This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Onguma Tented Camp
Onguma Tented Camp
Onguma Tented Camp
Onguma Tented Camp

Reviews of Onguma Tented Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

79 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Onguma Tented Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 7 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Onguma Tented Camp.
Lion

67% success

Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

57% success

Zebra

100% success

Giraffe

86% success

Elephant

83% success

Oryx

83% success

Wildebeest

67% success

Eland

40% success

Sable antelope

33% success

Spotted Hyena

33% success

Brown Hyena

25% success

Roan antelope

25% success

Black Rhino

17% success

White Rhino

17% success

Aardvark

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Showing 41-50 of 79
Duration
Arrival date
Mrs KP & Mr P
Dorset

"Onguma Tented Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 15 Aug 2013
"Our favourite place, with a BATH (rare in namibia). Luxurious, friendly and good food.

Enlivened by a lioness and her cubs right outside our tent.

A very good trip into Etosha with Eric the guide, who really knew his stuff. Outstanding. Found us a cheetah and her cub hunting, to order!" See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr D & Ms F
London

"Lion encounter at Tented camp"

1 night Arrived 15 Aug 2013
"Lovely setup for the tented camp.

Perhaps one of the nicest lodges we stayed at although it might be a bit overpriced." See all these reviews: 7n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs B &co
Switzerland

"Onguma Tented Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 3 Aug 2013
"It was great. Nice tented camp : Unfortunately, the cold weather made the night in the tents very fresh

The game drive in the reserve was great but we didn't enjoy the etosha park -too touristic-" See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs L
Paris

"Onguma Tented Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 18 Jul 2013
"Designer camp on the Onguma reserve next to Etosha.
On the positive side, the tents are great and you see wildlife both at the private water hole and while driving to Etosha.

However we were not impressed by the food, which tries to be pretentious but lacks quality.

Also note that this one out of several Onguma franchises, which means that you will not get the personal touch of a smaller camp nor the intense interaction with other guests at an owner-run camp.

Reasons to stay here: be close to Etosha and wildlife.
We were in Tent 5" See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia; 6n in Botswana; 3n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Ms W & Dr F
San Fran

"Onguma Tented Camp"

1 night Arrived 9 May 2013
"To be fair, we spent little time at Onguma. The rooms and lounge areas are very chic, and the food was the best we had in Namibia, really very good.

All of the staff were extremely nice and I like the fact that the Onguma operation goes to great lengths to train and employ local people. But we arrived in the late afternoon after a long drive through Etosha and departed in the next morning, so I don't think we took advantage of all the camp had to offer." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs L
Staffs

"Onguma Tented Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 7 Nov 2012
"Very nice camp but spoilt somewhat by thousands of bugs everywhere - very unpleasant at dinner and in the room, not helped by the staff leaving an outside light on directly by the door. The second night we requested this to be left off and it reduced the number considerably.

The room itself was extremely hot and airless and the fan was useless! The pool area was relaxing and very welcome in the heat." See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Mr & Mrs T
Oxon

"Finally we see dik-dik"

2 nights Arrived 24 Oct 2012
"It may seem minor, but we saw here not just the wonderful and varied animals at the pans, but also the animal on my wishlist for this safari. It's always good when a guide asks what you want to see. It's not always the case you are lucky. In this case we were lucky, and the guide was aware we were interested - giving us plenty of time.

The rooms, service and food were great. The pick-up / drop-off to the rooms was very well organised - in some camps I have found this a little confused, but here it was well regimented and worked for us.

We enjoyed the opportunity of a night drive, since this is not very widely offered." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
The Leemings
Kent

"Onguma Tented Camp review"

1 night Arrived 4 Oct 2012
"We arrived here after a very interesting drive through Etosha where we saw some fascinating elephant behavior.

It is comfortable & well appointed but didn't have the "intimate" feel of many of the other camps. Our evening drive was very low on sightings although our guide was interesting & informative." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr K
Channel Islands

"Relaxation & no ash."

2 nights Arrived 15 Sep 2012
"This is a lovely camp with great facilities and lovely staff. The only downside is that there were no animals inside the reserve - they are definitely there but in two days we saw a couple of lion and a brief rhino sighting - the later is part of a rehabilitation project and as the central fence is removed the sightings could be more difficult until the rhino become used to the vehicles.

Great location and food." See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs LN
London

"Onguma Tented Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 28 Sep 2011
"We were surprised at how close to the gate the entrance to Onguma was. You then have an interesting 30 minute drive to the camp from the entrance and a variety of game can be seen on the way.

Onguma has a nice sitting area, restaurant area and a small but welcome pool all with a great view of the waterhole. The small waterhole had a variety of game that visited during the day and the night. Keep an eye out for the honey badgers!

The staff were lovely especially Alphaeus who was kind, gentle and efficient.

The tents are large, nicely appointed and very comfortable indeed. The outdoor showers are a lovely touch although the indoor shower and bath are great too. There is a coffee/tea station in each tent and electricity sockets available. There are no mosquito nets here which might be useful and reassuring.

We went on one game drive into Etosha with the guide. The drive was good as the guides share information so you see things you may have missed by yourself. We found the drive too short for our enthusiastic selves. You left at 7:30 and returned by 10:30/11:00. By the time you had done the 2 X 1/2 hr drives to the gate and completed the formalities at Naumutoni on returning you only had 2 hours in the park so we drove ourselves in after that. Having said that you do see game on the way into and out of the park and we did see 5 lions on Onguma property." See all these reviews: 22n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 41-50 of 79
93%
79 reviews of Onguma Tented Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
57
16
5
1
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Etosha National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

Set within Etosha National Park, Okaukuejo Camp is a large, well-equipped restcamp, with a productive floodlit waterhole.


83% (639 reviews)
Halali Camp

Halali Camp

Halali is a large, government-run restcamp in a convenient central location inside Etosha National Park.


79% (319 reviews)
Mushara Bush Camp

Mushara Bush Camp

The family-friendly Mushara Bush Camp offers a beautifully designed lodge, friendly service and a great base from which to explore Etosha National Park.


94% (237 reviews)
Ongava Tented Camp

Ongava Tented Camp

Built around a waterhole Ongava Tented Camp offers good service, delicious food, comfortable rooms, easy access to Etosha and wildlife in camp.


93% (146 reviews)
Ongava Lodge

Ongava Lodge

Ongava is a smart lodge with fantastic views that offers a range of driving and walking safaris on its own reserve, and guided drives in Etosha.


92% (144 reviews)
Dolomite Camp

Dolomite Camp

Opened in 2011, Dolomite Camp allows visitors access to the far west side of Etosha National Park, which was previously off limits to most visitors.


86% (94 reviews)
Mushara Lodge

Mushara Lodge

Not far from the entrance to Etosha, Mushara Lodge offers comfortable and tastefully decorated rooms in a convenient location for exploring the park.


92% (85 reviews)
Namutoni Camp

Namutoni Camp

Centred on an old fort, the government run Namutoni Camp is located just inside Etosha National Park, close to Fisher's Pan.


82% (82 reviews)
Onguma Bush Camp

Onguma Bush Camp

For great wildlife viewing without breaking the bank, the affordable and understated luxury of Onguma Bush Camp could be perfect.


93% (77 reviews)
Hobatere Lodge

Hobatere Lodge

To the west of Etosha National Park, on the edge of Damaraland, Hobatere Lodge offers good game-viewing on its own reserve.


90% (67 reviews)
Mushara Outpost

Mushara Outpost

Mushara Outpost is a comfortable, stylish lodge, and a good base from which to explore nearby Etosha National Park on your own or with a guided safari.


93% (55 reviews)
Onguma Tree Top Camp

Onguma Tree Top Camp

For a bird’s eye view across African bush, the stilted rooms at Onguma Tree Top are truly special.


97% (42 reviews)
Onguma The Fort

Onguma The Fort

The Fort is the jewel in the crown of the Onguma lodges, and arguably the whole of eastern Etosha.


95% (35 reviews)
Onguma Etosha Aoba

Onguma Etosha Aoba

From its woodland setting on the Onguma Reserve, Etosha Aoba is within easy striking distance of Namibia’s flagship national park.


89% (32 reviews)
Taleni Etosha Village

Taleni Etosha Village

Only 4km from Etosha's southern entrance, Taleni Etosha Village is an affordable base from which to explore the park.


93% (26 reviews)
Etosha Safari Lodge

Etosha Safari Lodge

A short drive from Etosha National Park's southern entrance, Etosha Safari Lodge is a convenient base from which to explore the park.


84% (24 reviews)
Etosha Safari Camp

Etosha Safari Camp

Funky, low-key and very original, Etosha Safari Camp is well placed for visiting Etosha National Park on a self-drive or guided safari.


87% (23 reviews)
Little Ongava

Little Ongava

The beautifully located and luxurious Little Ongava is a stunning place to stay in order to explore Etosha National Park and the private Ongava Reserve.


97% (23 reviews)
Safarihoek Lodge

Safarihoek Lodge

In the middle of the Etosha Heights Reserve, Safarihoek Lodge offers comfortable accommodation and excellent game-viewing.


95% (21 reviews)
Mokuti Etosha Lodge

Mokuti Etosha Lodge

With 106 rooms, child-friendly Mokuti Etosha Lodge is more like a hotel than a lode. Facilities to include a gym, spa, tennis courts and even a snake park.


92% (10 reviews)
Mountain Lodge

Mountain Lodge

In the heart of the Etosha Heights Reserve, Mountain Lodge offers the chance for game drives and bush walks away from some of the crowds of Etosha.


97% (7 reviews)
Andersson's at Ongava

Andersson's at Ongava

With game drives on both its private reserve and in Etosha, Andersson's at Ongava also offers access to the Ongava Research Centre.


100% (5 reviews)
Etosha Garden Hotel

Etosha Garden Hotel

Safari in Etosha National Park Namibia, whilst based at the nearby Etosha Garden Lodge.


60% (4 reviews)
Vreugde Guest Farm

Vreugde Guest Farm

Vreugde Guest Farm is a delightful owner-run and working sheep farm where you can expect a warm welcome and charming hospitality.


95% (4 reviews)
Villa Mushara

Villa Mushara

Villa Mushara offers luxury in a peaceful and isolated location. It is a good choice for honeymooners & those wishing to indulge themselves.


93% (3 reviews)
Toshari Lodge

Toshari Lodge

Safari in Etosha National Park Namibia, whilst based at Etosha Gateway Lodge.


80% (1 review)
Onkoshi Camp

Onkoshi Camp

Onkoshi Camp is owned and run by Namibia Wildlife Resorts. Built on elevated wooden platforms it overlooks Etosha Pan.


No reviews yet
Etosha Oberland Lodge

Etosha Oberland Lodge

A short drive from Etosha National Park's southern entrance, Etosha Onderland Lodge promises a convenient base from which to explore the park.


No reviews yet
Safari House

Safari House

The private Safari House on the Etosha Heights reserve is a great option families or friends travelling together.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa