This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Onguma Tented Camp
Onguma Tented Camp
Onguma Tented Camp
Onguma Tented Camp

Reviews of Onguma Tented Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

103 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Onguma Tented Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 27 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Onguma Tented Camp.
Lion

64% success

Leopard

25% success

Cheetah

33% success

Giraffe

96% success

Zebra

96% success

Oryx

92% success

Wildebeest

88% success

Elephant

72% success

Eland

42% success

Spotted Hyena

33% success

Roan antelope

30% success

Black Rhino

25% success

Sable antelope

25% success

White Rhino

23% success

Brown Hyena

14% success

Aardvark

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Showing 91-100 of 103
Duration
Arrival date
Honeymooners
Aberdeen

"Onguma Tented Camp review"

1 night Arrived 19 Sep 2008
"This was a lovely camp just on outskirts of the national park. The contrast with the government run camps was striking, from the luxourious tented rooms to the stylish central area.

We only stayed at the camp one night so did not partake in the activities, but we would definately return for a longer stay given the chance." See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Mr A & Mrs A
UK

"Onguma Tented Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 19 Sep 2008
"Luxurious, but a slightly confined atmosphere due to remoteness. Possibly 1 night here is enough.

The tents overlook the waterfall which can give some amazing night-viewings, but can also mean you don't get much sleep!

Well appointed rooms and helpful staff, although no fridge was a bit of a shame.

Excellent food and the bar area and dining room are beautiful (and the small pool very "refreshing"!)." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs G
N London

"Onguma Tented Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 18 Sep 2008
"Onguma was good without being outstanding. Perhaps we were getting a little tired of the luxury camps by this time, and feeling nostalgic for the remoteness and pleasant simplicity of the Schoeman's camps." See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mr M & Mrs S
Cambs

"Lion camp"

2 nights Arrived 15 Sep 2008
"Another of our favourites. The ultimate in style.

Sandra and David were charming, attentive and delightful as was Matteus who had a wonderful sense of humour. Food was delicious and service excellent. Everything here is done for you. Waterhole attracts resident porcupines.

Tented accommodation was beautiful and lovely to have the bath and outside shower. Infinity pool lovely to look at but very cold! Heard lions roaring in the night and nearly drove over them in the morning on the way out.

The only minor criticism we can think of is the safe needs to be secured to the wall." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr J
Hall

"Onguma Tented Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 18 Aug 2008
"A very nice place to stay on it's own private reserve, friendly staff, good food, really good accomodation.

The night game drive was great if a bit scary, despite being told that lions do not try to get into vehicles they were so close at night that you still felt scared - in an enjoyable way!" See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr J
Erin

"Onguma Tented Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 11 Aug 2008
"We felt that our tent was in need of a minor face-lift - the roof had water stains, which slightly spoilt the lovely interior decor. The range of activities was also rather limited. On the positive side, the service which we received was fantastic, the food good and the atmosphere relaxed. There were several nice touches in relation to our honeymoon. We were glad we stayed at Onguma and wish the staff very best wishes for the future" See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Pelican family
UK

"Luxury camping"

2 nights Arrived 26 Jul 2008
"Beautiful place - staff were great and very relaxed.

The local reserve is a bit thin on game, so the afternoon drives on offer are not terribly exciting if you've already been 'in the thick of it' for a few days, although the group who had just arrived were thrilled by a few springbok and kudu.

Excellent morning drive to Etosha, but it seemed to be standard practice to get back to the camp for 1130 and I would happily have stayed all day - indeed we ended up going back into the park in our car ourselves after lunch.

Overall a great couple of days, however, and the food here was probably the best of the trip - would put many city restaurants to shame." See all these reviews: 7n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
The Dassies
Cumbria

"Onguma Tented Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 9 Jul 2008
"We loved the luxury of this camp. Our "tent" was very well equipped and we took full advantage of the bath. The food here was excellent and overall we felt very well looked after.

Although we had spent two days exploring Etosha on our own, and had been amazed by the prolific game and thought we had seen nealy every species, we took advantage of the game drives from the camp. This was well worth it as the guide knew where and when to spot the game and pointed out a number of species of antelope that we had not previously seen. He was also able to spot lions in the grass which we would otherwise have missed." See all these reviews: 25n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms Z
Ford

"Onguma Tented Camp review"

1 night Arrived 2 Jul 2008
"We had a great stay at Onguma Tented Camp. The tents are incredibly luxurious, as are the communal areas of the camp as well. The Camp is in an excellent location as it enabled us to explore the eastern side of Etosha more easily.

The food served was the best we tasted whilst in Namibia.

The two managers who run the Camp were really friendly and welcoming and looked after us very well. The Camp staff were aware that it was our honeymoon and, after we had dinner, on our return to our tent, we discovered that the staff had lit candles all around our tent and had laid out some chilled champagne and nibbles, which we thought was very thoughtful." See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia; 6n in Mozambique
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Royal Albatross
UK

"Onguma is a great base for exploring Etosha"

2 nights Arrived 17 Jun 2008
"Really enjoyed our time at Onguma - its proximity and accessibility to Etosha is great - although the location of the entrance from the main road could do with some signage! The facilities are splendid - including the open fires in the lounge and dining room to keep you warm during the evening - in addition to blankets - very important when you're dining essentially al fresco in the winter!

Onguma has the best bath towels I have ever used at any hotel. Not only are they huge, they were pure white and fluffy. Marvellous! The duvets and hot water bottles also kept us warm during the night - important at this time of year!

We took a guided game drive into the park, and although we felt we saw plenty of wildlife, our guide was disappointed not to have seen more. The predominance of water at all the waterholes was enabling some of the game to be more elusive, seemingly. It was a well guided drive, however, with a knowledgeable and engaging guide." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Showing 91-100 of 103
92%
103 reviews of Onguma Tented Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
72
24
6
1
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Etosha National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

Set within Etosha National Park, Okaukuejo Resort is a large camp with a productive, floodlit waterhole.


83% (701 reviews)
Halali Camp

Halali Camp

The smallest of Etosha's erstwhile restcamps, overlooking its own floodlit waterhole, Halali has a superb location near the centre of Etosha Pan.


79% (330 reviews)
Mushara Bush Camp

Mushara Bush Camp

The family-friendly Mushara Bush Camp offers great value and is an excellent base from which to explore Etosha National Park.


94% (261 reviews)
Ongava Lodge

Ongava Lodge

With fantastic views over a private reserve bordering Etosha, the smart Ongava Lodge offers driving and walking safaris on the reserve, and guided drives in Etosha.


92% (158 reviews)
Ongava Tented Camp

Ongava Tented Camp

Set around a waterhole on a private reserve, the small Ongava Tented Camp combines understated comfort with activities that include walks and night drives.


93% (153 reviews)
Dolomite Camp

Dolomite Camp

Opened in 2011, Dolomite Camp allows visitors access to the far west side of Etosha National Park, which was previously off limits to most visitors.


86% (97 reviews)
Mushara Lodge

Mushara Lodge

Close to the eastern entrance to Etosha, the comfortable Mushara Lodge is well-placed for exploring the park in your own vehicle or on a guided drive.


93% (96 reviews)
Namutoni Camp

Namutoni Camp

Centred on an old fort, the government run Namutoni Camp is located just inside Etosha National Park, close to Fisher's Pan.


82% (89 reviews)
Onguma Bush Camp

Onguma Bush Camp

For great wildlife viewing without breaking the bank, the affordable and understated luxury of Onguma Bush Camp could be perfect.


94% (84 reviews)
Hobatere Lodge

Hobatere Lodge

To the west of Etosha National Park, on the edge of Damaraland, Hobatere Lodge offers good game-viewing on its own reserve.


89% (74 reviews)
Mushara Outpost

Mushara Outpost

Intimate and luxurious, Mushara Outpost is well-placed on a private reserve to explore nearby Etosha National Park on your own or on a guided drive.


94% (68 reviews)
Onguma Camp Kala

Onguma Camp Kala

For a bird’s eye view across African bush, the stilted rooms at Onguma Camp Kala are truly special.


97% (43 reviews)
Onguma The Fort

Onguma The Fort

The Fort is the jewel in the crown of the Onguma lodges, and arguably the whole of eastern Etosha.


96% (41 reviews)
Safarihoek Lodge

Safarihoek Lodge

At the heart of the private Etosha Heights Reserve, Safarihoek Lodge offers comfortable accommodation and excellent game-viewing.


95% (36 reviews)
Onguma Forest Camp

Onguma Forest Camp

From its woodland setting on the Onguma Reserve, Forest Camp is within easy striking distance of Namibia’s flagship national park.


88% (36 reviews)
Taleni Etosha Village

Taleni Etosha Village

Only 4km from Etosha's southern entrance, Taleni Etosha Village is an affordable base from which to explore the park.


93% (26 reviews)
Etosha Safari Lodge

Etosha Safari Lodge

A short drive from Etosha National Park's southern entrance, Etosha Safari Lodge is a convenient base from which to explore the park.


85% (26 reviews)
Little Ongava

Little Ongava

The beautifully located and luxurious Little Ongava is a stunning place to stay in order to explore Etosha National Park and the private Ongava Reserve.


97% (25 reviews)
Etosha Safari Camp

Etosha Safari Camp

Funky, low-key and very original, Etosha Safari Camp is well placed for visiting Etosha National Park on a self-drive or guided safari.


86% (22 reviews)
Andersson's at Ongava

Andersson's at Ongava

With game drives on both its private reserve and in Etosha, Andersson's at Ongava also offers access to the Ongava Research Centre.


94% (18 reviews)
Mountain Lodge

Mountain Lodge

In the heart of the private Etosha Heights Reserve, the family-friendly Mountain Lodge offers game drives and bush walks within an exclusive environment.


97% (14 reviews)
Mokuti Etosha Lodge

Mokuti Etosha Lodge

With 106 rooms, child-friendly Mokuti Etosha Lodge is more like a hotel than a lodge. Facilities to include a gym, spa, tennis courts and even a snake park.


93% (11 reviews)
Etosha Oberland Lodge

Etosha Oberland Lodge

A short drive from Etosha National Park's southern entrance, Etosha Oberland Lodge is a very comfortable base from which to explore the park, with excellent food.


100% (6 reviews)
Vreugde Guest Farm

Vreugde Guest Farm

Vreugde Guest Farm is a delightful owner-run and working sheep farm where you can expect a warm welcome and charming hospitality.


90% (6 reviews)
Villa Mushara

Villa Mushara

Offering luxury on a peaceful private reserve close to Etosha, Villa Mushara is a great choice for honeymooners & those wishing to indulge themselves.


95% (4 reviews)
Etosha Garden Hotel

Etosha Garden Hotel

Safari in Etosha National Park Namibia, whilst based at the nearby Etosha Garden Lodge.


60% (4 reviews)
Etosha King Nehale

Etosha King Nehale

A short drive from the national park's northern entrance, Etosha King Nehale Lodge is an interesting and comfortable base from which to explore the park.


100% (2 reviews)
Safari House

Safari House

The private Safari House on the Etosha Heights reserve is a great option families or friends travelling together.


100% (1 review)
Toshari Lodge

Toshari Lodge

Safari in Etosha National Park Namibia, whilst based at Etosha Gateway Lodge.


80% (1 review)
Onkoshi Camp

Onkoshi Camp

Onkoshi Camp is owned and run by Namibia Wildlife Resorts. Built on elevated wooden platforms it overlooks Etosha Pan.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa