This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Onguma Tented Camp
Onguma Tented Camp
Onguma Tented Camp
Onguma Tented Camp

Reviews of Onguma Tented Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

103 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Onguma Tented Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 27 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Onguma Tented Camp.
Lion

64% success

Leopard

25% success

Cheetah

33% success

Giraffe

96% success

Zebra

96% success

Oryx

92% success

Wildebeest

88% success

Elephant

72% success

Eland

42% success

Spotted Hyena

33% success

Roan antelope

30% success

Black Rhino

25% success

Sable antelope

25% success

White Rhino

23% success

Brown Hyena

14% success

Aardvark

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Showing 41-50 of 103
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Ms K
Brisbane

"Onguma Tented Camp"

2 nights Arrived 16 Aug 2017
"Beautiful tents, fantastic waterhole view from tent and restaurant. Did a sundowner drive - not many animals to see. Spent the morning at another waterhole in a hide - a few animals, relaxing way to spend a morning." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
buckets
UK

"Onguma Tented Camp"

2 nights Arrived 7 Nov 2016
"Fantastic. Loved every minute.

Game Drives were expensive.

Although everything was fully paid for, our wine bill was expensive as they were not local wines - suggest that this is checked out before ordering.

Would recommend this lodge to anyone - brilliant." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs Judd
London

"Onguma Tented Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 8 Sep 2016
"We would struggle to fault Onguma and their staff.

We were well looked after during our time there, the food was some of the best we have eaten in Namibia and the tents contained everything that you could possibly need.

The staff were friendly and attentive whilst maintaining their professionalism through out. We will certainly go back and stay there again." See all these reviews: 6n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms C
London

"Tents but not as you have seen them before!"

2 nights Arrived 30 Jul 2016
"This was a surreal experience!

The level of attention to detail, the personal service, the level of luxury all deserve credit.

We drove ourselves in and out of Etosha and the reserve cannot offer what Etosha can so was limited in comparison but the sun-downer drive and morning walk were interesting and informative." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia; 9n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs H
Scotland

"Onguma Tented Camp - Wonderful"

3 nights Arrived 7 May 2016
"Everything about Onguma made it a perfect place to stay for three nights.

The Camp is very well designed with great use of line, shape and colour all leading to a sense of well-being. The main areas are very open which leads you to feel you are at one with the surroundings. Plenty of comfortable seating, individual tables for dining, a fire pit area and a rather nice pool with loungers, all with views of the water hole, make for a very comfortable stay.

Our tent, number 5, had a particularly good view of the water hole. All tents are very private, it was lovely to sit on the veranda and watch the various animals come and go. The tent was faultless, tasteful in design and every amenity you could reasonably want. The outdoor shower was a winner.

Food was delicious both at dinner and breakfast and served with a smile.
All of the staff we encountered were friendly and helpful. We were also taken by surprise on our second night to be served diner on our veranda which was decked out with lights, all very romantic!

We drove ourselves into Etosha on the two days we were there which did take a good half hour to get to but we encountered various birds and animals on the way so this was not a problem. We especially enjoyed the road around Fischer's Pan. The only disappointment was that we left it rather late to ask for an early morning bush walk and it was already full so would recommend making any request in good time." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia; 7n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr A
Washington DC

"Deluxe accommodations near Etosha at Onguma"

3 nights Arrived 1 Nov 2015
"A very small, deluxe camp. Very large, comfortable tented rooms with decks that opened onto the camp's private water hole. Spacious and open common areas with a dining area looking out on the water hole. A very nice fire pit. Pulses of game from the very small (guinea fowl) to the very large (giraffe). Extremely attentive and engaged staff. Excellent food and service.

A guided walking safari along the edge of Fisher's Pan was extremely interesting, with a guide (David) who seemed especially engaged by his duties. Our drive into Etosha was less rewarding, partly due to windy conditions, partly to a paucity of game (other than a black rhino), and partly due to a guide who did not make much effort to do other than drive,

The Onguma complex is generally well-located near the East Gate of Etosha, but the access road from the Onguma entrance to the camps themselves is long and somewhat jarring." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs W
Hampshire

"Wonderful bush location"

2 nights Arrived 16 Oct 2015
"Fabulous tented rooms in the middle of the bush. Excellent service all round, a particular highlight was the night game drive.

The food and wine was also excellent. A really special little lodge." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs & Mr H
Dundas

"Lovely stay and Onguma Tented Camp"

2 nights Arrived 18 Sep 2015
"This was probably our favourite lodge.

The rooms were really lovely with a view over an attractive water hole. We did an evening sundowner drive in the lodge's own reserve, which I can't recommend as we saw very little.

We drove ourselves in Etosha during the daytime and saw a lot of game at various water holes." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr P M & family
UK

"Beautiful camp but limited game"

2 nights Arrived 8 Sep 2015
"The accommodation and setting of Onguma are excellent and we enjoyed our stay there.

The only problem was the lack of game in the reserve - to be fair it had been incredibly dry and the landscape was desperately parched, but we saw little or no game in the reserve itself on our afternoon and night drives. The morning drive into Etosha was better and we saw plenty of game there. Our guide was ok but wasn't very informative - he just pointed out the animals.

The waterhole in front of the camp is in a great setting and it is very relaxing to sit and watch animals drink, albeit we didn't see much during our stay." See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs F
Maidstone

"Super facilities"

1 night Arrived 7 Aug 2015
"Great location and an amazing waterhole.

Good facilities but just failed to hit the right note on service. The guide asked the right questions but then completely ignored the answers. He appeared grumpy and disinterested and was unable to answer simple and sensible questions from others in the vehicle.

Service in the camp was curious in that it verged on obsequious so that we, for the only time in Namibia, felt uncomfortable from the first welcome onwards. No need for poems by the bed,"good nite" (!) wishes on the hot water bottles but a bar of soap for the waiters would have been appreciated!

With some small but critical attention to the right detail this could be a truly special stay but for us it was not... Great food though!" See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Poor
Activities:
Poor
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 41-50 of 103
92%
103 reviews of Onguma Tented Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
72
24
6
1
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Etosha National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

Set within Etosha National Park, Okaukuejo Resort is a large camp with a productive, floodlit waterhole.


83% (709 reviews)
Halali Camp

Halali Camp

The smallest of Etosha's erstwhile restcamps, overlooking its own floodlit waterhole, Halali has a superb location near the centre of Etosha Pan.


79% (332 reviews)
Mushara Bush Camp

Mushara Bush Camp

The family-friendly Mushara Bush Camp offers great value and is an excellent base from which to explore Etosha National Park.


94% (265 reviews)
Ongava Lodge

Ongava Lodge

With fantastic views over a private reserve bordering Etosha, the smart Ongava Lodge offers driving and walking safaris on the reserve, and guided drives in Etosha.


92% (162 reviews)
Ongava Tented Camp

Ongava Tented Camp

Set around a waterhole on a private reserve, the small Ongava Tented Camp combines understated comfort with activities that include walks and night drives.


93% (155 reviews)
Mushara Lodge

Mushara Lodge

Close to the eastern entrance to Etosha, the comfortable Mushara Lodge is well-placed for exploring the park in your own vehicle or on a guided drive.


93% (100 reviews)
Dolomite Camp

Dolomite Camp

Opened in 2011, Dolomite Camp allows visitors access to the far west side of Etosha National Park, which was previously off limits to most visitors.


86% (97 reviews)
Onguma Bush Camp

Onguma Bush Camp

For great wildlife viewing without breaking the bank, the affordable and understated luxury of Onguma Bush Camp could be perfect.


94% (87 reviews)
Namutoni Camp

Namutoni Camp

Centred on an old fort, the government run Namutoni Camp is located just inside Etosha National Park, close to Fisher's Pan.


82% (89 reviews)
Hobatere Lodge

Hobatere Lodge

To the west of Etosha National Park, on the edge of Damaraland, Hobatere Lodge offers good game-viewing on its own reserve.


89% (75 reviews)
Mushara Outpost

Mushara Outpost

Intimate and luxurious, Mushara Outpost is well-placed on a private reserve to explore nearby Etosha National Park on your own or on a guided drive.


94% (68 reviews)
Onguma Camp Kala

Onguma Camp Kala

For a bird’s eye view across African bush, the stilted rooms at Onguma Camp Kala are truly special.


97% (43 reviews)
Onguma The Fort

Onguma The Fort

The Fort is the jewel in the crown of the Onguma lodges, and arguably the whole of eastern Etosha.


96% (41 reviews)
Safarihoek Lodge

Safarihoek Lodge

At the heart of the private Etosha Heights Reserve, Safarihoek Lodge offers comfortable accommodation and excellent game-viewing.


95% (38 reviews)
Onguma Forest Camp

Onguma Forest Camp

From its woodland setting on the Onguma Reserve, Forest Camp is within easy striking distance of Namibia’s flagship national park.


89% (37 reviews)
Taleni Etosha Village

Taleni Etosha Village

Only 4km from Etosha's southern entrance, Taleni Etosha Village is an affordable base from which to explore the park.


93% (26 reviews)
Etosha Safari Lodge

Etosha Safari Lodge

A short drive from Etosha National Park's southern entrance, Etosha Safari Lodge is a convenient base from which to explore the park.


85% (26 reviews)
Little Ongava

Little Ongava

The beautifully located and luxurious Little Ongava is a stunning place to stay in order to explore Etosha National Park and the private Ongava Reserve.


97% (25 reviews)
Etosha Safari Camp

Etosha Safari Camp

Funky, low-key and very original, Etosha Safari Camp is well placed for visiting Etosha National Park on a self-drive or guided safari.


86% (22 reviews)
Andersson's at Ongava

Andersson's at Ongava

With game drives on both its private reserve and in Etosha, Andersson's at Ongava also offers access to the Ongava Research Centre.


95% (20 reviews)
Mountain Lodge

Mountain Lodge

In the heart of the private Etosha Heights Reserve, the family-friendly Mountain Lodge offers game drives and bush walks within an exclusive environment.


97% (14 reviews)
Mokuti Etosha Lodge

Mokuti Etosha Lodge

With 106 rooms, child-friendly Mokuti Etosha Lodge is more like a hotel than a lodge. Facilities to include a gym, spa, tennis courts and even a snake park.


93% (11 reviews)
Etosha Oberland Lodge

Etosha Oberland Lodge

A short drive from Etosha National Park's southern entrance, Etosha Oberland Lodge is a very comfortable base from which to explore the park, with excellent food.


100% (8 reviews)
Vreugde Guest Farm

Vreugde Guest Farm

Vreugde Guest Farm is a delightful owner-run and working sheep farm where you can expect a warm welcome and charming hospitality.


90% (6 reviews)
Villa Mushara

Villa Mushara

Offering luxury on a peaceful private reserve close to Etosha, Villa Mushara is a great choice for honeymooners & those wishing to indulge themselves.


95% (4 reviews)
Etosha King Nehale

Etosha King Nehale

A short drive from the national park's northern entrance, Etosha King Nehale Lodge is an interesting and comfortable base from which to explore the park.


100% (2 reviews)
Safari House

Safari House

The private Safari House on the Etosha Heights reserve is a great option families or friends travelling together.


100% (1 review)
Toshari Lodge

Toshari Lodge

Safari in Etosha National Park Namibia, whilst based at Etosha Gateway Lodge.


80% (1 review)
Onkoshi Camp

Onkoshi Camp

Onkoshi Camp is owned and run by Namibia Wildlife Resorts. Built on elevated wooden platforms it overlooks Etosha Pan.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa