See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Poor
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Terrible
Facilities:
Average
Mrs J
Warwick

"Okaukuejo Camp, Etosha."

2 nights Arrived 11 Aug 2009
"Bush chalets by water hole fantastically situated.
Best water hole - lots of elephant, giraffe, zebra, rhino, springbok, jackals, and birds
Beautiful linen

Waterhole at Ozonjuitji m'Bari was remoter and teeming with antelopes and zebra, sandgrouse.
5 lions at Gemsbokvlakte." See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Dr H & family
UK

"Okaukuejo Camp review"

1 night Arrived 9 Aug 2009
"We were only able to get one night in the park which was a shame,. The only option to us was the luxury of a premier chalet which was rather a waste as we only used it to sleep, as there was so much going on at the fantastic flood lit water hole. we also were NOT able to see the waterhole properly from the balcony, as we were led to believe, as the view was obstructed by trees ! ! !

However the buffet was great , as was the shop on site and the whole camp much nicer and quieter than we expected after reading the comments on this site, and booking in at 2pm was easy.

We saw so much more at the waterhole here than anywhere else in Etosha, and I would have loved another evening at the waterhole ." See all these reviews: 8n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr A & Mrs L
Notts

"Okaukuejo Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 2 Aug 2009
"People had led us to expect a lower standard in Etosha compared to some of the other lodges so we arrived prepared to settle for something less than we had been used to - and were pleasantly suprised. The camp, although busy, was clean and well run, and our Waterhole Chalet was excellent, perhaps not as big as some we had stayed in but since, we spent very little time inside it except to sleep, the location right next to the waterhole couldn't have been better. It was so easy to slip inside and collect a glass of wine (or a cup of hot coffee) and then go back to the entertainment round the waterhole - perfect.

Food was good - more than enough for everyone on the buffets even if you arrived later and the service was attentive and friendly. Obviously it is different from the smaller lodges due to the numbers involved, but we felt the place worked well, even at a busy period, and you could find your own piece of Etosha, with space, peace and stillness, just a few miles away from crowds around a waterhole with the lions, if you looked beyond the main roads.

We were pleased we had left Etosha until the end of our trip - talking to people as we travelled round, because we had had to work a bit harder to see animals and birds, I think we appreciated them a bit more than those who had started in Etosha with herd and herds of animals on your dooorstep. It is an amzing place and I don't think we saw a fraction of it in the time we had." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs S
Norwich

"Okaukuejo Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 29 Jul 2009
"Excellent game viewing at the water hole day and night.
Game drives excellent both escorted and on our own.

Buffet style food was poor, drinks service was slow and paying the bill by credit card was chaotic.
Note we suspect our credit card was cloned here.

However the game made up for this." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Poor
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs H
Newark

"Okaukuejo Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 28 Jul 2009
"Okaukuejo is an absolute must for its waterhole alone. It has to be one of our all time travel highlights and we can't wait to return. The only problem is finding time to eat, sleep and wash! Next time we'd probably stay longer than two nights.

We stayed in a waterhole chalet and this was very nice (and convenient for hot drinks to keep us warm during the cold winter evenings by the waterhole).

Breakfast was good, with a good choice (although not everything is put out immediately). The snack bar could be improved as there isn't a great choice - we didn't really want to waste valuable game-viewing time having a three course dinner!

There is good game viewing near to the camp and we were lucky enough to see a cheetah early one morning." See all these reviews: 20n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Professor & Mrs M
UK

"Okaukuejo Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 27 Jul 2009
"Much better camp than Halali. Camp waterhole was brilliant. Would suggest 3 nights in Okakuejo better as a visit to Etosha than 2 in Halali and 2 in Okakuejo.

Didn't take any activities - driving around Etosha ourselves was fine" See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Facilities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Showing 511-520 of 637
83%
637 reviews of Okaukuejo Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
236
281
99
19
2
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Etosha National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Halali Camp

Halali Camp

Halali is a large, government-run restcamp in a convenient central location inside Etosha National Park.


79% (320 reviews)
Mushara Bush Camp

Mushara Bush Camp

The family-friendly Mushara Bush Camp offers a beautifully designed lodge, friendly service and a great base from which to explore Etosha National Park.


94% (238 reviews)
Ongava Tented Camp

Ongava Tented Camp

Built around a waterhole Ongava Tented Camp offers good service, delicious food, comfortable rooms, easy access to Etosha and wildlife in camp.


93% (146 reviews)
Ongava Lodge

Ongava Lodge

Ongava is a smart lodge with fantastic views that offers a range of driving and walking safaris on its own reserve, and guided drives in Etosha.


92% (144 reviews)
Dolomite Camp

Dolomite Camp

Opened in 2011, Dolomite Camp allows visitors access to the far west side of Etosha National Park, which was previously off limits to most visitors.


86% (94 reviews)
Mushara Lodge

Mushara Lodge

Not far from the entrance to Etosha, Mushara Lodge offers comfortable and tastefully decorated rooms in a convenient location for exploring the park.


92% (85 reviews)
Namutoni Camp

Namutoni Camp

Centred on an old fort, the government run Namutoni Camp is located just inside Etosha National Park, close to Fisher's Pan.


82% (82 reviews)
Onguma Tented Camp

Onguma Tented Camp

Onguma Tented Camp is a lovely, little tented camp which centres around an attractive waterhole a short drive from the Von Lindequist Gate to eastern Etosha.


92% (80 reviews)
Onguma Bush Camp

Onguma Bush Camp

For great wildlife viewing without breaking the bank, the affordable and understated luxury of Onguma Bush Camp could be perfect.


93% (77 reviews)
Hobatere Lodge

Hobatere Lodge

To the west of Etosha National Park, on the edge of Damaraland, Hobatere Lodge offers good game-viewing on its own reserve.


90% (67 reviews)
Mushara Outpost

Mushara Outpost

Mushara Outpost is a comfortable, stylish lodge, and a good base from which to explore nearby Etosha National Park on your own or with a guided safari.


93% (55 reviews)
Onguma Tree Top Camp

Onguma Tree Top Camp

For a bird’s eye view across African bush, the stilted rooms at Onguma Tree Top are truly special.


97% (42 reviews)
Onguma The Fort

Onguma The Fort

The Fort is the jewel in the crown of the Onguma lodges, and arguably the whole of eastern Etosha.


95% (36 reviews)
Onguma Etosha Aoba

Onguma Etosha Aoba

From its woodland setting on the Onguma Reserve, Etosha Aoba is within easy striking distance of Namibia’s flagship national park.


89% (32 reviews)
Taleni Etosha Village

Taleni Etosha Village

Only 4km from Etosha's southern entrance, Taleni Etosha Village is an affordable base from which to explore the park.


93% (26 reviews)
Etosha Safari Lodge

Etosha Safari Lodge

A short drive from Etosha National Park's southern entrance, Etosha Safari Lodge is a convenient base from which to explore the park.


84% (24 reviews)
Etosha Safari Camp

Etosha Safari Camp

Funky, low-key and very original, Etosha Safari Camp is well placed for visiting Etosha National Park on a self-drive or guided safari.


87% (23 reviews)
Little Ongava

Little Ongava

The beautifully located and luxurious Little Ongava is a stunning place to stay in order to explore Etosha National Park and the private Ongava Reserve.


97% (23 reviews)
Safarihoek Lodge

Safarihoek Lodge

In the middle of the Etosha Heights Reserve, Safarihoek Lodge offers comfortable accommodation and excellent game-viewing.


95% (22 reviews)
Mokuti Etosha Lodge

Mokuti Etosha Lodge

With 106 rooms, child-friendly Mokuti Etosha Lodge is more like a hotel than a lodge. Facilities to include a gym, spa, tennis courts and even a snake park.


92% (10 reviews)
Mountain Lodge

Mountain Lodge

In the heart of the Etosha Heights Reserve, Mountain Lodge offers the chance for game drives and bush walks away from some of the crowds of Etosha.


97% (7 reviews)
Andersson's at Ongava

Andersson's at Ongava

With game drives on both its private reserve and in Etosha, Andersson's at Ongava also offers access to the Ongava Research Centre.


100% (5 reviews)
Etosha Garden Hotel

Etosha Garden Hotel

Safari in Etosha National Park Namibia, whilst based at the nearby Etosha Garden Lodge.


60% (4 reviews)
Vreugde Guest Farm

Vreugde Guest Farm

Vreugde Guest Farm is a delightful owner-run and working sheep farm where you can expect a warm welcome and charming hospitality.


95% (4 reviews)
Villa Mushara

Villa Mushara

Villa Mushara offers luxury in a peaceful and isolated location. It is a good choice for honeymooners & those wishing to indulge themselves.


93% (3 reviews)
Toshari Lodge

Toshari Lodge

Safari in Etosha National Park Namibia, whilst based at Etosha Gateway Lodge.


80% (1 review)
Onkoshi Camp

Onkoshi Camp

Onkoshi Camp is owned and run by Namibia Wildlife Resorts. Built on elevated wooden platforms it overlooks Etosha Pan.


No reviews yet
Etosha Oberland Lodge

Etosha Oberland Lodge

A short drive from Etosha National Park's southern entrance, Etosha Oberland Lodge promises a convenient base from which to explore the park.


No reviews yet
Safari House

Safari House

The private Safari House on the Etosha Heights reserve is a great option families or friends travelling together.


No reviews yet
Etosha King Nehale

Etosha King Nehale

A short drive from the national park’s northern entrance, Etosha King Nehale Lodge is an interesting and comfortable base from which to explore the park.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa