This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Ongava Lodge
Ongava Lodge
Ongava Lodge
Ongava Lodge
Ongava Lodge
Ongava Lodge
Ongava Lodge
Ongava Lodge
Ongava Lodge
Ongava Lodge
Ongava Lodge
Ongava Lodge
Ongava Lodge
Ongava Lodge
Ongava Lodge
Ongava Lodge

Reviews of Ongava Lodge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

146 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Ongava Lodge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Aug-2018, 30 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Ongava Lodge.
Lion

97% success

Leopard

9% success

Cheetah

9% success

Giraffe

97% success

Zebra

97% success

White Rhino

96% success

Oryx

93% success

Wildebeest

88% success

Elephant

86% success

Black Rhino

75% success

Eland

46% success

Roan antelope

30% success

Sable antelope

17% success

Brown Hyena

13% success

Spotted Hyena

10% success

Pangolin

5% success

Aardvark

0% success

Showing 131-140 of 146
Duration
Arrival date
Miss P & Miss E
UK

"Ongava Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 17 Oct 2008
"Another wonderful lodge location - right beside the Etosha Park entrance and with a waterhole right in front of the main lodge. Rhino and lions to watch while we had dinner.

Rooms were fantastic - the aircon was particularly welcome. Lunches were particularly good (great soup and salad selction) - dinner was actually a little disappointing by comparison but still good.

The game drives were quite spectacular - the guides were patient and thoughtful." See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Meerkats party x 7
UK

"A taste of luxury and big game"

2 nights Arrived 23 Aug 2008
"We were bowled over by the reception from so many people when we arrived and by the view of the landscape and waterhole when we first entered up into the dining and reception area. This continued when we were told to be ready in half an hour for the evening drive which lasted into the darkness and in which we saw black and white rhino, giraffe and lions to name but a few!

The small waterhole was our first experience of "waterhole animal watching" and this was enhanced by the ability to watch while eating. We were impressed that newcomers were given the best view on their first night.

The staff were always very attentive and solicitous and we especially appreciated having the same guide for our two evening drives and the morning spent in Etosha - we felt we really got to know him!.

We felt that, we benefitted greatly from what we learnt from the guide when we continued our journey into Etosha to stay at Halali.
It was worth the money!" See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs F
Maidstone

"Ongava Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 7 Aug 2008
"Very comfortable, everyone was very helpful and friendly. Views were spectacular and we saw good game both in the Ongava Reserve and in the Etosha.

Our only reservation was the way that the game viewing, especially in the Etosha (but not exclusively) intruded upon the animals (eg vehicles pushing for the best position and in doing so forcing lions off roads they were trying to cross or pushing them to make mock charges at the vehicles)." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms Z
Ford

"Ongava Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 30 Jun 2008
"We thought Ongava Lodge was in an excellent location. The accommodation is to a very high standard and very clean and spacious. It was also great to be able to go for private game drives in the Ongava Reserve during the afternoons and to visit Estosha during the mornings.

Although the breakfasts, lunches and starters and desserts for dinner were good, we felt that the buffet main course did not match the high standards of the other food we ate.

In contrast to the other places we visited, we also felt that the Lodge lacked a visible host/hostess, so whilst our guide was fantastic, we didn't really feel that the atmosphere was as welcoming during the evenings, for example." See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia; 6n in Mozambique
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Royal Albatross
UK

"Only one night at Ongava"

1 night Arrived 16 Jun 2008
"We arrived at Ongava as it was going dark. The drive from the main road was irksome - there are speed bumps at very frequent intervals - something that seems unnecessary on a gravel road when you can't go very fast anyway if you want to keep your tyres! The car parking area looked more like a boulder field - it really should be improved - it was by far the worst area we drove on during our 2 weeks. The staff made light of our protests about the state of it, which didn't impress us.

The Lodge, however, was fantastic. Great viewing from the restaurant over the floodlit waterhole. The room was great - although a bit odd that the front door, which is between bedroom and bathroom has clear glass so you can be observed by anyone passing by! The mixture of indoor / outdoor places to sit and relax are lovely and we were sorry we only had one night at this location. It could do with a larger safe to store valuables." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
The swifts
London

"Amazing view of waterhole from our room"

3 nights Arrived 26 May 2008
"The location of the room was excellent, however the design of the room could be improved. The front door was glass, so people walking by can see into the room. Also, the outside shower is overlooked by the next room, so it loses its value.

The activities were from early morning to evening - partly due to distance of camp from Etosha. There was a lot of driving, and, even so, it was not possible to cover much of Etosha. Saw good viewings of game, including an amazing sighting of leopard.

We asked if it was possible to go on a nature walk, which we enjoyed. However, we had to ask for this as it was not offered.

The dining room was a bit chaotic and it was unclear where everyone was to sit at dinner, and nobody seemed to be taking orders for drinks." See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs L
Oxon

"Ongava Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 14 May 2008
"We only stayed one night here and it was therefore difficult to do it justice. Added to this that we have a friend who lives on the reserve who entertained us to a game drive second to none and it is diffcult to give general feedback.

If there is one criticism it is that we felt the atmosphere was a bit corporate but who are we to complain when each lodge has his and hers wash basins and showers + the outside bush shower - in one night it was difficult to try it all out.

Breakfast and we saw Kudu, Giraffe, Zebra and springbik as they wandered by the waterhole - beats the M25 everytime." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Excellent
Pangolins
Bromley

"Real Africa at Ongava"

2 nights Arrived 16 Apr 2008
"Ongava is what most tourists will call the Real Africa. Set just outside Etosha National Park, it has a lovely waterhole visible from the main deck where we saw Kudo, Oryx, Eagle Owls and Black Rhino on the first evening. The room was also excellent, and boasted two showers (one inside and one out)!

The morning after our arrival we entered the Park itself to see lots more animals - Zebra, Giraffe, Ostrich, Vultures feeding on a carcass, Jackal, Warthog, plus lots of other antelope and the salt pan itself. We then did an evening game drive where we saw White Rhino and then met a pride of thirteen Lions; we passed on the morning drive on our last day, so we could relax (the early mornings do catch up with you eventually...).

The staff were good (they notified us that we had left our headlights on, and actually took our car keys and turned the lights off for us too!) but reticent in approaching us at times, though an attendant to walk us back to our room (to ward off the porcupines) was always available.

A bit more variety in the food offered would have been preferable perhaps but the stay was generally all good." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Sparrowhawks
London

"Ongava Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 28 Mar 2008
"The service here was excellent and our room was amazingly luxurious. The place was really well set into the landscape, with amazing views from communal areas into the bush, and over its own waterhole.

Rooms were all quite far apart and very private. Our guide was excellent and we really felt we went to great lengths to make sure we all had a good time," See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
The Doormice
Norfolk

"rhinotastic"

3 nights Arrived 26 Feb 2008
"wonderful spacious room with inside/outside showers and mosquito screens so can leave doors open at night

we went on a drive with them and saw rhinos (which I think is fairly guarenteed) but actually then really enjoyed more the rhino tracking on foot one morning.
I think the guides know an immense amount about the animals but do not give enough infomation spontaneously although could answer any question.

We spent days driving ourselves into Etosha as well and if you have your own car would recommend this as very easy

the food here was adequate but the worst we had in Namibia (which is partly a reflection on how good it was elsewhere!)" See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Showing 131-140 of 146
92%
146 reviews of Ongava Lodge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
101
34
8
3
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Etosha National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

Set within Etosha National Park, Okaukuejo Camp is a large, well-equipped restcamp, with a productive floodlit waterhole.


83% (645 reviews)
Halali Camp

Halali Camp

Halali is a large, government-run restcamp in a convenient central location inside Etosha National Park.


79% (321 reviews)
Mushara Bush Camp

Mushara Bush Camp

The family-friendly Mushara Bush Camp offers a beautifully designed lodge, friendly service and a great base from which to explore Etosha National Park.


94% (240 reviews)
Ongava Tented Camp

Ongava Tented Camp

Built around a waterhole Ongava Tented Camp offers good service, delicious food, comfortable rooms, easy access to Etosha and wildlife in camp.


93% (146 reviews)
Dolomite Camp

Dolomite Camp

Opened in 2011, Dolomite Camp allows visitors access to the far west side of Etosha National Park, which was previously off limits to most visitors.


86% (94 reviews)
Mushara Lodge

Mushara Lodge

Not far from the entrance to Etosha, Mushara Lodge offers comfortable and tastefully decorated rooms in a convenient location for exploring the park.


92% (85 reviews)
Namutoni Camp

Namutoni Camp

Centred on an old fort, the government run Namutoni Camp is located just inside Etosha National Park, close to Fisher's Pan.


82% (82 reviews)
Onguma Tented Camp

Onguma Tented Camp

Onguma Tented Camp is a lovely, little tented camp which centres around an attractive waterhole a short drive from the Von Lindequist Gate to eastern Etosha.


92% (81 reviews)
Onguma Bush Camp

Onguma Bush Camp

For great wildlife viewing without breaking the bank, the affordable and understated luxury of Onguma Bush Camp could be perfect.


93% (79 reviews)
Hobatere Lodge

Hobatere Lodge

To the west of Etosha National Park, on the edge of Damaraland, Hobatere Lodge offers good game-viewing on its own reserve.


90% (67 reviews)
Mushara Outpost

Mushara Outpost

Mushara Outpost is a comfortable, stylish lodge, and a good base from which to explore nearby Etosha National Park on your own or with a guided safari.


93% (55 reviews)
Onguma Tree Top Camp

Onguma Tree Top Camp

For a bird’s eye view across African bush, the stilted rooms at Onguma Tree Top are truly special.


97% (42 reviews)
Onguma The Fort

Onguma The Fort

The Fort is the jewel in the crown of the Onguma lodges, and arguably the whole of eastern Etosha.


95% (37 reviews)
Onguma Etosha Aoba

Onguma Etosha Aoba

From its woodland setting on the Onguma Reserve, Etosha Aoba is within easy striking distance of Namibia’s flagship national park.


89% (32 reviews)
Taleni Etosha Village

Taleni Etosha Village

Only 4km from Etosha's southern entrance, Taleni Etosha Village is an affordable base from which to explore the park.


93% (26 reviews)
Safarihoek Lodge

Safarihoek Lodge

In the middle of the Etosha Heights Reserve, Safarihoek Lodge offers comfortable accommodation and excellent game-viewing.


96% (24 reviews)
Etosha Safari Lodge

Etosha Safari Lodge

A short drive from Etosha National Park's southern entrance, Etosha Safari Lodge is a convenient base from which to explore the park.


84% (24 reviews)
Etosha Safari Camp

Etosha Safari Camp

Funky, low-key and very original, Etosha Safari Camp is well placed for visiting Etosha National Park on a self-drive or guided safari.


87% (23 reviews)
Little Ongava

Little Ongava

The beautifully located and luxurious Little Ongava is a stunning place to stay in order to explore Etosha National Park and the private Ongava Reserve.


97% (23 reviews)
Mokuti Etosha Lodge

Mokuti Etosha Lodge

With 106 rooms, child-friendly Mokuti Etosha Lodge is more like a hotel than a lodge. Facilities to include a gym, spa, tennis courts and even a snake park.


92% (10 reviews)
Mountain Lodge

Mountain Lodge

In the heart of the Etosha Heights Reserve, Mountain Lodge offers the chance for game drives and bush walks away from some of the crowds of Etosha.


97% (7 reviews)
Andersson's at Ongava

Andersson's at Ongava

With game drives on both its private reserve and in Etosha, Andersson's at Ongava also offers access to the Ongava Research Centre.


100% (5 reviews)
Etosha Garden Hotel

Etosha Garden Hotel

Safari in Etosha National Park Namibia, whilst based at the nearby Etosha Garden Lodge.


60% (4 reviews)
Vreugde Guest Farm

Vreugde Guest Farm

Vreugde Guest Farm is a delightful owner-run and working sheep farm where you can expect a warm welcome and charming hospitality.


95% (4 reviews)
Villa Mushara

Villa Mushara

Villa Mushara offers luxury in a peaceful and isolated location. It is a good choice for honeymooners & those wishing to indulge themselves.


93% (3 reviews)
Toshari Lodge

Toshari Lodge

Safari in Etosha National Park Namibia, whilst based at Etosha Gateway Lodge.


80% (1 review)
Onkoshi Camp

Onkoshi Camp

Onkoshi Camp is owned and run by Namibia Wildlife Resorts. Built on elevated wooden platforms it overlooks Etosha Pan.


No reviews yet
Etosha Oberland Lodge

Etosha Oberland Lodge

A short drive from Etosha National Park's southern entrance, Etosha Oberland Lodge promises a convenient base from which to explore the park.


No reviews yet
Safari House

Safari House

The private Safari House on the Etosha Heights reserve is a great option families or friends travelling together.


No reviews yet
Etosha King Nehale

Etosha King Nehale

A short drive from the national park’s northern entrance, Etosha King Nehale Lodge is an interesting and comfortable base from which to explore the park.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa