This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Mushara Bush Camp
Mushara Bush Camp
Mushara Bush Camp
Mushara Bush Camp
Mushara Bush Camp
Mushara Bush Camp
Mushara Bush Camp
Mushara Bush Camp
Mushara Bush Camp
Mushara Bush Camp

Reviews of Mushara Bush Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

265 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Mushara Bush Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 40 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Mushara Bush Camp.
Lion

50% success

Leopard

26% success

Cheetah

50% success

Giraffe

95% success

Wildebeest

95% success

Zebra

95% success

Oryx

95% success

Elephant

92% success

Eland

66% success

Spotted Hyena

52% success

Black Rhino

38% success

White Rhino

34% success

Sable antelope

25% success

Roan antelope

24% success

Brown Hyena

17% success

Aardvark

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Showing 231-240 of 265
Duration
Arrival date
Lapini Ensemble
UK

"Mushara Bush Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 6 Sep 2011
"A pleasant place, friendly & helpful if a little less personal feeling than other places we stayed in." See all these reviews: 5n in Namibia; 4n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
V group
Italy

"Really excellent Camp"

2 nights Arrived 18 Aug 2011
"Mushara Bush camp is located in the Bush, the common areas are maintained in an excellent state, and so are the tents.
They are very new, with walls separating the toilet area and a nice large open shower. Tents are well isolated from outside world, you can close all zips to get full darkness and the best isolation from outside cold: there's no heating, but you'll find hot water bottles in your bed after dinner!
Lounge area looks great, and so does the swimming pool and "bush dinner" area, where on special nights they serve food to guest sitting around an open fire.
Staff has been super-professional and really helped us a lot! Definitely the best service we found in a lodge in Namibia.
Finally, half day drive inside Etosha has been great: the open land rover had only us as guests, the expert guide really focused on our requests and she managed to get us seeing a very special sight: a really rare pangolin!
We would recommend this lodge to anyone who feels OK with sleeping in a tented accommodation; for the others: don't be afraid - service and quality of accommodation is top-notch!" See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs K
Nottingham

"Mushara Bush Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 7 Aug 2011
"Back to the pampering!

Not the sort of tents we're used to but we coped somehow. Staff very friendly and helpful. Food very nice if a bit minimalist. Nice touch being called to dinner by a drum. Dining tent beautifully illuminated with clusters of lights at the bigger tables. Stuffed toys and games available for young children." See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Ms S & family
Stroud

"Mushara Bush Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 25 Jul 2011
"A lovely camp with attentive staff. Great atmosphere and enjoyed watching the warthogs nibbling the grass on the lawns. Food excellent - perfect soufflet!" See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr J & Ms J
Devon

"A fantastic place to stay"

1 night Arrived 17 Jul 2011
"The is the best tented camp we stayed at, an inside bathroom and even a hairdryer and hot water bottle! The staff are wonderful and the food excellent. It is very well run by friendly and professional staff. We will definitely return here. Excellent internet reception." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr G & Mrs S
Aberdeen

"Mushara Bush Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 24 Jun 2011
"A friendly reception with good food. It was cold at night and blankets were provided at dinner! I took one to the tent for extra warmth at night.

We again drove ourselves around the Etosha waterholes seeing a great deal of wildlife including DikDik. A much better atmosphere than Okaukuejo." See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs F
Brazil

"Mushara Bush Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 15 Jun 2011
"The best lodge we stayed in.

Very beautiful, nice food, friendly, helpful and efficient staff. Perfect place if you travel with children.

Just a short drive to Etosha east gate." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr&Mrs P,Mr M,Ms B
UK

"Canvas luxury"

2 nights Arrived 13 Jun 2011
"Ideally positioned just outside Von Lidequist Gate Etosha a 10 min ride away.

Under canvas and very comfortable and some interesting animal noises through the night. The culprits arriived on the lawn the next morning keeling to feed in only the way warthogs do.

Another friendly welcome by the staff and among them another well rehearsed choir who entertained us around the evening camp fire and barbeque banquet." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mrs & Prof R
UK

"Mushara Bush Camp review"

1 night Arrived 12 Jun 2011
"Close to Etosha and good location for an overnight stay before visiting the park. The hotel grounds were pleasant but limited in where one could walk around the grounds, although we did see some wildlife there such as warthog and steenbok. We didn't use a guide for any trips but we spoke at length to one guide who seemed very ignorant.

Food reasonable and wine fairly priced. Rooms very comfortable (hot water bottles!); attentive staff." See all these reviews: 21n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Mr & Mrs H
Belgium

"Mushara- wonderful!"

2 nights Arrived 30 May 2011
"Our first Etosha camp (after which we went to Halali, Okaukeujo and Ongava) and it did not dissapoint. A beautiful place, great food and very friendly staff. We travelled as a couple and the presence of a young family did not bother us at all (the camp actively welcomes children- but they are kept well entertained with toys and their own play area). The room was lovely- four poster bed, a coffee/tea station stocked up with biscuits. A very relaxing place to come back to after our drives into Etosha.
The Eastern Etosha gate is less than 5 minutes drive away and its a great area to explore. Very different from other areas of Etosha. During our stay there we saw a leopard on the first day (in the morning) and on the second day, a leopard and her two cubs playing by the side of the road (in the evening). Very rare sightings which we were lucky to see.
We were advised that staying at Mushara would be more comfortable than staying at Namutoni (the government camp, within Etosha) and we were advised very well.

This camp was one of our favourite places in our whole trip and we are looking forward to returning!" See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Showing 231-240 of 265
94%
265 reviews of Mushara Bush Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
200
56
8
1
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Etosha National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

Set within Etosha National Park, Okaukuejo Resort is a large camp with a productive, floodlit waterhole.


83% (709 reviews)
Halali Camp

Halali Camp

The smallest of Etosha's erstwhile restcamps, overlooking its own floodlit waterhole, Halali has a superb location near the centre of Etosha Pan.


79% (332 reviews)
Ongava Lodge

Ongava Lodge

With fantastic views over a private reserve bordering Etosha, the smart Ongava Lodge offers driving and walking safaris on the reserve, and guided drives in Etosha.


92% (162 reviews)
Ongava Tented Camp

Ongava Tented Camp

Set around a waterhole on a private reserve, the small Ongava Tented Camp combines understated comfort with activities that include walks and night drives.


93% (155 reviews)
Onguma Tented Camp

Onguma Tented Camp

Onguma Tented Camp is a lovely, little tented camp which centres around an attractive waterhole a short drive from the Von Lindequist Gate to eastern Etosha.


92% (103 reviews)
Mushara Lodge

Mushara Lodge

Close to the eastern entrance to Etosha, the comfortable Mushara Lodge is well-placed for exploring the park in your own vehicle or on a guided drive.


93% (100 reviews)
Dolomite Camp

Dolomite Camp

Opened in 2011, Dolomite Camp allows visitors access to the far west side of Etosha National Park, which was previously off limits to most visitors.


86% (97 reviews)
Onguma Bush Camp

Onguma Bush Camp

For great wildlife viewing without breaking the bank, the affordable and understated luxury of Onguma Bush Camp could be perfect.


94% (87 reviews)
Namutoni Camp

Namutoni Camp

Centred on an old fort, the government run Namutoni Camp is located just inside Etosha National Park, close to Fisher's Pan.


82% (89 reviews)
Hobatere Lodge

Hobatere Lodge

To the west of Etosha National Park, on the edge of Damaraland, Hobatere Lodge offers good game-viewing on its own reserve.


89% (75 reviews)
Mushara Outpost

Mushara Outpost

Intimate and luxurious, Mushara Outpost is well-placed on a private reserve to explore nearby Etosha National Park on your own or on a guided drive.


94% (68 reviews)
Onguma Camp Kala

Onguma Camp Kala

For a bird’s eye view across African bush, the stilted rooms at Onguma Camp Kala are truly special.


97% (43 reviews)
Onguma The Fort

Onguma The Fort

The Fort is the jewel in the crown of the Onguma lodges, and arguably the whole of eastern Etosha.


96% (41 reviews)
Safarihoek Lodge

Safarihoek Lodge

At the heart of the private Etosha Heights Reserve, Safarihoek Lodge offers comfortable accommodation and excellent game-viewing.


95% (38 reviews)
Onguma Forest Camp

Onguma Forest Camp

From its woodland setting on the Onguma Reserve, Forest Camp is within easy striking distance of Namibia’s flagship national park.


89% (37 reviews)
Taleni Etosha Village

Taleni Etosha Village

Only 4km from Etosha's southern entrance, Taleni Etosha Village is an affordable base from which to explore the park.


93% (26 reviews)
Etosha Safari Lodge

Etosha Safari Lodge

A short drive from Etosha National Park's southern entrance, Etosha Safari Lodge is a convenient base from which to explore the park.


85% (26 reviews)
Little Ongava

Little Ongava

The beautifully located and luxurious Little Ongava is a stunning place to stay in order to explore Etosha National Park and the private Ongava Reserve.


97% (25 reviews)
Etosha Safari Camp

Etosha Safari Camp

Funky, low-key and very original, Etosha Safari Camp is well placed for visiting Etosha National Park on a self-drive or guided safari.


86% (22 reviews)
Andersson's at Ongava

Andersson's at Ongava

With game drives on both its private reserve and in Etosha, Andersson's at Ongava also offers access to the Ongava Research Centre.


95% (20 reviews)
Mountain Lodge

Mountain Lodge

In the heart of the private Etosha Heights Reserve, the family-friendly Mountain Lodge offers game drives and bush walks within an exclusive environment.


97% (14 reviews)
Mokuti Etosha Lodge

Mokuti Etosha Lodge

With 106 rooms, child-friendly Mokuti Etosha Lodge is more like a hotel than a lodge. Facilities to include a gym, spa, tennis courts and even a snake park.


93% (11 reviews)
Etosha Oberland Lodge

Etosha Oberland Lodge

A short drive from Etosha National Park's southern entrance, Etosha Oberland Lodge is a very comfortable base from which to explore the park, with excellent food.


100% (8 reviews)
Vreugde Guest Farm

Vreugde Guest Farm

Vreugde Guest Farm is a delightful owner-run and working sheep farm where you can expect a warm welcome and charming hospitality.


90% (6 reviews)
Villa Mushara

Villa Mushara

Offering luxury on a peaceful private reserve close to Etosha, Villa Mushara is a great choice for honeymooners & those wishing to indulge themselves.


95% (4 reviews)
Etosha King Nehale

Etosha King Nehale

A short drive from the national park's northern entrance, Etosha King Nehale Lodge is an interesting and comfortable base from which to explore the park.


100% (2 reviews)
Safari House

Safari House

The private Safari House on the Etosha Heights reserve is a great option families or friends travelling together.


100% (1 review)
Toshari Lodge

Toshari Lodge

Safari in Etosha National Park Namibia, whilst based at Etosha Gateway Lodge.


80% (1 review)
Onkoshi Camp

Onkoshi Camp

Onkoshi Camp is owned and run by Namibia Wildlife Resorts. Built on elevated wooden platforms it overlooks Etosha Pan.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa