This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Mushara Lodge
Mushara Lodge
Mushara Lodge
Mushara Lodge
Mushara Lodge

Reviews of Mushara Lodge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

98 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Mushara Lodge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jun-2018, 14 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Mushara Lodge.
Lion

69% success

Leopard

56% success

Cheetah

30% success

Giraffe

93% success

Oryx

93% success

Wildebeest

93% success

Zebra

93% success

Elephant

85% success

Black Rhino

64% success

Spotted Hyena

50% success

White Rhino

50% success

Eland

40% success

Brown Hyena

11% success

Aardvark

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Roan antelope

0% success

Sable antelope

0% success

Showing 91-98 of 98
Duration
Arrival date
Mr I
Combs

"Not as good as previous visit. Pity."

1 night Arrived 22 Dec 2007
"We stayed here 4 years ago and it was so convenient for Etosha, relaxing, good food etc.
The refurbishment is fine, but there is no atmosphere.. staff can never replace hosts..it doesn't work. People make a place
memorable, unless it is truely exceptional.

The restaurant ..although almost full was like a doctor's waiting room. Also a few people had upset stomaches and it was possibly due to the fact that food is put out to encourage the animals and birds.... Very cute to see them around the pool Maybe.. BUT..We went early for breakfast and there were squirrels eating the cereals..on the tables, everywhere. Then a couple of Hornbills helped themselves to bread etc.

They were shooed off when someone came out of the kitchen and it obviously happens every day !!" See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia; 3n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Ms F
War

"Mushara Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 16 Dec 2007
"Mushara is a lovely lodge. There was a warm welcome for us and it was clear from the outset that they were a service oriented team.The food was excellent, the staff pleasant and the lovely garden and pool a great place to relax.

On our second night we were entertained at dinner by an impromtu performance by the kitchen and waiting staff singing some of their tribal songs. It was a real treat and gave us another dimention to the african way off life in Etosha." See all these reviews: 7n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mr S
Syre

"Mushara Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 23 Nov 2007
"The food here was excellent.

Everything else also very good, except that the rooms were very, very brown. This made them rather depressing, and we wouldn't have wanted to spend much time in them." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Excellent
Ms Grey Lourie
UK

"Sweat box - Mushara Villa !"

1 night Arrived 16 Nov 2007
"Although we received an upgrade due to an error re dates, the Mushara Villa was a complete let down and not the wonderful end to our holiday that we expected.

Albeit the Villa being exquisite and more than we could want for a one night stay, I was very pleased that we only had 1 night to suffer.

Lack of ventilation was the problem. For such an amazing place, this was the worse nights sleep we had all holiday. For such a large villa, there was one very small air-con unit above the door and 1 ceiling fan above the bed, which was neither use nor ornament as no ventilation came through the mosquito netting.

Further disappointment was met the final morning when we were up bright and early to venture back into Etosha for sunrise, as the days previously had been too cloudy to take the best photos. The receptionist saw us, said good morning and watched us leave the lodge in our car. When we arrived at the exit gate to Mushara Lodge it was locked and we had to drive all the way back to reception to arrange for someone to unlock it - 20 minutes later, we had missed sunrise and the last chance of some amazing photos in Etosha. To say I was upset was an understatement. Needless to say, we will not be staying at Mushara again !

The final 2 anomalies came at breakfast when my partner asked for a cheese omelette and enquired whether they did bacon, the server said no, but offered ham. My partner said OK to this. The server then turned to the next table for their breakfast order and the guest asked for scrambled egg with BACON - to our utter amazement she said no problem. Is there some kind of double standard here - we were flabbergasted !!??!!

After breakfast we checked out and purchased 2 items from the gift shop, prior to leaving for Windhoek. We placed the items on reception along with the money. The receptionist did not take the money nor offer to wrap the goods. I stood around awkwardly for a few moments, before asking if the money was correct - she said yes without looking up from the computer, at this point I expected her to hand the goods to me, she did not, so I eventually picked them up and left - still without a bag. We did not return to reception, we just made our getaway as swiftly as possible. What a strange place.

I have to say the upgrade to the villa was not worth whatever you had to pay and I would not stay there again!! A complete and utter disappointment." See all these reviews: 3n in Namibia; 2n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Terrible

Location:
Good
Service:
Terrible
Rooms:
Poor
Food:
Good
The Kettle family
UK

"Mushara Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 25 Oct 2007
"We rate this as average because, although in many ways it was nice - the pool, the food (if a little salty) and the nice furniture in the reception areas - it was missing something that for a lodge of this cost you would expect. Comments have been made in the past about the fact that the owners no longer host and there can be no doubt that this IS a problem.

It feels as if everyone there is working to a protocol and the passion is missing. The girl who welcomed us pulled a luggage trolley with our luggage but did nothing to assist in getting the luggage in and out of the trolley and into the rooms. It felt as if it wasn't in her job description to do so and was therefore left to us. Normally I have no problem with doing my own fetching and carrying but not at this price.

The concern we raised about the airconditioning not working in the children's room was ignored and when we checked out we were incorrectly billed. A place like that needs the attention to detail displayed at Sossus Dune Lodge. It was missing. A disappointing stay. Wth the exception of a very nice game drive with Petrus who went out of his way to give us a good time." See all these reviews: 7n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Average
Service:
Poor
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mrs B
Hampshire

"Mushara Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 20 Oct 2007
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs M
Ascot

"Mushara Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 22 Sep 2007
"Excellent place to stay, but I do prefer to be inside the park particularly now they have refurbed the accommodation" See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs A
Swindon

"Relaxing witth the hornbills"

2 nights Arrived 9 Sep 2007
"Greeted immediately on arrival by receptionist with baggage trolley. Offered refreshment at bar whilst checking in - very stylish vaulted sitting area with whicker or leather sofas and tables partitioned by wooden screens into small areas with a central aisle leading to an open sided vaulted dining room (the latter frequented by squirrels after titbits).

A further sitting area outside the large shop had a selection of new books and some left by visitors. All furnishings made of wood with natural fabrics and lighting provided by ostrich egg chandeliers or porcupine lampshades (I wanted to buy one from the shop but it was £60!)

Accommodation was in thatched lodges with large bedroom/sitting area, well spaced from its neighbour. Generous bathroom - with bath - and separate WC and shower. The verandah had a table and 2 chairs and overlooked the grassed swimming pool area with the thatched reception/dining room behind. Outside lights meant we could make the most of the early evening sitting outside our room with a drink. Kettle and mini bar provided. Local wildlife in evidence (iguana, hornbill and squirrel)

Excellent food and wine , and the waiting staff and chef sung to us after the meal. Visited the Omibili Foundation about half an hours drive away and spent an enjoyable couple of hours experiencing life at the Foundation including listening to a school choir and visiting the vegetable garden. Small shop sells souvenirs." See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 91-98 of 98
92%
98 reviews of Mushara Lodge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
70
21
6
0
1
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Etosha National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

Set within Etosha National Park, Okaukuejo Resort is a large camp with a productive, floodlit waterhole.


83% (703 reviews)
Halali Camp

Halali Camp

The smallest of Etosha's erstwhile restcamps, overlooking its own floodlit waterhole, Halali has a superb location near the centre of Etosha Pan.


79% (330 reviews)
Mushara Bush Camp

Mushara Bush Camp

The family-friendly Mushara Bush Camp offers great value and is an excellent base from which to explore Etosha National Park.


94% (261 reviews)
Ongava Lodge

Ongava Lodge

With fantastic views over a private reserve bordering Etosha, the smart Ongava Lodge offers driving and walking safaris on the reserve, and guided drives in Etosha.


92% (158 reviews)
Ongava Tented Camp

Ongava Tented Camp

Set around a waterhole on a private reserve, the small Ongava Tented Camp combines understated comfort with activities that include walks and night drives.


93% (154 reviews)
Onguma Tented Camp

Onguma Tented Camp

Onguma Tented Camp is a lovely, little tented camp which centres around an attractive waterhole a short drive from the Von Lindequist Gate to eastern Etosha.


92% (103 reviews)
Dolomite Camp

Dolomite Camp

Opened in 2011, Dolomite Camp allows visitors access to the far west side of Etosha National Park, which was previously off limits to most visitors.


86% (97 reviews)
Namutoni Camp

Namutoni Camp

Centred on an old fort, the government run Namutoni Camp is located just inside Etosha National Park, close to Fisher's Pan.


82% (89 reviews)
Onguma Bush Camp

Onguma Bush Camp

For great wildlife viewing without breaking the bank, the affordable and understated luxury of Onguma Bush Camp could be perfect.


94% (84 reviews)
Hobatere Lodge

Hobatere Lodge

To the west of Etosha National Park, on the edge of Damaraland, Hobatere Lodge offers good game-viewing on its own reserve.


89% (74 reviews)
Mushara Outpost

Mushara Outpost

Intimate and luxurious, Mushara Outpost is well-placed on a private reserve to explore nearby Etosha National Park on your own or on a guided drive.


94% (68 reviews)
Onguma Camp Kala

Onguma Camp Kala

For a bird’s eye view across African bush, the stilted rooms at Onguma Camp Kala are truly special.


97% (43 reviews)
Onguma The Fort

Onguma The Fort

The Fort is the jewel in the crown of the Onguma lodges, and arguably the whole of eastern Etosha.


96% (41 reviews)
Safarihoek Lodge

Safarihoek Lodge

At the heart of the private Etosha Heights Reserve, Safarihoek Lodge offers comfortable accommodation and excellent game-viewing.


95% (37 reviews)
Onguma Forest Camp

Onguma Forest Camp

From its woodland setting on the Onguma Reserve, Forest Camp is within easy striking distance of Namibia’s flagship national park.


88% (36 reviews)
Taleni Etosha Village

Taleni Etosha Village

Only 4km from Etosha's southern entrance, Taleni Etosha Village is an affordable base from which to explore the park.


93% (26 reviews)
Etosha Safari Lodge

Etosha Safari Lodge

A short drive from Etosha National Park's southern entrance, Etosha Safari Lodge is a convenient base from which to explore the park.


85% (26 reviews)
Little Ongava

Little Ongava

The beautifully located and luxurious Little Ongava is a stunning place to stay in order to explore Etosha National Park and the private Ongava Reserve.


97% (25 reviews)
Etosha Safari Camp

Etosha Safari Camp

Funky, low-key and very original, Etosha Safari Camp is well placed for visiting Etosha National Park on a self-drive or guided safari.


86% (22 reviews)
Andersson's at Ongava

Andersson's at Ongava

With game drives on both its private reserve and in Etosha, Andersson's at Ongava also offers access to the Ongava Research Centre.


94% (18 reviews)
Mountain Lodge

Mountain Lodge

In the heart of the private Etosha Heights Reserve, the family-friendly Mountain Lodge offers game drives and bush walks within an exclusive environment.


97% (14 reviews)
Mokuti Etosha Lodge

Mokuti Etosha Lodge

With 106 rooms, child-friendly Mokuti Etosha Lodge is more like a hotel than a lodge. Facilities to include a gym, spa, tennis courts and even a snake park.


93% (11 reviews)
Etosha Oberland Lodge

Etosha Oberland Lodge

A short drive from Etosha National Park's southern entrance, Etosha Oberland Lodge is a very comfortable base from which to explore the park, with excellent food.


100% (6 reviews)
Vreugde Guest Farm

Vreugde Guest Farm

Vreugde Guest Farm is a delightful owner-run and working sheep farm where you can expect a warm welcome and charming hospitality.


90% (6 reviews)
Villa Mushara

Villa Mushara

Offering luxury on a peaceful private reserve close to Etosha, Villa Mushara is a great choice for honeymooners & those wishing to indulge themselves.


95% (4 reviews)
Etosha Garden Hotel

Etosha Garden Hotel

Safari in Etosha National Park Namibia, whilst based at the nearby Etosha Garden Lodge.


60% (4 reviews)
Etosha King Nehale

Etosha King Nehale

A short drive from the national park's northern entrance, Etosha King Nehale Lodge is an interesting and comfortable base from which to explore the park.


100% (2 reviews)
Safari House

Safari House

The private Safari House on the Etosha Heights reserve is a great option families or friends travelling together.


100% (1 review)
Toshari Lodge

Toshari Lodge

Safari in Etosha National Park Namibia, whilst based at Etosha Gateway Lodge.


80% (1 review)
Onkoshi Camp

Onkoshi Camp

Onkoshi Camp is owned and run by Namibia Wildlife Resorts. Built on elevated wooden platforms it overlooks Etosha Pan.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa