This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Dolomite Camp
Dolomite Camp
Dolomite Camp
Dolomite Camp
Dolomite Camp

Reviews of Dolomite Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

93 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Dolomite Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Sep-2018, 3 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Dolomite Camp.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Black Rhino

100% success

Brown Hyena

100% success

Eland

100% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Oryx

100% success

Wildebeest

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Aardvark

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Roan antelope

0% success

Sable antelope

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

White Rhino

0% success

Showing 81-90 of 93
Duration
Arrival date
Mr P, Mrs A & Mr W
UK

"Dolomite Camp review"

1 night Arrived 20 Aug 2012
"Jaw droppingly amazing location - up on the hill looking across the plain. I had a lump in my throat when I saw our room - it was so very beautiful - well appointed, comfortable, characterful. The camp is very small - just 20 rooms or so - and we felt very lucky indeed that Expert Africa had managed to get us a night there. The pool was warmer than others, and surrounding it were day beds, oversized beanbags and sunloungers. Attentive bar staff, lovely 'lounge tents' with soft chairs and sofas. The place is stunning.

There was no messing about with the $500 key deposits or booking formalities.

The restaurant was very efficient, the staff took pride in their work and they had reason to be proud.

Staying here gives you access to the West of the park, and it was an amazing place, away from other people and cars, The wildlife seemed suprised to see us." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr T & Ms S
Germany

"Dolomite Camp review"

1 night Arrived 12 Jul 2012
"What a beautiful camp on top of a little hill! The idea of staying in the middle of an unfenced park is amazing. The rooms or tents are very comfortable and are tastefully decorated. Ours was viewing the western part of the hill, so that we could enjoy the beautiful sunset. To get to the restaurant after dark, we needed to be picked up for security reasons, as any animals could roam around...
We just stayed one night, which I think, is enough as a starting point to the Etosha Park. Unless you want to spend a day relaxing at the beautiful swimming pool, there is nothing else to do really up there." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Dr I
London

"Dolomite Camp"

2 nights Arrived 11 Jun 2012
"The Dolomite camp in Western Etosha was just magical.

The lodges were amazing with views out over the Etosha and its animals. The staff were kind and helpful and the food was exceptional. Highly recommended.

If there in June, make sure you bring thermal underwear. The nights are cold!" See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs & Mr M
UK

"Wonderful views"

1 night Arrived 30 May 2012
"We enjoyed our stay at the camp and wish that we had been able to get the extra night that we initially tried to book rather than having the extra night at Okaukuejo.

It is worth noting that this camp is probably not suitable for anyone with mobility difficulties.

The game viewing in this newly opened up section of the park is more interesting than the eastern section as the game is not yet used to the presence of vehicles." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr P &R & Ms H & S
UK

"Deluxe Dolomite"

1 night Arrived 8 May 2012
"The camp is the new NWR camp in Etosha which is much more up market and smaller than the other two camps in the Park. The rooms were not huge but perfectly formed with a fantastic view over the large open plain below. A nearby waterhole can be seen from the camp and we saw our first elephants there, a herd. The food was great.

After dark you had to ring for an escort to walk from your room to the main building for dinner as the lodge was not fenced in, this added to the atmosphere. As this side of Etosha is only accessible to guests staying here traffic was sparse but the wildlife was not as plentiful as on the east side of the Park.

We travelled across the whole width of Etosha from the Galton Gate in the east and only only stopped at Dolomite for one night on route through, you could spend more time here and chill in this lovely camp." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr R & Mrs B
Portugal

"A very different NWS camp in Etosha"

2 nights Arrived 23 Jan 2012
"This a new camp in the Western side of Etosha and very different from the other government run camps in the park that we have been to.

The accomodation is excellent but we do not think that guests with mobility problems would be too comfortable. There is a golf buggy to take guests from the car park but there are a lot of steps to reception then the restaurant and bar. The bungalows are then very spread out and the paths are steep in places and quite uneven.

However the setting at the top of the hill is lovely with great views as you would expect. The staff are very enthusiastic and quite different to our previous experience at the older camps." See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia; 3n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Dr A & Miss A
UK

"Dolomite Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 21 Nov 2011
"Our stay at dolomite was clouded somewhat by rain on the first day/night and a very large fire in Western Etosha which was pretty close to the camp. At night the horizon was orange with flames and smoke was in the air. Because of these 2 events the wildlife was perhaps a little disappointing.

The camp itself is nicely situated on the crest of a dolomite hill. It is a long steep walk from the car-park to reception and then on to the rooms, however adapted golf-buggies can ferry luggage and people around the site.

The chalets are well made, comfortable and with spectacular views of the plains surrounding the hill. The pool had a wonderful vista again over the plains.

The staff were very nice and helpful, although not on the same level as some of the private camps we stayed in. The food was not brilliant although the fixed price of N$170 was not too bad I guess. The wine was quite well priced however.

We were a little disappointed in an afternoon guided drive we took from Dolomite. The guide was fine but going through the motions, and just drove up and down the main road and stopped at water-holes. I would have liked to perhaps go down some of the tracks only suitable for 4x4 or at least somewhere different; although maybe they are restricted to the main roads too? I didn't feel the experience was quite worth the N$500.

Overall though I enjoyed Dolomite, we were just a bit unlucky with weather and fire." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Sheffield x 4
UK

"Dolomite Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 31 Oct 2011
"Only a few months since it opened and there are still little problems to solve. The staff, except the guides, are obviously novices.

The transport to and from the car park is erratic and walking is the best option even in the heat. There is a need for a parasol or other shade at the huts and fans would be nice - it was very hot.

In a year or so this camp should be unmissable" See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Ms S & Mr D
South

"Dolomite Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 30 Oct 2011
"We arrived after a long and relatively difficult drive from Damarland via the C43/C40/C35. Parts of the C43 had been washed away during during rain earlier in the year, making for unusually difficult driving.

We'd had difficulty getting rooms for 2 nights at Dolomite and only managed to secure them by booking a deluxe room. Our room was fabulous with its own "private" deck with plunge pool overlooking the watering hole. It was lovely to spend the afternoon relaxing here after our long drive.

Apparently, we had the best room in the resort, but I've deliberately omitted the room number. Unfortunately, somebody in the hotel was telling other guests that our room was the best and during our stay guests from various other rooms walked down the walkway to our room and perched upon the rocks above with their binoculars - honeymooners beware if you are allocated this room!

Dinner was not included in our booking, but is reasonably priced at NAD 170 for a four course meal. Our meal on the first night was excellent (with very slow service), but wasn't so great the second (no alternative starter on offer for non-seafood eater). Lunch is also relatively reasonably priced at NAD 65 for jacket potato with bolognaise topping.

The resort still has some teething problems (e.g. we experienced problems with the electricity on both nights), but any problems are dealt with quickly and did not impact the enjoyment of our stay.

Only two complaints: checkout took a very long time as we needed to wait for a golf buggy to take us from our room to our car and the resort sells an out of date Etosha map for twice the price charged by other NWR resorts in the Etosha." See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
AB
Essex

"Dolomite Camp review"

1 night Arrived 20 Oct 2011
"Brand new and therefore lovely bedding and rooms. The golf buggy transport system is a bit of a nightmare and if you are staying far from the main bar area - it's a hassle.

Sliding windows in all of our bedrooms kept coming off their rails!

Staff really helpful and very friendly/keen to please." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Showing 81-90 of 93
86%
93 reviews of Dolomite Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
49
30
8
5
1
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Etosha National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

Set within Etosha National Park, Okaukuejo Camp is a large, well-equipped restcamp, with a productive floodlit waterhole.


83% (640 reviews)
Halali Camp

Halali Camp

Halali is a large, government-run restcamp in a convenient central location inside Etosha National Park.


79% (319 reviews)
Mushara Bush Camp

Mushara Bush Camp

The family-friendly Mushara Bush Camp offers a beautifully designed lodge, friendly service and a great base from which to explore Etosha National Park.


94% (237 reviews)
Ongava Tented Camp

Ongava Tented Camp

Built around a waterhole Ongava Tented Camp offers good service, delicious food, comfortable rooms, easy access to Etosha and wildlife in camp.


93% (146 reviews)
Ongava Lodge

Ongava Lodge

Ongava is a smart lodge with fantastic views that offers a range of driving and walking safaris on its own reserve, and guided drives in Etosha.


92% (144 reviews)
Mushara Lodge

Mushara Lodge

Not far from the entrance to Etosha, Mushara Lodge offers comfortable and tastefully decorated rooms in a convenient location for exploring the park.


92% (85 reviews)
Namutoni Camp

Namutoni Camp

Centred on an old fort, the government run Namutoni Camp is located just inside Etosha National Park, close to Fisher's Pan.


82% (82 reviews)
Onguma Tented Camp

Onguma Tented Camp

Onguma Tented Camp is a lovely, little tented camp which centres around an attractive waterhole a short drive from the Von Lindequist Gate to eastern Etosha.


93% (79 reviews)
Onguma Bush Camp

Onguma Bush Camp

For great wildlife viewing without breaking the bank, the affordable and understated luxury of Onguma Bush Camp could be perfect.


93% (77 reviews)
Hobatere Lodge

Hobatere Lodge

To the west of Etosha National Park, on the edge of Damaraland, Hobatere Lodge offers good game-viewing on its own reserve.


90% (67 reviews)
Mushara Outpost

Mushara Outpost

Mushara Outpost is a comfortable, stylish lodge, and a good base from which to explore nearby Etosha National Park on your own or with a guided safari.


93% (55 reviews)
Onguma Tree Top Camp

Onguma Tree Top Camp

For a bird’s eye view across African bush, the stilted rooms at Onguma Tree Top are truly special.


97% (42 reviews)
Onguma The Fort

Onguma The Fort

The Fort is the jewel in the crown of the Onguma lodges, and arguably the whole of eastern Etosha.


95% (36 reviews)
Onguma Etosha Aoba

Onguma Etosha Aoba

From its woodland setting on the Onguma Reserve, Etosha Aoba is within easy striking distance of Namibia’s flagship national park.


89% (32 reviews)
Taleni Etosha Village

Taleni Etosha Village

Only 4km from Etosha's southern entrance, Taleni Etosha Village is an affordable base from which to explore the park.


93% (26 reviews)
Etosha Safari Lodge

Etosha Safari Lodge

A short drive from Etosha National Park's southern entrance, Etosha Safari Lodge is a convenient base from which to explore the park.


84% (24 reviews)
Etosha Safari Camp

Etosha Safari Camp

Funky, low-key and very original, Etosha Safari Camp is well placed for visiting Etosha National Park on a self-drive or guided safari.


87% (23 reviews)
Little Ongava

Little Ongava

The beautifully located and luxurious Little Ongava is a stunning place to stay in order to explore Etosha National Park and the private Ongava Reserve.


97% (23 reviews)
Safarihoek Lodge

Safarihoek Lodge

In the middle of the Etosha Heights Reserve, Safarihoek Lodge offers comfortable accommodation and excellent game-viewing.


95% (22 reviews)
Mokuti Etosha Lodge

Mokuti Etosha Lodge

With 106 rooms, child-friendly Mokuti Etosha Lodge is more like a hotel than a lode. Facilities to include a gym, spa, tennis courts and even a snake park.


92% (10 reviews)
Mountain Lodge

Mountain Lodge

In the heart of the Etosha Heights Reserve, Mountain Lodge offers the chance for game drives and bush walks away from some of the crowds of Etosha.


97% (7 reviews)
Andersson's at Ongava

Andersson's at Ongava

With game drives on both its private reserve and in Etosha, Andersson's at Ongava also offers access to the Ongava Research Centre.


100% (5 reviews)
Etosha Garden Hotel

Etosha Garden Hotel

Safari in Etosha National Park Namibia, whilst based at the nearby Etosha Garden Lodge.


60% (4 reviews)
Vreugde Guest Farm

Vreugde Guest Farm

Vreugde Guest Farm is a delightful owner-run and working sheep farm where you can expect a warm welcome and charming hospitality.


95% (4 reviews)
Villa Mushara

Villa Mushara

Villa Mushara offers luxury in a peaceful and isolated location. It is a good choice for honeymooners & those wishing to indulge themselves.


93% (3 reviews)
Toshari Lodge

Toshari Lodge

Safari in Etosha National Park Namibia, whilst based at Etosha Gateway Lodge.


80% (1 review)
Onkoshi Camp

Onkoshi Camp

Onkoshi Camp is owned and run by Namibia Wildlife Resorts. Built on elevated wooden platforms it overlooks Etosha Pan.


No reviews yet
Etosha Oberland Lodge

Etosha Oberland Lodge

A short drive from Etosha National Park's southern entrance, Etosha Onderland Lodge promises a convenient base from which to explore the park.


No reviews yet
Safari House

Safari House

The private Safari House on the Etosha Heights reserve is a great option families or friends travelling together.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa