This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Onguma Tented Camp
Onguma Tented Camp
Onguma Tented Camp
Onguma Tented Camp

Reviews of Onguma Tented Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

103 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Onguma Tented Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 27 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Onguma Tented Camp.
Lion

64% success

Leopard

25% success

Cheetah

33% success

Giraffe

96% success

Zebra

96% success

Oryx

92% success

Wildebeest

88% success

Elephant

72% success

Eland

42% success

Spotted Hyena

33% success

Roan antelope

30% success

Black Rhino

25% success

Sable antelope

25% success

White Rhino

23% success

Brown Hyena

14% success

Aardvark

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Showing 31-40 of 103
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs G.
Egham

"Onguma Tented Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 25 Sep 2018
"Onguma Tented Camp consists of some nicely appointed tented rooms located around a waterhole. The room was very good and the view equally so.

Upon arrival we were asked what activities we would like to undertake, only to be told that the trip to the photographic hide was already fully booked. I only mention this because the trip we booked into Etosha didn't start well as the guide failed to show up and after some tracking down by reception it was established we had been forgotten.

The two points are linked because although the Tented Camp only has 7 rooms the overall Onguma Reserve includes many other locations, some of which are larger and the activities are shared between them. This influences what is available and also the efficiency. This aspect needs attention because we had been booked onto a trip with four people in the Aoba lodge located some 20 minutes away. Therefore there was no chance of us all leaving at the time advertised even if we had been remembered. We suggested our trip be cancelled, because bringing the vehicle back would impact the other guests but this didn't seem to be understood. We eventually joined the tour some 45 minutes late and it turned out to be excellent.

The guide was very professional but clearly annoyed at the lack of organisation within Onguma. Whilst the price of our tour was met by the Lodge I am not sure the other guests who were disrupted had the same experience. We also weren't given the true story by the Lodge management which is unprofessional. Blaming the problem on a broken down vehicle, which we knew not to be the case. Whilst this didn't really disrupt our enjoyment of the place I mention it because it clearly requires attention.

Otherwise the location is excellent and a very relaxing place to view animals at the waterhole. The service at meal times was very good and the tour we experienced on their own reserve was also good" See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Elephant

2 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Lion

2 sightings

Oryx

8 sightings

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Zebra

6 sightings

Mrs F & Mrs G
Kent

"Modern Camp with excellent facilities"

2 nights Arrived 31 May 2018
"This was our third camp. Onguma is very modern in design but comfortable and well run. Our room was comfortable - and the infestation of bugs in our room was dealt with very efficiently. Saw lots of animals coming down to their waterhole. The food was good and the staff were friendly and helpful, particular mention for Thomas our waiter.

We had arrived following a long drive through Etosha National Park, so were too tired to do that evening activities. So we decided to use this as a quieter activity camp - and were particularly pleased with our trip to their Hide - which gave us excellent concealed view to get a good understanding of how animals come up to a waterhole and then move on.

Abraham our guide at the waterhole was a pleasant and friendly person with whom to spend a quieter couple of hours Lots of warthogs and their young, which we had not seen yet." See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Oryx

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr M
Midlothian

"Luxurious stop at Onguma"

2 nights Arrived 6 Apr 2018
"This is high end Etosha.

We probably didn't get as much out of it as we could because of bad weather, but it was a great place to hide." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr T & Ms K
NL

"Onguma Tented Camp review"

1 night Arrived 5 Nov 2017
"Fantastic place. It was pity we choose to stay 2 nights at Etosha south gate, so we only had a short evening to enjoy this camp.

I would recommended anybody that visits Etosha to spend at least 2 nights here." See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia; 7n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr K
Hexham

"sumpttuous"

2 nights Arrived 28 Sep 2017
"A little too posh for us. Unnecessarily so. But thats just a personal feeling." See all these reviews: 25n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Nick & Kate
Sussex

"Superb luxury camp"

2 nights Arrived 27 Sep 2017
"We stayed here a few years ago and enjoyed it. If anything, the service and food has improved still further, and the guiding was of a high quality for the pleasant sundowner drive around the property's own park (where we saw lion).

Beautiful rooms, excellent restaurant, and a delightful waterhole frequented by many antelope and giraffe.

All in all, a really good choice for exploring the eastern end of Etosha, located as it is a 20 minute drive from the eastern gate to the park." See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana; 5n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Dr & Dr A
Cleveland

"Very comfortable, great waterhole"

2 nights Arrived 13 Sep 2017
"Another camp located just outside Etosha. Décor in the main area is luxurious with canopied roof and dining tables looking out over the large natural waterhole.

The tents too are lovely, each of them also looking out over the waterhole. We woke one morning to the sound of a herd of zebra crunching the gravel on their way to drink!

Food and service were excellent.

We self-drove, so didn't take part in camp activities. Driving round eastern Etosha / Fisher's Pan was easy from here, and gave us a chance to see a variety of animals and birds." See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs H
Bath

"Superb"

2 nights Arrived 12 Sep 2017
"We stayed in the Tented Camp, which was luxurious and wonderful. Swimming in their little plunge pool while watching the animals at the waterhole.

We went on a morning walk with a guide, which was great fun, and well worth doing" See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia; 2n in Botswana; 1n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr P & Mrs E
Camden

"Onguma Tented Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 10 Sep 2017
"Very good walking safari but mostly quiet waterhole. Slightly variable service, sometimes over-fussy." See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia; 2n in Botswana; 1n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mrs H & Mr M
Madrid

"A pity about our guide"

2 nights Arrived 8 Sep 2017
"The tents were the best in Namibia, with direct views to a lovely waterhole, which was regularly visited by a leopard at night.
We were offered a private dinner by the pool for our anniversary , a nice surprise :-) and the food was excellent.

A pity that all this was ruined by our game drive experience which was a complete disaster as the guide was rude and did not show any interest. He didn't even ask in advance about our sundowners drinks, which it is not a problem if you have more than one coke available for a group of four.

He managed to find a cheetah mother with her cubs, but off-road is not allowed on any occasion on their private game reserve, so we could not see them. We reported all this to the lodge." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Poor
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 31-40 of 103
92%
103 reviews of Onguma Tented Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
72
24
6
1
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Etosha National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

Set within Etosha National Park, Okaukuejo Resort is a large camp with a productive, floodlit waterhole.


83% (705 reviews)
Halali Camp

Halali Camp

The smallest of Etosha's erstwhile restcamps, overlooking its own floodlit waterhole, Halali has a superb location near the centre of Etosha Pan.


79% (331 reviews)
Mushara Bush Camp

Mushara Bush Camp

The family-friendly Mushara Bush Camp offers great value and is an excellent base from which to explore Etosha National Park.


94% (264 reviews)
Ongava Lodge

Ongava Lodge

With fantastic views over a private reserve bordering Etosha, the smart Ongava Lodge offers driving and walking safaris on the reserve, and guided drives in Etosha.


92% (160 reviews)
Ongava Tented Camp

Ongava Tented Camp

Set around a waterhole on a private reserve, the small Ongava Tented Camp combines understated comfort with activities that include walks and night drives.


93% (154 reviews)
Mushara Lodge

Mushara Lodge

Close to the eastern entrance to Etosha, the comfortable Mushara Lodge is well-placed for exploring the park in your own vehicle or on a guided drive.


93% (99 reviews)
Dolomite Camp

Dolomite Camp

Opened in 2011, Dolomite Camp allows visitors access to the far west side of Etosha National Park, which was previously off limits to most visitors.


86% (97 reviews)
Namutoni Camp

Namutoni Camp

Centred on an old fort, the government run Namutoni Camp is located just inside Etosha National Park, close to Fisher's Pan.


82% (89 reviews)
Onguma Bush Camp

Onguma Bush Camp

For great wildlife viewing without breaking the bank, the affordable and understated luxury of Onguma Bush Camp could be perfect.


94% (84 reviews)
Hobatere Lodge

Hobatere Lodge

To the west of Etosha National Park, on the edge of Damaraland, Hobatere Lodge offers good game-viewing on its own reserve.


89% (74 reviews)
Mushara Outpost

Mushara Outpost

Intimate and luxurious, Mushara Outpost is well-placed on a private reserve to explore nearby Etosha National Park on your own or on a guided drive.


94% (68 reviews)
Onguma Camp Kala

Onguma Camp Kala

For a bird’s eye view across African bush, the stilted rooms at Onguma Camp Kala are truly special.


97% (43 reviews)
Onguma The Fort

Onguma The Fort

The Fort is the jewel in the crown of the Onguma lodges, and arguably the whole of eastern Etosha.


96% (41 reviews)
Safarihoek Lodge

Safarihoek Lodge

At the heart of the private Etosha Heights Reserve, Safarihoek Lodge offers comfortable accommodation and excellent game-viewing.


95% (37 reviews)
Onguma Forest Camp

Onguma Forest Camp

From its woodland setting on the Onguma Reserve, Forest Camp is within easy striking distance of Namibia’s flagship national park.


88% (36 reviews)
Taleni Etosha Village

Taleni Etosha Village

Only 4km from Etosha's southern entrance, Taleni Etosha Village is an affordable base from which to explore the park.


93% (26 reviews)
Etosha Safari Lodge

Etosha Safari Lodge

A short drive from Etosha National Park's southern entrance, Etosha Safari Lodge is a convenient base from which to explore the park.


85% (26 reviews)
Little Ongava

Little Ongava

The beautifully located and luxurious Little Ongava is a stunning place to stay in order to explore Etosha National Park and the private Ongava Reserve.


97% (25 reviews)
Etosha Safari Camp

Etosha Safari Camp

Funky, low-key and very original, Etosha Safari Camp is well placed for visiting Etosha National Park on a self-drive or guided safari.


86% (22 reviews)
Andersson's at Ongava

Andersson's at Ongava

With game drives on both its private reserve and in Etosha, Andersson's at Ongava also offers access to the Ongava Research Centre.


95% (19 reviews)
Mountain Lodge

Mountain Lodge

In the heart of the private Etosha Heights Reserve, the family-friendly Mountain Lodge offers game drives and bush walks within an exclusive environment.


97% (14 reviews)
Mokuti Etosha Lodge

Mokuti Etosha Lodge

With 106 rooms, child-friendly Mokuti Etosha Lodge is more like a hotel than a lodge. Facilities to include a gym, spa, tennis courts and even a snake park.


93% (11 reviews)
Etosha Oberland Lodge

Etosha Oberland Lodge

A short drive from Etosha National Park's southern entrance, Etosha Oberland Lodge is a very comfortable base from which to explore the park, with excellent food.


100% (6 reviews)
Vreugde Guest Farm

Vreugde Guest Farm

Vreugde Guest Farm is a delightful owner-run and working sheep farm where you can expect a warm welcome and charming hospitality.


90% (6 reviews)
Villa Mushara

Villa Mushara

Offering luxury on a peaceful private reserve close to Etosha, Villa Mushara is a great choice for honeymooners & those wishing to indulge themselves.


95% (4 reviews)
Etosha Garden Hotel

Etosha Garden Hotel

Safari in Etosha National Park Namibia, whilst based at the nearby Etosha Garden Lodge.


60% (4 reviews)
Etosha King Nehale

Etosha King Nehale

A short drive from the national park's northern entrance, Etosha King Nehale Lodge is an interesting and comfortable base from which to explore the park.


100% (2 reviews)
Safari House

Safari House

The private Safari House on the Etosha Heights reserve is a great option families or friends travelling together.


100% (1 review)
Toshari Lodge

Toshari Lodge

Safari in Etosha National Park Namibia, whilst based at Etosha Gateway Lodge.


80% (1 review)
Onkoshi Camp

Onkoshi Camp

Onkoshi Camp is owned and run by Namibia Wildlife Resorts. Built on elevated wooden platforms it overlooks Etosha Pan.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa