This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Okaukuejo Camp
Okaukuejo Camp
Okaukuejo Camp
Okaukuejo Camp

Reviews of Okaukuejo Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

635 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Okaukuejo Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 45 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Okaukuejo Camp.
Lion

79% success

Leopard

3% success

Cheetah

12% success

Giraffe

98% success

Oryx

98% success

Elephant

98% success

Zebra

95% success

Wildebeest

91% success

Black Rhino

90% success

Spotted Hyena

50% success

Eland

40% success

White Rhino

27% success

Roan antelope

19% success

Brown Hyena

16% success

Sable antelope

15% success

Aardvark

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Showing 611-620 of 635
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs H
IOW

"The best restcamp"

2 nights Arrived 1 Oct 2007
"Better than Halali, good waterhole and waterhole bungalows. Food again a bit hit and miss.

Site not finished but quite good especially is the area of the waterhole bungalows." See all these reviews: 22n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Mrs B
Bridgewater

"The nicest camp in Etosha"

2 nights Arrived 30 Sep 2007
"Having previously been at Palmwag Rhino Camp, where the animals all run at the first sign of humans, we were bowled over when we arrived at Okaukuejo and saw a giraffe at the watering hole at 4pm! We were staying in a WaterHole Villa - these have just been refurbished and the standard of ours was good. Tea/coffee-making, a fridge and aircon. We also had a small 'garden' that we could sit in however, as we were only 10m from the waterhole, we spent most of our downtime there.

Okaukuejo's waterhole is quite large and attracted a lot of animals throughout the day. However at night it really came alive. On our first night, after dinner [about 9pm] we saw over 30 elephants come to drink, plus four rhino [white] and eight giraffes. How the animals aren't spooked by all the noise from the people watching them, the spotlights and camera flashes going off is amazing - but they're not.

There is a tourist shop which sells food but the choice is limited and not particularly good quality. If you want to self cater [even the bungalows/villas have access to a BBQ], ensure you stock up at a supermarket before entering the park. The restaurant does an all-you-can-eat buffet for about £10 per person which is very reasonable. The food is always the same, salads/soup, breads, roasted game and hot veg/potatoes and a variety of desserts - it's not haute cuisine but it's fairly tasty.

We also stayed at Halali, and Okaukuejo was definitely the better equipped and furnished of the two. The staff aren't particularly friendly or helpful in either camp - perhaps because it's government run.

Finally, don't forget to check the sightings books in the main office at the camp, you'll get great tips about where the animals are and which waterholes are currently the most-frequented. We had an afternoon watching an elephant mudbath followed by a lion pride coming to drink thanks to a tip from this book." See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Mr S & Ms M
Banstead

"The water hole was excellent."

2 nights Arrived 29 Sep 2007
"The people in the camp have an attitude problem and treat guests like children. Quite a few people complained at having to pay a 500 Namibian $ deposit for their rooms, including me. We then had to wait to have the room inspected before having the deposit refunded. Bizarre!

The room would have been good if it had been finished. There were no shelves in the bathroom and no rail in the wardrobe to hang clothes. I have pictures to prove it. Also there was no number on the chalet and we couldn't find it. We asked an empolyee for directions and he sent us all round the houses, when in fact he was staring at it all the time. I only found it by trying the key in various locks. Great organisation!

" See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Mr L
Bristol

"Loads of animals at Okaukuejo"

2 nights Arrived 25 Sep 2007
"Very pleasantly surprised at accommodation - much better than we had expected at a rest camp. However, we found the staff unhelpful, service in the restaurant very slow and chaotic to the extent that we made sandwiches in our room on the second night!

Even the petrol attendant found it difficult to raise himself up to serve us. But we were here to see the animals, which we did in abundance. Fantastic. Brilliant waterhole." See all these reviews: 22n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Poor
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs M
Ascot

"Okaukuejo Restcamp review"

2 nights Arrived 25 Sep 2007
"The room location by the waterhole is excellent but again the food is OK but no more.

However you come to Etosha for the game and now the accommodation has been sorted it is very good" See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Mrs Barn owl
UK

"The gateway to Etosha"

2 nights Arrived 23 Sep 2007
"My first impressions of Okaukuejo Restcamp was of how busy and large it was. It took us ages to book in and to find our accommodation. It wasn't that clearly marked.

The restaurant was good and the sandwich bar during the day was great value.The accommodation was clean and comfortable and being able to walk to the waterhole, day or night, and sitting there with a drink was memorable.

The deposit for your room key was $500 or your passport/driving licence and you could not book out until someone had checked that your accommodation was complete and in one piece. So allow some extra time when you leave. This applies to all the camps in Etosha" See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs B
Beds

"OK accom newly decorated & refurbished"

2 nights Arrived 23 Sep 2007
"Waterhole bungalow newly decorated & all equip new. Office for checking in a bit formal although if you were friendly and polite all was ok.

Disliked having to wait for accom to be checked before departure although appreciate with new equip etc this would stop damage & pilfering. Very little in shop for supplies. Waterhole bungalow had no braai or cooking facilities so made to use restaurant although not too much of a problem.

Much preferred the old camp more authentic although can understand them wishing to become more upmarket." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia; 5n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Dr African Crake
UK

"Okaukuejo Restcamp review"

2 nights Arrived 22 Sep 2007
"Big camp but new bungalows were small but adequate. Aircon a blessing ! Food was surprisingly good since catering was for the masses. Being 20 meters away from the waterhole was fantastic" See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mr Pix
UK

"Big game waterhole"

2 nights Arrived 19 Sep 2007
"It was very exciting to see so many animals at both the on site waterhole and driving around the area." See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia; 4n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Mr B
N Yorks

"nice camp"

2 nights Arrived 15 Sep 2007
"camp good . waterhole fscinating

newly refurbished huts good but a bit small" See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Showing 611-620 of 635
83%
635 reviews of Okaukuejo Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
235
280
99
19
2
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Etosha National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Halali Camp

Halali Camp

Halali is a large, government-run restcamp in a convenient central location inside Etosha National Park.


79% (319 reviews)
Mushara Bush Camp

Mushara Bush Camp

The family-friendly Mushara Bush Camp offers a beautifully designed lodge, friendly service and a great base from which to explore Etosha National Park.


94% (237 reviews)
Ongava Tented Camp

Ongava Tented Camp

Built around a waterhole Ongava Tented Camp offers good service, delicious food, comfortable rooms, easy access to Etosha and wildlife in camp.


93% (146 reviews)
Ongava Lodge

Ongava Lodge

Ongava is a smart lodge with fantastic views that offers a range of driving and walking safaris on its own reserve, and guided drives in Etosha.


92% (144 reviews)
Dolomite Camp

Dolomite Camp

Opened in 2011, Dolomite Camp allows visitors access to the far west side of Etosha National Park, which was previously off limits to most visitors.


86% (94 reviews)
Mushara Lodge

Mushara Lodge

Not far from the entrance to Etosha, Mushara Lodge offers comfortable and tastefully decorated rooms in a convenient location for exploring the park.


92% (85 reviews)
Namutoni Camp

Namutoni Camp

Centred on an old fort, the government run Namutoni Camp is located just inside Etosha National Park, close to Fisher's Pan.


82% (82 reviews)
Onguma Tented Camp

Onguma Tented Camp

Onguma Tented Camp is a lovely, little tented camp which centres around an attractive waterhole a short drive from the Von Lindequist Gate to eastern Etosha.


93% (79 reviews)
Onguma Bush Camp

Onguma Bush Camp

For great wildlife viewing without breaking the bank, the affordable and understated luxury of Onguma Bush Camp could be perfect.


93% (77 reviews)
Hobatere Lodge

Hobatere Lodge

To the west of Etosha National Park, on the edge of Damaraland, Hobatere Lodge offers good game-viewing on its own reserve.


90% (67 reviews)
Mushara Outpost

Mushara Outpost

Mushara Outpost is a comfortable, stylish lodge, and a good base from which to explore nearby Etosha National Park on your own or with a guided safari.


93% (55 reviews)
Onguma Tree Top Camp

Onguma Tree Top Camp

For a bird’s eye view across African bush, the stilted rooms at Onguma Tree Top are truly special.


97% (42 reviews)
Onguma The Fort

Onguma The Fort

The Fort is the jewel in the crown of the Onguma lodges, and arguably the whole of eastern Etosha.


95% (35 reviews)
Onguma Etosha Aoba

Onguma Etosha Aoba

From its woodland setting on the Onguma Reserve, Etosha Aoba is within easy striking distance of Namibia’s flagship national park.


89% (32 reviews)
Taleni Etosha Village

Taleni Etosha Village

Only 4km from Etosha's southern entrance, Taleni Etosha Village is an affordable base from which to explore the park.


93% (26 reviews)
Etosha Safari Lodge

Etosha Safari Lodge

A short drive from Etosha National Park's southern entrance, Etosha Safari Lodge is a convenient base from which to explore the park.


84% (24 reviews)
Etosha Safari Camp

Etosha Safari Camp

Funky, low-key and very original, Etosha Safari Camp is well placed for visiting Etosha National Park on a self-drive or guided safari.


87% (23 reviews)
Little Ongava

Little Ongava

The beautifully located and luxurious Little Ongava is a stunning place to stay in order to explore Etosha National Park and the private Ongava Reserve.


97% (23 reviews)
Safarihoek Lodge

Safarihoek Lodge

In the middle of the Etosha Heights Reserve, Safarihoek Lodge offers comfortable accommodation and excellent game-viewing.


95% (21 reviews)
Mokuti Etosha Lodge

Mokuti Etosha Lodge

With 106 rooms, child-friendly Mokuti Etosha Lodge is more like a hotel than a lode. Facilities to include a gym, spa, tennis courts and even a snake park.


92% (10 reviews)
Mountain Lodge

Mountain Lodge

In the heart of the Etosha Heights Reserve, Mountain Lodge offers the chance for game drives and bush walks away from some of the crowds of Etosha.


97% (7 reviews)
Andersson's at Ongava

Andersson's at Ongava

With game drives on both its private reserve and in Etosha, Andersson's at Ongava also offers access to the Ongava Research Centre.


100% (5 reviews)
Etosha Garden Hotel

Etosha Garden Hotel

Safari in Etosha National Park Namibia, whilst based at the nearby Etosha Garden Lodge.


60% (4 reviews)
Vreugde Guest Farm

Vreugde Guest Farm

Vreugde Guest Farm is a delightful owner-run and working sheep farm where you can expect a warm welcome and charming hospitality.


95% (4 reviews)
Villa Mushara

Villa Mushara

Villa Mushara offers luxury in a peaceful and isolated location. It is a good choice for honeymooners & those wishing to indulge themselves.


93% (3 reviews)
Toshari Lodge

Toshari Lodge

Safari in Etosha National Park Namibia, whilst based at Etosha Gateway Lodge.


80% (1 review)
Onkoshi Camp

Onkoshi Camp

Onkoshi Camp is owned and run by Namibia Wildlife Resorts. Built on elevated wooden platforms it overlooks Etosha Pan.


No reviews yet
Safari House

Safari House

The private Safari House on the Etosha Heights reserve is a great option families or friends travelling together.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa