This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Okaukuejo Camp
Okaukuejo Camp
Okaukuejo Camp
Okaukuejo Camp
Okaukuejo Camp
Okaukuejo Camp
Okaukuejo Camp
Okaukuejo Camp
Okaukuejo Camp
Okaukuejo Camp
Okaukuejo Camp

Reviews of Okaukuejo Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

638 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Okaukuejo Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 47 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Okaukuejo Camp.
Lion

80% success

Leopard

5% success

Cheetah

11% success

Giraffe

98% success

Oryx

98% success

Elephant

98% success

Zebra

96% success

Wildebeest

91% success

Black Rhino

88% success

Spotted Hyena

50% success

Eland

41% success

White Rhino

26% success

Roan antelope

18% success

Brown Hyena

15% success

Sable antelope

14% success

Aardvark

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Showing 191-200 of 638
Duration
Arrival date
Dr M
Rickmansworth

"Stay at Okaukuejo for the waterhole"

2 nights Arrived 2 Aug 2015
"Having stayed both here and on the Eastern side of Etosha, in retrospect we preferred the landscape of Etosha more on the East. However Okaukuejo has a fantastic watering hole within the camp (surrounded by a wall) where you can just sit and watch the animals come and go. This is particularly amazing at night and it seems no 2 nights are the same. On our first night we watched a herd of elephants there and on the second night there were several rhino.

It is also very convenient to stay inside the park. This saves a 10k drive in and out of the gate each day with a variable amount of queueing.

The camp shop sells a good guide to all the animals and birds you are likely to see in Etosha and includes a good map. It is a shame this isn't offered to you when you buy your permit as we only found it by accident and other people didn't know about it.

The camp shops don't sell much in the way of food. You can get some snacks and frozen meat but you can't buy the ingredients for an entire lunch or dinner.

The buffet lunch/ dinners are pretty repetitive and cafeteria standard. But it is all about the waterhole!" See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs W
backwoods!

"Perfect View"

2 nights Arrived 29 Jul 2015
"This is the hardest review to write - Okaukuejo is quite municipal in atmosphere and quite busy, it's food at dinner and breakfast was basic and although staff work very hard the dining room felt a little understaffed given the number of people staying in rooms and at the campsite.

All rooms are not equal, not even in the Waterhole Chalets - we had a Premier Waterhole Chalet and this made all the difference. Our balcony directly overlooked the waterhole and we sat under blankets on a cushioned lounger long into the night watching the animals. These are by far the best rooms and the balcony made up for any shortcomings with the food or atmosphere.

When the sun had set patience brought us numerous black rhinos, elephants, lions, oryx, wildebeest, zebra etc. It was truly amazing. Okuakuejo had more shortcomings as a hotel than anywhere else we stayed and I wouldn't have missed it for the world. We were genuinely sad to leave our chalet and the memory of our afternoons and evenings watching the animals will last a lifetime." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Mr J & Mrs L
UK

"A brilliant water hole"

3 nights Arrived 28 Jul 2015
"Overall a very good visit

Of the two chalets, we preferred the Bush Chalet to the Waterhole Chalet, which was less spacious and was in need of a re-fresh. The food was very good value and the staff friendly and helpful.

Early morning game drive (in late July) proved quite cold despite having ponchos provided. It also proved less productive than self-drive excursions.

The water hole was a key attraction and didn't disappoint with up to 5 Black Rhino, a pride of Lions and Brown Hyena being seen." See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
The L Family
Wilts

"Okaukuejo - Waterhole and base for Etosha"

2 nights Arrived 20 Jul 2015
"We stayed at the end of July 2015 for 2 nights

Given the feedback we had read from various sources, our expectations of various aspects of Okaukuejo were met - the shop was basic (you couldn't by ham or cheese for a lunch roll), the buffet breakfast and dinner was OK, the rooms clean but basic. But these are not what you visit for. Being able to walk out from dinner and head to the floodlit waterhole and be presented by an elephant 25m away, followed by family of rhino's was special. We sat in the 'grandstand' where you got a reflection of the tree that stands by the waterhole along with the various animals that almost constantly arrive for a drink.

Up before dawn the following morning to see what was at the waterhole - not much, but some great pictures of zebra and springbok drinking along with their reflections in the still water. After breakfast we headed off to a few waterholes and were lucky to see a pride of eight lions arrive and rest at one, and a whole host of herbivores heading to, drinking at, and walking away from another. Being the dry season, it was worth being patient and spending a while at a waterhole as the animals come and go, and you can observe the animals behaviour, and this was particularly so when we returned to Okaukuejo camp......

When we got back we again sat by the waterhole and watched the evenings events unfold, in the end for about 3hours. For a while, not a lot, although someone said they had spotted a lion close by (I couldn't see it!). After a while it emerged, and sat down, quite a distance from the waterhole. However, this had the effect of stopping any animals from taking a drink. Eventually there were 22 giraffe frustratingly waiting nearby along with Orynx, elephant and others. The black backed jackels eventually disturbed the lion enough and it went to the waterhole taking a long drink before heading off. Rapidly all the animals that had been waiting were then able to quench their thirst, the next nearest waterhole being 10+ km away.

Hopefully this gives you a view as to why we have rated Okaukuejo as excellent, obviously not for all aspects, but the waterhole is pretty special." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Mr & Mrs M
Aberdeen

"Okaukuejo Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 1 Jul 2015
"We stayed in a bush chalet that was conveniently situated within Okaukuejo. It wasn't the most luxurious place that we stayed in during our trip, but it was perfectly sufficient and very spacious.

Although the waterhole chalets have a view of the waterhole, they are also exposed to all the visitors clustered around the waterhole, so we were happy with our choice! We really enjoyed walking to the waterhole at different times of day to see the animals loitering and interacting - with a bit of patience it seemed there was always something to see. We saw rhino and elephant interacting at the hole, in addition to giraffe, oryx etc etc.

The buffets for every meal are sufficient but got a bit repetitive if by the end of two days - a tip for other travellers is that the 'kiosk' serves snacks as an alternative to the lunch buffet. One of us is vegetarian and found particularly limited food options (besides salad and vegetables). In addition to gifts and toiletries, the shop sells lots of biscuits and confectionary, icecream plus bread, sausages/meat and onions - and the chalets all have firepits/bbq areas so you could have a barbeque." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs P
Newport

"NOT IMPRESSED"

2 nights Arrived 19 Jun 2015
"THE WATERHOLE AND WILDLIFE VERY IMPRESSIVE

FIRST NIGHTS ACCOMMODATION VERY GOOD BUT SECOND NIGHT POOR.

NOT VERY WELCOMING AND POOR SERVICE" See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Poor
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Mr & Mrs F
Bristol

"Rhino Wonderland"

1 night Arrived 14 Jun 2015
"Great animal viewing at the waterhole - a shame we only spent one night.

Facilities as poor as ever - with a captive audience I can't understand how there isn't a thriving little supermarket, gift shop etc with staff who want to talk and interest you with things but customer service is not something you find in Etosha." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia; 3n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Mr A & Mrs M
UK

"Good value at Okaukuejo"

4 nights Arrived 11 Jun 2015
"The bush chalet was good, the double room not so good, however my fault for booking late." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Ms K
Alberta

"Okaukuejo Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 29 May 2015
"Our chalet by the water hole was amazing! We had easy access to watch the animals at any time of the day or night.

The food provided was not up to the high standard that we had experienced at the other lodges. They were serving many more people and the food was adequate but not exciting." See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia; 4n in Botswana; 3n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Mr D & Ms C
Canada

"Okaukuejo was better than expected"

2 nights Arrived 22 May 2015
"Stayed here for the waterhole and was not disappointed. 8 rhinos at one time and a family of 25-30 elephants as well. Everyone was really quiet and it was not the stadium atmosphere I expected.

The food was decent but there was one chef there who made a point of making steaks separate without the seasoning for my wife so she could eat them, I found most staff there to be quite helpful.

One word of warning, we had our hubcaps stolen here so I would advise taking them off." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia; 8n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Showing 191-200 of 638
83%
638 reviews of Okaukuejo Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
236
282
99
19
2
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Etosha National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Halali Camp

Halali Camp

Halali is a large, government-run restcamp in a convenient central location inside Etosha National Park.


79% (321 reviews)
Mushara Bush Camp

Mushara Bush Camp

The family-friendly Mushara Bush Camp offers a beautifully designed lodge, friendly service and a great base from which to explore Etosha National Park.


94% (238 reviews)
Ongava Tented Camp

Ongava Tented Camp

Built around a waterhole Ongava Tented Camp offers good service, delicious food, comfortable rooms, easy access to Etosha and wildlife in camp.


93% (146 reviews)
Ongava Lodge

Ongava Lodge

Ongava is a smart lodge with fantastic views that offers a range of driving and walking safaris on its own reserve, and guided drives in Etosha.


92% (144 reviews)
Dolomite Camp

Dolomite Camp

Opened in 2011, Dolomite Camp allows visitors access to the far west side of Etosha National Park, which was previously off limits to most visitors.


86% (94 reviews)
Mushara Lodge

Mushara Lodge

Not far from the entrance to Etosha, Mushara Lodge offers comfortable and tastefully decorated rooms in a convenient location for exploring the park.


92% (85 reviews)
Namutoni Camp

Namutoni Camp

Centred on an old fort, the government run Namutoni Camp is located just inside Etosha National Park, close to Fisher's Pan.


82% (82 reviews)
Onguma Tented Camp

Onguma Tented Camp

Onguma Tented Camp is a lovely, little tented camp which centres around an attractive waterhole a short drive from the Von Lindequist Gate to eastern Etosha.


92% (80 reviews)
Onguma Bush Camp

Onguma Bush Camp

For great wildlife viewing without breaking the bank, the affordable and understated luxury of Onguma Bush Camp could be perfect.


93% (77 reviews)
Hobatere Lodge

Hobatere Lodge

To the west of Etosha National Park, on the edge of Damaraland, Hobatere Lodge offers good game-viewing on its own reserve.


90% (67 reviews)
Mushara Outpost

Mushara Outpost

Mushara Outpost is a comfortable, stylish lodge, and a good base from which to explore nearby Etosha National Park on your own or with a guided safari.


93% (55 reviews)
Onguma Tree Top Camp

Onguma Tree Top Camp

For a bird’s eye view across African bush, the stilted rooms at Onguma Tree Top are truly special.


97% (42 reviews)
Onguma The Fort

Onguma The Fort

The Fort is the jewel in the crown of the Onguma lodges, and arguably the whole of eastern Etosha.


95% (36 reviews)
Onguma Etosha Aoba

Onguma Etosha Aoba

From its woodland setting on the Onguma Reserve, Etosha Aoba is within easy striking distance of Namibia’s flagship national park.


89% (32 reviews)
Taleni Etosha Village

Taleni Etosha Village

Only 4km from Etosha's southern entrance, Taleni Etosha Village is an affordable base from which to explore the park.


93% (26 reviews)
Etosha Safari Lodge

Etosha Safari Lodge

A short drive from Etosha National Park's southern entrance, Etosha Safari Lodge is a convenient base from which to explore the park.


84% (24 reviews)
Etosha Safari Camp

Etosha Safari Camp

Funky, low-key and very original, Etosha Safari Camp is well placed for visiting Etosha National Park on a self-drive or guided safari.


87% (23 reviews)
Little Ongava

Little Ongava

The beautifully located and luxurious Little Ongava is a stunning place to stay in order to explore Etosha National Park and the private Ongava Reserve.


97% (23 reviews)
Safarihoek Lodge

Safarihoek Lodge

In the middle of the Etosha Heights Reserve, Safarihoek Lodge offers comfortable accommodation and excellent game-viewing.


96% (23 reviews)
Mokuti Etosha Lodge

Mokuti Etosha Lodge

With 106 rooms, child-friendly Mokuti Etosha Lodge is more like a hotel than a lodge. Facilities to include a gym, spa, tennis courts and even a snake park.


92% (10 reviews)
Mountain Lodge

Mountain Lodge

In the heart of the Etosha Heights Reserve, Mountain Lodge offers the chance for game drives and bush walks away from some of the crowds of Etosha.


97% (7 reviews)
Andersson's at Ongava

Andersson's at Ongava

With game drives on both its private reserve and in Etosha, Andersson's at Ongava also offers access to the Ongava Research Centre.


100% (5 reviews)
Etosha Garden Hotel

Etosha Garden Hotel

Safari in Etosha National Park Namibia, whilst based at the nearby Etosha Garden Lodge.


60% (4 reviews)
Vreugde Guest Farm

Vreugde Guest Farm

Vreugde Guest Farm is a delightful owner-run and working sheep farm where you can expect a warm welcome and charming hospitality.


95% (4 reviews)
Villa Mushara

Villa Mushara

Villa Mushara offers luxury in a peaceful and isolated location. It is a good choice for honeymooners & those wishing to indulge themselves.


93% (3 reviews)
Toshari Lodge

Toshari Lodge

Safari in Etosha National Park Namibia, whilst based at Etosha Gateway Lodge.


80% (1 review)
Onkoshi Camp

Onkoshi Camp

Onkoshi Camp is owned and run by Namibia Wildlife Resorts. Built on elevated wooden platforms it overlooks Etosha Pan.


No reviews yet
Etosha Oberland Lodge

Etosha Oberland Lodge

A short drive from Etosha National Park's southern entrance, Etosha Oberland Lodge promises a convenient base from which to explore the park.


No reviews yet
Safari House

Safari House

The private Safari House on the Etosha Heights reserve is a great option families or friends travelling together.


No reviews yet
Etosha King Nehale

Etosha King Nehale

A short drive from the national park’s northern entrance, Etosha King Nehale Lodge is an interesting and comfortable base from which to explore the park.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa