This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Onguma Tented Camp
Onguma Tented Camp
Onguma Tented Camp
Onguma Tented Camp

Reviews of Onguma Tented Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

103 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Onguma Tented Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 27 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Onguma Tented Camp.
Lion

64% success

Leopard

25% success

Cheetah

33% success

Giraffe

96% success

Zebra

96% success

Oryx

92% success

Wildebeest

88% success

Elephant

72% success

Eland

42% success

Spotted Hyena

33% success

Roan antelope

30% success

Black Rhino

25% success

Sable antelope

25% success

White Rhino

23% success

Brown Hyena

14% success

Aardvark

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Showing 51-60 of 103
Duration
Arrival date
Mr P & Mrs E
Camden

"Onguma Tented Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 25 May 2015
"Beautiful place, very relaxing, good guides" See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs F
UK

"Very comfortable stay at Onguma Tented Camp"

2 nights Arrived 18 May 2015
"Excellent accommodation with good equipment-our tent and the dining/guest area overlooked a waterhole.

Very friendly helpful staff of whom David and a trainee stood out." See all these reviews: 28n in Namibia; 5n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr MW & Mr M
UK

"Lots of superficial gloss but no substance"

2 nights Arrived 27 Apr 2015
"This was the only place that disappointed us. When we first arrived, we thought, yes, this is it, but the impression soon changed. It is tastefully decorated and is undoubtedly smart but there is no substance beyond this. I'd say there is a problem with the management here. This was the only place where there clearly wasn't a team. And there was a level of arrogance. When we arrived at every other lodge, we were so warmly welcomed and they all had both our names correct and they had all received a note of my dietary requirements from you.

Here we were down as Mr and Mrs McDowall-Wilson - it's not something that bothers me but I thought it indicative (interestingly enough, when we left, the bill was made out to Mr and Mr McDowall-Wilson, progress of some sort). We were asked if we had any dietary requirements and when I said I can't eat fish or seafood, she said, well, that won't be a problem as there is always a choice. Except that that evening one of the courses was seafood and there was no choice! People don't listen. It's not a problem for me when I travel, you have to be adaptable, and I can be quite happy with a cheese sandwich, but there was an attitude problem here. And anyway the helping was so small that I probably wouldn't have been sick if I'd eaten it.

The food was the best presented on our trip but not the best otherwise. And helpings of meals that were included (we were on half board) were meagre and in some instances minute. At every other lodge or camp they were generous to the point of being copious. The lunch that we had, and paid for, was a huge helping but it was not very appetising: it was a single course of pasta with a mushroom sauce that was just a glutinous mound on the plate. They made a big fuss of their wine cellar but in fact the wine selection was nothing special.

The staff in the dining room were sweet and one of them in particular made a real effort to be helpful but he was clearly out of his depth; he was trying so hard but he was a complete bundle of nerves. We felt that he hadn't had enough training, which of course isn't his fault, and we ended up feeling sorry for him. On top of this there was a language barrier. His name was Portuguese so maybe he was from Angola.

The staff were a complete contrast to all the other lodges we stayed in. Even the guide was not as informative or as knowledgeable. On the morning drive into the park we did see a lot of game but mainly because he was in radio contact with other guides, so he knew where to go.

As we were here on a half-board basis we had to pay extra for everything and none of it was good value. As we'd driven to Onguma from Ongava through the park, we know how much the entry fees are, and they are a tiny fraction of what we had to pay for that half-day drive in Etosha while we were at Onguma. You don't mind paying more than the average for something special but here the prices were very high for nothing that was any better than we'd had included in the price elsewhere, in fact everything was all inferior in quality (and quantity).

There are other minor negative points I could make but I don't want to accentuate the bad. Overall we weren't impressed by the place and wouldn't recommend it to anyone else. It's a shame because it looks so nice but it really is a case of a superficial gloss and nothing much behind it. At other lodges the staff were small in number but they made up for it by working as a team whereas here the tiny number of staff contributed to a strong feeling of niggardliness." See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Activities:
Poor
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Mr B
Hertfordshire

"Great spot but not much to do!"

2 nights Arrived 18 Dec 2014
"This camp is just outside Lidequist Gate entrance to Etosha. Beautiful spot with own waterhole which attracts different antelope species and birds. Very comfortable lodges.

Food above average but limited choice. We had opted to go on rhino expedition in the afternoon at 4.00 but were kept waiting with little information why the driver had not arrived. Then informed he would be another 20 minutes. No show. Then informed another driver was on his way. No show. Then informed it was cancelled. Returned to our lodge. Some 15 minutes later (by now c5.15pm) a driver arrived and asked if we still wanted to go - we said no thanks. No apology offered by staff." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia; 4n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Poor
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Mrs & Mr W
Dorset

"Glorious Setting"

2 nights Arrived 15 Nov 2014
"Like all the Onguma accommodation, our 'tent' allowed us to sit and while the time away watching the waterhole - not the most exciting selection of animals, but beautiful all the same.

Service was a cut above and the food was excellent." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia; 3n in Botswana; 3n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs H
Maningtree

"Safari chic deserved"

2 nights Arrived 28 Oct 2014
"Guides not as well trained or motivated as those we met on Wilderness camps.

Relaxed intimate setting round ever varying waterhole activity" See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Nick & Kate
Sussex

"Onguma Tented Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 28 Sep 2014
"This was one of the most beautiful camps we stayed at on our entire trip. The central area was large and stylish, the dining area most attractive, overlooking the large waterhole, and the lovely rooms wonderfully sited around the same waterhole. The whole camp was well designed and had many individual touches.

Food was good to very good. Some of the staff had poor English, so it was not always possible to make yourself understood, but there was no shortage of effort, and everyone worked to help us have a good time. Drinks around the campfire was a lovely moment. Dining was separate, although we combined tables with another couple we had met over drinks.

The afternoon game drive we took netted three lions just by the camp, as well as a marvellous pair of bat-eared foxes, jackals and a brooding group of white-backed vultures quite low down in the palm trees. But game was by no means plentiful." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Mr M & Ms B
Brussels

"Onguma Tented Camp - the high point of trip"

2 nights Arrived 24 Aug 2014
"The camp was beautifully constructed and tastefully decorated.

The rooms were spotlessly clean and had Wi-Fi access, a safe and tea-making facilities. The staff were professional and friendly but not overbearing. The guide was knowledgeable and pleasant to talk to. The food was delicious.

We highly recommend this camp. Staying at Onguma was the high point of our holiday." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
The J Family
Herts

"So disappointing."

2 nights Arrived 3 Aug 2014
"Great location just by the park gate. Nicely situated next to a small waterhole. But after Andersons and Damaraland camp this was a complete disappointment.

This camp was stuffy and formal, with absolutely no atmosphere, and a poor recommendation for a large family group. The staff were very polite but very quiet and reserved. I wouldn't have liked this camp even if I'd been in a couple. It was just too quiet and restrained - trying to be something that it wasn't.

The rooms are huge , so they were being pretty inflexible insisting that we had to have 4 rooms, rather than allowing the 3 kids to share and having 3 rooms between us - as we did at all other lodges. I wasn't that keen on sharing my room with a very active rodent, which was very happy coming and going through a gap in the canvas - but more concerned that if a large mouse could get in, then so could a snake...

It turned out that the 4 gunshots we heard before dinner marked the demise of a spitting cobra which was trying to attack the chef - apparently it would have been looking for mice - presumably like the one I was sharing my room with. The food was nice, but spoilt by the lack of atmosphere - so all the couples ate in silence and then went. Not comfortable or relaxed.

A real shame, as we were anticipating that this camp would be a real highlight. I imagine it was the most expensive place we stayed, but the least enjoyable. Not a good recommendation. Not sure why they insisted that we had to be accompanied by a guard when going to and from our rooms - yes, of course there are animals out there, but non of the other camps insisted on this. He clearly wasn't armed anyway - and it just contributed to the formality." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Poor

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Poor
Rooms:
Poor
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Poor
Mr & Mrs C
E Sussex

"Onguma Tented Camp is splendid"

3 nights Arrived 21 Jul 2014
"What a lovely place to stay.

Great staff, particularly Cacious (sorry if misspelt) who had to deal with a rather unpleasant American and handled it with great dignity." See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 51-60 of 103
92%
103 reviews of Onguma Tented Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
72
24
6
1
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Etosha National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

Set within Etosha National Park, Okaukuejo Resort is a large camp with a productive, floodlit waterhole.


83% (701 reviews)
Halali Camp

Halali Camp

The smallest of Etosha's erstwhile restcamps, overlooking its own floodlit waterhole, Halali has a superb location near the centre of Etosha Pan.


79% (330 reviews)
Mushara Bush Camp

Mushara Bush Camp

The family-friendly Mushara Bush Camp offers great value and is an excellent base from which to explore Etosha National Park.


94% (261 reviews)
Ongava Lodge

Ongava Lodge

With fantastic views over a private reserve bordering Etosha, the smart Ongava Lodge offers driving and walking safaris on the reserve, and guided drives in Etosha.


92% (158 reviews)
Ongava Tented Camp

Ongava Tented Camp

Set around a waterhole on a private reserve, the small Ongava Tented Camp combines understated comfort with activities that include walks and night drives.


93% (153 reviews)
Dolomite Camp

Dolomite Camp

Opened in 2011, Dolomite Camp allows visitors access to the far west side of Etosha National Park, which was previously off limits to most visitors.


86% (97 reviews)
Mushara Lodge

Mushara Lodge

Close to the eastern entrance to Etosha, the comfortable Mushara Lodge is well-placed for exploring the park in your own vehicle or on a guided drive.


93% (96 reviews)
Namutoni Camp

Namutoni Camp

Centred on an old fort, the government run Namutoni Camp is located just inside Etosha National Park, close to Fisher's Pan.


82% (89 reviews)
Onguma Bush Camp

Onguma Bush Camp

For great wildlife viewing without breaking the bank, the affordable and understated luxury of Onguma Bush Camp could be perfect.


94% (84 reviews)
Hobatere Lodge

Hobatere Lodge

To the west of Etosha National Park, on the edge of Damaraland, Hobatere Lodge offers good game-viewing on its own reserve.


89% (74 reviews)
Mushara Outpost

Mushara Outpost

Intimate and luxurious, Mushara Outpost is well-placed on a private reserve to explore nearby Etosha National Park on your own or on a guided drive.


94% (68 reviews)
Onguma Camp Kala

Onguma Camp Kala

For a bird’s eye view across African bush, the stilted rooms at Onguma Camp Kala are truly special.


97% (43 reviews)
Onguma The Fort

Onguma The Fort

The Fort is the jewel in the crown of the Onguma lodges, and arguably the whole of eastern Etosha.


96% (41 reviews)
Onguma Forest Camp

Onguma Forest Camp

From its woodland setting on the Onguma Reserve, Forest Camp is within easy striking distance of Namibia’s flagship national park.


88% (36 reviews)
Safarihoek Lodge

Safarihoek Lodge

At the heart of the private Etosha Heights Reserve, Safarihoek Lodge offers comfortable accommodation and excellent game-viewing.


95% (36 reviews)
Taleni Etosha Village

Taleni Etosha Village

Only 4km from Etosha's southern entrance, Taleni Etosha Village is an affordable base from which to explore the park.


93% (26 reviews)
Etosha Safari Lodge

Etosha Safari Lodge

A short drive from Etosha National Park's southern entrance, Etosha Safari Lodge is a convenient base from which to explore the park.


85% (26 reviews)
Little Ongava

Little Ongava

The beautifully located and luxurious Little Ongava is a stunning place to stay in order to explore Etosha National Park and the private Ongava Reserve.


97% (25 reviews)
Etosha Safari Camp

Etosha Safari Camp

Funky, low-key and very original, Etosha Safari Camp is well placed for visiting Etosha National Park on a self-drive or guided safari.


86% (22 reviews)
Andersson's at Ongava

Andersson's at Ongava

With game drives on both its private reserve and in Etosha, Andersson's at Ongava also offers access to the Ongava Research Centre.


94% (18 reviews)
Mountain Lodge

Mountain Lodge

In the heart of the private Etosha Heights Reserve, the family-friendly Mountain Lodge offers game drives and bush walks within an exclusive environment.


97% (14 reviews)
Mokuti Etosha Lodge

Mokuti Etosha Lodge

With 106 rooms, child-friendly Mokuti Etosha Lodge is more like a hotel than a lodge. Facilities to include a gym, spa, tennis courts and even a snake park.


93% (11 reviews)
Etosha Oberland Lodge

Etosha Oberland Lodge

A short drive from Etosha National Park's southern entrance, Etosha Oberland Lodge is a very comfortable base from which to explore the park, with excellent food.


100% (6 reviews)
Vreugde Guest Farm

Vreugde Guest Farm

Vreugde Guest Farm is a delightful owner-run and working sheep farm where you can expect a warm welcome and charming hospitality.


92% (5 reviews)
Etosha Garden Hotel

Etosha Garden Hotel

Safari in Etosha National Park Namibia, whilst based at the nearby Etosha Garden Lodge.


60% (4 reviews)
Villa Mushara

Villa Mushara

Offering luxury on a peaceful private reserve close to Etosha, Villa Mushara is a great choice for honeymooners & those wishing to indulge themselves.


95% (4 reviews)
Etosha King Nehale

Etosha King Nehale

A short drive from the national park's northern entrance, Etosha King Nehale Lodge is an interesting and comfortable base from which to explore the park.


100% (2 reviews)
Safari House

Safari House

The private Safari House on the Etosha Heights reserve is a great option families or friends travelling together.


100% (1 review)
Toshari Lodge

Toshari Lodge

Safari in Etosha National Park Namibia, whilst based at Etosha Gateway Lodge.


80% (1 review)
Onkoshi Camp

Onkoshi Camp

Onkoshi Camp is owned and run by Namibia Wildlife Resorts. Built on elevated wooden platforms it overlooks Etosha Pan.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa