This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Ongava Lodge
Ongava Lodge
Ongava Lodge
Ongava Lodge
Ongava Lodge
Ongava Lodge
Ongava Lodge

Reviews of Ongava Lodge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

144 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Ongava Lodge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Aug-2018, 28 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Ongava Lodge.
Lion

96% success

Leopard

10% success

Cheetah

10% success

Giraffe

96% success

Zebra

96% success

White Rhino

96% success

Oryx

93% success

Wildebeest

88% success

Elephant

85% success

Black Rhino

73% success

Eland

46% success

Roan antelope

29% success

Sable antelope

14% success

Brown Hyena

14% success

Spotted Hyena

10% success

Pangolin

5% success

Aardvark

0% success

Showing 101-110 of 144
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs E
Witney

"Wildlife galore at Ongava Lodge"

2 nights Arrived 18 Jun 2010
"This lodge was a little disappointing; we felt that the management were not up to the standard we experienced elsewhere and this resulted in less than perfect service. It started when we were shown to the wrong lodge (one already occupied!) and then the one we did have had a broken glass pane in the door. A promise to fix it did not materialise and we had the impression they really had no intention of fixing it; we turned down an offer to move us as we had already unpacked and the lodge did have an excellent view of the waterhole. The accommodation was otherwise very good with lots of space and probably the best shower we experienced on our trip.

Food was good, only slightly below the excellent standards of other lodges. The service was not so good, especially in the dining room where the staff were much too interested in the football!

Our guide, Hennock, was excellent, well up to the superb standard we found everywhere - even if he did not find the lions! The trip into Etosha was great with lots of wildlife." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Ms G
Luxembourg

"Very professional lodge"

2 nights Arrived 18 May 2010
"Ongava Lodge is run very professionaly and smoothly, although it does not have the personal and cosy atmosphere of some other lodges we visited. The activities were planned in a way so that not much time was left between drives and meals and we felt a bit overwhelmed with the programme sometimes.

The activities itself were neverthless great, both Ongava reserve and Etosha park have plenty of animals and each drive is an excellent opportunity to watch them.

The room was very spacious and well-equipped and we had a great view of the waterholes from the terrace. We really appreciated our guide Abder, who was one of the best guides we met during the trip." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs H
Surrey

"Ongava Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 17 May 2010
"We thoroughly enjoyed our 3 nights here.....unfortunately we were in Room 11 which has no view.

We would recommend the game drives on the property rather than in Etosha. The water holes at the Lodge and the Tented Camp are visited by lots of interesting game." See all these reviews: 26n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr L & Mr L
Kent

"Ongava Lodge"

3 nights Arrived 14 May 2010
"We felt a little ''captive'' staying here, particularly after dark when we had to be escorted everywhere. We were troubled by this fact and that yet the rooms could not be locked, a contradiction ? We were told everything was really safe, several times, but were not really sure what we needed to be wary of.

Accommodation was fine, as were the facilities, with a great view of a waterhole from the main lodge. The service was variable and the food basic.

We had one game drive in the reserve, which went from an afternoon into the evening. The standard of guiding seemed to show a lack of respect to the animals, and the level of knowledge limited when prompted.

We were concerned to be so close to some animals at dusk and after dark, to the point where they were visibly stressed and seemingly threatened by our presence. The use of bright white spot lights and allowing some guests to use flash photography at extremely close range surprised us.

Not an enjoyable way to watch the wildlife for us. The next day we decided to visit Etosha on our own rather than take another guided trip, and felt better for it." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Activities:
Poor
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Poor
Facilities:
Good
Mr A & Ms W
London

"Ongava Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 3 Jan 2010
"Staff, food, guides etc were all excellent. However the level of accommodation was not quite as high standard as Camp Kipwe or Mushara Outpost. However, the Rhino tracking here vwas one of the hi-lights of the holiday." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs M
London

"Ongava Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 26 Dec 2009
"Excellent guide (Michael) who really knew his stuff - very professional" See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr G & Mrs S
Somerset

"Ongava Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 3 Nov 2009
"Great location, very convenient for Etosha, plus game of its own. We missed the panoramic views and sense of privacy we'd enjoyed so much elsewhere because our room was in the second row. {Particularly felt exposed at wash hand basins}

Seeing & getting so close to white rhino with baby was the highlight. Enjoyed the different species coming and going at the waterhole.

Beware the Dassies!" See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Ms J & Dr S
London

"Ongava Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 15 Oct 2009
"Certainly the place to go and see lions. We had about 7 encounters (excl water hole visits), including coming across a group of 13 in a row across the road at sundown. There were six cubs, three of which were just 3 months old, who kept having to run to catch up with the others.

It rained both nights we were there: the second night was a torrential storm, with amazing lightening & 22mm of rain. The downside of this is that it plays havoc with animal viewing (it being the dry season) as suddenly water is plentiful and the water holes less alluring. This impacted on the trip to Etosha, where the water holes were practically deserted. But animal viewing is often down to luck, and I was very happy with what we did see, which included white rhino & calf, a baboon (unusual there), a tortoise (!) and a python (in addition to lions, zebra, giraffes, elephants etc). We were also treated to the lions roaring during the night." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs AH
York

"Mixed feelings about this site"

1 night Arrived 1 Oct 2009
"On one hand this place was excellent with good facilities and activities but on the other hand I felt they saw us as a source of money to fleece us if possible. Our game drive was with 10 of us crushed into a small 4x4 and with a driver who seemed inexperienced. I was very cramped in the middle row and when we stopped to see anything the guide revved up the engine and reversed often removing any view I had and scaring the animals or birds away. He would not listen to comments.

On the other side of the coin that night the water hole suddenly was visited by lions and then 5 rhinoceroses. A fantastic period followed but as we were watching all our food was removed and they stopped serving.

The accomodation and site was excellent." See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Ms L & Mr H
USA

"Rhinos at the waterhole"

1 night Arrived 1 Oct 2009
"The location, overlooking a waterhole frequented by rhinos (we saw several in the evening, plus lions) is excellent. However, the upper row of rooms (which is where we were) does not have a view of the waterhole, and are significantly less attractive for that reason.

Our afternoon game drive was not very productive, though we did see a small group of lions. Two lions actually walked right along the path between the upper and lower rows of cabins the night we were there!

We only spent one night here. I would advise at least two, with the full day spent exploring the west/central parts of Etosha." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia; 3n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Showing 101-110 of 144
92%
144 reviews of Ongava Lodge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
99
34
8
3
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Etosha National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

Set within Etosha National Park, Okaukuejo Camp is a large, well-equipped restcamp, with a productive floodlit waterhole.


83% (639 reviews)
Halali Camp

Halali Camp

Halali is a large, government-run restcamp in a convenient central location inside Etosha National Park.


79% (319 reviews)
Mushara Bush Camp

Mushara Bush Camp

The family-friendly Mushara Bush Camp offers a beautifully designed lodge, friendly service and a great base from which to explore Etosha National Park.


94% (237 reviews)
Ongava Tented Camp

Ongava Tented Camp

Built around a waterhole Ongava Tented Camp offers good service, delicious food, comfortable rooms, easy access to Etosha and wildlife in camp.


93% (146 reviews)
Dolomite Camp

Dolomite Camp

Opened in 2011, Dolomite Camp allows visitors access to the far west side of Etosha National Park, which was previously off limits to most visitors.


86% (94 reviews)
Mushara Lodge

Mushara Lodge

Not far from the entrance to Etosha, Mushara Lodge offers comfortable and tastefully decorated rooms in a convenient location for exploring the park.


92% (85 reviews)
Namutoni Camp

Namutoni Camp

Centred on an old fort, the government run Namutoni Camp is located just inside Etosha National Park, close to Fisher's Pan.


82% (82 reviews)
Onguma Tented Camp

Onguma Tented Camp

Onguma Tented Camp is a lovely, little tented camp which centres around an attractive waterhole a short drive from the Von Lindequist Gate to eastern Etosha.


93% (79 reviews)
Onguma Bush Camp

Onguma Bush Camp

For great wildlife viewing without breaking the bank, the affordable and understated luxury of Onguma Bush Camp could be perfect.


93% (77 reviews)
Hobatere Lodge

Hobatere Lodge

To the west of Etosha National Park, on the edge of Damaraland, Hobatere Lodge offers good game-viewing on its own reserve.


90% (67 reviews)
Mushara Outpost

Mushara Outpost

Mushara Outpost is a comfortable, stylish lodge, and a good base from which to explore nearby Etosha National Park on your own or with a guided safari.


93% (55 reviews)
Onguma Tree Top Camp

Onguma Tree Top Camp

For a bird’s eye view across African bush, the stilted rooms at Onguma Tree Top are truly special.


97% (42 reviews)
Onguma The Fort

Onguma The Fort

The Fort is the jewel in the crown of the Onguma lodges, and arguably the whole of eastern Etosha.


95% (35 reviews)
Onguma Etosha Aoba

Onguma Etosha Aoba

From its woodland setting on the Onguma Reserve, Etosha Aoba is within easy striking distance of Namibia’s flagship national park.


89% (32 reviews)
Taleni Etosha Village

Taleni Etosha Village

Only 4km from Etosha's southern entrance, Taleni Etosha Village is an affordable base from which to explore the park.


93% (26 reviews)
Etosha Safari Lodge

Etosha Safari Lodge

A short drive from Etosha National Park's southern entrance, Etosha Safari Lodge is a convenient base from which to explore the park.


84% (24 reviews)
Etosha Safari Camp

Etosha Safari Camp

Funky, low-key and very original, Etosha Safari Camp is well placed for visiting Etosha National Park on a self-drive or guided safari.


87% (23 reviews)
Little Ongava

Little Ongava

The beautifully located and luxurious Little Ongava is a stunning place to stay in order to explore Etosha National Park and the private Ongava Reserve.


97% (23 reviews)
Safarihoek Lodge

Safarihoek Lodge

In the middle of the Etosha Heights Reserve, Safarihoek Lodge offers comfortable accommodation and excellent game-viewing.


95% (21 reviews)
Mokuti Etosha Lodge

Mokuti Etosha Lodge

With 106 rooms, child-friendly Mokuti Etosha Lodge is more like a hotel than a lode. Facilities to include a gym, spa, tennis courts and even a snake park.


92% (10 reviews)
Mountain Lodge

Mountain Lodge

In the heart of the Etosha Heights Reserve, Mountain Lodge offers the chance for game drives and bush walks away from some of the crowds of Etosha.


97% (7 reviews)
Andersson's at Ongava

Andersson's at Ongava

With game drives on both its private reserve and in Etosha, Andersson's at Ongava also offers access to the Ongava Research Centre.


100% (5 reviews)
Vreugde Guest Farm

Vreugde Guest Farm

Vreugde Guest Farm is a delightful owner-run and working sheep farm where you can expect a warm welcome and charming hospitality.


95% (4 reviews)
Etosha Garden Hotel

Etosha Garden Hotel

Safari in Etosha National Park Namibia, whilst based at the nearby Etosha Garden Lodge.


60% (4 reviews)
Villa Mushara

Villa Mushara

Villa Mushara offers luxury in a peaceful and isolated location. It is a good choice for honeymooners & those wishing to indulge themselves.


93% (3 reviews)
Toshari Lodge

Toshari Lodge

Safari in Etosha National Park Namibia, whilst based at Etosha Gateway Lodge.


80% (1 review)
Etosha Oberland Lodge

Etosha Oberland Lodge

A short drive from Etosha National Park's southern entrance, Etosha Onderland Lodge promises a convenient base from which to explore the park.


No reviews yet
Onkoshi Camp

Onkoshi Camp

Onkoshi Camp is owned and run by Namibia Wildlife Resorts. Built on elevated wooden platforms it overlooks Etosha Pan.


No reviews yet
Safari House

Safari House

The private Safari House on the Etosha Heights reserve is a great option families or friends travelling together.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa