This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Dolomite Camp
Dolomite Camp
Dolomite Camp
Dolomite Camp
Dolomite Camp

Reviews of Dolomite Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

96 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Dolomite Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Sep-2018, 7 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Dolomite Camp.
Lion

60% success

Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Oryx

100% success

Wildebeest

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Black Rhino

60% success

Eland

50% success

Brown Hyena

25% success

Spotted Hyena

25% success

White Rhino

25% success

Aardvark

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Roan antelope

0% success

Sable antelope

0% success

Showing 71-80 of 96
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs M
Suffolk

"Rhino watching at Dolomite"

1 night Arrived 18 Oct 2012
"Dolomite camp is perched high on a hill so the perfect vantage point to survey the plains below.

Tea relaxing in the warm afternoon sunshine on the chalet balcony was accompanied by the sight of a rhino making its way through the thorn bush below. There is a water hole here but I doubt of any chalet or the public areas can see it so why was it not dug in a more prominent position?

We had read that game was sparse on the western side of the park - well if seeing a black rhino at a watering hole in broad daylight along with a few elephant plus the usual springbok, zebra, oryx, etc is sparse then whoever wrote that must have had their eyes shut. Yes perhaps not so prolific as the Eastern end but well worth a days' detour. Also staying at least a night at Dolomite enables you to spend time visiting all the park's waterholes without having to rush back to base before nightfall.

Check out with a credit card posed no problems although we had been told it is better to pay cash it can take some time. The staff were friendly and the food up to a very high standard.

In general a lovely place to stay. They insist that you use the golf cart after dark as it is leopard country but there is no point in doing so during the day. After sitting in a car all day the exercise is a relief." See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr C & Mrs K
UK

"Dolomite Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 7 Oct 2012
"A nice camp set on a dolomite ridge - 20 cabins set on either side of the top. Views from the cabins over the plains are superb with giraffe, zebra (most likely mountain) and antelope often visible. However, due to it's setting and design with the cabins strung out along the ridge and the facilities at one, end moving around can be difficult as the paths are steep and irregular. There is a motorised buggy which will transport you from cabin to restaurant and back Necessarry after dark as the camp is not fenced. Not really a good place for the elderly or infirm.

The rooms are resonably appointed with fridge and comfortable with a balcony overlooking the plains. Mosquito netting is provided.

Food was good and the service 'ok' but we felt they were a little bit overwhelmed by numbers.

Accessibility to water holes is good. There is one just below one end of the camp and the others, all permanent and close by, are well patronised by good game including rhino and lion.

Watch out upon entering the park and paying the park fee. The rangers won't take 200 Rand notes as they say there are a lot of fake ones in circulation. They don't take cards. (At Okakuejo there is a warning about N$100 notes!)" See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia; 6n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Ms F & Mr A
London

"Dolomite has a fantastic setting"

1 night Arrived 3 Oct 2012
"The location of Dolomite camp in western Etosha is fantastic, with great long views from the rooms which are dotted around a rock outcrop.

We really enjoyed our time in the western part of the park, and (in October when we were there) saw plenty of wildlife (including Hartebeest which we didn't see anywhere else on our stay).

The rooms are beautifully designed, although possibly a bit overfilled with furniture and fittings! We got some close views of birds in the trees around our room.

There seemed to be a large number of trainees getting experience on the staff - so service wasn't slick, but it was always friendly.

At the moment there is no fence around the park, so after dark you need to ring for a golf buggy to pick you up to go to dinner etc. The service works really well - but we couldn't help feeling it was a bit like a Disney ride as we chugged up and down the pathways in the buggy!" See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Dr D
Suffolk

"Impressive new camp in Western Etosha"

3 nights Arrived 30 Sep 2012
"This new camp is in a beautiful location. Our chalet, no.6, was very good with views from the balcony over the plain looking west. We could see the animals moving to and from the camp water-hole.

The arrival procedure took some time as 4 or 5 vehicles arrived at about the same time and the "golf buggy" system become overloaded so we had quite a long wait, 50 minutes, with our lugggage in the car parking area. We were told that the problem was that they only had one operational buggy. However, the delay was compensated by the warmth and enthusiasm of the staff who were trying really hard to make things work. We felt that the system needed at least one more member of staff. This was also apparent in the "escorting" procedure for getting to and from the dining area after dark. We had a long wait on our first night before we were escorted from our chalet to the dining room simply because there was only one member of staff looking after 20 chalets. We avoided the problem on the next two evenings by making sure that we were in the dining room area before dark. Once in the dining room the food was very good.

We drove ourselves around the area making long game drives in the mornings and shorter ones later in the afternoon. Etosha is still suffering badly from the effects of bush fires and large areas are charred and devoid of wildlife. Several of the water-holes were closed but at those water-holes in areas that had escaped the flames we did see large numbers of animals, particularly at Renosterviel, Rateldraf and Klippan. We had several good sightings of lions, elephants, black rhino as well as the usual zebras (both species), giraffes, warthogs and a range of antelopes, including eland. Game watching was particularly enjoyable in this area of the park as we were usually the only vehicle at the water-hole- very rarely did we see another car on our drives.

The lack of a fuel station at Dolomite was not an issue after filling up at Kamanjab- see notes about Nissan X-Trail later.

The drive from Dolomite to Okaukuejo is quite long, not made more exciting by the destruction caused by the fires and was generally uneventful.

However, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this camp and will stay there again." See all these reviews: 22n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr T&M &Ms S&J
UK

"Dolomite Camp - away from it all!"

2 nights Arrived 25 Sep 2012
"Dolomite camp and the rooms were lovely, the food was good and the team from the local community worked hard to help make their guests happy, especially Douglas behind the bar.
There are only two rooms here which overlook the waterhole though the views in general were stunning.

There are however issues with the camp design in this wild and desolate area of Etosha, I refer in particular to the wooden walkways and paved areas to the rooms. The walkways are poorly lit at night and resulted in my partner suffering an extremely heavy fall from a step down onto the rocks which could have been very serious indeed, I was pleased that she was able to get to her feet without serious injury, she has though suffered badly grazed and swollen knees and she still suffers some pain from this. Her back was also bruised but thankfully there is no recurent pain here.

You cannot believe my relief when I found my partner was ok after the fall, my vision of her at the time sprawled amonst jagged rocks and crying out in pain was that she had suffered a broken back.

For safety reasons it would be helpful if each of the wooden steps had a visible edge as all the steps simply merge into one, this may help prevent future accidents of this nature.

Another issue at this camp is that staff insist that guests are transported back to their rooms after dinner using a golf buggy, stating that it is safe from animals but strangely we were told on two occasions to walk down to breakfast at 6:30am even though it was still almost dark...that walk from our room was at least 800m up/down really steep pathways.....we are both retired and though we consider ourselves quite fit this was too much, so I had to insist that a buggy be provided.

This place is definitely not for those less able." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr M
W Lothian

"Dolomite Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 21 Sep 2012
"What a privilege to stay here. Lion Ele etc what a place. Very professional staff, however the surrounding water holes were a bit sparse. Loved it though, and had close encounters with Lion!!!!" See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs A & Friends
UK

"Excellent stay at Dolomite"

2 nights Arrived 14 Sep 2012
"Best shower in Namibia! Lodge / tent excellent, well stocked fridge with tea making facilities. Great watching game go to and fro to waterhole from stoep of lodge.

Good meals with a good choice for dinner and great breakfast. Service a little slow but as meals are prepared freshly. it made for a relaxed experience and well stocked bar for nightcap. Staff friendly and efficient.

Only downside is walk to lodge if not great at walking uphill. Buggy available but can involve a wait if busy elewhere. Dolomite is a great place to stay and wouldn't have missed it. Will return" See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs R
Hereford

"Interesting new camp"

2 nights Arrived 14 Sep 2012
"Spectacular site on the side of the Dolomite mountains, with a view that goes on for ever . Accommodation very pleasant and comfortable, with balcony overlooking the plains.

Cars are left at the base and you are ferried up the mountain by golf buggy. Tents are up steep walkways and the buggy is necessary , which I found very difficult. Food good and staff very pleasant , helpful and proud of their new facility.

We took a drive but could have done it ourselves as it is restricted to the public roads. However we came across a small herd of elephants with young crossing the road and the guide gave us an excellent example of how to avoid confrontation by deliberately blocking the road to impatient and aggressive drivers. A valuable experience." See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Prof & Mrs H
Bristol

"Dolomite Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 13 Sep 2012
"Friendly welcoming staff. Food and accommodation good.

Camp very spread out on top of a hill so potentially a lot of walking to and from bar, restaurant etc but the camp provided a buggy service to ferry people about to offset this problem for the less fit visitor." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Mr S & Ms R
Surrey

"Stopover in Etosha, with a difference"

1 night Arrived 13 Sep 2012
"The lodge is laid out along the top of a hump-backed ridge, running North-South. The main buildings are at the southern end, with guest chalets arranged in a double line along the spine of the ridge so that each has a spectacular view over the plain, either to the East or the West. There is a nearby waterhole, but, because it is located about 500m Northeast of the ridge, only 2 or 3 chalets have a clear view of it.

The climate-controlled chalets are cleverly designed, partly on stilts (to counter the slope of the ridge). The main bed area of our chalet looked out over the plain through panoramic windows, across a narrow verandah with seating. It was modern, comfortable and well-equipped (for example with telephone to the main lodge, fridge, kettle, tea/coffee facilities and luxuriously (or wastefully) large shower-heads in the ensuite wash-room at the back).

We were lucky to be allocated a chalet at the Northeastern end of the ridge, with a decent view of activities at the waterhole. It was fun to sup wine on the verandah, watch the waterhole and to locate animals elsewhere on the plain through binoculars. Facing East as we were, there was a spectacular dawn in the morning, watched in the company of dassies (rock-hyrax) on the boulders behind the chalet.

Our chalet location also resulted in a fairly long trek along the central walkway, up the hump of the ridge, then down, to reach the restaurant and bar area. Because there is no perimeter fence to keep out animals, guests wishing to use the walkway after sunset are requested to telephone for a shuttle (also used to chug guests and luggage to and from the car park at the Southwestern foot of the ridge).

For dining, we were directed to one of the two restaurants (we never learned whether there was any distinction of food or style). Most of the seating here was concentrated around a communal dining table, where we enjoyed a reasonable dinner (from a three course set menu, with choice from 3 or 4 main courses), attentive waiter service and conversations with the cheerful, younger, multilingual Swiss and German fellow-guests around us.

We were able to settle our food and drink bill by credit card - but only on the fourth attempt. The guest in front of us had given up, in impatience, and paid with cash. As the service-maid charmingly put it to us: "Our telephone line is unwell today!"

Overall, our stopover at Dolomite (en route from Galton gate, towards Etosha East) was very pleasant. It enabled us to experience Etosha West, which provided some excellent chance encounters, both on the road and at some of the waterholes, visited as we drove towards the lodge (there was, by the way, no petrol station at the lodge or at Galton Gate, so travelers coming from the South and going our way should consider topping up at Kamanjab). However, we found the game-viewing experience, generally, to be less intense than that in Etosha East - and the viewing at the lodge is limited by the positioning of the waterhole and the absence of floodlights thereon. The contrast was well worth the experience, but we were content with just a one night stay." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia; 3n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Showing 71-80 of 96
86%
96 reviews of Dolomite Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
49
32
9
5
1
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Etosha National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

Set within Etosha National Park, Okaukuejo Resort is a large camp with a productive, floodlit waterhole.


83% (669 reviews)
Halali Camp

Halali Camp

The smallest of Etosha's erstwhile restcamps, overlooking its own floodlit waterhole, Halali has a superb location near the centre of Etosha Pan.


79% (325 reviews)
Mushara Bush Camp

Mushara Bush Camp

The family-friendly Mushara Bush Camp offers great value and is an excellent base from which to explore Etosha National Park.


94% (250 reviews)
Ongava Lodge

Ongava Lodge

With fantastic views over a private reserve bordering Etosha, the smart Ongava Lodge offers driving and walking safaris on the reserve, and guided drives in Etosha.


92% (153 reviews)
Ongava Tented Camp

Ongava Tented Camp

Set around a waterhole on a private reserve, the small Ongava Tented Camp combines understated comfort with activities that include walks and night drives.


93% (150 reviews)
Onguma Tented Camp

Onguma Tented Camp

Onguma Tented Camp is a lovely, little tented camp which centres around an attractive waterhole a short drive from the Von Lindequist Gate to eastern Etosha.


93% (97 reviews)
Mushara Lodge

Mushara Lodge

Close to the eastern entrance to Etosha, the comfortable Mushara Lodge is well-placed for exploring the park in your own vehicle or on a guided drive.


92% (91 reviews)
Namutoni Camp

Namutoni Camp

Centred on an old fort, the government run Namutoni Camp is located just inside Etosha National Park, close to Fisher's Pan.


82% (85 reviews)
Onguma Bush Camp

Onguma Bush Camp

For great wildlife viewing without breaking the bank, the affordable and understated luxury of Onguma Bush Camp could be perfect.


94% (80 reviews)
Hobatere Lodge

Hobatere Lodge

To the west of Etosha National Park, on the edge of Damaraland, Hobatere Lodge offers good game-viewing on its own reserve.


89% (71 reviews)
Mushara Outpost

Mushara Outpost

Intimate and luxurious, Mushara Outpost is well-placed on a private reserve to explore nearby Etosha National Park on your own or on a guided drive.


93% (61 reviews)
Onguma Camp Kala

Onguma Camp Kala

For a bird’s eye view across African bush, the stilted rooms at Onguma Camp Kala are truly special.


97% (42 reviews)
Onguma The Fort

Onguma The Fort

The Fort is the jewel in the crown of the Onguma lodges, and arguably the whole of eastern Etosha.


95% (39 reviews)
Safarihoek Lodge

Safarihoek Lodge

At the heart of the private Etosha Heights Reserve, Safarihoek Lodge offers comfortable accommodation and excellent game-viewing.


95% (34 reviews)
Onguma Forest Camp

Onguma Forest Camp

From its woodland setting on the Onguma Reserve, Forest Camp is within easy striking distance of Namibia’s flagship national park.


89% (34 reviews)
Taleni Etosha Village

Taleni Etosha Village

Only 4km from Etosha's southern entrance, Taleni Etosha Village is an affordable base from which to explore the park.


93% (26 reviews)
Etosha Safari Lodge

Etosha Safari Lodge

A short drive from Etosha National Park's southern entrance, Etosha Safari Lodge is a convenient base from which to explore the park.


85% (25 reviews)
Little Ongava

Little Ongava

The beautifully located and luxurious Little Ongava is a stunning place to stay in order to explore Etosha National Park and the private Ongava Reserve.


97% (24 reviews)
Etosha Safari Camp

Etosha Safari Camp

Funky, low-key and very original, Etosha Safari Camp is well placed for visiting Etosha National Park on a self-drive or guided safari.


86% (22 reviews)
Andersson's at Ongava

Andersson's at Ongava

With game drives on both its private reserve and in Etosha, Andersson's at Ongava also offers access to the Ongava Research Centre.


92% (12 reviews)
Mokuti Etosha Lodge

Mokuti Etosha Lodge

With 106 rooms, child-friendly Mokuti Etosha Lodge is more like a hotel than a lodge. Facilities to include a gym, spa, tennis courts and even a snake park.


92% (10 reviews)
Mountain Lodge

Mountain Lodge

In the heart of the private Etosha Heights Reserve, the family-friendly Mountain Lodge offers game drives and bush walks within an exclusive environment.


96% (9 reviews)
Vreugde Guest Farm

Vreugde Guest Farm

Vreugde Guest Farm is a delightful owner-run and working sheep farm where you can expect a warm welcome and charming hospitality.


92% (5 reviews)
Villa Mushara

Villa Mushara

Offering luxury on a peaceful private reserve close to Etosha, Villa Mushara is a great choice for honeymooners & those wishing to indulge themselves.


95% (4 reviews)
Etosha Garden Hotel

Etosha Garden Hotel

Safari in Etosha National Park Namibia, whilst based at the nearby Etosha Garden Lodge.


60% (4 reviews)
Safari House

Safari House

The private Safari House on the Etosha Heights reserve is a great option families or friends travelling together.


100% (1 review)
Toshari Lodge

Toshari Lodge

Safari in Etosha National Park Namibia, whilst based at Etosha Gateway Lodge.


80% (1 review)
Etosha Oberland Lodge

Etosha Oberland Lodge

A short drive from Etosha National Park's southern entrance, Etosha Oberland Lodge is a very comfortable base from which to explore the park, with excellent food.


100% (1 review)
Onkoshi Camp

Onkoshi Camp

Onkoshi Camp is owned and run by Namibia Wildlife Resorts. Built on elevated wooden platforms it overlooks Etosha Pan.


No reviews yet
Etosha King Nehale

Etosha King Nehale

A short drive from the national park's northern entrance, Etosha King Nehale Lodge is an interesting and comfortable base from which to explore the park.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa