This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Villa Violet
Villa Violet
Villa Violet
Villa Violet
Villa Violet

Reviews of Villa Violet

Wildlife sightings and reviews

100 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Villa Violet and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 51-60 of 100
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs Y
Cricklewoo

"Villa Violet review"

1 night Arrived 19 Oct 2015
"Fairly basic rooms and food, but ideal for one night.

Swimming pool too small to bother with." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia; 3n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Average
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Mr O
Brugge

"Nice lodge to start or finish your trip ."

1 night Arrived 17 Oct 2015
"Arriving there , what a surprise : nice room with little terras , and garden swimming pool . Breakfast was excellent and friendly staff.

Adress to keep in mind ( even for one day more if you want to visit Windhoek )" See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mrs B
Hampshire

"Great overnight stop at end of long flight"

1 night Arrived 17 Oct 2015
"This is nice and convenient stop at the end of a long flight, the rooms are practical clean and tidy, (if a bit violet!). The dining room and garden are spacious and tidy, and secure parking.

The proprietress was very helpful with advice on dinner venues, and instructions on how to get to Joes! I was glad we had taken the later flight a day earlier, so didn't have a long drive on arrival.

It is in a quiet suburb, but convenient for the main roads in and out of town, even has a small pool,not used by us though!" See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs K
Hereford

"Villa Violet - convenient overnight stop"

1 night Arrived 22 Sep 2015
"Good location. Easy to find from airport.

Close to Joe's Beerhouse - a quirky restaurant with good food." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr S & Mrs M
UK

"Convenient and quiet"

2 nights Arrived 15 Sep 2015
"This was a tranquil spot to recover after our journey with places to sit outside and in. Our room did not feel particularly private as its French doors faced the dining room but this was not a major issue as we were either asleep or out and about during our stay. We appreciated the availability of tea and coffee throughout the day as well as a very good breakfast.

We were assisted with recommendations for dinner and a trusted taxi company." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms M & Mr N
Hagley

"Villa Violet review"

1 night Arrived 11 Sep 2015
"They were very welcoming and also very helpful on showing us the route out - the accommodation and breakfast was good" See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mrs J & Mr B
Surrey

"Villa Violet review"

1 night Arrived 8 Sep 2015
"Superb first night in Namibia.

Dinner booked for us along with a taxi and we had a good nights sleep.

Valued the tea available." See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mrs & Mr H
Dundas

"Villa Violet review"

1 night Arrived 6 Sep 2015
"Good location in west Windhoek.

The room was very comfortable and breakfast was good.

It was very close to a good restaurant for dinner - Joe's Beers" See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mrs & Mr S
Kent

"Villa Violet review"

1 night Arrived 29 Aug 2015
"Pleasant one night stay.

Staff went to great trouble to find and book a nice, local restaurant for evening meal on Saturday night." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Ms R & Mrs A
UK

"Great start at Villa Violet"

1 night Arrived 26 Aug 2015
"We spent our first night at Villa Violet and were very happy with the accommodation, food and service. It made as great start to our holiday to rest after the flights and to sort ourselves out for the following two and a half weeks.

Villa Violet is a very pleasant guest house, decorated tastefully and thoughtfully in an attractive style. Our bedroom and bathroom were lovely and spotless. The beds were comfortable and the bed-linen immaculately laundered.

Heidi's welcome was warm and informative. We were shown the common areas as well as our own room and invited to make beverages and help ourselves to homemade cookies (always a winner).

Breakfast was generous and delicious.

An extra point about Villa Violet was that during the course of Heidi's welcome she gave us some good tips to acclimatize us to life in Namibia. These were small things, but very useful, eg we said that we were going into Windhoek for the evening. She told us it was a public holiday and that many shops etc would be closed, suggested where we would find parking and how much we should pay for a 'car guard'. In fact she gave us several tips on dealing with over-enthusiastic sellers to tourists and how to make sure that we did not end up buying things we didn't need or at inflated prices. Because of our interest in getting to know Namibia, Heidi also gave us information about farming in the country and how many farmers diversify into guest or hunting farming. All of this was an excellent introduction for us and many of the things Heidi told us remained with us throughout the trip." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 51-60 of 100
90%
100 reviews of Villa Violet by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
56
37
7
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Windhoek

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Olive Grove

Olive Grove

In a quiet Windhoek suburb, Olive Grove is one of our favourite guesthouses: stylish, with a friendly, welcoming atmosphere and excellent food.


88% (339 reviews)
Galton House

Galton House

Galton House is a cool stylish sanctuary in a quiet suburb of Windhoek with a pool and restaurant.


90% (147 reviews)
Elegant Guesthouse

Elegant Guesthouse

The Elegant Guesthouse is a friendly, comfortable establishment with a lovely, tranquil garden, and is a good choice for an overnight stay in Windhoek.


86% (124 reviews)
River Crossing

River Crossing

On a game reserve between Windhoek and the airport, River Crossing is a convenient yet relaxing place to start or end a trip.


82% (115 reviews)
Haus Sonneneck

Haus Sonneneck

Haus Sonneneck was one of Windhoek's best pensions just a few minutes' drive away from the city centre, however it has now closed.


86% (102 reviews)
Hilltop Guesthouse

Hilltop Guesthouse

A long-standing favourite, the small, owner-run Hilltop Guesthouse is comfortable, smart and good value.


91% (55 reviews)
Heinitzburg Hotel

Heinitzburg Hotel

One of the oldest hotels in Windhoek, the Heinitzberg occupies a great hill-top location but can feel like a relic of a bygone era.


85% (40 reviews)
GocheGanas

GocheGanas

For somewhere to really pamper yourself, Gocheganas Lodge & Spa offers wildlife combined with extensive wellness treatments.


95% (37 reviews)
Olive Exclusive

Olive Exclusive

The Olive Exclusive is perhaps Windhoek's most luxurious boutique hotel but remains a friendly and unpretentious place to stay.


95% (33 reviews)
Etango Ranch Guest Farm

Etango Ranch G. Farm

Etango offers simple, clean, comfortable accommodation and it’s the closest accommodation to Windhoek International Airport.


88% (21 reviews)
Immanuel Wilderness Lodge

Immanuel Wild'ss Lodge

Within easy reach of Windhoek, Immanuel Wilderness Lodge is a good overnight option for those who don't wish to stay in the city.


81% (17 reviews)
Rivendell Guesthouse

Rivendell Guesthouse

Rivendell Guesthouse offers great value, relaxed accommodation in a homely atmosphere with helpful and extremely friendly staff.


89% (17 reviews)
Sun Karros Daan Viljoen

Sun Karros Daan Viljoen

Situated within the Daan Viljoen Nature reserve Sun Karros is a simple lodge with gentle game viewing and bird watching opportunities.


77% (15 reviews)
Avani Windhoek Hotel

Avani Windhoek Hotel

The Avani Windhoek Hotel and Casino lack the personal touch of Windhoeks smaller guesthouses but is well located in the heart of the city.


80% (11 reviews)
Hotel Thule

Hotel Thule

Windhoek’s Hotel Pension Thule offers stunning views across the city and a reputable in-house restaurant, within easy reach of the international airport.


91% (9 reviews)
Pension Palmquell

Pension Palmquell

Stay at the Pension Palmquell in Windhoek, whilst on holiday in Namibia.


89% (9 reviews)
Am Weinberg Boutique Hotel

Am Weinberg

In a quiet upmarket suburb of Klein Windhoek, the stylish Am Weinberg has a friendly, welcoming atmosphere and luxury facilities.


92% (5 reviews)
Omaanda

Omaanda

Omaanda offers luxury accommodation and wildlife viewing within easy reach of the international airport and Windhoek City.


100% (2 reviews)
Desert Express

Desert Express

The Desert Express runs from Windhoek to Swakopmund on set departures. Recently this schedule has been somewhat erratic.


80% (1 review)
Ti Melen Guest House

Ti Melen

Overlooking Avis Dam, Ti Melen is on the outskirts of Windhoek, yet only 10-minutes from the city's amenities.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa