This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Dolomite Camp
Dolomite Camp
Dolomite Camp
Dolomite Camp
Dolomite Camp

Reviews of Dolomite Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

93 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Dolomite Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Sep-2018, 3 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Dolomite Camp.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Black Rhino

100% success

Brown Hyena

100% success

Eland

100% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Oryx

100% success

Wildebeest

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Aardvark

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Roan antelope

0% success

Sable antelope

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

White Rhino

0% success

Showing 71-80 of 93
Duration
Arrival date
Dr D
Suffolk

"Impressive new camp in Western Etosha"

3 nights Arrived 30 Sep 2012
"This new camp is in a beautiful location. Our chalet, no.6, was very good with views from the balcony over the plain looking west. We could see the animals moving to and from the camp water-hole.

The arrival procedure took some time as 4 or 5 vehicles arrived at about the same time and the "golf buggy" system become overloaded so we had quite a long wait, 50 minutes, with our lugggage in the car parking area. We were told that the problem was that they only had one operational buggy. However, the delay was compensated by the warmth and enthusiasm of the staff who were trying really hard to make things work. We felt that the system needed at least one more member of staff. This was also apparent in the "escorting" procedure for getting to and from the dining area after dark. We had a long wait on our first night before we were escorted from our chalet to the dining room simply because there was only one member of staff looking after 20 chalets. We avoided the problem on the next two evenings by making sure that we were in the dining room area before dark. Once in the dining room the food was very good.

We drove ourselves around the area making long game drives in the mornings and shorter ones later in the afternoon. Etosha is still suffering badly from the effects of bush fires and large areas are charred and devoid of wildlife. Several of the water-holes were closed but at those water-holes in areas that had escaped the flames we did see large numbers of animals, particularly at Renosterviel, Rateldraf and Klippan. We had several good sightings of lions, elephants, black rhino as well as the usual zebras (both species), giraffes, warthogs and a range of antelopes, including eland. Game watching was particularly enjoyable in this area of the park as we were usually the only vehicle at the water-hole- very rarely did we see another car on our drives.

The lack of a fuel station at Dolomite was not an issue after filling up at Kamanjab- see notes about Nissan X-Trail later.

The drive from Dolomite to Okaukuejo is quite long, not made more exciting by the destruction caused by the fires and was generally uneventful.

However, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this camp and will stay there again." See all these reviews: 22n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr T&M &Ms S&J
UK

"Dolomite Camp - away from it all!"

2 nights Arrived 25 Sep 2012
"Dolomite camp and the rooms were lovely, the food was good and the team from the local community worked hard to help make their guests happy, especially Douglas behind the bar.
There are only two rooms here which overlook the waterhole though the views in general were stunning.

There are however issues with the camp design in this wild and desolate area of Etosha, I refer in particular to the wooden walkways and paved areas to the rooms. The walkways are poorly lit at night and resulted in my partner suffering an extremely heavy fall from a step down onto the rocks which could have been very serious indeed, I was pleased that she was able to get to her feet without serious injury, she has though suffered badly grazed and swollen knees and she still suffers some pain from this. Her back was also bruised but thankfully there is no recurent pain here.

You cannot believe my relief when I found my partner was ok after the fall, my vision of her at the time sprawled amonst jagged rocks and crying out in pain was that she had suffered a broken back.

For safety reasons it would be helpful if each of the wooden steps had a visible edge as all the steps simply merge into one, this may help prevent future accidents of this nature.

Another issue at this camp is that staff insist that guests are transported back to their rooms after dinner using a golf buggy, stating that it is safe from animals but strangely we were told on two occasions to walk down to breakfast at 6:30am even though it was still almost dark...that walk from our room was at least 800m up/down really steep pathways.....we are both retired and though we consider ourselves quite fit this was too much, so I had to insist that a buggy be provided.

This place is definitely not for those less able." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr M
W Lothian

"Dolomite Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 21 Sep 2012
"What a privilege to stay here. Lion Ele etc what a place. Very professional staff, however the surrounding water holes were a bit sparse. Loved it though, and had close encounters with Lion!!!!" See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs A & Friends
UK

"Excellent stay at Dolomite"

2 nights Arrived 14 Sep 2012
"Best shower in Namibia! Lodge / tent excellent, well stocked fridge with tea making facilities. Great watching game go to and fro to waterhole from stoep of lodge.

Good meals with a good choice for dinner and great breakfast. Service a little slow but as meals are prepared freshly. it made for a relaxed experience and well stocked bar for nightcap. Staff friendly and efficient.

Only downside is walk to lodge if not great at walking uphill. Buggy available but can involve a wait if busy elewhere. Dolomite is a great place to stay and wouldn't have missed it. Will return" See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs R
Hereford

"Interesting new camp"

2 nights Arrived 14 Sep 2012
"Spectacular site on the side of the Dolomite mountains, with a view that goes on for ever . Accommodation very pleasant and comfortable, with balcony overlooking the plains.

Cars are left at the base and you are ferried up the mountain by golf buggy. Tents are up steep walkways and the buggy is necessary , which I found very difficult. Food good and staff very pleasant , helpful and proud of their new facility.

We took a drive but could have done it ourselves as it is restricted to the public roads. However we came across a small herd of elephants with young crossing the road and the guide gave us an excellent example of how to avoid confrontation by deliberately blocking the road to impatient and aggressive drivers. A valuable experience." See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Prof & Mrs H
Bristol

"Dolomite Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 13 Sep 2012
"Friendly welcoming staff. Food and accommodation good.

Camp very spread out on top of a hill so potentially a lot of walking to and from bar, restaurant etc but the camp provided a buggy service to ferry people about to offset this problem for the less fit visitor." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Mr S & Ms R
Surrey

"Stopover in Etosha, with a difference"

1 night Arrived 13 Sep 2012
"The lodge is laid out along the top of a hump-backed ridge, running North-South. The main buildings are at the southern end, with guest chalets arranged in a double line along the spine of the ridge so that each has a spectacular view over the plain, either to the East or the West. There is a nearby waterhole, but, because it is located about 500m Northeast of the ridge, only 2 or 3 chalets have a clear view of it.

The climate-controlled chalets are cleverly designed, partly on stilts (to counter the slope of the ridge). The main bed area of our chalet looked out over the plain through panoramic windows, across a narrow verandah with seating. It was modern, comfortable and well-equipped (for example with telephone to the main lodge, fridge, kettle, tea/coffee facilities and luxuriously (or wastefully) large shower-heads in the ensuite wash-room at the back).

We were lucky to be allocated a chalet at the Northeastern end of the ridge, with a decent view of activities at the waterhole. It was fun to sup wine on the verandah, watch the waterhole and to locate animals elsewhere on the plain through binoculars. Facing East as we were, there was a spectacular dawn in the morning, watched in the company of dassies (rock-hyrax) on the boulders behind the chalet.

Our chalet location also resulted in a fairly long trek along the central walkway, up the hump of the ridge, then down, to reach the restaurant and bar area. Because there is no perimeter fence to keep out animals, guests wishing to use the walkway after sunset are requested to telephone for a shuttle (also used to chug guests and luggage to and from the car park at the Southwestern foot of the ridge).

For dining, we were directed to one of the two restaurants (we never learned whether there was any distinction of food or style). Most of the seating here was concentrated around a communal dining table, where we enjoyed a reasonable dinner (from a three course set menu, with choice from 3 or 4 main courses), attentive waiter service and conversations with the cheerful, younger, multilingual Swiss and German fellow-guests around us.

We were able to settle our food and drink bill by credit card - but only on the fourth attempt. The guest in front of us had given up, in impatience, and paid with cash. As the service-maid charmingly put it to us: "Our telephone line is unwell today!"

Overall, our stopover at Dolomite (en route from Galton gate, towards Etosha East) was very pleasant. It enabled us to experience Etosha West, which provided some excellent chance encounters, both on the road and at some of the waterholes, visited as we drove towards the lodge (there was, by the way, no petrol station at the lodge or at Galton Gate, so travelers coming from the South and going our way should consider topping up at Kamanjab). However, we found the game-viewing experience, generally, to be less intense than that in Etosha East - and the viewing at the lodge is limited by the positioning of the waterhole and the absence of floodlights thereon. The contrast was well worth the experience, but we were content with just a one night stay." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia; 3n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Mr K
Channel Islands

"Only time will tell!"

2 nights Arrived 11 Sep 2012
"This is a new "premium camp" in a remote part of Etosha and there are some issues with the camp, which will need to be addressed. Firstly is it built on a hillside and the access routes are steep and not easy to walk. The answer to this is to use electric golf buggies and very narrow paths with sharp corners - this is a disaster waiting to happen.

The signage is poor with no direction to reception. The other points are minor such as staff eating meals at the desk and having their gatherings in the bar during the day.

The last issue is petrol (diesel less so) as if you want to spend a couple of days here and then drive on, there is no petrol available so fill up before you go into the park as the only option is a 150km round trip outside of the park.

The food is very good, but the game can be sparse although this could be the first white elephant sighting for a long time." See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Average
Service:
Average
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr B & Mrs C
Hants.

"You need to be fit at Dolomite Camp!"

2 nights Arrived 7 Sep 2012
"There can be no doubt this camp is in a stunning location but there seems to be no system in place for meeting arriving guests. The camp is built on top of a high ridge and the car park is at the bottom. You cannot drive up to the reception. There was no-one around when we arrived so we walked up the steep hill, which was quite exhausting after an 8-hour drive. There really needs to be some sort of communication between the car park and reception; a bell, for example!

The means of transportation around the camp is by a motorised 4-seater cart. Two are normally provided but one was out of action on our visit, which caused some problems. Upon checking in we were welcomed with a glass of orange juice. The glass was chilled but the juice wasn't! We were taken by cart back down to our car to collect our luggage, then taken futher up the hill to our room.

We had one of the deluxe chalets (no. 19) which had a private patio and plunge pool. (Lovely!) The chalet itself was very secluded as it was located away from the main pathway, down some steps at the end of a private path. The view, high up on a dolomite ridge looking out over the vast savannah below was absolutely stunning. From our balcony we could see a large herd of elephants making their way through the trees. We could also see giraffe and zebra. You couldn't ask for more.

Well, actually you could because although the location was wonderful the design of the chalet was poor. It was split level with the large double bed taking up most of the lower level and a narrow kitchen area above. We found that we were always getting in each other's way when moving around! The shower and toilet were behind the kitchen area. There was a fridge as well as tea and coffee making facilities along with a hairdryer.

Dolomite Camp is unfenced and (despite protection from its height) you are not allowed to wander around after dark without being accompanied by a member of staff. As the path down to the restaurant was steep, we had to ring reception to ask for the cart to take us to dinner and we found this aspect of our stay rather tedious. It was also a very long walk to the car park so when going out for the day you have to be reliant on the cart, unless you don't mind a long walk with whatever you are taking with you. (Incidentally, a toot on the horn when parking the car later on got the attention of the cart driver!)

There was a waiter service for dinner and we were free to dine at any time between 6:30 and 9 o'clock. The food was quite good with a varied choice of main dishes but we found the main course on our first night was not particularly hot. In fairness, though, on the second night the meal was piping hot but the service was slow due to a large group being catered for in the second of the two restaurants. Unfortunately tea or coffee was not offered at the end of the meals, no doubt guests are encouraged to visit the lounge bar afterwards. When you want to go back to your room, you have to arrange for someone to go with you. We again wanted the cart and it took some time to organise, then when it turned up another couple suddenly appeared and jumped on too, which was rather annoying.

However, not wanting to dwell on the negatives, if you have an east facing chalet and you happen to be awake just before dawn you will be able to watch the first glimmer of a new african day beginning without even having to get out of bed. (There's no need to draw the curtains at night as nobody is going to be able to see in!) Just before sunrise I put the kettle on and to be able to sit up in bed sipping tea watching the sun slowly rise over the vast sweeping savannah stretching out below us was just incredible. I would go back to Dolomite Camp for that experience alone!

We enjoyed a lovely lunch during our full day at Dolomite. The choice was Greek Salad or Spaghetti Bolognese. Both were absolutely delicious. On the day we left we had pre-ordered packed lunches and for N$50 each they were exceptionally good value, consisting of a cheese and ham sandwich, a boiled egg, a cold sausage, a breaded chicken breast, an apple, a packet of peanuts & raisins and a small carton of juice.

Overall, yes, this is a good place to stay but the paths around the camp are steep so you need to be fairly fit. Perhaps Dolomite should be fenced so that you are not reliant on that damned cart!" See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs B
Bucks.

"The newest camp in the park"

3 nights Arrived 31 Aug 2012
"Though we have been to Etosha before we were looking forward to visiting this new camp. The reviews from other guests raised our expectations of this camp but in reality were only partially met. The first impression is that the camp is set in a beautiful location. This is both an asset and a draw back. The setting is stunning, though as other guests have pointed out the amount of walking and the gradient of the paths make it difficult if not impossible for some visitors to use. We were allocated to the room we requested, room 14 which did indeed have a distant view of the waterhole from the balcony but it is also at the extreme end of the camp.

In theory there is a golf cart available to take you up and down to the restaurant and car park but this was not always available. Carrying several kilos of camera equipment in temperatures up to 33 was challenging and made a quick visit back to room from the restaurant, unrealistic. At the time of our stay one cart was out of action and with all tents occupied there was much competition for the transport.

In our view the pathways were badly designed being only just wide enough for the golf cart. There was insufficient room for guests and cart to pass each other. To compound the situation the cart driver a gentleman called Natalwie was often surly and on one occasion plain rude. If I had been able to establish who exactly was in charge I would have made a formal complaint.

That said the other staff we met, Maria in the restaurant, the barman and Moo were superb and seemed to take responsibility for things that rightly belonged at higher level. Whilst we had a formal welcome we never established who was actually in charge. The camp seemed lacking in leadership.

Given the amount of space available we found the rooms surprisingly small. Most of the space was taken up with a double bed with just enough room for us to walk round it. The balcony was nice and the views of the bush superb.

The facility of having access to the private part of the park should not be understated. There are several waterholes near by that provide superb viewing opportunities. We had to learn the hard way what they could offer as there was no information available nor anyone to ask about how to get the best out of the area and the wildlife sightings.

Whilst many of our comments are negative this should be balanced with the potential this camp offers, which is huge. There could be many reasons why we encountered some problems but I hope the comments might help to ensure they are addressed for the future." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Showing 71-80 of 93
86%
93 reviews of Dolomite Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
49
30
8
5
1
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Etosha National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

Set within Etosha National Park, Okaukuejo Camp is a large, well-equipped restcamp, with a productive floodlit waterhole.


83% (640 reviews)
Halali Camp

Halali Camp

Halali is a large, government-run restcamp in a convenient central location inside Etosha National Park.


79% (319 reviews)
Mushara Bush Camp

Mushara Bush Camp

The family-friendly Mushara Bush Camp offers a beautifully designed lodge, friendly service and a great base from which to explore Etosha National Park.


94% (237 reviews)
Ongava Tented Camp

Ongava Tented Camp

Built around a waterhole Ongava Tented Camp offers good service, delicious food, comfortable rooms, easy access to Etosha and wildlife in camp.


93% (146 reviews)
Ongava Lodge

Ongava Lodge

Ongava is a smart lodge with fantastic views that offers a range of driving and walking safaris on its own reserve, and guided drives in Etosha.


92% (144 reviews)
Mushara Lodge

Mushara Lodge

Not far from the entrance to Etosha, Mushara Lodge offers comfortable and tastefully decorated rooms in a convenient location for exploring the park.


92% (85 reviews)
Namutoni Camp

Namutoni Camp

Centred on an old fort, the government run Namutoni Camp is located just inside Etosha National Park, close to Fisher's Pan.


82% (82 reviews)
Onguma Tented Camp

Onguma Tented Camp

Onguma Tented Camp is a lovely, little tented camp which centres around an attractive waterhole a short drive from the Von Lindequist Gate to eastern Etosha.


93% (79 reviews)
Onguma Bush Camp

Onguma Bush Camp

For great wildlife viewing without breaking the bank, the affordable and understated luxury of Onguma Bush Camp could be perfect.


93% (77 reviews)
Hobatere Lodge

Hobatere Lodge

To the west of Etosha National Park, on the edge of Damaraland, Hobatere Lodge offers good game-viewing on its own reserve.


90% (67 reviews)
Mushara Outpost

Mushara Outpost

Mushara Outpost is a comfortable, stylish lodge, and a good base from which to explore nearby Etosha National Park on your own or with a guided safari.


93% (55 reviews)
Onguma Tree Top Camp

Onguma Tree Top Camp

For a bird’s eye view across African bush, the stilted rooms at Onguma Tree Top are truly special.


97% (42 reviews)
Onguma The Fort

Onguma The Fort

The Fort is the jewel in the crown of the Onguma lodges, and arguably the whole of eastern Etosha.


95% (36 reviews)
Onguma Etosha Aoba

Onguma Etosha Aoba

From its woodland setting on the Onguma Reserve, Etosha Aoba is within easy striking distance of Namibia’s flagship national park.


89% (32 reviews)
Taleni Etosha Village

Taleni Etosha Village

Only 4km from Etosha's southern entrance, Taleni Etosha Village is an affordable base from which to explore the park.


93% (26 reviews)
Etosha Safari Lodge

Etosha Safari Lodge

A short drive from Etosha National Park's southern entrance, Etosha Safari Lodge is a convenient base from which to explore the park.


84% (24 reviews)
Etosha Safari Camp

Etosha Safari Camp

Funky, low-key and very original, Etosha Safari Camp is well placed for visiting Etosha National Park on a self-drive or guided safari.


87% (23 reviews)
Little Ongava

Little Ongava

The beautifully located and luxurious Little Ongava is a stunning place to stay in order to explore Etosha National Park and the private Ongava Reserve.


97% (23 reviews)
Safarihoek Lodge

Safarihoek Lodge

In the middle of the Etosha Heights Reserve, Safarihoek Lodge offers comfortable accommodation and excellent game-viewing.


95% (22 reviews)
Mokuti Etosha Lodge

Mokuti Etosha Lodge

With 106 rooms, child-friendly Mokuti Etosha Lodge is more like a hotel than a lode. Facilities to include a gym, spa, tennis courts and even a snake park.


92% (10 reviews)
Mountain Lodge

Mountain Lodge

In the heart of the Etosha Heights Reserve, Mountain Lodge offers the chance for game drives and bush walks away from some of the crowds of Etosha.


97% (7 reviews)
Andersson's at Ongava

Andersson's at Ongava

With game drives on both its private reserve and in Etosha, Andersson's at Ongava also offers access to the Ongava Research Centre.


100% (5 reviews)
Etosha Garden Hotel

Etosha Garden Hotel

Safari in Etosha National Park Namibia, whilst based at the nearby Etosha Garden Lodge.


60% (4 reviews)
Vreugde Guest Farm

Vreugde Guest Farm

Vreugde Guest Farm is a delightful owner-run and working sheep farm where you can expect a warm welcome and charming hospitality.


95% (4 reviews)
Villa Mushara

Villa Mushara

Villa Mushara offers luxury in a peaceful and isolated location. It is a good choice for honeymooners & those wishing to indulge themselves.


93% (3 reviews)
Toshari Lodge

Toshari Lodge

Safari in Etosha National Park Namibia, whilst based at Etosha Gateway Lodge.


80% (1 review)
Onkoshi Camp

Onkoshi Camp

Onkoshi Camp is owned and run by Namibia Wildlife Resorts. Built on elevated wooden platforms it overlooks Etosha Pan.


No reviews yet
Etosha Oberland Lodge

Etosha Oberland Lodge

A short drive from Etosha National Park's southern entrance, Etosha Onderland Lodge promises a convenient base from which to explore the park.


No reviews yet
Safari House

Safari House

The private Safari House on the Etosha Heights reserve is a great option families or friends travelling together.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa