This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Onguma Tented Camp
Onguma Tented Camp
Onguma Tented Camp
Onguma Tented Camp

Reviews of Onguma Tented Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

79 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Onguma Tented Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 7 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Onguma Tented Camp.
Lion

67% success

Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

57% success

Zebra

100% success

Giraffe

86% success

Elephant

83% success

Oryx

83% success

Wildebeest

67% success

Eland

40% success

Sable antelope

33% success

Spotted Hyena

33% success

Brown Hyena

25% success

Roan antelope

25% success

Black Rhino

17% success

White Rhino

17% success

Aardvark

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Showing 31-40 of 79
Duration
Arrival date
Mrs & Mr W
Dorset

"Glorious Setting"

2 nights Arrived 15 Nov 2014
"Like all the Onguma accommodation, our 'tent' allowed us to sit and while the time away watching the waterhole - not the most exciting selection of animals, but beautiful all the same.

Service was a cut above and the food was excellent." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia; 3n in Botswana; 3n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs H
Maningtree

"Safari chic deserved"

2 nights Arrived 28 Oct 2014
"Guides not as well trained or motivated as those we met on Wilderness camps.

Relaxed intimate setting round ever varying waterhole activity" See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Nick & Kate
London

"Onguma Tented Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 28 Sep 2014
"This was one of the most beautiful camps we stayed at on our entire trip. The central area was large and stylish, the dining area most attractive, overlooking the large waterhole, and the lovely rooms wonderfully sited around the same waterhole. The whole camp was well designed and had many individual touches.

Food was good to very good. Some of the staff had poor English, so it was not always possible to make yourself understood, but there was no shortage of effort, and everyone worked to help us have a good time. Drinks around the campfire was a lovely moment. Dining was separate, although we combined tables with another couple we had met over drinks.

The afternoon game drive we took netted three lions just by the camp, as well as a marvellous pair of bat-eared foxes, jackals and a brooding group of white-backed vultures quite low down in the palm trees. But game was by no means plentiful." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Mr M & Ms B
Brussels

"Onguma Tented Camp - the high point of trip"

2 nights Arrived 24 Aug 2014
"The camp was beautifully constructed and tastefully decorated.

The rooms were spotlessly clean and had Wi-Fi access, a safe and tea-making facilities. The staff were professional and friendly but not overbearing. The guide was knowledgeable and pleasant to talk to. The food was delicious.

We highly recommend this camp. Staying at Onguma was the high point of our holiday.

" See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
The J Family
Herts

"So disappointing."

2 nights Arrived 3 Aug 2014
"Great location just by the park gate. Nicely situated next to a small waterhole. But after Andersons and Damaraland camp this was a complete disappointment.

This camp was stuffy and formal, with absolutely no atmosphere, and a poor recommendation for a large family group. The staff were very polite but very quiet and reserved. I wouldn't have liked this camp even if I'd been in a couple. It was just too quiet and restrained - trying to be something that it wasn't.

The rooms are huge , so they were being pretty inflexible insisting that we had to have 4 rooms, rather than allowing the 3 kids to share and having 3 rooms between us - as we did at all other lodges. I wasn't that keen on sharing my room with a very active rodent, which was very happy coming and going through a gap in the canvas - but more concerned that if a large mouse could get in, then so could a snake...

It turned out that the 4 gunshots we heard before dinner marked the demise of a spitting cobra which was trying to attack the chef - apparently it would have been looking for mice - presumably like the one I was sharing my room with. The food was nice, but spoilt by the lack of atmosphere - so all the couples ate in silence and then went. Not comfortable or relaxed.

A real shame, as we were anticipating that this camp would be a real highlight. I imagine it was the most expensive place we stayed, but the least enjoyable. Not a good recommendation. Not sure why they insisted that we had to be accompanied by a guard when going to and from our rooms - yes, of course there are animals out there, but non of the other camps insisted on this. He clearly wasn't armed anyway - and it just contributed to the formality.


" See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Poor

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Poor
Rooms:
Poor
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Poor
Mr & Mrs C
E Sussex

"Onguma Tented Camp is splendid"

3 nights Arrived 21 Jul 2014
"What a lovely place to stay.

Great staff, particularly Cacious (sorry if misspelt) who had to deal with a rather unpleasant American and handled it with great dignity.

" See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr G & Miss R
Kent

"Luxury at Onguma Tented Camp"

2 nights Arrived 17 Oct 2013
"The tented camp is a good half hour drive from the entrance on the east side of Etosha, but a good location if you choose not to stay in the park. We had a great room overlooking the watering hole where the smaller antelope and warthogs come down in the early morning.

We drove through the park from Ongava Lodge, spending the day in Etosha, before arriving at Onguma. The evening meal and service was excellent." See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr J & Mrs C
Kent

"Leopard, Lion and Cheetahs"

2 nights Arrived 10 Oct 2013
"We loved everything about this camp - the peaceful setting around the waterhole (mainly, see below!), the beautiful tents, charming staff & the quality of the activities.

As we'd already had quite a lot of luck in driving ourselves around Etosha, including a leopard sighting, we only chose to do activities with the camp where they were on their reserve - which is afternoon and evening drives.

When you arrive at Onguma they make a big thing about not having as much game as Etosha, which is clearly true, however it didn't stop us seeing both Leopard and Rhino on the Rhino drive, cheetahs on the Night Drive and a male lion on the Sundowner drive. The lion also paid us a visit at the camp waterhole during dinner on our first night, announcing his arrival with the hugest roar that seemed to shake the whole camp. The bird life on the camp rarely gets a mention but that was terrific too. Thoroughly recommended." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr G & Mrs F
Canada

"Onguma Tented Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 28 Sep 2013
"This camp has a lovely setting and the rooms and facilities are luxurious. The small infinity pool overlooks a great waterhole, so you can enjoy a cool drink and swim while watching the warthogs and antelope.

We went on a guided drive from Onguma into the eastern side of Etosha. A highlight was watching lions eating a giraffe carcass just a few metres from our open vehicle.
" See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia; 6n in Botswana; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs S
Ontario

"Onguma Tented Camp- Great Animal Sightings"

2 nights Arrived 22 Sep 2013
"We arranged a night drive in the Ongama Reserve and saw an Ardvark. an Aardwolf and a Lioness with four cubs as well as Giraffes and Impalas. The next day, on our way into Etosha, driving ourselves, we spotted a Black rhino grazing by the side of the road. Our list goes on. We saw close to fifty elephants at a water hole, a spotted hyena, as well as many groups of plains game. Quite an experience.

Our accommodations at Ongoma Tented Camp were very good. It was a memorable stay.." See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia; 6n in Botswana; 3n in South Africa; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Showing 31-40 of 79
93%
79 reviews of Onguma Tented Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
57
16
5
1
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Etosha National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

Set within Etosha National Park, Okaukuejo Camp is a large, well-equipped restcamp, with a productive floodlit waterhole.


83% (639 reviews)
Halali Camp

Halali Camp

Halali is a large, government-run restcamp in a convenient central location inside Etosha National Park.


79% (319 reviews)
Mushara Bush Camp

Mushara Bush Camp

The family-friendly Mushara Bush Camp offers a beautifully designed lodge, friendly service and a great base from which to explore Etosha National Park.


94% (237 reviews)
Ongava Tented Camp

Ongava Tented Camp

Built around a waterhole Ongava Tented Camp offers good service, delicious food, comfortable rooms, easy access to Etosha and wildlife in camp.


93% (146 reviews)
Ongava Lodge

Ongava Lodge

Ongava is a smart lodge with fantastic views that offers a range of driving and walking safaris on its own reserve, and guided drives in Etosha.


92% (144 reviews)
Dolomite Camp

Dolomite Camp

Opened in 2011, Dolomite Camp allows visitors access to the far west side of Etosha National Park, which was previously off limits to most visitors.


86% (94 reviews)
Mushara Lodge

Mushara Lodge

Not far from the entrance to Etosha, Mushara Lodge offers comfortable and tastefully decorated rooms in a convenient location for exploring the park.


92% (85 reviews)
Namutoni Camp

Namutoni Camp

Centred on an old fort, the government run Namutoni Camp is located just inside Etosha National Park, close to Fisher's Pan.


82% (82 reviews)
Onguma Bush Camp

Onguma Bush Camp

For great wildlife viewing without breaking the bank, the affordable and understated luxury of Onguma Bush Camp could be perfect.


93% (77 reviews)
Hobatere Lodge

Hobatere Lodge

To the west of Etosha National Park, on the edge of Damaraland, Hobatere Lodge offers good game-viewing on its own reserve.


90% (67 reviews)
Mushara Outpost

Mushara Outpost

Mushara Outpost is a comfortable, stylish lodge, and a good base from which to explore nearby Etosha National Park on your own or with a guided safari.


93% (55 reviews)
Onguma Tree Top Camp

Onguma Tree Top Camp

For a bird’s eye view across African bush, the stilted rooms at Onguma Tree Top are truly special.


97% (42 reviews)
Onguma The Fort

Onguma The Fort

The Fort is the jewel in the crown of the Onguma lodges, and arguably the whole of eastern Etosha.


95% (35 reviews)
Onguma Etosha Aoba

Onguma Etosha Aoba

From its woodland setting on the Onguma Reserve, Etosha Aoba is within easy striking distance of Namibia’s flagship national park.


89% (32 reviews)
Taleni Etosha Village

Taleni Etosha Village

Only 4km from Etosha's southern entrance, Taleni Etosha Village is an affordable base from which to explore the park.


93% (26 reviews)
Etosha Safari Lodge

Etosha Safari Lodge

A short drive from Etosha National Park's southern entrance, Etosha Safari Lodge is a convenient base from which to explore the park.


84% (24 reviews)
Etosha Safari Camp

Etosha Safari Camp

Funky, low-key and very original, Etosha Safari Camp is well placed for visiting Etosha National Park on a self-drive or guided safari.


87% (23 reviews)
Little Ongava

Little Ongava

The beautifully located and luxurious Little Ongava is a stunning place to stay in order to explore Etosha National Park and the private Ongava Reserve.


97% (23 reviews)
Safarihoek Lodge

Safarihoek Lodge

In the middle of the Etosha Heights Reserve, Safarihoek Lodge offers comfortable accommodation and excellent game-viewing.


95% (21 reviews)
Mokuti Etosha Lodge

Mokuti Etosha Lodge

With 106 rooms, child-friendly Mokuti Etosha Lodge is more like a hotel than a lode. Facilities to include a gym, spa, tennis courts and even a snake park.


92% (10 reviews)
Mountain Lodge

Mountain Lodge

In the heart of the Etosha Heights Reserve, Mountain Lodge offers the chance for game drives and bush walks away from some of the crowds of Etosha.


97% (7 reviews)
Andersson's at Ongava

Andersson's at Ongava

With game drives on both its private reserve and in Etosha, Andersson's at Ongava also offers access to the Ongava Research Centre.


100% (5 reviews)
Etosha Garden Hotel

Etosha Garden Hotel

Safari in Etosha National Park Namibia, whilst based at the nearby Etosha Garden Lodge.


60% (4 reviews)
Vreugde Guest Farm

Vreugde Guest Farm

Vreugde Guest Farm is a delightful owner-run and working sheep farm where you can expect a warm welcome and charming hospitality.


95% (4 reviews)
Villa Mushara

Villa Mushara

Villa Mushara offers luxury in a peaceful and isolated location. It is a good choice for honeymooners & those wishing to indulge themselves.


93% (3 reviews)
Toshari Lodge

Toshari Lodge

Safari in Etosha National Park Namibia, whilst based at Etosha Gateway Lodge.


80% (1 review)
Onkoshi Camp

Onkoshi Camp

Onkoshi Camp is owned and run by Namibia Wildlife Resorts. Built on elevated wooden platforms it overlooks Etosha Pan.


No reviews yet
Etosha Oberland Lodge

Etosha Oberland Lodge

A short drive from Etosha National Park's southern entrance, Etosha Onderland Lodge promises a convenient base from which to explore the park.


No reviews yet
Safari House

Safari House

The private Safari House on the Etosha Heights reserve is a great option families or friends travelling together.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa