This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Dolomite Camp
Dolomite Camp
Dolomite Camp
Dolomite Camp
Dolomite Camp

Reviews of Dolomite Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

93 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Dolomite Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Sep-2018, 3 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Dolomite Camp.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Black Rhino

100% success

Brown Hyena

100% success

Eland

100% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Oryx

100% success

Wildebeest

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Aardvark

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Roan antelope

0% success

Sable antelope

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

White Rhino

0% success

Showing 61-70 of 93
Duration
Arrival date
M family
Hampshire

"Dolomite - lovely setting, lots to see"

1 night Arrived 22 Jul 2013
"This end of Etosha very empty as access limited so very privileged to visit. Despite the fact guidebooks suggested it was more scrubland and difficult to see game we saw lots (dry season so near waterholes, but also giraffes on road etc).

Camp a stunning location on a hill overlooking plain and waterhole so we had excellent views of about 30 elephant converging on waterhole at sunset.

Chalets quite spread out on both sides of hill and staff suggested that we phone lodge for an escort after dark, but they did not answer phone and we felt quite safe walking around (I don't think they had enough staff to cope with everyone wanting to go to dinner). it was helpful to be able to phone other rooms. Friendly staff but slightly less exceptional than at most other places.

Literature offered packed lunch but they could not deliver on this, however breakfast ample. All better than we expected for NMR camp. Map suggests a long straight road across reserve but actually plenty of manmade, and hence permanent, waterholes with lots to see. We called briefly for fuel at Okaujuego and were glad we had not stayed there - more people than most Namibian towns!" See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr G & Ms L
Scotland

"Dolomite Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 3 Jul 2013
"We stayed in room 3 for two nights. This NWR camp was functional in comparison to other places we stayed (outside Etosha). It was a nice clean canvas-sided room with balcony overlooking the plain. The bed was soft but comfortable. There was a good shower. There weren't many electrical sockets and no safe. The infinity pool was pretty cold but had a great view!

The food was okay - it was a bit cold sitting in the dinner tents.

The buggy system for ferrying guests back and forth to their rooms (to avoid them being eaten by lions) could easily become irritating - it was very noisy but luckily didn't go on too late at night.

The location is excellent for exploring the quieter western side of Etosha - there were hardly any cars and we saw great wildlife (rhino and lots of lions), much better than over on the eastern/central part. There appear to be few other options for places to stay in the western part of Etosha within the park gates." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Mr & Mrs B
N Hants

"Dolomite Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 12 Jun 2013
"fabulous location but needed to be fit because of the hill. menu choice was limited but what we had was good. view from room was to die for. spent a lot of time watching the elephants below. note that entry via galton gate means paying park fees at the office near the gate and you can only use cash not a credit card as we expected. overall our stay was good. evening meal was included in the price not an extra as on the invoice." See all these reviews: 20n in Namibia; 6n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Mr M & Ms J
UK

"Dolomite felt like an upmarket private lodge"

2 nights Arrived 1 Apr 2013
"Dolomite is a simply stunning camp due to a combination of location, design and the wildlife you can see down on the plain. The view from our balcony was awesome, we could lie in bed and watch the elephants moving around, and the pool area is beautiful.

The staff were really friendly and helpful but perhaps a little understaffed which meant service at meals was slow. Personally we did not think this was a problem, but some guests complained which we felt was unjust.

Perhaps because the whole camp is of such high quality some people expected private lodge standards but without paying for them. If we had to pick one favourite from all the camps we stayed at during our holiday this would be the one." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr C & Ms B
Macclesfi

"Dolomite - the 'new' Etosha government camp i"

2 nights Arrived 18 Mar 2013
"Up the sides and on top of a hill, this camp provides stunning views over the game-filled plains, and the opportunity to sit with binoculars and observe. The downside of the position is that the distance and incline between restaurant/pool/bar etc and the individual chalets is difficult. Whilst there is a buggy that provides a degree of transport, this is not 'door to door' within the camp, is not always readily available and makes life even more difficult for anyone walking on the pathway, which is not wide enough for the buggy and a pedestrian to pass! The camp is certainly not suited to anyone with impaired mobility.

The accommodation itself is on the small side, and for a newish camp somewhat disappointing. It was also not altogether clean, and the level of maintenance (light bulbs, cracked glass etc) seemed low, making us think that the camp could deteriorate quite quickly. This is probably caused through the apparent staffing situation, as whilst all the staff we encountered were friendly and helpful, there just did not seem enough of them to service the camp efficiently or fully. This lead to poor service in the restaurant and bar, with the sight of staff doubling up on reception/waiting/bar and even maintenance work! Having said that, when food in the restaurant did arrive, it was good.

We preferred to go on our own game drives rather than those offered, and there were plenty of waterholes, and game within a very short distance of the camp, so there was no disappointment with this aspect.

We were a little surprised to encounter a family with a 1 year old baby which understandably made its lack of appreciation of the heat and its surroundings loudly heard. In our opinion this camp is really unsuited for young children in respect of its position, the fact that it is unfenced etc.and its overall facilities" See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Poor
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Mr & Mrs B
South Bank

"An interesting place to stay"

2 nights Arrived 12 Dec 2012
"This camp has an amazing location on a ridge overlooking the plain below. Our chalet was very well appointed but, like all the rooms, it was a long winding trek from the public areas. You have to be fit to stay here - you leave your car at at the foot of the ridge, and then have a long uphill walk to get to the facilities, and then even further to reach your room.

A golf cart can be called to transport you - but you may have to wait a while for it to arrive (over 10/15 mins). The restaurant staff were delightful and tried their very best. We went on one organised game drive from the lodge and our guide, Gabriel, got us to the Klippan waterhole at exactly the right time to see 3 different black rhinos come for their evening drink, one after the other - fantastic !" See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Family trip
UK

"Dolomite Camp enjoys an outstanding location"

2 nights Arrived 11 Nov 2012
"Dolomite Camp is set in an outstanding location with great views over Etosha. The game viewing was quite excellent. We would certainly return to Dolomite on a future visit to Etosha.

Couple of points regarding service:-

(1) Service at mealtimes is unacceptably slow due to insufficient numbers of staff, particularly given the distance of the kitchen from the dining room. The staff are doing the best they can - they simply need more people.

(2) It would be useful if they could have an information board in reception advising the water holes that are open / closed in this part of Etosha - this would save wasting time driving to closed water holes. Just a suggestion." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs M
Suffolk

"Rhino watching at Dolomite"

1 night Arrived 18 Oct 2012
"Dolomite camp is perched high on a hill so the perfect vantage point to survey the plains below.

Tea relaxing in the warm afternoon sunshine on the chalet balcony was accompanied by the sight of a rhino making its way through the thorn bush below. There is a water hole here but I doubt of any chalet or the public areas can see it so why was it not dug in a more prominent position?

We had read that game was sparse on the western side of the park - well if seeing a black rhino at a watering hole in broad daylight along with a few elephant plus the usual springbok, zebra, oryx, etc is sparse then whoever wrote that must have had their eyes shut. Yes perhaps not so prolific as the Eastern end but well worth a days' detour. Also staying at least a night at Dolomite enables you to spend time visiting all the park's waterholes without having to rush back to base before nightfall.

Check out with a credit card posed no problems although we had been told it is better to pay cash it can take some time. The staff were friendly and the food up to a very high standard.

In general a lovely place to stay. They insist that you use the golf cart after dark as it is leopard country but there is no point in doing so during the day. After sitting in a car all day the exercise is a relief." See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr C & Mrs K
UK

"Dolomite Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 7 Oct 2012
"A nice camp set on a dolomite ridge - 20 cabins set on either side of the top. Views from the cabins over the plains are superb with giraffe, zebra (most likely mountain) and antelope often visible. However, due to it's setting and design with the cabins strung out along the ridge and the facilities at one, end moving around can be difficult as the paths are steep and irregular. There is a motorised buggy which will transport you from cabin to restaurant and back Necessarry after dark as the camp is not fenced. Not really a good place for the elderly or infirm.

The rooms are resonably appointed with fridge and comfortable with a balcony overlooking the plains. Mosquito netting is provided.

Food was good and the service 'ok' but we felt they were a little bit overwhelmed by numbers.

Accessibility to water holes is good. There is one just below one end of the camp and the others, all permanent and close by, are well patronised by good game including rhino and lion.

Watch out upon entering the park and paying the park fee. The rangers won't take 200 Rand notes as they say there are a lot of fake ones in circulation. They don't take cards. (At Okakuejo there is a warning about N$100 notes!)" See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia; 6n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Ms F & Mr A
London

"Dolomite has a fantastic setting"

1 night Arrived 3 Oct 2012
"The location of Dolomite camp in western Etosha is fantastic, with great long views from the rooms which are dotted around a rock outcrop.

We really enjoyed our time in the western part of the park, and (in October when we were there) saw plenty of wildlife (including Hartebeest which we didn't see anywhere else on our stay).

The rooms are beautifully designed, although possibly a bit overfilled with furniture and fittings! We got some close views of birds in the trees around our room.

There seemed to be a large number of trainees getting experience on the staff - so service wasn't slick, but it was always friendly.

At the moment there is no fence around the park, so after dark you need to ring for a golf buggy to pick you up to go to dinner etc. The service works really well - but we couldn't help feeling it was a bit like a Disney ride as we chugged up and down the pathways in the buggy!" See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 61-70 of 93
86%
93 reviews of Dolomite Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
49
30
8
5
1
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Etosha National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

Set within Etosha National Park, Okaukuejo Camp is a large, well-equipped restcamp, with a productive floodlit waterhole.


83% (640 reviews)
Halali Camp

Halali Camp

Halali is a large, government-run restcamp in a convenient central location inside Etosha National Park.


79% (319 reviews)
Mushara Bush Camp

Mushara Bush Camp

The family-friendly Mushara Bush Camp offers a beautifully designed lodge, friendly service and a great base from which to explore Etosha National Park.


94% (237 reviews)
Ongava Tented Camp

Ongava Tented Camp

Built around a waterhole Ongava Tented Camp offers good service, delicious food, comfortable rooms, easy access to Etosha and wildlife in camp.


93% (146 reviews)
Ongava Lodge

Ongava Lodge

Ongava is a smart lodge with fantastic views that offers a range of driving and walking safaris on its own reserve, and guided drives in Etosha.


92% (144 reviews)
Mushara Lodge

Mushara Lodge

Not far from the entrance to Etosha, Mushara Lodge offers comfortable and tastefully decorated rooms in a convenient location for exploring the park.


92% (85 reviews)
Namutoni Camp

Namutoni Camp

Centred on an old fort, the government run Namutoni Camp is located just inside Etosha National Park, close to Fisher's Pan.


82% (82 reviews)
Onguma Tented Camp

Onguma Tented Camp

Onguma Tented Camp is a lovely, little tented camp which centres around an attractive waterhole a short drive from the Von Lindequist Gate to eastern Etosha.


93% (79 reviews)
Onguma Bush Camp

Onguma Bush Camp

For great wildlife viewing without breaking the bank, the affordable and understated luxury of Onguma Bush Camp could be perfect.


93% (77 reviews)
Hobatere Lodge

Hobatere Lodge

To the west of Etosha National Park, on the edge of Damaraland, Hobatere Lodge offers good game-viewing on its own reserve.


90% (67 reviews)
Mushara Outpost

Mushara Outpost

Mushara Outpost is a comfortable, stylish lodge, and a good base from which to explore nearby Etosha National Park on your own or with a guided safari.


93% (55 reviews)
Onguma Tree Top Camp

Onguma Tree Top Camp

For a bird’s eye view across African bush, the stilted rooms at Onguma Tree Top are truly special.


97% (42 reviews)
Onguma The Fort

Onguma The Fort

The Fort is the jewel in the crown of the Onguma lodges, and arguably the whole of eastern Etosha.


95% (36 reviews)
Onguma Etosha Aoba

Onguma Etosha Aoba

From its woodland setting on the Onguma Reserve, Etosha Aoba is within easy striking distance of Namibia’s flagship national park.


89% (32 reviews)
Taleni Etosha Village

Taleni Etosha Village

Only 4km from Etosha's southern entrance, Taleni Etosha Village is an affordable base from which to explore the park.


93% (26 reviews)
Etosha Safari Lodge

Etosha Safari Lodge

A short drive from Etosha National Park's southern entrance, Etosha Safari Lodge is a convenient base from which to explore the park.


84% (24 reviews)
Etosha Safari Camp

Etosha Safari Camp

Funky, low-key and very original, Etosha Safari Camp is well placed for visiting Etosha National Park on a self-drive or guided safari.


87% (23 reviews)
Little Ongava

Little Ongava

The beautifully located and luxurious Little Ongava is a stunning place to stay in order to explore Etosha National Park and the private Ongava Reserve.


97% (23 reviews)
Safarihoek Lodge

Safarihoek Lodge

In the middle of the Etosha Heights Reserve, Safarihoek Lodge offers comfortable accommodation and excellent game-viewing.


95% (22 reviews)
Mokuti Etosha Lodge

Mokuti Etosha Lodge

With 106 rooms, child-friendly Mokuti Etosha Lodge is more like a hotel than a lode. Facilities to include a gym, spa, tennis courts and even a snake park.


92% (10 reviews)
Mountain Lodge

Mountain Lodge

In the heart of the Etosha Heights Reserve, Mountain Lodge offers the chance for game drives and bush walks away from some of the crowds of Etosha.


97% (7 reviews)
Andersson's at Ongava

Andersson's at Ongava

With game drives on both its private reserve and in Etosha, Andersson's at Ongava also offers access to the Ongava Research Centre.


100% (5 reviews)
Etosha Garden Hotel

Etosha Garden Hotel

Safari in Etosha National Park Namibia, whilst based at the nearby Etosha Garden Lodge.


60% (4 reviews)
Vreugde Guest Farm

Vreugde Guest Farm

Vreugde Guest Farm is a delightful owner-run and working sheep farm where you can expect a warm welcome and charming hospitality.


95% (4 reviews)
Villa Mushara

Villa Mushara

Villa Mushara offers luxury in a peaceful and isolated location. It is a good choice for honeymooners & those wishing to indulge themselves.


93% (3 reviews)
Toshari Lodge

Toshari Lodge

Safari in Etosha National Park Namibia, whilst based at Etosha Gateway Lodge.


80% (1 review)
Onkoshi Camp

Onkoshi Camp

Onkoshi Camp is owned and run by Namibia Wildlife Resorts. Built on elevated wooden platforms it overlooks Etosha Pan.


No reviews yet
Etosha Oberland Lodge

Etosha Oberland Lodge

A short drive from Etosha National Park's southern entrance, Etosha Onderland Lodge promises a convenient base from which to explore the park.


No reviews yet
Safari House

Safari House

The private Safari House on the Etosha Heights reserve is a great option families or friends travelling together.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa