This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Okaukuejo Camp
Okaukuejo Camp
Okaukuejo Camp
Okaukuejo Camp
Okaukuejo Camp
Okaukuejo Camp
Okaukuejo Camp
Okaukuejo Camp
Okaukuejo Camp
Okaukuejo Camp
Okaukuejo Camp
Okaukuejo Camp

Reviews of Okaukuejo Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

709 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Okaukuejo Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 116 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Okaukuejo Camp.
Lion

69% success

Leopard

6% success

Cheetah

19% success

Giraffe

99% success

Zebra

96% success

Oryx

96% success

Elephant

95% success

Wildebeest

95% success

Black Rhino

90% success

Spotted Hyena

59% success

Eland

45% success

White Rhino

35% success

Brown Hyena

22% success

Roan antelope

20% success

Sable antelope

14% success

Aardvark

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Showing 701-709 of 709
Duration
Arrival date
Mr-W NYorks
UK

"Elephant Bathtime"

2 nights Arrived 18 Aug 2007
"As I have already mentioned to Tracy, our booking had been changed. When we originally booked, we asked for two 4-bed rondels in order that they should be side by siide (as advised by Expert Africa). I had not noticed on the booking slips sent that this had been changed to three 2-bed accommodations which was not what we needed for 3 children and 2 adults.

When we got there it was not organised. We were told that we had two 2 bed lodges and that the workmen weere still in them. This was true. The airconditioners were still being put in, the windows had no locks, the front door had no handle, the front had not been finished with great big potholes in it and there were no self-catering utensils. In the end an extra bed was put in one room and at one stage they wanted to charge me for that!

The maid was lovely and as helpful as anyone could be. She said that she had told everyone that the rooms would not be ready! I had to negotaite with the workmen to be finished in time for us to occupy the rooms at 5.45 pm. The man at registration was not helpful.

Trying to sit around the swimming pool with inadeqaute seeting did not help eveyone's temper. I wish we had known to go and sit around the waterhole which was where we eventually ended up. This was a great move and we saw amazing sights.

The lack of organistaion also extended to the restaurant which was in a tent, but the food was good and the people helpful.

The next day when the situation was sorted out and I had spoken with Expert Africa I went back to ensure thatthe Halali rooms would be OK. At that time I found someone (a lady) who did know what was gomig on and wanted to know why I ahd not picked up the keys to our third room! I explained the whole thing and told them the the rooms we were in were OK for now but they would need finishing before they let them again. I was not the only person complaining. She was as helpful as she could be.

The experience was great because of the wildlife and the waterholes. The poor sservice was NOT down to the maid who tried her level best to help us. Advice from Expert Africa was helpful but at a weekend Wilderness Safaris in Windhoek were out.

Other travellers need to know about the restaurants which may be difficult in the future and whether there will be utensils to self cater as well as how much food will be available at the shop. In fact we found that there should have been utensils and there were 4-bed lodges as we had ordered near the waterhole." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Poor
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Poor
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Average
Mrs-H
UK

"Excellent rooms, poor food choices"

2 nights Arrived 13 Aug 2007
"The restuarant was closed for refit, and the temporary restuarant facilities were in a temporary tent. There was often queues for 15 - 20 mins to get any food, and most of the time the food was scarce and extremely limited. The staff were disorganised and the whole process of getting either breakfast or an evening meal was stressful and chaotic.

The whole experience was a very negative view of the restcamp.

The shop was poorly stocked and so there was no alternatiuve other than to use the restuarant. Future visitors should be advised to stock up at a shop or supermarket beofre they arrive at the camp as our room at least had a fridge that we could have used to store food if we had brought some with us.

The waterhole at the camp was amazing and a highlight of our trip, and the rooms were outstanding - they are better than some european 5* hotels we have stayed in" See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Poor
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Terrible
Mr & Mrs W
Andover

"There's an elephant outside the room!"

3 nights Arrived 11 Aug 2007
"The opportunity to watch the wildlife at the water hole at the bottom of the garden both day and night was amazing. I couldn't believe that there was an elephant about 20 metres from our front door when we first arrived. We hoped to see lions at night, so we set the alarm and went out to the waterhole at 1.00 a.m. we were rewarded by seeing 18 giraffe drinking and we waited patiently for over an hour but the lions never appeared.

The room was excellent, we liked the design, interior finish and landscaping. We liked to be able to sit outside in the mornings for breakfast and watch the birds and animals. The swimming pool was good.

As the restaurant was being re-built when we were there it was difficult to know what the food would be like normally. During the period we were there the restaurant was housed in a marquee, with plastic tables and chairs and the food on offer was mediocre - although we did manage quite a good chicken and chips! one night.

We appreciate that it would be difficult to have fresh food in the shop, but even so the stock in the shop was very limited - their fridges were empty and the groceries were also in short supply with very little choice - we didn't want Tescos but felt there could have been more on offer - especially as there is nowhere else to go for supplies.

The reception staff seemed overwhelmed when a lot of people arrived at once, and didn't seem to have quite caught up with the new buildings - directions to our room were not very clear.

We felt that the restaurant, shop and reception didn't really match the standard of the location and rooms. It will probably be much better when its finished." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Poor
Mr & Mrs B
Bucks.

"The update accommodation is really good"

1 night Arrived 9 Aug 2007
"Apart from one officious member of staff in the reception office our overall experience was very good indded. The new accommodation was on a par with or better than the other lodges. The temporary restaurant was fine though I am not sure that the same buffet every night would be suitable if staying longer than we did.

The water hole is rightly regarded as the main attraction and provided and endless procesion of activity and interest. We were told at several places later in the holiday that a big price hike is planned for this November. If so whilst this may be justfied by the improved facilities it will be a barrier for many." See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr Nawas
UK

"Wonderful Water Hole at Okaukuejo"

2 nights Arrived 6 Aug 2007
"The new decor was excellent (and unexpected). Lovely shower, taps, bedding, etc. It was still unfinished (gravel being laid outside) - but this was really not a problem although I think the first night we were there was the first time dinner had been served in a marquee (during the renovations) and it was rather average - and cold.

The water hole was fantastic - but any chance of suggesting it be made a 'no-smoking zone' for future watchers?!

Generally we were thrilled by the wildlife we saw in the park." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms J
Arizona

"This camp is not designed for travelers!"

2 nights Arrived 4 Aug 2007
"Our accomodation's location was outstanding! We overlooked the waterhole and could sit on our balcony in our pj's to watch the night time display! The watehole made our trip there! Unfortunately the neither the hot water, a.c., nor ceiling fans worked during our 3 day stay.

For self drive you need to be prepared BEFORE coming. Get groceries, stamps and information ahead of time in Outjo. Don't expect to be able to use the pay phone or find an array of groceries in camp. The little camp grocery store runs of bread by noon and has only a small assortment of food stuffs (like a US convenience store.) The snack bar closes early so one is forced to eat dinner in the pricey restaurant which only has a set price meal.

The telephone did not work with our Namibian phone cards, and 2 of the 3 phones were out of order. On a good note, the petrol station is open long hours and the petrol is normal prices. They don't take credit cards for gas but will write you a chit which you can pay at the grocery store. There is an internet site...expensive but available if you need it.

There is little information to be had on what areas animals are in, even in a general way. The staff at the information desk also handles reservations and I found them rather short tempered to the point of rudeness when asked for a map, etc.

Road conditions in Etosha are poor with miles of corrugation, unlike the rest of Namibian roads which are kept in good condition. In a small car this gets tiresome (no pun intended) after several 40 km forrays to hope to see animals.

This is Etosha's 100th annivesary year. There was much hubub to prepare for the events. They really need to look at how they can serve the visitors with food, groceries and pleasantly delivered services instead of building more to impress dignataries. I really would not go to Etosha's camp Okaukuejo again." See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia; 6n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Poor

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Poor
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Terrible
Mr & Mrs F
Hants

"Okaukuejo Restcamp"

1 night Arrived 2 Aug 2007
"The waterhole here was amazing especially when 50 elephant arrived at sundown." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Mr S.
Clontarf

"Good base to visit Etosha"

2 nights Arrived 27 Jul 2007
"Large and lacking in character but easy to get out on drives. Food was pretty awful and very little to buy in the store to be self catering.

Staff seemed not to care about service

But probably better than staying outside the park and evening waterhole was great" See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia; 2n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Poor
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Poor
Facilities:
Poor
Mr M
Lancaster

"reliable waterhole"

3 nights Arrived 25 Jul 2007
"The camp is currently being renovated and bungalows upgraded to a high standard: building work continues. The opportunity to self cater is currently limited as the shop is not stocking so many supplies.

The signage in Etosha generally is being up graded but many of the drives are currently whited out: it woudl be easy to get lost!

The waterhole still remains a prime location with consistent and interesting game viewing.

Theer is now a 'daily parking' cost of 80 namibian dollars per person which replaces the game permit which had previously been paid at Andersson gate." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia; 3n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Poor
Showing 701-709 of 709
83%
709 reviews of Okaukuejo Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
254
319
110
24
2
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Etosha National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Halali Camp

Halali Camp

The smallest of Etosha's erstwhile restcamps, overlooking its own floodlit waterhole, Halali has a superb location near the centre of Etosha Pan.


79% (332 reviews)
Mushara Bush Camp

Mushara Bush Camp

The family-friendly Mushara Bush Camp offers great value and is an excellent base from which to explore Etosha National Park.


94% (265 reviews)
Ongava Lodge

Ongava Lodge

With fantastic views over a private reserve bordering Etosha, the smart Ongava Lodge offers driving and walking safaris on the reserve, and guided drives in Etosha.


92% (162 reviews)
Ongava Tented Camp

Ongava Tented Camp

Set around a waterhole on a private reserve, the small Ongava Tented Camp combines understated comfort with activities that include walks and night drives.


93% (155 reviews)
Onguma Tented Camp

Onguma Tented Camp

Onguma Tented Camp is a lovely, little tented camp which centres around an attractive waterhole a short drive from the Von Lindequist Gate to eastern Etosha.


92% (103 reviews)
Mushara Lodge

Mushara Lodge

Close to the eastern entrance to Etosha, the comfortable Mushara Lodge is well-placed for exploring the park in your own vehicle or on a guided drive.


93% (100 reviews)
Dolomite Camp

Dolomite Camp

Opened in 2011, Dolomite Camp allows visitors access to the far west side of Etosha National Park, which was previously off limits to most visitors.


86% (97 reviews)
Onguma Bush Camp

Onguma Bush Camp

For great wildlife viewing without breaking the bank, the affordable and understated luxury of Onguma Bush Camp could be perfect.


94% (87 reviews)
Namutoni Camp

Namutoni Camp

Centred on an old fort, the government run Namutoni Camp is located just inside Etosha National Park, close to Fisher's Pan.


82% (89 reviews)
Hobatere Lodge

Hobatere Lodge

To the west of Etosha National Park, on the edge of Damaraland, Hobatere Lodge offers good game-viewing on its own reserve.


89% (75 reviews)
Mushara Outpost

Mushara Outpost

Intimate and luxurious, Mushara Outpost is well-placed on a private reserve to explore nearby Etosha National Park on your own or on a guided drive.


94% (68 reviews)
Onguma Camp Kala

Onguma Camp Kala

For a bird’s eye view across African bush, the stilted rooms at Onguma Camp Kala are truly special.


97% (43 reviews)
Onguma The Fort

Onguma The Fort

The Fort is the jewel in the crown of the Onguma lodges, and arguably the whole of eastern Etosha.


96% (41 reviews)
Safarihoek Lodge

Safarihoek Lodge

At the heart of the private Etosha Heights Reserve, Safarihoek Lodge offers comfortable accommodation and excellent game-viewing.


95% (38 reviews)
Onguma Forest Camp

Onguma Forest Camp

From its woodland setting on the Onguma Reserve, Forest Camp is within easy striking distance of Namibia’s flagship national park.


89% (37 reviews)
Taleni Etosha Village

Taleni Etosha Village

Only 4km from Etosha's southern entrance, Taleni Etosha Village is an affordable base from which to explore the park.


93% (26 reviews)
Etosha Safari Lodge

Etosha Safari Lodge

A short drive from Etosha National Park's southern entrance, Etosha Safari Lodge is a convenient base from which to explore the park.


85% (26 reviews)
Little Ongava

Little Ongava

The beautifully located and luxurious Little Ongava is a stunning place to stay in order to explore Etosha National Park and the private Ongava Reserve.


97% (25 reviews)
Etosha Safari Camp

Etosha Safari Camp

Funky, low-key and very original, Etosha Safari Camp is well placed for visiting Etosha National Park on a self-drive or guided safari.


86% (22 reviews)
Andersson's at Ongava

Andersson's at Ongava

With game drives on both its private reserve and in Etosha, Andersson's at Ongava also offers access to the Ongava Research Centre.


95% (20 reviews)
Mountain Lodge

Mountain Lodge

In the heart of the private Etosha Heights Reserve, the family-friendly Mountain Lodge offers game drives and bush walks within an exclusive environment.


97% (14 reviews)
Mokuti Etosha Lodge

Mokuti Etosha Lodge

With 106 rooms, child-friendly Mokuti Etosha Lodge is more like a hotel than a lodge. Facilities to include a gym, spa, tennis courts and even a snake park.


93% (11 reviews)
Etosha Oberland Lodge

Etosha Oberland Lodge

A short drive from Etosha National Park's southern entrance, Etosha Oberland Lodge is a very comfortable base from which to explore the park, with excellent food.


100% (8 reviews)
Vreugde Guest Farm

Vreugde Guest Farm

Vreugde Guest Farm is a delightful owner-run and working sheep farm where you can expect a warm welcome and charming hospitality.


90% (6 reviews)
Villa Mushara

Villa Mushara

Offering luxury on a peaceful private reserve close to Etosha, Villa Mushara is a great choice for honeymooners & those wishing to indulge themselves.


95% (4 reviews)
Etosha King Nehale

Etosha King Nehale

A short drive from the national park's northern entrance, Etosha King Nehale Lodge is an interesting and comfortable base from which to explore the park.


100% (2 reviews)
Safari House

Safari House

The private Safari House on the Etosha Heights reserve is a great option families or friends travelling together.


100% (1 review)
Toshari Lodge

Toshari Lodge

Safari in Etosha National Park Namibia, whilst based at Etosha Gateway Lodge.


80% (1 review)
Onkoshi Camp

Onkoshi Camp

Onkoshi Camp is owned and run by Namibia Wildlife Resorts. Built on elevated wooden platforms it overlooks Etosha Pan.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa