This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Ongava Lodge
Ongava Lodge
Ongava Lodge
Ongava Lodge
Ongava Lodge
Ongava Lodge
Ongava Lodge

Reviews of Ongava Lodge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

144 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Ongava Lodge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Aug-2018, 28 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Ongava Lodge.
Lion

96% success

Leopard

10% success

Cheetah

10% success

Giraffe

96% success

Zebra

96% success

White Rhino

96% success

Oryx

93% success

Wildebeest

88% success

Elephant

85% success

Black Rhino

73% success

Eland

46% success

Roan antelope

29% success

Sable antelope

14% success

Brown Hyena

14% success

Spotted Hyena

10% success

Pangolin

5% success

Aardvark

0% success

Showing 111-120 of 144
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs C
Gloucs

"Ongava Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 1 Oct 2009
"For some reason we felt quite pressurised here. As soon as we arrived it felt like we had hardly paused for breath and we were being booked on trips.

In the end we went to the hide (which I had to ask for rather than it being offered) and we were really glad that we did as this was the only place we saw lions. We also saw them again at night outside of the room which was a great experience. We also saw 5 rhino at the water hole during and after supper." See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs S
Inverness

"Ongava Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 1 Oct 2009
"Excellent rooms and general facilities, and helpful and friendly staff. Very good and productive outings as well.

Tremendous outlook from the rooms and common areas. Lovely views of the waterhole below the bar area and fascinating sightings of rhino there.

Sadly unable to keep screen between room and balcony open at night but this was totally justified but lions walking between the rooms during the night!

Only the minimal issue of the 'corporate' feel of a contract-run operation prevented the whole stay from being classed as excellent." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs & Mr R
Hampshire

"Ongava Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 22 Sep 2009
"I loved Mowani, but Ongava was equally good in a different way - our bungalow with twin sinks overlooking the waterholes were stunning - the bungalow was really spacious and comfortable. Everything was good including the food and service.

The game drives and tracking were excellent - everything was included in our package which was great, and we had nothing to pay at the end of three very memorable days, both in Etosha and in their own reserve. We also expewrienced the first rain of the season - a spactacular thunderstorm lasting several hours - wow it was a great light show as it happened in the evening.

Tracking rhinos on foot was fun, and Etosha was spectacular - what more can I say!!! other than the staff were great too - everyone was so pleasant.

" See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Miss TT
London

"Ongava Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 13 Sep 2009
"We loved Ongava. It was a perfect base for exploring Etosha and being on a private game reserve offered us further fantastic and different game viewing opportunities in addition to Etosha.

The waterhole below the restaurant provided constant entertainment. The rooms were fantastic - spacious and recently renovated. However, unfortunately and very sadly 600 Rand went missing from our safe during our stay therefore we have given it an overall good r
ating, though without the theft it merits "excellent"." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs P
Belgium

"very nice to be there"

2 nights Arrived 30 Aug 2009
"Excellent. Just a greater flexibility of the guide for the evening activity would be appreciated : 4 girafes coming to the waterhall present a good opportunity as all the participants ( 6 people) indicate him. The guide didn't change the circuit he has in his mind...and we we missed any game.

A dialog between the guide and us would be appreciate in order to "negociate" the drive we want. In fact we didn't have chance with the game and may be - if we encountered an exciting game, I woulldn't write my remark." See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr G & Mrs R
York

"Ongava Tented Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 16 Jul 2009
"Even better than Little Kulala. Our guide, Henook?, could not do too much for us.

The rooms were just about everything you could wish for." See all these reviews: 8n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs S
T Wells

"High class lodge in good game area"

1 night Arrived 27 May 2009
"A sister lodge to the Tented Camp, this one built on the side of a hill giving nice views into the distance; the water hole is further down the the hill and a little distant but in full view of the lodge inc. dining platform. The bedrooms were large and well appointed (loo had a door!) with a good verandah - kudu passed close by this on their way to the water hole.

A lion was roaring in the night, perhaps no more than 100 meters away and three were sitting beside the track we went along on the morning game drive; this was into Etosha particularly looking for elephant which we did not see (but did come across a herd at a water hole the next day when self-driving through the park).

Again an escort with rifle was required to reach the bedroom at night. Upmarket lodge with good game drive possibilities, slightly impersonal." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr W & Ms G
Glamorgan

"Ongava Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 24 May 2009
"Staff tool us t see the lions nearby even though we hadn't booked an excursion which was very kind of them. Could not fault this place at all! 110%.

Worth warning clients in advance about the need to be escorted to and from rooms at darkness as this was not explained when we were there." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr A & Ms G
Ireland

"Ongava Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 15 May 2009
"Ongava was fine. The room was nice. We felt that it was much larger and there were a lot more people at the lodge than we had been used to up to now. The food was fine. It was buffet style which was a little disappointing compared to the other lodges that we had stayed at. The rooms were comfortable and the main area overlooking the waterhole was fantastic.We sat and watched all the animals come in and heard the lions roaring. We saw a rhino and her baby come into drink from the water hole. it was fantastic.

the activities into Etosha were good and we saw a lot of animals in the parks. Teacher our guide was really nice and very knowledeable. We went out in the afternoon into the Ongava Reserve and saw a lot of animals and had a great time. We had heard the lions roaring during the night and the guides knew that they were close by. We went to see Tony the rhino before our sundowners and then we went to see if we could see the lions. and boy did we see them. We saw 12 young male lions. We sat and watched them for ages. It was great. this was our first time to see any lions on the trip so far.

Ongava is great as a lodge in many ways as it is right on the edge of Etosha and it has it's own reserve so you can go into that at night time when the park is closed." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Mrs J & Mr D
UK

"Ongava Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 11 May 2009
"The room was gorgeous with a fantastic view.

The sundowner game drive was worth every penny.

The food was fine, but not as good as at budget lodges that we stayed at.

Watching the waterholes while eating breakfast and dinner was a real highlight." See all these reviews: 7n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 111-120 of 144
92%
144 reviews of Ongava Lodge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
99
34
8
3
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Etosha National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

Set within Etosha National Park, Okaukuejo Camp is a large, well-equipped restcamp, with a productive floodlit waterhole.


83% (639 reviews)
Halali Camp

Halali Camp

Halali is a large, government-run restcamp in a convenient central location inside Etosha National Park.


79% (319 reviews)
Mushara Bush Camp

Mushara Bush Camp

The family-friendly Mushara Bush Camp offers a beautifully designed lodge, friendly service and a great base from which to explore Etosha National Park.


94% (237 reviews)
Ongava Tented Camp

Ongava Tented Camp

Built around a waterhole Ongava Tented Camp offers good service, delicious food, comfortable rooms, easy access to Etosha and wildlife in camp.


93% (146 reviews)
Dolomite Camp

Dolomite Camp

Opened in 2011, Dolomite Camp allows visitors access to the far west side of Etosha National Park, which was previously off limits to most visitors.


86% (94 reviews)
Mushara Lodge

Mushara Lodge

Not far from the entrance to Etosha, Mushara Lodge offers comfortable and tastefully decorated rooms in a convenient location for exploring the park.


92% (85 reviews)
Namutoni Camp

Namutoni Camp

Centred on an old fort, the government run Namutoni Camp is located just inside Etosha National Park, close to Fisher's Pan.


82% (82 reviews)
Onguma Tented Camp

Onguma Tented Camp

Onguma Tented Camp is a lovely, little tented camp which centres around an attractive waterhole a short drive from the Von Lindequist Gate to eastern Etosha.


93% (79 reviews)
Onguma Bush Camp

Onguma Bush Camp

For great wildlife viewing without breaking the bank, the affordable and understated luxury of Onguma Bush Camp could be perfect.


93% (77 reviews)
Hobatere Lodge

Hobatere Lodge

To the west of Etosha National Park, on the edge of Damaraland, Hobatere Lodge offers good game-viewing on its own reserve.


90% (67 reviews)
Mushara Outpost

Mushara Outpost

Mushara Outpost is a comfortable, stylish lodge, and a good base from which to explore nearby Etosha National Park on your own or with a guided safari.


93% (55 reviews)
Onguma Tree Top Camp

Onguma Tree Top Camp

For a bird’s eye view across African bush, the stilted rooms at Onguma Tree Top are truly special.


97% (42 reviews)
Onguma The Fort

Onguma The Fort

The Fort is the jewel in the crown of the Onguma lodges, and arguably the whole of eastern Etosha.


95% (35 reviews)
Onguma Etosha Aoba

Onguma Etosha Aoba

From its woodland setting on the Onguma Reserve, Etosha Aoba is within easy striking distance of Namibia’s flagship national park.


89% (32 reviews)
Taleni Etosha Village

Taleni Etosha Village

Only 4km from Etosha's southern entrance, Taleni Etosha Village is an affordable base from which to explore the park.


93% (26 reviews)
Etosha Safari Lodge

Etosha Safari Lodge

A short drive from Etosha National Park's southern entrance, Etosha Safari Lodge is a convenient base from which to explore the park.


84% (24 reviews)
Etosha Safari Camp

Etosha Safari Camp

Funky, low-key and very original, Etosha Safari Camp is well placed for visiting Etosha National Park on a self-drive or guided safari.


87% (23 reviews)
Little Ongava

Little Ongava

The beautifully located and luxurious Little Ongava is a stunning place to stay in order to explore Etosha National Park and the private Ongava Reserve.


97% (23 reviews)
Safarihoek Lodge

Safarihoek Lodge

In the middle of the Etosha Heights Reserve, Safarihoek Lodge offers comfortable accommodation and excellent game-viewing.


95% (21 reviews)
Mokuti Etosha Lodge

Mokuti Etosha Lodge

With 106 rooms, child-friendly Mokuti Etosha Lodge is more like a hotel than a lode. Facilities to include a gym, spa, tennis courts and even a snake park.


92% (10 reviews)
Mountain Lodge

Mountain Lodge

In the heart of the Etosha Heights Reserve, Mountain Lodge offers the chance for game drives and bush walks away from some of the crowds of Etosha.


97% (7 reviews)
Andersson's at Ongava

Andersson's at Ongava

With game drives on both its private reserve and in Etosha, Andersson's at Ongava also offers access to the Ongava Research Centre.


100% (5 reviews)
Vreugde Guest Farm

Vreugde Guest Farm

Vreugde Guest Farm is a delightful owner-run and working sheep farm where you can expect a warm welcome and charming hospitality.


95% (4 reviews)
Etosha Garden Hotel

Etosha Garden Hotel

Safari in Etosha National Park Namibia, whilst based at the nearby Etosha Garden Lodge.


60% (4 reviews)
Villa Mushara

Villa Mushara

Villa Mushara offers luxury in a peaceful and isolated location. It is a good choice for honeymooners & those wishing to indulge themselves.


93% (3 reviews)
Toshari Lodge

Toshari Lodge

Safari in Etosha National Park Namibia, whilst based at Etosha Gateway Lodge.


80% (1 review)
Onkoshi Camp

Onkoshi Camp

Onkoshi Camp is owned and run by Namibia Wildlife Resorts. Built on elevated wooden platforms it overlooks Etosha Pan.


No reviews yet
Safari House

Safari House

The private Safari House on the Etosha Heights reserve is a great option families or friends travelling together.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa