This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Hobatere Lodge
Hobatere Lodge
Hobatere Lodge

Reviews of Hobatere Lodge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

67 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Hobatere Lodge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jul-2018, 13 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Hobatere Lodge.
Lion

77% success

Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Giraffe

100% success

Oryx

100% success

Zebra

92% success

Elephant

85% success

Eland

60% success

Wildebeest

44% success

Black Rhino

33% success

Sable antelope

10% success

Spotted Hyena

10% success

Aardvark

0% success

Brown Hyena

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Roan antelope

0% success

White Rhino

0% success

Showing 11-20 of 67
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs S
E Sussex

"Hobatere Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 7 Oct 2018
"The staff at Hobatere were friendly and welcoming making the stay more enjoyable.

We saw few animals travelling in and out of the Hobatere reserve so the sightings listed below represent our self drive in the western sector of Etosha" See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

3 sightings

Eland

1 sighting

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Lion

4 sightings

Oryx

10 sightings

Spotted Hyena

3 sightings

Wildebeest

5 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr A
Somerset

"Hobatere Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 23 Sep 2018
"THE WATERHOLE AT HOBATERE IS VERY RICH IN WILDLIFE AND THE GAME DRIVES WERE EXCELLENT

THE ROOMS LESS GOOD" See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Dr & Mrs C
W Sussex

"A lovely lodge with lovely people and game ++"

2 nights Arrived 2 Sep 2018
"We really enjoyed our time here. The philosophy of supporting the local community had great appeal. The spacious main lodge with game viewing from the decks was excellent. Our room was in the original accommodation block and was a bit tired but comfortable.

Game drives were very successful with many species seen and our guide, Samuel, very knowledgeable.
" See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Elephant

1 sighting

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Oryx

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr J & Ms J
Devon

"Hobatere Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 7 Jul 2018
"The night drive was the highlight of our trip. The staff were very friendly and accommodating" See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia; 5n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Oryx

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mrs CH
Wimbledon

"small lodge in beautiful landscape"

2 nights Arrived 23 Apr 2018
"Stayed here in 2017 and pleased to return.

Lovely warm welcome from staff and excellent food and drink. Safaris yielded plenty of game and elephant. Sadly no lions this time (18 in 2017).
" See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia; 5n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Mr P & Mrs L
Uk

"Hobatere Lodge"

2 nights Arrived 13 Feb 2018
"Pleasant lodge. Too far from Galton Gate for day trip into Etosha, and in the wet season there's very few animals to see.

One night would have been sufficient (in the wet season).

They provide tea and coffee sachets in the rooms, but no kettle. There are hair-driers, so presumably there's enough power for a small kettle.

Rooms adequate, but not high class; small and airless; no a/c." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Average
Mr & Mrs S
Harrow

"Good but like Kruger rest camp"

1 night Arrived 7 Nov 2017
"Bit large. Food and service good.

Game guides not up to standard." See all these reviews: 4n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Mr K
Hexham

"great "

2 nights Arrived 7 Oct 2017
"Greatly enjoyed the night time safari - not on offer widely in other places" See all these reviews: 25n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr K & Mrs N
UK

"Hobatere Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 28 Sep 2017
"This was our first visit to Hobatare, we chose it due to its close proximity to Galton Gate.

Main lodge is impressive overlooking a small waterhole which attracts a myriad of birds as well as elephant and lion during our two night stay.

Food was to a good standard with a varied dinner menu each night we were there. Cooked breakfast was available as well as normal cereal and fruit. Accommodation was slightly disappointing, rooms were tired and not cleaned to a high standard.

We took an evening game drive, saw elephant and lion by the main Waterhole, other game was not prolific. Our guide was very knowledgeable and passionate about the flora and fauna.

Next day we decided to drive into Etosha and we’re rewarded with black rhino, elephant and lots of antelope and birds." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Cambridge 4
UK

"Almost on safari from the terrace"

2 nights Arrived 22 Sep 2017
"We travelled through the western part of Etosha & the Galton Gate to get to Hobatere. The waterholes on route are much less busy (human wise) than those further east but we saw some amazing wildlife en route. At the time of our visit the road in Etosha was in a bad state & our journey very slow. When we arrived at Hobatere (6pm) we received a warm welcome & found that day staff had stayed on duty to wait for us. We stayed in the thatched chalets which were lovely.

Staff were very friendly, efficient & food was great.

There are great views from the terrace across to a waterhole, which attracts a lot of wildlife & this can also be visited closely as there is a hide above it. We were driven over there & stayed for 1½ hours during which time we saw huge numbers of zebra vying for a space, as well as lots else. Another water hole is located at the camp, which attracted lots of visitors including lions & we witnessed a kill there.

We took one trip out here & got some good bird sightings & elephants.

We could have happily stayed longer at Hobatere, just soaking up the surroundings and atmosphere." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 11-20 of 67
90%
67 reviews of Hobatere Lodge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
38
24
4
1
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Etosha National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

Set within Etosha National Park, Okaukuejo Camp is a large, well-equipped restcamp, with a productive floodlit waterhole.


83% (639 reviews)
Halali Camp

Halali Camp

Halali is a large, government-run restcamp in a convenient central location inside Etosha National Park.


79% (319 reviews)
Mushara Bush Camp

Mushara Bush Camp

The family-friendly Mushara Bush Camp offers a beautifully designed lodge, friendly service and a great base from which to explore Etosha National Park.


94% (237 reviews)
Ongava Tented Camp

Ongava Tented Camp

Built around a waterhole Ongava Tented Camp offers good service, delicious food, comfortable rooms, easy access to Etosha and wildlife in camp.


93% (146 reviews)
Ongava Lodge

Ongava Lodge

Ongava is a smart lodge with fantastic views that offers a range of driving and walking safaris on its own reserve, and guided drives in Etosha.


92% (144 reviews)
Dolomite Camp

Dolomite Camp

Opened in 2011, Dolomite Camp allows visitors access to the far west side of Etosha National Park, which was previously off limits to most visitors.


86% (94 reviews)
Mushara Lodge

Mushara Lodge

Not far from the entrance to Etosha, Mushara Lodge offers comfortable and tastefully decorated rooms in a convenient location for exploring the park.


92% (85 reviews)
Namutoni Camp

Namutoni Camp

Centred on an old fort, the government run Namutoni Camp is located just inside Etosha National Park, close to Fisher's Pan.


82% (82 reviews)
Onguma Tented Camp

Onguma Tented Camp

Onguma Tented Camp is a lovely, little tented camp which centres around an attractive waterhole a short drive from the Von Lindequist Gate to eastern Etosha.


93% (79 reviews)
Onguma Bush Camp

Onguma Bush Camp

For great wildlife viewing without breaking the bank, the affordable and understated luxury of Onguma Bush Camp could be perfect.


93% (77 reviews)
Mushara Outpost

Mushara Outpost

Mushara Outpost is a comfortable, stylish lodge, and a good base from which to explore nearby Etosha National Park on your own or with a guided safari.


93% (55 reviews)
Onguma Tree Top Camp

Onguma Tree Top Camp

For a bird’s eye view across African bush, the stilted rooms at Onguma Tree Top are truly special.


97% (42 reviews)
Onguma The Fort

Onguma The Fort

The Fort is the jewel in the crown of the Onguma lodges, and arguably the whole of eastern Etosha.


95% (35 reviews)
Onguma Etosha Aoba

Onguma Etosha Aoba

From its woodland setting on the Onguma Reserve, Etosha Aoba is within easy striking distance of Namibia’s flagship national park.


89% (32 reviews)
Taleni Etosha Village

Taleni Etosha Village

Only 4km from Etosha's southern entrance, Taleni Etosha Village is an affordable base from which to explore the park.


93% (26 reviews)
Etosha Safari Lodge

Etosha Safari Lodge

A short drive from Etosha National Park's southern entrance, Etosha Safari Lodge is a convenient base from which to explore the park.


84% (24 reviews)
Etosha Safari Camp

Etosha Safari Camp

Funky, low-key and very original, Etosha Safari Camp is well placed for visiting Etosha National Park on a self-drive or guided safari.


87% (23 reviews)
Little Ongava

Little Ongava

The beautifully located and luxurious Little Ongava is a stunning place to stay in order to explore Etosha National Park and the private Ongava Reserve.


97% (23 reviews)
Safarihoek Lodge

Safarihoek Lodge

In the middle of the Etosha Heights Reserve, Safarihoek Lodge offers comfortable accommodation and excellent game-viewing.


95% (21 reviews)
Mokuti Etosha Lodge

Mokuti Etosha Lodge

With 106 rooms, child-friendly Mokuti Etosha Lodge is more like a hotel than a lode. Facilities to include a gym, spa, tennis courts and even a snake park.


92% (10 reviews)
Mountain Lodge

Mountain Lodge

In the heart of the Etosha Heights Reserve, Mountain Lodge offers the chance for game drives and bush walks away from some of the crowds of Etosha.


97% (7 reviews)
Andersson's at Ongava

Andersson's at Ongava

With game drives on both its private reserve and in Etosha, Andersson's at Ongava also offers access to the Ongava Research Centre.


100% (5 reviews)
Etosha Garden Hotel

Etosha Garden Hotel

Safari in Etosha National Park Namibia, whilst based at the nearby Etosha Garden Lodge.


60% (4 reviews)
Vreugde Guest Farm

Vreugde Guest Farm

Vreugde Guest Farm is a delightful owner-run and working sheep farm where you can expect a warm welcome and charming hospitality.


95% (4 reviews)
Villa Mushara

Villa Mushara

Villa Mushara offers luxury in a peaceful and isolated location. It is a good choice for honeymooners & those wishing to indulge themselves.


93% (3 reviews)
Toshari Lodge

Toshari Lodge

Safari in Etosha National Park Namibia, whilst based at Etosha Gateway Lodge.


80% (1 review)
Onkoshi Camp

Onkoshi Camp

Onkoshi Camp is owned and run by Namibia Wildlife Resorts. Built on elevated wooden platforms it overlooks Etosha Pan.


No reviews yet
Safari House

Safari House

The private Safari House on the Etosha Heights reserve is a great option families or friends travelling together.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa