This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Okaukuejo Camp
Okaukuejo Camp
Okaukuejo Camp
Okaukuejo Camp
Okaukuejo Camp
Okaukuejo Camp
Okaukuejo Camp
Okaukuejo Camp
Okaukuejo Camp
Okaukuejo Camp
Okaukuejo Camp

Reviews of Okaukuejo Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

638 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Okaukuejo Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 47 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Okaukuejo Camp.
Lion

80% success

Leopard

5% success

Cheetah

11% success

Giraffe

98% success

Oryx

98% success

Elephant

98% success

Zebra

96% success

Wildebeest

91% success

Black Rhino

88% success

Spotted Hyena

50% success

Eland

41% success

White Rhino

26% success

Roan antelope

18% success

Brown Hyena

15% success

Sable antelope

14% success

Aardvark

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Showing 561-570 of 638
Duration
Arrival date
Mr D
Elegy

"Okaukuejo Restcamp review"

2 nights Arrived 31 Aug 2008
"Waterhole viewing of wildlife was excellent. Rooms were very small and cramped (compared with all others we stayed in). Apparently the rooms are now half the size they used to be, 1 room split into 2. The only place to sit down in the rooms was on the bed, not enough room for a chair.

I throughly recommend staying in the Park if possible, to see the waterholes after dark is fantastic.

Staff at check in very abrupt and arrogant. Did not answer any questions, did not tell us we had to book for dinner, hence issues about getting a table for dinner later. School Dinners does sum up the food here." See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Poor
Group of 4
Oxford

"Okaukuejo Restcamp review"

2 nights Arrived 30 Aug 2008
"Nice to be so close to the waterhole - loads of elephants." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Mr B & Mrs C
Fleet

"Okaukuejo Restcamp review"

2 nights Arrived 30 Aug 2008
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms M & Mr G
Surrey

"Okaukuejo Restcamp review"

1 night Arrived 30 Aug 2008
"The room was nice and clean. Fresh and looked new. The bonus was the room's close proxmity to the waterhole.

The waterhole was the highlight, especially with the animals coming in to drink water there in throughout day and night. It was so relaxing by having a glass of gin and tonic, chilling out by looking at all the animals. It was interesting to see their behavioural patterns and movements.

Was disappointed that we could only stay there one night instead of two nights." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Poor
Mr B & Mrs E
Surrey

"Animals galore"

3 nights Arrived 21 Aug 2008
"There are two sorts of waterhole room at the Camp - those close to the front, which are two storey arrangements with a verandah and a second row further back which are on a single level. We had the latter which were comfortable, but rather small. We would advise you that great care is needed in recommending which room to book, even some of the front row rooms have no view of the animals because of the trees between them and the waterhole! The whole camp (like the other 2 in Etosha) was overhauled in 2007 so is in great condition.

The waterhole was fantastic with large numbers of visitors by dawn, day, dusk and night - so it was great value being close by just to pop down to see what was happening and who needed a drink.

Some very noisy jackels seemed to live in the camp, despite warning signs about them - they obviously don't read well!

The camp is quite large but even though it was full when we were there, it didn't seem too crowded, although meal times could be somewhat frustrating with the numbers of people being serviced. All meals are buffets and this can lead to long queues throughout the meal periods as some seem to go back 2 or 3 times! The dining room and its outside extension are very large and can get incredibly noisy, but there is a small "a la carte" room alongside which provides a quieter area but with the same buffet arrangements and no extra charge! A good alternative if one knows about it, we were lucky to be told on our second day and used it for 2 nights.

Although it's at the western end of Etosha, Okaukuejo is a good base for the park and seems better than Namutoni which feels very small in comparison. A very helpful petrol station that quickly fixed a tyre punctured by a large nail obviously picked up nearby.

One comment - on Page 365, Chris' book suggests that camp accommodation fees include the park entrance charge. This is NOT the case - a car and 4 adults costs N$330 per day in addition - so needs to be added the budget." See all these reviews: 20n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Mrs & Mr S
Yorkshire

"Okaukuejo Restcamp review"

1 night Arrived 21 Aug 2008
"We were pleasantly surprised by the excellent standard of uor accomodation at Okaukuejo. It was more than adequate. The only fustration was that it didn't have an outside area to sit to have a drink. The camp is also clean and well set out.The waterhole here is amazing, so much going on. It didn't seem to matter what time of day or night you visited, there was always something to see. We could not quite believe it when we strolled down after our evening meal to see four black rhino. A mother and her calf plus two males.

It is not as intimate hear as the lodges and the food is a hot buffet which was plentiful but quite expensive. Also it gets quite repetative if you stop for a while. Paying a deposit of 500 Namibian Dollars for return of the key seemed strange and unnecessary.

All in all I would rather stop here for the amazing water hole that outside of Etosha." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Excellent
Wattled Starling
UK

"review"

1 night Arrived 21 Aug 2008
"Okaukuejo Campsite - Facilities good - showers hot, etc. This campsite was the dirtiest I had, bits of food and rubbish on the ground.

Ground was so hard I couldn't get my tent pegs in and had to use stones to secure my tent. Broke all my pegs!

Good food in restaurant, great next to waterhole. Friendly staff." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Mr & Mrs R
Norfolk

"Elephants and rhino"

5 nights Arrived 17 Aug 2008
"This has been much revamped since our visit in 2001. Our roundel was beautifully furnished and equipped and spotlessly cleaned each day. The restaurant service was efficient despite the numbers of people it copes with. We only had one evening meal there but the game was the best of the entire trip. They still need to sort out how to keep the icecream frozen though! The shop was much better stocked and had most goods most of the time. We took an night game drive which was a thoroughly enjoyable experience, even if no big cats showed up!

The only problem is the length of time it can take to get anything done in the office. They seem to need to produce masses of paperwork for the same thing and there is just not enough staff at the peak times of checking in and out. The few staff work very hard to deal with 6 things at once!

2 corrections to information we were given in UK. Firstly, park entrance fees are not included in accommdation costs and must be paid on arrival. Secondly, the check of your room upon departure is done by radio and is speedy in our experience. Don't be tempted to hand over your passport/driving licence as a deposit on the room - we saw several people hurrying off and forgetting these and another person whose licence had been lost in the office!

Take your own teabags - and Englishman with no breakfast tea is not worth knowing!" See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia; 7n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Mr & Mrs Goshawk
UK

"Okaukuejo Restcamp review"

2 nights Arrived 15 Aug 2008
"great game viewing at waterhole. rooms by far superior to cafetria" See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Mr & Mrs Hyena
UK

"Okakuejo has the best water hole in Etosha"

2 nights Arrived 9 Aug 2008
"We were only a small walk from the water hole which has constant comings and goings.

We lost count of however many Elephants we saw as well as 6 Rhinos and a Hyena in one short evening" See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia; 3n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Showing 561-570 of 638
83%
638 reviews of Okaukuejo Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
236
282
99
19
2
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Etosha National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Halali Camp

Halali Camp

Halali is a large, government-run restcamp in a convenient central location inside Etosha National Park.


79% (321 reviews)
Mushara Bush Camp

Mushara Bush Camp

The family-friendly Mushara Bush Camp offers a beautifully designed lodge, friendly service and a great base from which to explore Etosha National Park.


94% (238 reviews)
Ongava Tented Camp

Ongava Tented Camp

Built around a waterhole Ongava Tented Camp offers good service, delicious food, comfortable rooms, easy access to Etosha and wildlife in camp.


93% (146 reviews)
Ongava Lodge

Ongava Lodge

Ongava is a smart lodge with fantastic views that offers a range of driving and walking safaris on its own reserve, and guided drives in Etosha.


92% (144 reviews)
Dolomite Camp

Dolomite Camp

Opened in 2011, Dolomite Camp allows visitors access to the far west side of Etosha National Park, which was previously off limits to most visitors.


86% (94 reviews)
Mushara Lodge

Mushara Lodge

Not far from the entrance to Etosha, Mushara Lodge offers comfortable and tastefully decorated rooms in a convenient location for exploring the park.


92% (85 reviews)
Namutoni Camp

Namutoni Camp

Centred on an old fort, the government run Namutoni Camp is located just inside Etosha National Park, close to Fisher's Pan.


82% (82 reviews)
Onguma Tented Camp

Onguma Tented Camp

Onguma Tented Camp is a lovely, little tented camp which centres around an attractive waterhole a short drive from the Von Lindequist Gate to eastern Etosha.


92% (80 reviews)
Onguma Bush Camp

Onguma Bush Camp

For great wildlife viewing without breaking the bank, the affordable and understated luxury of Onguma Bush Camp could be perfect.


93% (77 reviews)
Hobatere Lodge

Hobatere Lodge

To the west of Etosha National Park, on the edge of Damaraland, Hobatere Lodge offers good game-viewing on its own reserve.


90% (67 reviews)
Mushara Outpost

Mushara Outpost

Mushara Outpost is a comfortable, stylish lodge, and a good base from which to explore nearby Etosha National Park on your own or with a guided safari.


93% (55 reviews)
Onguma Tree Top Camp

Onguma Tree Top Camp

For a bird’s eye view across African bush, the stilted rooms at Onguma Tree Top are truly special.


97% (42 reviews)
Onguma The Fort

Onguma The Fort

The Fort is the jewel in the crown of the Onguma lodges, and arguably the whole of eastern Etosha.


95% (36 reviews)
Onguma Etosha Aoba

Onguma Etosha Aoba

From its woodland setting on the Onguma Reserve, Etosha Aoba is within easy striking distance of Namibia’s flagship national park.


89% (32 reviews)
Taleni Etosha Village

Taleni Etosha Village

Only 4km from Etosha's southern entrance, Taleni Etosha Village is an affordable base from which to explore the park.


93% (26 reviews)
Etosha Safari Lodge

Etosha Safari Lodge

A short drive from Etosha National Park's southern entrance, Etosha Safari Lodge is a convenient base from which to explore the park.


84% (24 reviews)
Etosha Safari Camp

Etosha Safari Camp

Funky, low-key and very original, Etosha Safari Camp is well placed for visiting Etosha National Park on a self-drive or guided safari.


87% (23 reviews)
Little Ongava

Little Ongava

The beautifully located and luxurious Little Ongava is a stunning place to stay in order to explore Etosha National Park and the private Ongava Reserve.


97% (23 reviews)
Safarihoek Lodge

Safarihoek Lodge

In the middle of the Etosha Heights Reserve, Safarihoek Lodge offers comfortable accommodation and excellent game-viewing.


96% (23 reviews)
Mokuti Etosha Lodge

Mokuti Etosha Lodge

With 106 rooms, child-friendly Mokuti Etosha Lodge is more like a hotel than a lodge. Facilities to include a gym, spa, tennis courts and even a snake park.


92% (10 reviews)
Mountain Lodge

Mountain Lodge

In the heart of the Etosha Heights Reserve, Mountain Lodge offers the chance for game drives and bush walks away from some of the crowds of Etosha.


97% (7 reviews)
Andersson's at Ongava

Andersson's at Ongava

With game drives on both its private reserve and in Etosha, Andersson's at Ongava also offers access to the Ongava Research Centre.


100% (5 reviews)
Etosha Garden Hotel

Etosha Garden Hotel

Safari in Etosha National Park Namibia, whilst based at the nearby Etosha Garden Lodge.


60% (4 reviews)
Vreugde Guest Farm

Vreugde Guest Farm

Vreugde Guest Farm is a delightful owner-run and working sheep farm where you can expect a warm welcome and charming hospitality.


95% (4 reviews)
Villa Mushara

Villa Mushara

Villa Mushara offers luxury in a peaceful and isolated location. It is a good choice for honeymooners & those wishing to indulge themselves.


93% (3 reviews)
Toshari Lodge

Toshari Lodge

Safari in Etosha National Park Namibia, whilst based at Etosha Gateway Lodge.


80% (1 review)
Onkoshi Camp

Onkoshi Camp

Onkoshi Camp is owned and run by Namibia Wildlife Resorts. Built on elevated wooden platforms it overlooks Etosha Pan.


No reviews yet
Etosha Oberland Lodge

Etosha Oberland Lodge

A short drive from Etosha National Park's southern entrance, Etosha Oberland Lodge promises a convenient base from which to explore the park.


No reviews yet
Safari House

Safari House

The private Safari House on the Etosha Heights reserve is a great option families or friends travelling together.


No reviews yet
Etosha King Nehale

Etosha King Nehale

A short drive from the national park’s northern entrance, Etosha King Nehale Lodge is an interesting and comfortable base from which to explore the park.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa