This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Wolwedans Dunes Lodge
Wolwedans Dunes Lodge
Wolwedans Dunes Lodge
Wolwedans Dunes Lodge

Wolwedans Dunes Lodge


25°5’47.6"S 15°58’9.8"E

Reviews of Wolwedans Dunes Lodge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

78 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Wolwedans Dunes Lodge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 6 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Wolwedans Dunes Lodge.
Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Oryx

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Giraffe

17% success

Aardvark

0% success

Brown Hyena

0% success

Meerkat

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Wildebeest

0% success

Showing 31-40 of 78
Duration
Arrival date
Mr P & Mrs E
Camden

"Wolwedans Dunes Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 15 May 2015
"Beautiful place, spectacular scenery with excellent service. Nice formal communal dining too, a chance to meet others which made it more interesting.

The only place where we got some (brief) singing and dancing which we thought other lodges might introduce. Good guides for the activities too.

The one slight worry is the start of the road into the camp which is a bit of a rocky horror." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr F & Ms G
Surrey

"Luxury in the middle of the desert"

2 nights Arrived 6 Mar 2015
"The location is amazing - 20km from the road over a sandy one-track road. We stayed in the Mountain View Suite which is huge (5 rooms plus outdoor bed!) and very colonial - dedicated cook and maitre'd - but the food and service were excellent and very attentive, respectively. The guided tour was brilliant, with an extremely knowledgeable and friendly guide. The plane flight over the Namib was very special too. Amazing stars at night.

Waking at dawn with Oryx sliding down the red dunes just outside the bedroom and desert crows singing (!) from on top of the tented lodge is an experience we will remember for a long time." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr R & Ms L
UK

"Wolwedans Dunes Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 26 Jan 2015
"Wolwedans is of course the touchstone against which other lodges in Namibia are judged and it is in the most stunning position. The whole business of administering the arrival of guests is very impressive although it felt just a tiny bit like being 'processed'! This was the busiest lodge we stayed in during our trip and it was clear that it was geared up to receiving quite large parties, taking them in, looking after them and deftly delivering them out the other end - it was very impressive.

Everything was very well done although our earlier comment about the tendency of lodge decor to verge on colonial nostalgia probably reached its epitome here - the extent of shelves of elderly books verged on Hay on Wye, but this is not to detract from the smoothness of the overall operation and the professionalism of the staff - all impeccably done.

We suspect that a combination of the fact we reached here after a fairly long trip that took us to a good number of varied camps plus a bit of experience of other parts of southern Africa made us slightly blase, but although the experience was very good, for us it was maybe just a tad too over the top - but still all very well done, and if people have a limited time in Namibia and want to experience the desert, the this is the place to go." See all these reviews: 28n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr M & Mrs S
Scotland

"Woolwedans Dunes Lodge"

2 nights Arrived 20 Sep 2014
"Woolwedans Dunes Lodge proved an excellent starting point in a spectacular location after our delayed BA flight from London. The food was outstanding and a lot more sophisticated than you might expect while on safari though possibly more than was really necessary.

Abner proved to be a charming and helpful guide" See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs & Mr O
California

"Big Disappointment with Wolwedans"

2 nights Arrived 11 Aug 2014
"As photographers, we wanted to be in good landscape locations with the prime early morning and late afternoon light. We were told, and our voucher clearly stated we were to have a private guide and vehicle. Wolwedans would not honor this, stating their office in Windhoek knew nothing about it. Our guide, informative talkative Trecious, was very apologetic, but it was beyond his control. I felt Wolwedans has a very standard set of activities/locations, and absolutely no desire to accommodate personal preferences, but would rather sell you an extra activity--horse, plane, balloon rides, etc.

The food was very good, but a late-starting 5-course dinner makes for a very late evening, and everyone at our table the first night had early morning activities, so we were all a little anxious about getting enough sleep. They heavily promote their conservation: never driving off-road--even a little to stop or park--making it very difficult to watch or photograph the wildlife, as there is quite a bit of traffic considering it's a single lane road; charging a per item laundry fee and limiting each guest to 50-liters of water per day, yet it took a very long time for me to get hot water. A recommendation to not shower for more than say 2-minutes, would be much preferable than saying our water will cut-off at 100-liters; how am I to know just how much water is coming out the faucet or showerhead? Maybe each room could have a small solar water-heater? Would save a lot of water.

Wolwedans is located in a very beautiful reserve, though everything seemed to be a fairly lengthy drive from the lodge. We'd originally intended to visit during the rainy season, but were told it was worth visiting both during the rainy and dry seasons. I would like to visit the reserve again, but certainly not through Wolwedans.

The service overall was very disappointing: our request for our room's canvas walls to remain up was ignored, though we appreciated the hot-water bottles placed in our bed; we arrived at 6:45 for a supposed 6:30 breakfast to find the place sealed up, unzipping a wall and yelling 'Good morning' into the black cavern, did bring voices emerging from the depths (the girls were then most pleasant, shivering in the cold), to having to 'check-out' where they seemed very disgruntled shuffling through papers again and again, before agreeing there was nothing additional for us to pay. We were given a packed lunch no problem, as we'd arrived after lunch on our first day. I overheard the others at our table, who'd all eaten lunch on their arrival, initially refused a packed lunch, but then agreed to if paid for. I can understand if they're working on that tight of a budget, but it left a bit of a sour taste in my mouth, when all the other camps we stayed with were always trying to give us more food.

We were disappointed in the activities because we expected to be in good locations during the prime light of early morning and late afternoon. The Namibrand Nature Reserve is beautiful, with many animals traversing through. Wolwedans made a supreme effort to tell and show us how this unique ecosystem works, and of their efforts to conserve the natural resources, which we value and appreciate very much. But when the light is good, and the shadows are long, we'd prefer to be shooting landscapes and larger animals (though I did get some interesting shots of beetles), and not quite so much time with their pumps and watering systems. There was a definite time-table for our full-day excursion, and we often felt hurried through areas where we would have liked more time, while spending time in areas we'd have preferred to skip, even when all the vehicle's occupants agreed." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia; 14n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Poor

Location:
Good
Service:
Poor
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
W family
Gwent

"Amazing views from Wolwedans Dune Lodge"

2 nights Arrived 2 Jul 2014
"We thought the location and scenery at Wolwedans was breathtaking, the food excellent and the guided walk with the Bushmen fascinating. We didn't find it as relaxing and welcoming as Kulala - but you can't have it all!" See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs G
N London

"One of the Most Beautiful Places on Earth!"

3 nights Arrived 11 May 2014
"Our second visit to Wolwedans to enjoy the breathtaking scenery and relaxed atmosphere. We returned with high expectations and if anything we enjoyed it even more than we had hoped for. The food was excellent (although perhaps excessive in quantity), and the lodge should be commended for growing some of their own produce.

The guiding is very good, but on arrival we could have benefited from more dialogue about tailoring the activities to our particular interests." See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia; 2n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs J
Dorking

"Wolwedans Dunes Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 24 Jan 2014
"Just a wonderful experience - everything we had hoped for and more." See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr A & Ms M
Sante Fe

"Wolwedans Dunes Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 5 Oct 2013
"Spectacular setting. Orynx' sleeping next to our porch. Great food and service. Probably our favorite lodge.

Drive from Windhoek is long with no facilities along the way. Some people might find that excessive if it's their first day. But it was worth it." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr J & Mrs C
Kent

"Stunning location"

2 nights Arrived 2 Oct 2013
"Although the area isn't as game-rich as Etosha, we saw plenty whilst here, and really enjoyed our activities. The sundowner locations were breathtaking, particularly one where we were perched on a hill overlooking the plains below. We also had a really good drive to remote waterholes where we saw the animals playing out the politics of the waterhole - zebras never drink while oryx are drinking and vice versa - and our guide also showed us much of the smaller wildlife:- tok tokkies, spiders, scarily massive crickets, geckos and such like which was really interesting.

The accommodation here was the sort I was hoping for - effectively glamping of the highest order - and the view from the room was breathtaking, especially at sunrise. We also loved how the oryx took shelter under the tents (which are on stilts) for the shade. The tents were hot though although plenty of outdoor seating and loungers were provided for use during the day - in the shade!

We didn't think the communal dinners worked - primarily because we were the only non-Germans there when we visited and as our German doesn't much extend beyond 'Where is the Town Hall' and 'Where is the tram stop' we were somewhat sidelined - if it wasn't for a charming German couple with perfect English, we would have felt rather lonely. We would therefore much have preferred to sit on our own. Additionally, we really weren't fans of the overly formal 5 course dinners - whilst the food is not bad, it isn't quite as good as Wolwedans likes to think and one day were were served still frozen carpaccio.

Finally, and whilst this would not stop us recommending Wolwedans, I'm sorry to report that we had quite a lot of money stolen from a locked bag whilst we were here and I would urge Expert Africa to lobby Wolwedans into providing safes in the rooms." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Showing 31-40 of 78
95%
78 reviews of Wolwedans Dunes Lodge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
61
14
2
1
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in NamibRand Nature Reserve

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Wolwedans Dune Camp

Wolwedans Dune Camp

Small and intimate with excellent service and great guiding, Wolwedans Dune Camp is a luxurious escape in a beautiful location.


98% (56 reviews)
Sossusvlei Desert Lodge

Sossusvlei Desert Lodge

Sossusvlei Desert Lodge is located on the NamibRand Reserve and offers a range of activities as well as high levels of comfort and service.


99% (36 reviews)
Tok Tokkie Trails

Tok Tokkie Trails

Escape the car and explore the spectacular Namib Desert on foot with an expert guide from Tok Tokkie Trails.


99% (34 reviews)
Wolwedans Boulders Camp

Wolwedans Boulders

Hidden away in a remote corner of the NamibRand enjoy good food and attentive service at the exclusive Wolwedans Boulders Camp.


97% (7 reviews)
Wolwedans Private Camp

Wolwedans Priv. Camp

With just three bedrooms, private chef and private guide, Wolwedans Private Camp offers for peace and seclusion in a stunning setting.


100% (1 review)
Kwessi Dunes

Kwessi Dunes

Kwessi Dune Lodge is a new property in the NamibRand Nature reserve promising to offer a luxurious stay in the wonderfully remote NamibRand Reserve.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa