This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Okaukuejo Camp
Okaukuejo Camp
Okaukuejo Camp
Okaukuejo Camp
Okaukuejo Camp
Okaukuejo Camp
Okaukuejo Camp
Okaukuejo Camp
Okaukuejo Camp
Okaukuejo Camp
Okaukuejo Camp

Reviews of Okaukuejo Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

637 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Okaukuejo Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 46 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Okaukuejo Camp.
Lion

79% success

Leopard

6% success

Cheetah

11% success

Giraffe

98% success

Oryx

98% success

Elephant

98% success

Zebra

96% success

Wildebeest

91% success

Black Rhino

90% success

Spotted Hyena

51% success

Eland

42% success

White Rhino

26% success

Roan antelope

19% success

Brown Hyena

16% success

Sable antelope

15% success

Aardvark

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Showing 521-530 of 637
Duration
Arrival date
5 friends
Amsterdam

"The waterhole is addictive!"

2 nights Arrived 27 Jul 2009
"Beforehand we had booked for 2 nights, but could only get the waterhole chalets for one of them. When we arrived they did their best to work out how we could stay in our waterhole chalets for the 2nd night too. And what a perfect spot it was! You could see the elephants (and all the other animals) from your front door! You hardly needed to go on safari ...

The restaurant was pretty good, especially considering how many people it had to cope with. It was well organised and the staff were quite friendly.

The camp shop, though, didn't stock anything that you could take with you for a picnic." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia; 5n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Ms DM & MR VO
Belgium

"Okaukuejo Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 25 Jul 2009
"One can't compare the service of this kind of a place to the more personal situation of a lodge or B&B.

This is more "mass catering" for lots of people passing by every day. But the reason you're here is to view Etosha, and you can do a lot of it by yourself, driving around are just staying at the drinking pool." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia; 4n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr C & Ms S
Colorado

"Okaukuejo Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 24 Jul 2009
"How about seven rhino in one night? The new lodges are beautiful and wildlife at the waterholes amazing.

Food was fine. The Brandt safari guide says that there is an internet cafe here, but that has closed. Also, they don't have a place to change money, so you need to use visa. Still a great park and we saw a ton of very interesting critters and behavior." See all these reviews: 8n in Namibia; 7n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs M
Chelmsford

"Okaukuejo Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 21 Jul 2009
"We stayed at the premium accomodation by the waterhole and it was superb. Animals visited the waterhole all day and night and being accomodated so close we spent a lot of time sitting there watching them. We saw countless black rhino (yes, we lost count one of them one evening), zebras, giraffes, jackals, springboks and kudu, and two male lions that we had heard roaring all night visited while we watched. Unfortunately we could not see the waterhole from our balcony due to trees. The food was very good if you like lots of game, but as we don't it was average. The location is good for exploring the central area of Etosha by car; it is easy to find lots of game by the waterholes and birds in the trees, particulalry raptors. We didn't try the game drives as they use the same roads as we could drive on, and the game vehicles were packed full." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Miss F & Mr E
NL

"Okaukuejo Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 11 Jul 2009
"What can we say about this camp: Butlins Africa style!! It is ok if you like to share your space with unruly children and rude tourists otherwise stay clear and maybe stay outside the park.

Our room was so small we could not even go around the bed, no place for the luggage, freezing at night with no extra blankets.The dining experience was dire, you have to queue for everything and got a very small portion for it ( which was cold as well), with people pushing in front of you in a bufet style frenz..., lots of people appeared to complain but the staff were not very helpful and unfriendly. A real difference from the private lodges which we had experienced up 'til now.

The only good point of the camp is of course the very busy waterhole, but even then the experience is often ruined by screaming children and pushy people!" See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia; 3n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Poor

Location:
Good
Service:
Poor
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Poor
Food:
Poor
Facilities:
Poor
Ms W & Ms B
Alaska

"Okaukuejo Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 1 Jul 2009
"Okaukuejo Camp was comfortable, clean, and nice. While at Okaukuejo we appreciated the opportunity to be self-sufficient while having access to nice facilities. We very much enjoyed the buffet style dinners, the food was well prepared considering it was produced for a large number of visitors at one time. We made it a point to arrive early for dinner, as recommended in our guide book, which proved beneficial as there was always plenty of food available.

The only blemish in regards to our service was at the lunch kiosk on 02 July. The wait at the kiosk window to place the order took close to 30 minutes, then there was the additional time it took to actually get our food. This lack of service we attribute to lack of staffing versus effort, the woman working was doing the best she could but definitely needed more assistance to handle the volume of customers. Not sure if this was a regular occurrence but felt it was worth noting because it was very different from our experience dining in the evening.

We didn't take advantage of any of the offered activities, however, we took full advantage of the waterhole which we consider a "must-see" sight at the camp. That alone is worth the visit. We had the pleasure of seeing rhino (white and black), elephant, giraffe, spotted hyena, lioness, zebra, jackal and more. It was as if a nature show was unfolding before us each night with one type of mammal after another arriving at the hole." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia; 5n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mr A & Ms B
UK

"Okaukuejo Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 26 Jun 2009
"Arriving at Okaukujo was a bit of a shock as the resort is pretty bleak... although this was more than made up by the incredible number of animals at the water hole....

The food at Okaukujo was a buffet which meant you had some choice and was generally ok." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Mr & Mrs C
Lancashire

"Okaukuejo Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 7 Jun 2009
"This was my third visit to Okaukuejo, the position of the waterhole Chalets is superb and the waterhole itself is just the best.
One complaint, this year our first visit to the restaurant was also our last the food was uneatable we tried the snack bar which was just as bad.
The cooking in both cases was to blame not the ingredients, I did complain to the management when leaving." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Terrible
Mr D & Mrs G
UK

"Okaukuejo Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 3 Jun 2009
"We had a Bush Chalet, which was very good with lots of room and a little living room and kitchen area. We were also quite near the waterhole, where we saw LOTS of animals - lots of zebra and antelope during the day, and elephant & rhino at night.

The animals were of course the highlight and the camp is excellently placed for that.

The restaurant is slightly school-dinner style. It was all buffet style, which is difficult when there's around 100 people in there, and it was hard to get a waiter's attention for drinks etc.

For the location it was excellent." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Facilities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Mr & Mrs S
Leicester

"Okaukuejo Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 2 Jun 2009
"The bush-chalet accommodation was better than we had anticipated and certainly more than just functional. Slight downside was the amount of 'hard' surfacing everywhere compared to Halali where the bush-chalets are much more informal in a natural, bush/scrub setting. We only used the restaurant for breakfast which was of a good standard. Both evenings we used the BBQ cooking meat ( frozen) which we bought at the 'Tourist shop'. Very limited choice of vegetables or fruit but its amazing how many different salads can be concocted from one large white cabbage with a bit of imagination!

BBQing was a nice change after being fully catered for elsewhere. However, Okaukuejo does have a serious problem with jackals roaming the site scavenging for food. They are certainly not timid and one even jumped up onto our BBQ while it was alight. We felt it was potentially an accident waiting to happen insofar as the possibility of someone (particulary a child) being bitten. The floodlit waterholei s obviously brilliant for viewing game although it does have a somewhat unnatural unreal feel to it with such a large human audience but, on balance, still a definite plus point." See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Average
Food:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Showing 521-530 of 637
83%
637 reviews of Okaukuejo Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
236
281
99
19
2
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Etosha National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Halali Camp

Halali Camp

Halali is a large, government-run restcamp in a convenient central location inside Etosha National Park.


79% (319 reviews)
Mushara Bush Camp

Mushara Bush Camp

The family-friendly Mushara Bush Camp offers a beautifully designed lodge, friendly service and a great base from which to explore Etosha National Park.


94% (237 reviews)
Ongava Tented Camp

Ongava Tented Camp

Built around a waterhole Ongava Tented Camp offers good service, delicious food, comfortable rooms, easy access to Etosha and wildlife in camp.


93% (146 reviews)
Ongava Lodge

Ongava Lodge

Ongava is a smart lodge with fantastic views that offers a range of driving and walking safaris on its own reserve, and guided drives in Etosha.


92% (144 reviews)
Dolomite Camp

Dolomite Camp

Opened in 2011, Dolomite Camp allows visitors access to the far west side of Etosha National Park, which was previously off limits to most visitors.


86% (94 reviews)
Mushara Lodge

Mushara Lodge

Not far from the entrance to Etosha, Mushara Lodge offers comfortable and tastefully decorated rooms in a convenient location for exploring the park.


92% (85 reviews)
Namutoni Camp

Namutoni Camp

Centred on an old fort, the government run Namutoni Camp is located just inside Etosha National Park, close to Fisher's Pan.


82% (82 reviews)
Onguma Tented Camp

Onguma Tented Camp

Onguma Tented Camp is a lovely, little tented camp which centres around an attractive waterhole a short drive from the Von Lindequist Gate to eastern Etosha.


92% (80 reviews)
Onguma Bush Camp

Onguma Bush Camp

For great wildlife viewing without breaking the bank, the affordable and understated luxury of Onguma Bush Camp could be perfect.


93% (77 reviews)
Hobatere Lodge

Hobatere Lodge

To the west of Etosha National Park, on the edge of Damaraland, Hobatere Lodge offers good game-viewing on its own reserve.


90% (67 reviews)
Mushara Outpost

Mushara Outpost

Mushara Outpost is a comfortable, stylish lodge, and a good base from which to explore nearby Etosha National Park on your own or with a guided safari.


93% (55 reviews)
Onguma Tree Top Camp

Onguma Tree Top Camp

For a bird’s eye view across African bush, the stilted rooms at Onguma Tree Top are truly special.


97% (42 reviews)
Onguma The Fort

Onguma The Fort

The Fort is the jewel in the crown of the Onguma lodges, and arguably the whole of eastern Etosha.


95% (36 reviews)
Onguma Etosha Aoba

Onguma Etosha Aoba

From its woodland setting on the Onguma Reserve, Etosha Aoba is within easy striking distance of Namibia’s flagship national park.


89% (32 reviews)
Taleni Etosha Village

Taleni Etosha Village

Only 4km from Etosha's southern entrance, Taleni Etosha Village is an affordable base from which to explore the park.


93% (26 reviews)
Etosha Safari Lodge

Etosha Safari Lodge

A short drive from Etosha National Park's southern entrance, Etosha Safari Lodge is a convenient base from which to explore the park.


84% (24 reviews)
Etosha Safari Camp

Etosha Safari Camp

Funky, low-key and very original, Etosha Safari Camp is well placed for visiting Etosha National Park on a self-drive or guided safari.


87% (23 reviews)
Little Ongava

Little Ongava

The beautifully located and luxurious Little Ongava is a stunning place to stay in order to explore Etosha National Park and the private Ongava Reserve.


97% (23 reviews)
Safarihoek Lodge

Safarihoek Lodge

In the middle of the Etosha Heights Reserve, Safarihoek Lodge offers comfortable accommodation and excellent game-viewing.


95% (22 reviews)
Mokuti Etosha Lodge

Mokuti Etosha Lodge

With 106 rooms, child-friendly Mokuti Etosha Lodge is more like a hotel than a lodge. Facilities to include a gym, spa, tennis courts and even a snake park.


92% (10 reviews)
Mountain Lodge

Mountain Lodge

In the heart of the Etosha Heights Reserve, Mountain Lodge offers the chance for game drives and bush walks away from some of the crowds of Etosha.


97% (7 reviews)
Andersson's at Ongava

Andersson's at Ongava

With game drives on both its private reserve and in Etosha, Andersson's at Ongava also offers access to the Ongava Research Centre.


100% (5 reviews)
Etosha Garden Hotel

Etosha Garden Hotel

Safari in Etosha National Park Namibia, whilst based at the nearby Etosha Garden Lodge.


60% (4 reviews)
Vreugde Guest Farm

Vreugde Guest Farm

Vreugde Guest Farm is a delightful owner-run and working sheep farm where you can expect a warm welcome and charming hospitality.


95% (4 reviews)
Villa Mushara

Villa Mushara

Villa Mushara offers luxury in a peaceful and isolated location. It is a good choice for honeymooners & those wishing to indulge themselves.


93% (3 reviews)
Toshari Lodge

Toshari Lodge

Safari in Etosha National Park Namibia, whilst based at Etosha Gateway Lodge.


80% (1 review)
Onkoshi Camp

Onkoshi Camp

Onkoshi Camp is owned and run by Namibia Wildlife Resorts. Built on elevated wooden platforms it overlooks Etosha Pan.


No reviews yet
Etosha Oberland Lodge

Etosha Oberland Lodge

A short drive from Etosha National Park's southern entrance, Etosha Oberland Lodge promises a convenient base from which to explore the park.


No reviews yet
Safari House

Safari House

The private Safari House on the Etosha Heights reserve is a great option families or friends travelling together.


No reviews yet
Etosha King Nehale

Etosha King Nehale

A short drive from the national park’s northern entrance, Etosha King Nehale Lodge is an interesting and comfortable base from which to explore the park.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa