This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Ongava Lodge
Ongava Lodge
Ongava Lodge
Ongava Lodge
Ongava Lodge
Ongava Lodge
Ongava Lodge
Ongava Lodge
Ongava Lodge
Ongava Lodge
Ongava Lodge
Ongava Lodge
Ongava Lodge
Ongava Lodge
Ongava Lodge
Ongava Lodge

Reviews of Ongava Lodge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

146 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Ongava Lodge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Aug-2018, 30 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Ongava Lodge.
Lion

97% success

Leopard

9% success

Cheetah

9% success

Giraffe

97% success

Zebra

97% success

White Rhino

96% success

Oryx

93% success

Wildebeest

88% success

Elephant

86% success

Black Rhino

75% success

Eland

46% success

Roan antelope

30% success

Sable antelope

17% success

Brown Hyena

13% success

Spotted Hyena

10% success

Pangolin

5% success

Aardvark

0% success

Showing 121-130 of 146
Duration
Arrival date
Mr A & Ms G
Ireland

"Ongava Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 15 May 2009
"Ongava was fine. The room was nice. We felt that it was much larger and there were a lot more people at the lodge than we had been used to up to now. The food was fine. It was buffet style which was a little disappointing compared to the other lodges that we had stayed at. The rooms were comfortable and the main area overlooking the waterhole was fantastic.We sat and watched all the animals come in and heard the lions roaring. We saw a rhino and her baby come into drink from the water hole. it was fantastic.

the activities into Etosha were good and we saw a lot of animals in the parks. Teacher our guide was really nice and very knowledeable. We went out in the afternoon into the Ongava Reserve and saw a lot of animals and had a great time. We had heard the lions roaring during the night and the guides knew that they were close by. We went to see Tony the rhino before our sundowners and then we went to see if we could see the lions. and boy did we see them. We saw 12 young male lions. We sat and watched them for ages. It was great. this was our first time to see any lions on the trip so far.

Ongava is great as a lodge in many ways as it is right on the edge of Etosha and it has it's own reserve so you can go into that at night time when the park is closed." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Mr J & Mr H
Dublin

"Ongava Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 11 May 2009
"OK, but food not excactly top notch, staff a bit over-eager to please" See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Poor
Facilities:
Average
Mrs J & Mr D
UK

"Ongava Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 11 May 2009
"The room was gorgeous with a fantastic view.

The sundowner game drive was worth every penny.

The food was fine, but not as good as at budget lodges that we stayed at.

Watching the waterholes while eating breakfast and dinner was a real highlight." See all these reviews: 7n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr J
Tennessee

"Ongava Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 12 Mar 2009
"incredible game viewing despite the rainy season, much more game within the Ongave reserve than was visible at Etosha.

great guide and hosts at the lodge

fabulous rooms, bordered on being so large and nice as to lose the feel of being in the bush.

The dining areas setting overlooking the waterhole was wonderful." See all these reviews: 8n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs B & friend
Bodmin

"Ongava Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 8 Nov 2008
"Yet another five star camp with such a different feel.

Being right by the water hole that so many animals visited from early in the day, you were able to watch them from the outside shower, our own deck or the dining area.

Everything about this camp was run for the pleasure of the guests and the staff were charming." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs N
Billericay

"Ongava Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 28 Oct 2008
"It was an excellent place to stay but people should be made awre that there are many steep steps to climb befre you reach the reception and lodges.

A second comfortable chair & minibar in the rooms would make it more comfortable when you retire for the evening." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Mr P & Mrs E
E Sussex

"Ongava Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 26 Oct 2008
"The most disappointing of all our locations, when one takes into account the cost.
The guide was friendly and relatively informative.
Service was effusive but not always efficient." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Poor
Facilities:
Good
The F Family
UK

"Lions and more Lions!"

2 nights Arrived 24 Oct 2008
"Very high speed bumps in the grounds to get to the lodge. Our car grounded so much that eventually all passengers got out at each bump (Over 20 to get to the Lodge), apart from the bump which had 4 lions sitting next to it.

Staff very efficient, a bit too quick though at clearing plates and rushing dinner. However, all staff were very friendly and full of information about the lodge, animals and Namibia in general.

Our guide, Henock came from Angola and was very good at finding lions and rhino. He also arranged for our daughter to have a local dish for breakfast, mopane worms and porridge. She ate it all, to the surprise of all the staff watching!

The rooms were excellent, but as our ones were at the back, we could not see the waterhole, and passers by could see us in the bathroom as there was no blind.

The Ongave private reserve is huge, it took us over an hour to drive back to the lodge at night, so you don't feel that the animals are in a compound.

Swimming pool is good, and cooled us off after a day of driving." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs I & Family
Keston

"Ongava Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 22 Oct 2008
"Again a very warm welcome - in the car park with drinks and cooling flannels. A beautiful location overlooking a waterhole where we saw rhino (black and white) amongst others.

Wonderful game drive watching at close quarters several lions and cubs." See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs & Mr C
Chelmsford

"Ongava Lodge review"

4 nights Arrived 18 Oct 2008
"Excellent facilities in room, excellent guide. 4 nights was a bit too long, but I think you said you had no choice because of scheduling.

Game viewing seemed rather artificial after Zambia and Tanzania, with Etosha full of coaches and private cars all heading for the manmade watering holes. However, we did not go to Namibia for the game, so no problem." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Showing 121-130 of 146
92%
146 reviews of Ongava Lodge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
101
34
8
3
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Etosha National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

Set within Etosha National Park, Okaukuejo Camp is a large, well-equipped restcamp, with a productive floodlit waterhole.


83% (646 reviews)
Halali Camp

Halali Camp

Halali is a large, government-run restcamp in a convenient central location inside Etosha National Park.


79% (321 reviews)
Mushara Bush Camp

Mushara Bush Camp

The family-friendly Mushara Bush Camp offers a beautifully designed lodge, friendly service and a great base from which to explore Etosha National Park.


94% (241 reviews)
Ongava Tented Camp

Ongava Tented Camp

Built around a waterhole Ongava Tented Camp offers good service, delicious food, comfortable rooms, easy access to Etosha and wildlife in camp.


93% (146 reviews)
Dolomite Camp

Dolomite Camp

Opened in 2011, Dolomite Camp allows visitors access to the far west side of Etosha National Park, which was previously off limits to most visitors.


86% (94 reviews)
Mushara Lodge

Mushara Lodge

Not far from the entrance to Etosha, Mushara Lodge offers comfortable and tastefully decorated rooms in a convenient location for exploring the park.


92% (85 reviews)
Namutoni Camp

Namutoni Camp

Centred on an old fort, the government run Namutoni Camp is located just inside Etosha National Park, close to Fisher's Pan.


82% (82 reviews)
Onguma Tented Camp

Onguma Tented Camp

Onguma Tented Camp is a lovely, little tented camp which centres around an attractive waterhole a short drive from the Von Lindequist Gate to eastern Etosha.


92% (81 reviews)
Onguma Bush Camp

Onguma Bush Camp

For great wildlife viewing without breaking the bank, the affordable and understated luxury of Onguma Bush Camp could be perfect.


93% (79 reviews)
Hobatere Lodge

Hobatere Lodge

To the west of Etosha National Park, on the edge of Damaraland, Hobatere Lodge offers good game-viewing on its own reserve.


90% (67 reviews)
Mushara Outpost

Mushara Outpost

Mushara Outpost is a comfortable, stylish lodge, and a good base from which to explore nearby Etosha National Park on your own or with a guided safari.


93% (55 reviews)
Onguma Tree Top Camp

Onguma Tree Top Camp

For a bird’s eye view across African bush, the stilted rooms at Onguma Tree Top are truly special.


97% (42 reviews)
Onguma The Fort

Onguma The Fort

The Fort is the jewel in the crown of the Onguma lodges, and arguably the whole of eastern Etosha.


95% (37 reviews)
Onguma Etosha Aoba

Onguma Etosha Aoba

From its woodland setting on the Onguma Reserve, Etosha Aoba is within easy striking distance of Namibia’s flagship national park.


89% (32 reviews)
Taleni Etosha Village

Taleni Etosha Village

Only 4km from Etosha's southern entrance, Taleni Etosha Village is an affordable base from which to explore the park.


93% (26 reviews)
Safarihoek Lodge

Safarihoek Lodge

In the middle of the Etosha Heights Reserve, Safarihoek Lodge offers comfortable accommodation and excellent game-viewing.


96% (24 reviews)
Etosha Safari Lodge

Etosha Safari Lodge

A short drive from Etosha National Park's southern entrance, Etosha Safari Lodge is a convenient base from which to explore the park.


84% (24 reviews)
Etosha Safari Camp

Etosha Safari Camp

Funky, low-key and very original, Etosha Safari Camp is well placed for visiting Etosha National Park on a self-drive or guided safari.


87% (23 reviews)
Little Ongava

Little Ongava

The beautifully located and luxurious Little Ongava is a stunning place to stay in order to explore Etosha National Park and the private Ongava Reserve.


97% (23 reviews)
Mokuti Etosha Lodge

Mokuti Etosha Lodge

With 106 rooms, child-friendly Mokuti Etosha Lodge is more like a hotel than a lodge. Facilities to include a gym, spa, tennis courts and even a snake park.


92% (10 reviews)
Mountain Lodge

Mountain Lodge

In the heart of the Etosha Heights Reserve, Mountain Lodge offers the chance for game drives and bush walks away from some of the crowds of Etosha.


97% (7 reviews)
Andersson's at Ongava

Andersson's at Ongava

With game drives on both its private reserve and in Etosha, Andersson's at Ongava also offers access to the Ongava Research Centre.


100% (5 reviews)
Etosha Garden Hotel

Etosha Garden Hotel

Safari in Etosha National Park Namibia, whilst based at the nearby Etosha Garden Lodge.


60% (4 reviews)
Vreugde Guest Farm

Vreugde Guest Farm

Vreugde Guest Farm is a delightful owner-run and working sheep farm where you can expect a warm welcome and charming hospitality.


95% (4 reviews)
Villa Mushara

Villa Mushara

Villa Mushara offers luxury in a peaceful and isolated location. It is a good choice for honeymooners & those wishing to indulge themselves.


93% (3 reviews)
Toshari Lodge

Toshari Lodge

Safari in Etosha National Park Namibia, whilst based at Etosha Gateway Lodge.


80% (1 review)
Onkoshi Camp

Onkoshi Camp

Onkoshi Camp is owned and run by Namibia Wildlife Resorts. Built on elevated wooden platforms it overlooks Etosha Pan.


No reviews yet
Etosha Oberland Lodge

Etosha Oberland Lodge

A short drive from Etosha National Park's southern entrance, Etosha Oberland Lodge promises a convenient base from which to explore the park.


No reviews yet
Safari House

Safari House

The private Safari House on the Etosha Heights reserve is a great option families or friends travelling together.


No reviews yet
Etosha King Nehale

Etosha King Nehale

A short drive from the national park’s northern entrance, Etosha King Nehale Lodge is an interesting and comfortable base from which to explore the park.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa