This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Ongava Lodge
Ongava Lodge
Ongava Lodge
Ongava Lodge
Ongava Lodge
Ongava Lodge
Ongava Lodge
Ongava Lodge
Ongava Lodge
Ongava Lodge
Ongava Lodge
Ongava Lodge
Ongava Lodge
Ongava Lodge
Ongava Lodge
Ongava Lodge
Ongava Lodge

Reviews of Ongava Lodge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

148 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Ongava Lodge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Aug-2018, 33 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Ongava Lodge.
Lion

94% success

Leopard

8% success

Cheetah

12% success

Zebra

97% success

White Rhino

97% success

Giraffe

94% success

Oryx

91% success

Wildebeest

86% success

Elephant

84% success

Black Rhino

74% success

Eland

43% success

Roan antelope

28% success

Sable antelope

16% success

Spotted Hyena

13% success

Brown Hyena

12% success

Pangolin

4% success

Aardvark

0% success

Showing 141-148 of 148
Duration
Arrival date
Sparrowhawks
London

"Ongava Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 28 Mar 2008
"The service here was excellent and our room was amazingly luxurious. The place was really well set into the landscape, with amazing views from communal areas into the bush, and over its own waterhole.

Rooms were all quite far apart and very private. Our guide was excellent and we really felt we went to great lengths to make sure we all had a good time," See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
The Doormice
Norfolk

"rhinotastic"

3 nights Arrived 26 Feb 2008
"wonderful spacious room with inside/outside showers and mosquito screens so can leave doors open at night

we went on a drive with them and saw rhinos (which I think is fairly guarenteed) but actually then really enjoyed more the rhino tracking on foot one morning.
I think the guides know an immense amount about the animals but do not give enough infomation spontaneously although could answer any question.

We spent days driving ourselves into Etosha as well and if you have your own car would recommend this as very easy

the food here was adequate but the worst we had in Namibia (which is partly a reflection on how good it was elsewhere!)" See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Ms F
War

"Ongava Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 14 Dec 2007
"The location of Ongava lodge is excellent. When you arrive into the main hall it is quite impressive. The rooms are the most well apointed that we experienced and we we very satisfied from that point of view.

However, thats were it ends. I counldn't wait to leave the place in the end.The food was poor a sort of bland buffet which lacked any variety, but food does make a holiday for us. The service was almost aggressive in its lack of attention. The staff appeared to be feedup, hanging around with long faces. The management were only visable slinking around in the corner of the bar, making no effort what so ever. They had no interest in their guests.

Our biggest complaint however, was the complete rip off that the trips ended up being. After many long drives we thought we would have a day off and go with the guide into Etosha and later around the reserve. We assumed that the price would be the standard 400 odd rand that we had been charged in the other camps and were horrified when we saw the bill . They charge us more than double each for the trip in to Etosha and 400 rand for a short wild goose chase around the reserve with a plesant but clueless guide. It was a complete and utter rip off and I would strongly recommend that other visitors are not duped by this shameless profiteering. (I have written to the Managing Direct of Wilderness Safaris about this)

The rip off was emphasised even more when we stayed the next day at Mushara Lodge who charged just 400 rand for a trip into Etosha with a guide who was brought up there and very knowledgeable. Needless to say we didn't take the second trip, but he did tell us lost about Etosha for free as he chatted with us casually in the hotel." See all these reviews: 7n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Poor

Location:
Good
Service:
Terrible
Activities:
Poor
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Poor
Facilities:
Average
Miss W & Mr A
Surrey

"Ongava Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 18 Nov 2007
"Busier than some of the other places we stayed, but a lovely view over the floodlit waterhole with plenty to see. Knowledgeable guides and other staff, but a less personal service than some of the smaller places.

Watch out for being charged for additional activities (depending on accommodation option booked) without being told about the charges until afterwards!

Great rooms, lovely view with airconditioning as a bonus. A good place to stay." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Miss F & Mr H
York

"Ongava Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 16 Nov 2007
"Excellent location, great game viewing, outstanding staff." See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
B & F
Hexham

"Ongava Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 26 Sep 2007
"Seemed the most committed to ensuring we saw the maximum amount of wildlife possible and went out of their way to accommodate our request for a specialist drive in the morning." See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia; 4n in Mozambique; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs A
St Paul

"Great location for exploring Etosha"

2 nights Arrived 23 Sep 2007
"We recommend Room 1 for its proximity to the water hole.

The only negative comment we have is that, as this is slighlty larger than some of the other lodges we visted, it is used by larger tour groups, which we found quite invasive, particularly at meal times." See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr D
UK

"Ongava Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 3 Sep 2007
"This is a very expensive place to stay but the outings in their own reserve were disappointing which left us feeling that we hadn't had value for money." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 141-148 of 148
92%
148 reviews of Ongava Lodge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
103
34
8
3
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Etosha National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

Set within Etosha National Park, Okaukuejo Resort is a large camp with a productive, floodlit waterhole.


83% (660 reviews)
Halali Camp

Halali Camp

The smallest of Etosha's erstwhile restcamps, overlooking its own floodlit waterhole, Halali has a superb location near the centre of Etosha Pan.


79% (322 reviews)
Mushara Bush Camp

Mushara Bush Camp

The family-friendly Mushara Bush Camp offers great value and is an excellent base from which to explore Etosha National Park.


94% (249 reviews)
Ongava Tented Camp

Ongava Tented Camp

Set around a waterhole on a private reserve, the small Ongava Tented Camp combines understated comfort with activities that include walks and night drives.


93% (148 reviews)
Dolomite Camp

Dolomite Camp

Opened in 2011, Dolomite Camp allows visitors access to the far west side of Etosha National Park, which was previously off limits to most visitors.


86% (94 reviews)
Onguma Tented Camp

Onguma Tented Camp

Onguma Tented Camp is a lovely, little tented camp which centres around an attractive waterhole a short drive from the Von Lindequist Gate to eastern Etosha.


92% (89 reviews)
Mushara Lodge

Mushara Lodge

Close to the eastern entrance to Etosha, the comfortable Mushara Lodge is well-placed for exploring the park in your own vehicle or on a guided drive.


92% (89 reviews)
Namutoni Camp

Namutoni Camp

Centred on an old fort, the government run Namutoni Camp is located just inside Etosha National Park, close to Fisher's Pan.


82% (83 reviews)
Onguma Bush Camp

Onguma Bush Camp

For great wildlife viewing without breaking the bank, the affordable and understated luxury of Onguma Bush Camp could be perfect.


93% (78 reviews)
Hobatere Lodge

Hobatere Lodge

To the west of Etosha National Park, on the edge of Damaraland, Hobatere Lodge offers good game-viewing on its own reserve.


89% (71 reviews)
Mushara Outpost

Mushara Outpost

The most luxurious property on the reserve, Mushara Outpost is well-placed to explore nearby Etosha National Park on your own or on a guided drive.


94% (56 reviews)
Onguma Camp Kala

Onguma Camp Kala

For a bird’s eye view across African bush, the stilted rooms at Onguma Camp Kala are truly special.


97% (42 reviews)
Onguma The Fort

Onguma The Fort

The Fort is the jewel in the crown of the Onguma lodges, and arguably the whole of eastern Etosha.


95% (38 reviews)
Safarihoek Lodge

Safarihoek Lodge

At the heart of the private Etosha Heights Reserve, Safarihoek Lodge offers comfortable accommodation and excellent game-viewing.


95% (33 reviews)
Onguma Forest Camp

Onguma Forest Camp

From its woodland setting on the Onguma Reserve, Forest Camp is within easy striking distance of Namibia’s flagship national park.


90% (33 reviews)
Taleni Etosha Village

Taleni Etosha Village

Only 4km from Etosha's southern entrance, Taleni Etosha Village is an affordable base from which to explore the park.


93% (26 reviews)
Little Ongava

Little Ongava

The beautifully located and luxurious Little Ongava is a stunning place to stay in order to explore Etosha National Park and the private Ongava Reserve.


97% (24 reviews)
Etosha Safari Lodge

Etosha Safari Lodge

A short drive from Etosha National Park's southern entrance, Etosha Safari Lodge is a convenient base from which to explore the park.


84% (24 reviews)
Etosha Safari Camp

Etosha Safari Camp

Funky, low-key and very original, Etosha Safari Camp is well placed for visiting Etosha National Park on a self-drive or guided safari.


86% (22 reviews)
Mokuti Etosha Lodge

Mokuti Etosha Lodge

With 106 rooms, child-friendly Mokuti Etosha Lodge is more like a hotel than a lodge. Facilities to include a gym, spa, tennis courts and even a snake park.


92% (10 reviews)
Andersson's at Ongava

Andersson's at Ongava

With game drives on both its private reserve and in Etosha, Andersson's at Ongava also offers access to the Ongava Research Centre.


95% (8 reviews)
Mountain Lodge

Mountain Lodge

In the heart of the private Etosha Heights Reserve, the family-friendly Mountain Lodge offers game drives and bush walks within an exclusive environment.


97% (7 reviews)
Vreugde Guest Farm

Vreugde Guest Farm

Vreugde Guest Farm is a delightful owner-run and working sheep farm where you can expect a warm welcome and charming hospitality.


92% (5 reviews)
Villa Mushara

Villa Mushara

Offering luxury on a peaceful private reserve close to Etosha, Villa Mushara is a great choice for honeymooners & those wishing to indulge themselves.


95% (4 reviews)
Etosha Garden Hotel

Etosha Garden Hotel

Safari in Etosha National Park Namibia, whilst based at the nearby Etosha Garden Lodge.


60% (4 reviews)
Safari House

Safari House

The private Safari House on the Etosha Heights reserve is a great option families or friends travelling together.


100% (1 review)
Toshari Lodge

Toshari Lodge

Safari in Etosha National Park Namibia, whilst based at Etosha Gateway Lodge.


80% (1 review)
Etosha Oberland Lodge

Etosha Oberland Lodge

A short drive from Etosha National Park's southern entrance, Etosha Oberland Lodge promises a convenient base from which to explore the park.


100% (1 review)
Onkoshi Camp

Onkoshi Camp

Onkoshi Camp is owned and run by Namibia Wildlife Resorts. Built on elevated wooden platforms it overlooks Etosha Pan.


No reviews yet
Etosha King Nehale

Etosha King Nehale

A short drive from the national park's northern entrance, Etosha King Nehale Lodge is an interesting and comfortable base from which to explore the park.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa