This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Okaukuejo Camp
Okaukuejo Camp
Okaukuejo Camp
Okaukuejo Camp
Okaukuejo Camp
Okaukuejo Camp
Okaukuejo Camp
Okaukuejo Camp
Okaukuejo Camp
Okaukuejo Camp
Okaukuejo Camp

Reviews of Okaukuejo Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

637 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Okaukuejo Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 46 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Okaukuejo Camp.
Lion

79% success

Leopard

6% success

Cheetah

11% success

Giraffe

98% success

Oryx

98% success

Elephant

98% success

Zebra

96% success

Wildebeest

91% success

Black Rhino

90% success

Spotted Hyena

51% success

Eland

42% success

White Rhino

26% success

Roan antelope

19% success

Brown Hyena

16% success

Sable antelope

15% success

Aardvark

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Showing 591-600 of 637
Duration
Arrival date
Photographer
IOM

"Okaukuejo Restcamp review"

2 nights Arrived 22 Feb 2008
"Food like school dinners !

Accommodation greatly improved." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Poor
The Baobabs
Kirk

"The search for wildlife"

2 nights Arrived 21 Feb 2008
"A very nicely laid out camp with plenty of space and good accommodation. It was nice having a fridge and kettle. Being a large place it lacks the intimacy of the smaller lodges, but has a lovely pool area with plenty of space to relax. The food was good, seved in a very pleasant dining area (inside and out) with friendly staff. The response to a leak we had in the bathroom was rapid and efficient; every effort was made to be helpful.

The shop was adequately stocked for self caterers cooking an evening meal but short of anything suitable for a lunchtime picnic. We drove ourselves around Etosha so cannot comment on the game drives offered by the camp. As it was the rainy season, the waterholes were often almost devoid of wildlife, but having to search made it more rewarding. We saw plenty of smaller animals and many amazing and fascinating birds." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mr & Mrs Lion
Maine

"Luxury at Etosha"

2 nights Arrived 20 Feb 2008
"These bungalows have recently been renovated and they are rather posh. The solid walls, windows and air conditioning lend a different atmosphere than the usual tent and thatch accommodations of camps.

Considering we visited in the rainy season, we had no trouble with a 2WD Toyota; we saw more game and birds than anyone seemed to expect, and many of these had young with them.

We ate lunches out in our car at waterholes and wished we had brought groceries with us from outside the park because the park's store had limited cold lunch supplies: canned goods, apples, tomatoes, cheese, crackers and bread.

Also, we would have preferred a more casual option for dinner: the restaurant was full, bustling with guests dressed as if at a resort; and the buffet--although good--was more than we wished to eat." See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia; 9n in Botswana; 6n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Ms Rockjumper
UK

"Okaukuejo Restcamp location is all"

2 nights Arrived 19 Feb 2008
"We stayed in a chalet near the waterhole which was expensive, too small and not worth the extra expense. The rooms had recently been refurbished and sadly, design seemed to have taken precedence over substance. The waterside rooms apparently had been single chalets subdivided into two and they were very cramped. There was a fridge (which was welcome) but you could barely open it. There was nowhere to sit except on the bed or outside, and outside it was too hot during the day and there were too many biting insects after sunset.

The restaurant was like a vast dining hall and the service was indifferent. The breakfasts were good enough. We bought our own food for dinner, but there was a very limited selection in the shop. So - it's recommended that you stock up on the way before you arrive.

However, the location was excellent. Because we were in the park, we could make the most of driving around the west side of the park." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Poor
Longclaws
Edinburgh

"Okaukuejo Restcamp review"

4 nights Arrived 7 Jan 2008
"We were booked into a tiny room which would have done for a one night stopover only.

We upgraded for 160N$ a night to a semi-detached bungalow which was excellent. The breakfast was good as was the dinner.

I thought the staff tried very hard to give good food and service." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia; 3n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Miss W & Mr A
Surrey

"Okaukuejo Restcamp review"

1 night Arrived 19 Nov 2007
"Very small room - no space to sit down at all, just a bed and a place for 1 suitcase and a small fridge. Fairly surly service from the staff who initially gave us an occupied room.

It worked and the waterhole was good, but better to stay in the larger accommodation offered in the same camp. On site shop is for basics only." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Poor
Food:
Average
Mr O
US

"Okaukuejo Restcamp review"

1 night Arrived 14 Nov 2007
"We enjoyed our stay a Okakeujo. The rooms were small, but clean and comfortable. However, we most of our time was spent outside the room either on game drives or at the waterhole. Okaukeujo has the best waterhole of the three camps. We enjoyed staying up late watching a family of black rhinos.

The staff was not especially friendly or helpful. The restaurant service was below average. The dinner buffet was average and overpriced. The staff did not inform us that we had the option of only eating from the salad bad for 1/2 the price (which we would have preffered to do anyway).

Despite the negatives, Okaukeujo was our favorite rest camp in the park because of the waterhole." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Poor
Facilities:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Ms Grey Lourie
UK

"Compact & bijou rooms at Okaukuejo"

2 nights Arrived 14 Nov 2007
"Although pristine and modern, the rooms at Okaukuejo were very, very small. We had difficulty bringing both of our holdalls into the room - and with such high prices I would have expected more !!

This said - despite the extreme disappointment of finding out the wrong dates had been booked we were very pleases to be staying inside the NP" See all these reviews: 3n in Namibia; 2n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Mrs E
Broom

"Great waterhole"

2 nights Arrived 12 Nov 2007
"Our room was fantatic with a superb view of the waterhole from the balcony. Unfortunately while the decor and setting of the 'waterhole chalet' was excellent it was far from matched by the experience as a whole.

The service was unfriendly - we were told off for checking out ten minutes late even though we'd done so because there was no running water and had to wait for them to switch it on so we could have a shower! The communal dining area was pretty chaotic and the food wasn't great.

That said, the waterhole made up for it seeing several black rhinos but if we were to do it again we'd definitely opt for a basic room as the money spent on the 'waterhole chalet' wasn't worth it given the bad service." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Terrible
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Poor
Miss Alma Square
UK

"Okaukuejo Restcamp review"

2 nights Arrived 6 Nov 2007
"Although it looks basic from the outside the rooms were refurbished and very clean. the guidebook prices though are very out of date compared to the actual prices. Also the local shop does not stock much food suitable for eating on the road!" See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Showing 591-600 of 637
83%
637 reviews of Okaukuejo Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
236
281
99
19
2
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Etosha National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Halali Camp

Halali Camp

Halali is a large, government-run restcamp in a convenient central location inside Etosha National Park.


79% (319 reviews)
Mushara Bush Camp

Mushara Bush Camp

The family-friendly Mushara Bush Camp offers a beautifully designed lodge, friendly service and a great base from which to explore Etosha National Park.


94% (237 reviews)
Ongava Tented Camp

Ongava Tented Camp

Built around a waterhole Ongava Tented Camp offers good service, delicious food, comfortable rooms, easy access to Etosha and wildlife in camp.


93% (146 reviews)
Ongava Lodge

Ongava Lodge

Ongava is a smart lodge with fantastic views that offers a range of driving and walking safaris on its own reserve, and guided drives in Etosha.


92% (144 reviews)
Dolomite Camp

Dolomite Camp

Opened in 2011, Dolomite Camp allows visitors access to the far west side of Etosha National Park, which was previously off limits to most visitors.


86% (94 reviews)
Mushara Lodge

Mushara Lodge

Not far from the entrance to Etosha, Mushara Lodge offers comfortable and tastefully decorated rooms in a convenient location for exploring the park.


92% (85 reviews)
Namutoni Camp

Namutoni Camp

Centred on an old fort, the government run Namutoni Camp is located just inside Etosha National Park, close to Fisher's Pan.


82% (82 reviews)
Onguma Tented Camp

Onguma Tented Camp

Onguma Tented Camp is a lovely, little tented camp which centres around an attractive waterhole a short drive from the Von Lindequist Gate to eastern Etosha.


92% (80 reviews)
Onguma Bush Camp

Onguma Bush Camp

For great wildlife viewing without breaking the bank, the affordable and understated luxury of Onguma Bush Camp could be perfect.


93% (77 reviews)
Hobatere Lodge

Hobatere Lodge

To the west of Etosha National Park, on the edge of Damaraland, Hobatere Lodge offers good game-viewing on its own reserve.


90% (67 reviews)
Mushara Outpost

Mushara Outpost

Mushara Outpost is a comfortable, stylish lodge, and a good base from which to explore nearby Etosha National Park on your own or with a guided safari.


93% (55 reviews)
Onguma Tree Top Camp

Onguma Tree Top Camp

For a bird’s eye view across African bush, the stilted rooms at Onguma Tree Top are truly special.


97% (42 reviews)
Onguma The Fort

Onguma The Fort

The Fort is the jewel in the crown of the Onguma lodges, and arguably the whole of eastern Etosha.


95% (36 reviews)
Onguma Etosha Aoba

Onguma Etosha Aoba

From its woodland setting on the Onguma Reserve, Etosha Aoba is within easy striking distance of Namibia’s flagship national park.


89% (32 reviews)
Taleni Etosha Village

Taleni Etosha Village

Only 4km from Etosha's southern entrance, Taleni Etosha Village is an affordable base from which to explore the park.


93% (26 reviews)
Etosha Safari Lodge

Etosha Safari Lodge

A short drive from Etosha National Park's southern entrance, Etosha Safari Lodge is a convenient base from which to explore the park.


84% (24 reviews)
Etosha Safari Camp

Etosha Safari Camp

Funky, low-key and very original, Etosha Safari Camp is well placed for visiting Etosha National Park on a self-drive or guided safari.


87% (23 reviews)
Little Ongava

Little Ongava

The beautifully located and luxurious Little Ongava is a stunning place to stay in order to explore Etosha National Park and the private Ongava Reserve.


97% (23 reviews)
Safarihoek Lodge

Safarihoek Lodge

In the middle of the Etosha Heights Reserve, Safarihoek Lodge offers comfortable accommodation and excellent game-viewing.


95% (22 reviews)
Mokuti Etosha Lodge

Mokuti Etosha Lodge

With 106 rooms, child-friendly Mokuti Etosha Lodge is more like a hotel than a lode. Facilities to include a gym, spa, tennis courts and even a snake park.


92% (10 reviews)
Mountain Lodge

Mountain Lodge

In the heart of the Etosha Heights Reserve, Mountain Lodge offers the chance for game drives and bush walks away from some of the crowds of Etosha.


97% (7 reviews)
Andersson's at Ongava

Andersson's at Ongava

With game drives on both its private reserve and in Etosha, Andersson's at Ongava also offers access to the Ongava Research Centre.


100% (5 reviews)
Etosha Garden Hotel

Etosha Garden Hotel

Safari in Etosha National Park Namibia, whilst based at the nearby Etosha Garden Lodge.


60% (4 reviews)
Vreugde Guest Farm

Vreugde Guest Farm

Vreugde Guest Farm is a delightful owner-run and working sheep farm where you can expect a warm welcome and charming hospitality.


95% (4 reviews)
Villa Mushara

Villa Mushara

Villa Mushara offers luxury in a peaceful and isolated location. It is a good choice for honeymooners & those wishing to indulge themselves.


93% (3 reviews)
Toshari Lodge

Toshari Lodge

Safari in Etosha National Park Namibia, whilst based at Etosha Gateway Lodge.


80% (1 review)
Onkoshi Camp

Onkoshi Camp

Onkoshi Camp is owned and run by Namibia Wildlife Resorts. Built on elevated wooden platforms it overlooks Etosha Pan.


No reviews yet
Etosha Oberland Lodge

Etosha Oberland Lodge

A short drive from Etosha National Park's southern entrance, Etosha Oberland Lodge promises a convenient base from which to explore the park.


No reviews yet
Safari House

Safari House

The private Safari House on the Etosha Heights reserve is a great option families or friends travelling together.


No reviews yet
Etosha King Nehale

Etosha King Nehale

A short drive from the national park’s northern entrance, Etosha King Nehale Lodge is an interesting and comfortable base from which to explore the park.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa