This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Dolomite Camp
Dolomite Camp
Dolomite Camp
Dolomite Camp
Dolomite Camp

Reviews of Dolomite Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

96 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Dolomite Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Sep-2018, 7 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Dolomite Camp.
Lion

60% success

Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Oryx

100% success

Wildebeest

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Black Rhino

60% success

Eland

50% success

Brown Hyena

25% success

Spotted Hyena

25% success

White Rhino

25% success

Aardvark

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Roan antelope

0% success

Sable antelope

0% success

Showing 81-90 of 96
Duration
Arrival date
Mr K
Channel Islands

"Only time will tell!"

2 nights Arrived 11 Sep 2012
"This is a new "premium camp" in a remote part of Etosha and there are some issues with the camp, which will need to be addressed. Firstly is it built on a hillside and the access routes are steep and not easy to walk. The answer to this is to use electric golf buggies and very narrow paths with sharp corners - this is a disaster waiting to happen.

The signage is poor with no direction to reception. The other points are minor such as staff eating meals at the desk and having their gatherings in the bar during the day.

The last issue is petrol (diesel less so) as if you want to spend a couple of days here and then drive on, there is no petrol available so fill up before you go into the park as the only option is a 150km round trip outside of the park.

The food is very good, but the game can be sparse although this could be the first white elephant sighting for a long time." See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Average
Service:
Average
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr B & Mrs C
Hants.

"You need to be fit at Dolomite Camp!"

2 nights Arrived 7 Sep 2012
"There can be no doubt this camp is in a stunning location but there seems to be no system in place for meeting arriving guests. The camp is built on top of a high ridge and the car park is at the bottom. You cannot drive up to the reception. There was no-one around when we arrived so we walked up the steep hill, which was quite exhausting after an 8-hour drive. There really needs to be some sort of communication between the car park and reception; a bell, for example!

The means of transportation around the camp is by a motorised 4-seater cart. Two are normally provided but one was out of action on our visit, which caused some problems. Upon checking in we were welcomed with a glass of orange juice. The glass was chilled but the juice wasn't! We were taken by cart back down to our car to collect our luggage, then taken futher up the hill to our room.

We had one of the deluxe chalets (no. 19) which had a private patio and plunge pool. (Lovely!) The chalet itself was very secluded as it was located away from the main pathway, down some steps at the end of a private path. The view, high up on a dolomite ridge looking out over the vast savannah below was absolutely stunning. From our balcony we could see a large herd of elephants making their way through the trees. We could also see giraffe and zebra. You couldn't ask for more.

Well, actually you could because although the location was wonderful the design of the chalet was poor. It was split level with the large double bed taking up most of the lower level and a narrow kitchen area above. We found that we were always getting in each other's way when moving around! The shower and toilet were behind the kitchen area. There was a fridge as well as tea and coffee making facilities along with a hairdryer.

Dolomite Camp is unfenced and (despite protection from its height) you are not allowed to wander around after dark without being accompanied by a member of staff. As the path down to the restaurant was steep, we had to ring reception to ask for the cart to take us to dinner and we found this aspect of our stay rather tedious. It was also a very long walk to the car park so when going out for the day you have to be reliant on the cart, unless you don't mind a long walk with whatever you are taking with you. (Incidentally, a toot on the horn when parking the car later on got the attention of the cart driver!)

There was a waiter service for dinner and we were free to dine at any time between 6:30 and 9 o'clock. The food was quite good with a varied choice of main dishes but we found the main course on our first night was not particularly hot. In fairness, though, on the second night the meal was piping hot but the service was slow due to a large group being catered for in the second of the two restaurants. Unfortunately tea or coffee was not offered at the end of the meals, no doubt guests are encouraged to visit the lounge bar afterwards. When you want to go back to your room, you have to arrange for someone to go with you. We again wanted the cart and it took some time to organise, then when it turned up another couple suddenly appeared and jumped on too, which was rather annoying.

However, not wanting to dwell on the negatives, if you have an east facing chalet and you happen to be awake just before dawn you will be able to watch the first glimmer of a new african day beginning without even having to get out of bed. (There's no need to draw the curtains at night as nobody is going to be able to see in!) Just before sunrise I put the kettle on and to be able to sit up in bed sipping tea watching the sun slowly rise over the vast sweeping savannah stretching out below us was just incredible. I would go back to Dolomite Camp for that experience alone!

We enjoyed a lovely lunch during our full day at Dolomite. The choice was Greek Salad or Spaghetti Bolognese. Both were absolutely delicious. On the day we left we had pre-ordered packed lunches and for N$50 each they were exceptionally good value, consisting of a cheese and ham sandwich, a boiled egg, a cold sausage, a breaded chicken breast, an apple, a packet of peanuts & raisins and a small carton of juice.

Overall, yes, this is a good place to stay but the paths around the camp are steep so you need to be fairly fit. Perhaps Dolomite should be fenced so that you are not reliant on that damned cart!" See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs B
Bucks.

"The newest camp in the park"

3 nights Arrived 31 Aug 2012
"Though we have been to Etosha before we were looking forward to visiting this new camp. The reviews from other guests raised our expectations of this camp but in reality were only partially met. The first impression is that the camp is set in a beautiful location. This is both an asset and a draw back. The setting is stunning, though as other guests have pointed out the amount of walking and the gradient of the paths make it difficult if not impossible for some visitors to use. We were allocated to the room we requested, room 14 which did indeed have a distant view of the waterhole from the balcony but it is also at the extreme end of the camp.

In theory there is a golf cart available to take you up and down to the restaurant and car park but this was not always available. Carrying several kilos of camera equipment in temperatures up to 33 was challenging and made a quick visit back to room from the restaurant, unrealistic. At the time of our stay one cart was out of action and with all tents occupied there was much competition for the transport.

In our view the pathways were badly designed being only just wide enough for the golf cart. There was insufficient room for guests and cart to pass each other. To compound the situation the cart driver a gentleman called Natalwie was often surly and on one occasion plain rude. If I had been able to establish who exactly was in charge I would have made a formal complaint.

That said the other staff we met, Maria in the restaurant, the barman and Moo were superb and seemed to take responsibility for things that rightly belonged at higher level. Whilst we had a formal welcome we never established who was actually in charge. The camp seemed lacking in leadership.

Given the amount of space available we found the rooms surprisingly small. Most of the space was taken up with a double bed with just enough room for us to walk round it. The balcony was nice and the views of the bush superb.

The facility of having access to the private part of the park should not be understated. There are several waterholes near by that provide superb viewing opportunities. We had to learn the hard way what they could offer as there was no information available nor anyone to ask about how to get the best out of the area and the wildlife sightings.

Whilst many of our comments are negative this should be balanced with the potential this camp offers, which is huge. There could be many reasons why we encountered some problems but I hope the comments might help to ensure they are addressed for the future." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Mr P, Mrs A & Mr W
UK

"Dolomite Camp review"

1 night Arrived 20 Aug 2012
"Jaw droppingly amazing location - up on the hill looking across the plain. I had a lump in my throat when I saw our room - it was so very beautiful - well appointed, comfortable, characterful. The camp is very small - just 20 rooms or so - and we felt very lucky indeed that Expert Africa had managed to get us a night there. The pool was warmer than others, and surrounding it were day beds, oversized beanbags and sunloungers. Attentive bar staff, lovely 'lounge tents' with soft chairs and sofas. The place is stunning.

There was no messing about with the $500 key deposits or booking formalities.

The restaurant was very efficient, the staff took pride in their work and they had reason to be proud.

Staying here gives you access to the West of the park, and it was an amazing place, away from other people and cars, The wildlife seemed suprised to see us." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr T & Ms S
Germany

"Dolomite Camp review"

1 night Arrived 12 Jul 2012
"What a beautiful camp on top of a little hill! The idea of staying in the middle of an unfenced park is amazing. The rooms or tents are very comfortable and are tastefully decorated. Ours was viewing the western part of the hill, so that we could enjoy the beautiful sunset. To get to the restaurant after dark, we needed to be picked up for security reasons, as any animals could roam around...
We just stayed one night, which I think, is enough as a starting point to the Etosha Park. Unless you want to spend a day relaxing at the beautiful swimming pool, there is nothing else to do really up there." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Dr I
London

"Dolomite Camp"

2 nights Arrived 11 Jun 2012
"The Dolomite camp in Western Etosha was just magical.

The lodges were amazing with views out over the Etosha and its animals. The staff were kind and helpful and the food was exceptional. Highly recommended.

If there in June, make sure you bring thermal underwear. The nights are cold!" See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs & Mr M
UK

"Wonderful views"

1 night Arrived 30 May 2012
"We enjoyed our stay at the camp and wish that we had been able to get the extra night that we initially tried to book rather than having the extra night at Okaukuejo.

It is worth noting that this camp is probably not suitable for anyone with mobility difficulties.

The game viewing in this newly opened up section of the park is more interesting than the eastern section as the game is not yet used to the presence of vehicles." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr P &R & Ms H & S
UK

"Deluxe Dolomite"

1 night Arrived 8 May 2012
"The camp is the new NWR camp in Etosha which is much more up market and smaller than the other two camps in the Park. The rooms were not huge but perfectly formed with a fantastic view over the large open plain below. A nearby waterhole can be seen from the camp and we saw our first elephants there, a herd. The food was great.

After dark you had to ring for an escort to walk from your room to the main building for dinner as the lodge was not fenced in, this added to the atmosphere. As this side of Etosha is only accessible to guests staying here traffic was sparse but the wildlife was not as plentiful as on the east side of the Park.

We travelled across the whole width of Etosha from the Galton Gate in the east and only only stopped at Dolomite for one night on route through, you could spend more time here and chill in this lovely camp." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr R & Mrs B
Portugal

"A very different NWS camp in Etosha"

2 nights Arrived 23 Jan 2012
"This a new camp in the Western side of Etosha and very different from the other government run camps in the park that we have been to.

The accomodation is excellent but we do not think that guests with mobility problems would be too comfortable. There is a golf buggy to take guests from the car park but there are a lot of steps to reception then the restaurant and bar. The bungalows are then very spread out and the paths are steep in places and quite uneven.

However the setting at the top of the hill is lovely with great views as you would expect. The staff are very enthusiastic and quite different to our previous experience at the older camps." See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia; 3n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Dr A & Miss A
UK

"Dolomite Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 21 Nov 2011
"Our stay at dolomite was clouded somewhat by rain on the first day/night and a very large fire in Western Etosha which was pretty close to the camp. At night the horizon was orange with flames and smoke was in the air. Because of these 2 events the wildlife was perhaps a little disappointing.

The camp itself is nicely situated on the crest of a dolomite hill. It is a long steep walk from the car-park to reception and then on to the rooms, however adapted golf-buggies can ferry luggage and people around the site.

The chalets are well made, comfortable and with spectacular views of the plains surrounding the hill. The pool had a wonderful vista again over the plains.

The staff were very nice and helpful, although not on the same level as some of the private camps we stayed in. The food was not brilliant although the fixed price of N$170 was not too bad I guess. The wine was quite well priced however.

We were a little disappointed in an afternoon guided drive we took from Dolomite. The guide was fine but going through the motions, and just drove up and down the main road and stopped at water-holes. I would have liked to perhaps go down some of the tracks only suitable for 4x4 or at least somewhere different; although maybe they are restricted to the main roads too? I didn't feel the experience was quite worth the N$500.

Overall though I enjoyed Dolomite, we were just a bit unlucky with weather and fire." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Showing 81-90 of 96
86%
96 reviews of Dolomite Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
49
32
9
5
1
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Etosha National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

Set within Etosha National Park, Okaukuejo Resort is a large camp with a productive, floodlit waterhole.


83% (669 reviews)
Halali Camp

Halali Camp

The smallest of Etosha's erstwhile restcamps, overlooking its own floodlit waterhole, Halali has a superb location near the centre of Etosha Pan.


79% (325 reviews)
Mushara Bush Camp

Mushara Bush Camp

The family-friendly Mushara Bush Camp offers great value and is an excellent base from which to explore Etosha National Park.


94% (250 reviews)
Ongava Lodge

Ongava Lodge

With fantastic views over a private reserve bordering Etosha, the smart Ongava Lodge offers driving and walking safaris on the reserve, and guided drives in Etosha.


92% (153 reviews)
Ongava Tented Camp

Ongava Tented Camp

Set around a waterhole on a private reserve, the small Ongava Tented Camp combines understated comfort with activities that include walks and night drives.


93% (150 reviews)
Onguma Tented Camp

Onguma Tented Camp

Onguma Tented Camp is a lovely, little tented camp which centres around an attractive waterhole a short drive from the Von Lindequist Gate to eastern Etosha.


93% (97 reviews)
Mushara Lodge

Mushara Lodge

Close to the eastern entrance to Etosha, the comfortable Mushara Lodge is well-placed for exploring the park in your own vehicle or on a guided drive.


92% (91 reviews)
Namutoni Camp

Namutoni Camp

Centred on an old fort, the government run Namutoni Camp is located just inside Etosha National Park, close to Fisher's Pan.


82% (85 reviews)
Onguma Bush Camp

Onguma Bush Camp

For great wildlife viewing without breaking the bank, the affordable and understated luxury of Onguma Bush Camp could be perfect.


94% (80 reviews)
Hobatere Lodge

Hobatere Lodge

To the west of Etosha National Park, on the edge of Damaraland, Hobatere Lodge offers good game-viewing on its own reserve.


89% (71 reviews)
Mushara Outpost

Mushara Outpost

Intimate and luxurious, Mushara Outpost is well-placed on a private reserve to explore nearby Etosha National Park on your own or on a guided drive.


93% (61 reviews)
Onguma Camp Kala

Onguma Camp Kala

For a bird’s eye view across African bush, the stilted rooms at Onguma Camp Kala are truly special.


97% (42 reviews)
Onguma The Fort

Onguma The Fort

The Fort is the jewel in the crown of the Onguma lodges, and arguably the whole of eastern Etosha.


95% (39 reviews)
Safarihoek Lodge

Safarihoek Lodge

At the heart of the private Etosha Heights Reserve, Safarihoek Lodge offers comfortable accommodation and excellent game-viewing.


95% (34 reviews)
Onguma Forest Camp

Onguma Forest Camp

From its woodland setting on the Onguma Reserve, Forest Camp is within easy striking distance of Namibia’s flagship national park.


89% (34 reviews)
Taleni Etosha Village

Taleni Etosha Village

Only 4km from Etosha's southern entrance, Taleni Etosha Village is an affordable base from which to explore the park.


93% (26 reviews)
Etosha Safari Lodge

Etosha Safari Lodge

A short drive from Etosha National Park's southern entrance, Etosha Safari Lodge is a convenient base from which to explore the park.


85% (25 reviews)
Little Ongava

Little Ongava

The beautifully located and luxurious Little Ongava is a stunning place to stay in order to explore Etosha National Park and the private Ongava Reserve.


97% (24 reviews)
Etosha Safari Camp

Etosha Safari Camp

Funky, low-key and very original, Etosha Safari Camp is well placed for visiting Etosha National Park on a self-drive or guided safari.


86% (22 reviews)
Andersson's at Ongava

Andersson's at Ongava

With game drives on both its private reserve and in Etosha, Andersson's at Ongava also offers access to the Ongava Research Centre.


92% (12 reviews)
Mokuti Etosha Lodge

Mokuti Etosha Lodge

With 106 rooms, child-friendly Mokuti Etosha Lodge is more like a hotel than a lodge. Facilities to include a gym, spa, tennis courts and even a snake park.


92% (10 reviews)
Mountain Lodge

Mountain Lodge

In the heart of the private Etosha Heights Reserve, the family-friendly Mountain Lodge offers game drives and bush walks within an exclusive environment.


96% (9 reviews)
Vreugde Guest Farm

Vreugde Guest Farm

Vreugde Guest Farm is a delightful owner-run and working sheep farm where you can expect a warm welcome and charming hospitality.


92% (5 reviews)
Villa Mushara

Villa Mushara

Offering luxury on a peaceful private reserve close to Etosha, Villa Mushara is a great choice for honeymooners & those wishing to indulge themselves.


95% (4 reviews)
Etosha Garden Hotel

Etosha Garden Hotel

Safari in Etosha National Park Namibia, whilst based at the nearby Etosha Garden Lodge.


60% (4 reviews)
Safari House

Safari House

The private Safari House on the Etosha Heights reserve is a great option families or friends travelling together.


100% (1 review)
Toshari Lodge

Toshari Lodge

Safari in Etosha National Park Namibia, whilst based at Etosha Gateway Lodge.


80% (1 review)
Etosha Oberland Lodge

Etosha Oberland Lodge

A short drive from Etosha National Park's southern entrance, Etosha Oberland Lodge is a very comfortable base from which to explore the park, with excellent food.


100% (1 review)
Onkoshi Camp

Onkoshi Camp

Onkoshi Camp is owned and run by Namibia Wildlife Resorts. Built on elevated wooden platforms it overlooks Etosha Pan.


No reviews yet
Etosha King Nehale

Etosha King Nehale

A short drive from the national park's northern entrance, Etosha King Nehale Lodge is an interesting and comfortable base from which to explore the park.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa