This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Okaukuejo Camp
Okaukuejo Camp
Okaukuejo Camp
Okaukuejo Camp
Okaukuejo Camp
Okaukuejo Camp
Okaukuejo Camp
Okaukuejo Camp
Okaukuejo Camp
Okaukuejo Camp
Okaukuejo Camp

Reviews of Okaukuejo Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

637 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Okaukuejo Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 46 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Okaukuejo Camp.
Lion

79% success

Leopard

6% success

Cheetah

11% success

Giraffe

98% success

Oryx

98% success

Elephant

98% success

Zebra

96% success

Wildebeest

91% success

Black Rhino

90% success

Spotted Hyena

51% success

Eland

42% success

White Rhino

26% success

Roan antelope

19% success

Brown Hyena

16% success

Sable antelope

15% success

Aardvark

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Showing 621-630 of 637
Duration
Arrival date
Mr Pix
UK

"Big game waterhole"

2 nights Arrived 19 Sep 2007
"It was very exciting to see so many animals at both the on site waterhole and driving around the area." See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia; 4n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Mr B
N Yorks

"nice camp"

2 nights Arrived 15 Sep 2007
"camp good . waterhole fscinating

newly refurbished huts good but a bit small" See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mr H
Bucks

"Great view of waterhole at Okaukuejo"

1 night Arrived 11 Sep 2007
"Rooms were new and modern with tasteful African decor but again kitchen ill-equipped - almost as if they required you to eat in restaurant.
Waterhole excellent - good viewing of variety of game" See all these reviews: 7n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Mr & Mrs A
Swindon

"Wildlife on your doorstep in National Parlk"

1 night Arrived 8 Sep 2007
"Government run campsite inside Etosha National Park undergoing renovation on our visit. Stayed in newly refurbished (semi detached) rondavel (well soundproofed) within sight of waterhole. Stylish walk in shower and 4 poster bed with mosquito net. Deposit required on arrival of 500N$, returned once chambermaid had checked room before departure. Kettle and fridge.

Supper and breakfast taken inside giant tent as restaurant still being built. On site mini supermarket caters for campers, next to small tourist shop and post office.

Despite size of site, everyone conscious of need for quiet at waterhole and we saw large groups of elephants, zebra, warthogs, giraffe, wildebeest and oryx and a mother and baby rhino. Total petrol station on site. Large pool (very cold). Needed torch to find way back to room after dinner." See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr DS
Surrey

"Brilliant waterhole - best we found"

2 nights Arrived 2 Sep 2007
"We were very close to the waterhole, which was great! Lots of activity there (pity we missed the lion brothers!) Only problem was the camp, like the others in Etosha, is being re-furbished, so it looked a bit 'unfinished' and the restauarant was temporarily housed in a large marquee, very chaotic! The buffet was a bit of a scrum!

Discount for vegetarians if you only want the salad bar, but you have to make a point of it.

Didn't find the service all that friendly - could have done with more staff really.

We weren't expecting to have to pay a N$500 deposit on the contents of our room - that wasn't really a problem, but I did make it clear that there were two less towels in our room than it claimed in the printed itinerary. Just in case!" See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Poor
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Mr J
Heathfield

"FANTASTIC WATER HOLE!"

2 nights Arrived 25 Aug 2007
"VERY WELL ORGANISED, AND RUN WITH MILITARY PRECISION! tHE NEW BUILDINGS WERE WELL DONE.

WE WERE 50 YARDS FROM THE WATER HOLE WHICH MEANT THAT THE KIDS COULD POP THERE BY THEMSELVES.
THERE WAS ALWAYS ANIMALS AT THE WATERHOLE. tHE EVENINGS WERE TOTALLY MAGICAL-SO MANY ANIMALS, ESPECIALLY ELEPHANTS.

WE FELT THAT BBQ TOOLS SHOULD HAE BEEN AVAILABLE, AND ALSO CUTLERY. We were glad to have stocked up in the Outjo supermarket because the shop had very limited stock for self catering." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Mr P
West Sussex

"Brilliant waterhole"

2 nights Arrived 20 Aug 2007
"On arrival we felt a little disappointed, as this was not quite of the standard we had had up until then, especially as when we went to check in, we were told that we were not on the computer and they could not accommodate us. However, after a couple of 'phone calls to Expert Africa in Windhoek, and perhaps a closer look at the computer the matter was resolved.

Gradually we gained a better understanding of what the camp was all about, and found it to be quite good.

Our bungalows in relation to the waterhole were brilliant. The dining room was undergoing refurbishment at the time and meals were served in a marquee, which everything considered was quite good." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Mr T
London

"It will good when it's finished"

3 nights Arrived 20 Aug 2007
"The location of the waterhole and the opportunity to view animals at close quarters more than compensated for the amenities of the restcamp.

A major construction programme is nearing completion and we sure this will make a huge difference.

Our accommodation was very good but the 'meals in the marquee' left a lot to be desired. Our bungalow has a fridge and sink and if the on site food store had contained a better supply of provisions we would have been happy to look after ourselves.

That said Etosha is a wonderful place and the chance to see hundreds of animals at all times of the day was something we shall never forget." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Poor
Mr-W NYorks
UK

"Elephant Bathtime"

2 nights Arrived 18 Aug 2007
"As I have already mentioned to Tracy, our booking had been changed. When we originally booked, we asked for two 4-bed rondels in order that they should be side by siide (as advised by Expert Africa). I had not noticed on the booking slips sent that this had been changed to three 2-bed accommodations which was not what we needed for 3 children and 2 adults.

When we got there it was not organised. We were told that we had two 2 bed lodges and that the workmen weere still in them. This was true. The airconditioners were still being put in, the windows had no locks, the front door had no handle, the front had not been finished with great big potholes in it and there were no self-catering utensils. In the end an extra bed was put in one room and at one stage they wanted to charge me for that!

The maid was lovely and as helpful as anyone could be. She said that she had told everyone that the rooms would not be ready! I had to negotaite with the workmen to be finished in time for us to occupy the rooms at 5.45 pm. The man at registration was not helpful.

Trying to sit around the swimming pool with inadeqaute seeting did not help eveyone's temper. I wish we had known to go and sit around the waterhole which was where we eventually ended up. This was a great move and we saw amazing sights.

The lack of organistaion also extended to the restaurant which was in a tent, but the food was good and the people helpful.

The next day when the situation was sorted out and I had spoken with Expert Africa I went back to ensure thatthe Halali rooms would be OK. At that time I found someone (a lady) who did know what was gomig on and wanted to know why I ahd not picked up the keys to our third room! I explained the whole thing and told them the the rooms we were in were OK for now but they would need finishing before they let them again. I was not the only person complaining. She was as helpful as she could be.

The experience was great because of the wildlife and the waterholes. The poor sservice was NOT down to the maid who tried her level best to help us. Advice from Expert Africa was helpful but at a weekend Wilderness Safaris in Windhoek were out.

Other travellers need to know about the restaurants which may be difficult in the future and whether there will be utensils to self cater as well as how much food will be available at the shop. In fact we found that there should have been utensils and there were 4-bed lodges as we had ordered near the waterhole." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Poor
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Poor
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Average
Mrs-H
UK

"Excellent rooms, poor food choices"

2 nights Arrived 13 Aug 2007
"The restuarant was closed for refit, and the temporary restuarant facilities were in a temporary tent. There was often queues for 15 - 20 mins to get any food, and most of the time the food was scarce and extremely limited. The staff were disorganised and the whole process of getting either breakfast or an evening meal was stressful and chaotic.

The whole experience was a very negative view of the restcamp.

The shop was poorly stocked and so there was no alternatiuve other than to use the restuarant. Future visitors should be advised to stock up at a shop or supermarket beofre they arrive at the camp as our room at least had a fridge that we could have used to store food if we had brought some with us.

The waterhole at the camp was amazing and a highlight of our trip, and the rooms were outstanding - they are better than some european 5* hotels we have stayed in" See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Poor
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Terrible
Showing 621-630 of 637
83%
637 reviews of Okaukuejo Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
236
281
99
19
2
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Etosha National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Halali Camp

Halali Camp

Halali is a large, government-run restcamp in a convenient central location inside Etosha National Park.


79% (320 reviews)
Mushara Bush Camp

Mushara Bush Camp

The family-friendly Mushara Bush Camp offers a beautifully designed lodge, friendly service and a great base from which to explore Etosha National Park.


94% (238 reviews)
Ongava Tented Camp

Ongava Tented Camp

Built around a waterhole Ongava Tented Camp offers good service, delicious food, comfortable rooms, easy access to Etosha and wildlife in camp.


93% (146 reviews)
Ongava Lodge

Ongava Lodge

Ongava is a smart lodge with fantastic views that offers a range of driving and walking safaris on its own reserve, and guided drives in Etosha.


92% (144 reviews)
Dolomite Camp

Dolomite Camp

Opened in 2011, Dolomite Camp allows visitors access to the far west side of Etosha National Park, which was previously off limits to most visitors.


86% (94 reviews)
Mushara Lodge

Mushara Lodge

Not far from the entrance to Etosha, Mushara Lodge offers comfortable and tastefully decorated rooms in a convenient location for exploring the park.


92% (85 reviews)
Namutoni Camp

Namutoni Camp

Centred on an old fort, the government run Namutoni Camp is located just inside Etosha National Park, close to Fisher's Pan.


82% (82 reviews)
Onguma Tented Camp

Onguma Tented Camp

Onguma Tented Camp is a lovely, little tented camp which centres around an attractive waterhole a short drive from the Von Lindequist Gate to eastern Etosha.


92% (80 reviews)
Onguma Bush Camp

Onguma Bush Camp

For great wildlife viewing without breaking the bank, the affordable and understated luxury of Onguma Bush Camp could be perfect.


93% (77 reviews)
Hobatere Lodge

Hobatere Lodge

To the west of Etosha National Park, on the edge of Damaraland, Hobatere Lodge offers good game-viewing on its own reserve.


90% (67 reviews)
Mushara Outpost

Mushara Outpost

Mushara Outpost is a comfortable, stylish lodge, and a good base from which to explore nearby Etosha National Park on your own or with a guided safari.


93% (55 reviews)
Onguma Tree Top Camp

Onguma Tree Top Camp

For a bird’s eye view across African bush, the stilted rooms at Onguma Tree Top are truly special.


97% (42 reviews)
Onguma The Fort

Onguma The Fort

The Fort is the jewel in the crown of the Onguma lodges, and arguably the whole of eastern Etosha.


95% (36 reviews)
Onguma Etosha Aoba

Onguma Etosha Aoba

From its woodland setting on the Onguma Reserve, Etosha Aoba is within easy striking distance of Namibia’s flagship national park.


89% (32 reviews)
Taleni Etosha Village

Taleni Etosha Village

Only 4km from Etosha's southern entrance, Taleni Etosha Village is an affordable base from which to explore the park.


93% (26 reviews)
Etosha Safari Lodge

Etosha Safari Lodge

A short drive from Etosha National Park's southern entrance, Etosha Safari Lodge is a convenient base from which to explore the park.


84% (24 reviews)
Etosha Safari Camp

Etosha Safari Camp

Funky, low-key and very original, Etosha Safari Camp is well placed for visiting Etosha National Park on a self-drive or guided safari.


87% (23 reviews)
Little Ongava

Little Ongava

The beautifully located and luxurious Little Ongava is a stunning place to stay in order to explore Etosha National Park and the private Ongava Reserve.


97% (23 reviews)
Safarihoek Lodge

Safarihoek Lodge

In the middle of the Etosha Heights Reserve, Safarihoek Lodge offers comfortable accommodation and excellent game-viewing.


95% (22 reviews)
Mokuti Etosha Lodge

Mokuti Etosha Lodge

With 106 rooms, child-friendly Mokuti Etosha Lodge is more like a hotel than a lodge. Facilities to include a gym, spa, tennis courts and even a snake park.


92% (10 reviews)
Mountain Lodge

Mountain Lodge

In the heart of the Etosha Heights Reserve, Mountain Lodge offers the chance for game drives and bush walks away from some of the crowds of Etosha.


97% (7 reviews)
Andersson's at Ongava

Andersson's at Ongava

With game drives on both its private reserve and in Etosha, Andersson's at Ongava also offers access to the Ongava Research Centre.


100% (5 reviews)
Vreugde Guest Farm

Vreugde Guest Farm

Vreugde Guest Farm is a delightful owner-run and working sheep farm where you can expect a warm welcome and charming hospitality.


95% (4 reviews)
Etosha Garden Hotel

Etosha Garden Hotel

Safari in Etosha National Park Namibia, whilst based at the nearby Etosha Garden Lodge.


60% (4 reviews)
Villa Mushara

Villa Mushara

Villa Mushara offers luxury in a peaceful and isolated location. It is a good choice for honeymooners & those wishing to indulge themselves.


93% (3 reviews)
Toshari Lodge

Toshari Lodge

Safari in Etosha National Park Namibia, whilst based at Etosha Gateway Lodge.


80% (1 review)
Etosha Oberland Lodge

Etosha Oberland Lodge

A short drive from Etosha National Park's southern entrance, Etosha Oberland Lodge promises a convenient base from which to explore the park.


No reviews yet
Etosha King Nehale

Etosha King Nehale

A short drive from the national park’s northern entrance, Etosha King Nehale Lodge is an interesting and comfortable base from which to explore the park.


No reviews yet
Onkoshi Camp

Onkoshi Camp

Onkoshi Camp is owned and run by Namibia Wildlife Resorts. Built on elevated wooden platforms it overlooks Etosha Pan.


No reviews yet
Safari House

Safari House

The private Safari House on the Etosha Heights reserve is a great option families or friends travelling together.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa