This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Dunia Camp
Dunia Camp
Dunia Camp
Dunia Camp
Dunia Camp
Dunia Camp

Reviews of Dunia Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

47 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Dunia Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Sep-2018, 10 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Dunia Camp.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

90% success

Cheetah

56% success

Wild dog

0% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Buffalo

90% success

Spotted Hyena

90% success

Zebra

80% success

Wildebeest

70% success

Eland

44% success

Black Rhino

40% success

Roan antelope

22% success

Aardvark

0% success

Oryx

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Striped Hyena

0% success

Showing 11-20 of 47
Duration
Arrival date
Mrs P.S.
Baldock

"camp in lion country"

3 nights Arrived 20 Sep 2018
"It has a calm atmosphere even though it has its own pride of 25 lions.

The all female staff were charming and broke into exuberant singing and dancing on several occasions.

Accommodation was very comfortable and reflected some feminine influence.

There were plenty of opportunities to observe large herds of animals in the wide open spaces." See all these reviews: 9n in Tanzania; 5n in Zanzibar; 1n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Cheetah

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Leopard

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Roan antelope

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Dr E
Pennsylvania

"Wonderful caring staff"

2 nights Arrived 12 Mar 2018
"Game viewing was more sparse and limited than Olikira.

We did view a very large pride with several litters of Cubs. Staff was very kind and desired to give us the best possible experience there.

Our driver and Guide was quite nice, but relatively young.

Stopping a bit more frequently to look at birds, smaller game, etc. would have been nice." See all these reviews: 8n in Rwanda; 4n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs C
California

"Dunia Camp review"

1 night Arrived 21 Nov 2017
"All the great things I just wrote about Namiri were replicated at Dunia Camp--awesome staff, great rooms, great food eaten in the company of very interesting fellow travelers from all over the world. I highly recommend Dunia." See all these reviews: 7n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms P
San Francisco

"Best safari experience in Serengeti!"

2 nights Arrived 13 Oct 2016
"Dunia Camp was the highlight of our Tanzania trip!

The Asilia staff, especially our tour guide Alfred and the camp manager Angel , treated us like family from beginning to end. We stayed here two nights for safaris in the Serengeti National Park, and we wished we could have stayed longer because of the service.

The staff even took care of my mom when she wasn't feeling well, tending her with hot teas and extra services. Just exceptional service through and through. We can't wait to explore other Asilia properties!" See all these reviews: 6n in Tanzania; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
The D family
Essex

"Dunia Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 7 Feb 2016
"Dunia is in a beautiful setting but sadly lacked the wildlife we were expecting at time of our visit in February 7,8,9.

Our tent was beautiful, large with nice finish.

The staff could not do enough for us, were always at hand.

The food was very good" See all these reviews: 7n in Tanzania; 7n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Mr & Mrs A
Surrey

"Dunia Camp in the wet season"

3 nights Arrived 2 Dec 2015
"The weather was particularly wet during our stay at Dunia Camp. The camp was being supervised by a relief manager during vacation of the permanent manager. The tent was pleasant and well equipped although one bedside lamp did not work, the radio did not work until we reported it to the manager and the wellington boots (which really were needed as the path to the dining area turned into a river when it rained heavily) were missing.

The bucket showers were fun, with more than enough hot water. The food was good (particularly the bread and cakes) and the breakfast bar looking out over the Serengeti plain at dawn was wonderful. A resident Hyena boldly circled us when we were having drinks around the camp fire, but was well monitored by the staff. The settees and arm chairs in the lounge and library areas became very damp and it was difficult to find somewhere dry to sit. The rugs on the open vehicles were also quite damp in the mornings.

The camp used an open vehicle for our game drives, which was not very appropriate during the afternoon drives when it tended to rain very heavily. We returned totally soaked and cold on the second day, even though ponchos were provided. A covered vehicle was commissioned on our third afternoon at our request, as the rains had been extremely heavy and the roads were totally flooded. Some of the seat belts were missing on the open vehicle that we used on most drives and our rather 'fast' guide, all but threw us out of the vehicle a few times when negotiating the slippery and muddy roads.

The game viewing from this camp was particularly good, with several large prides of lion. The drive to the Seronera air strip took about 75 minutes and was not easy due to the state of the roads." See all these reviews: 10n in Tanzania; 3n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Mr D
Surrey

"Lovely time at Dunia Camp"

3 nights Arrived 3 Sep 2015
"The best facilities of each of the camps I stayed in, probably because it is more of a permanent one. All the staff are lovely, Angel, the camp manager was particularly helpful.

Good food but too much to eat at times. Joshua, the guide was extremely good at spotting and had a wide knowledge of the game and ecology. Some of the roads were horrendous and we had to be rescued after being stuck in the mud.

We were very late back to the camp in the dark and much to the relief of Angel I said I was not worried about it." See all these reviews: 6n in Tanzania; 5n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr Z
California

"Dunia Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 24 Jul 2015
"best camp we've ever stayed at !!" See all these reviews: 7n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
MW&JS
UK

"Great welcome at Dunia"

3 nights Arrived 9 Feb 2015
"Dunia camp is in a great location facing east towards the sunrise. It is in driving distance to very beautiful scenery such as the Simba and Moru Kopjes and has access to many different habitats-rivers , plains woodlands,rocky outcrops. The tents are comfortable although i prefer larger 'windows' to let in more light and there are ample facilities in the mess tent for charging batteries. The food was imaginative and delicious.

Angel the manager was a superb hostess and couldn't do enough to help make our stay memorable -especially as it was my son's first safari experience. On a still warm night we requested to dine outside under the stars and this was arranged.

Lucas our guide was also warm and friendly and readily shared his knowledge with us and was willing to make an early start at 6 am each day and even attempt a longer day trip to the Kusini area in search of the migration.Despite having no 'spotter ' Lucas managed to drive and spot birds and animals well before we did -it would have helped to have a bit more direction than 'over there' but that improved over the three days.

I had advised my son that specific sightings are not guaranteed .However the variety of game was outstanding - lion,leopard,cheetah as well as many other sightings in the first 2 game drives ! A particular highlight included 20 dwarf mongooses frolicking on top of their termite mound home in the evening sun -with one nonchalantly suckling a baby.

We had requested an open vehicle but on arrival at Seronera airstrip Lucas escorted us to a closed one. When i mentioned our preference, Lucas disappeared and came back to tell us that an Asilia open vehicle, which was transporting two Asilia staff to Namiri Plains ,would now be allocated to us. We had met these guys on the flight and are most grateful to them for graciously swapping - thank you Lucas and well done Asilia. Excellent customer relations. It really made a difference.

There are so many positive things to say about Dunia it seems a shame to mention the presence of tsetse flies around camp, which meant we couldn't relax outside our tents ,although the main mess tents were blissfully free of them." See all these reviews: 10n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Bill & Mila
Madrid

"Dunia Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 8 Oct 2014
"Really enjoyed this camp. Well run, friendly and helpfull staff, good food.

Plenty of game, especially wildebeest!" See all these reviews: 7n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Showing 11-20 of 47
94%
47 reviews of Dunia Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
34
11
2
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Tanzania

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Tanzania.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Diving & snorkelling

Diving & snorkelling

Find captivating marine life beneath the waves

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Serengeti Migration Area

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Olakira

Olakira Camp

Comfortable, friendly and relaxed, Olakira Camp moves between the Mara River and the southern Ndutu area, in line with the wildebeest migration.


96% (66 reviews)
Sayari Camp

Sayari Camp

In the northern Serengeti, near the Mara River, luxurious Sayari Camp offers excellent wildife all year – boosted further by the wildebeest migration.


97% (60 reviews)
Nomad Serengeti Safari Camp

Nomad Serengeti Camp

Serengeti Safari Camp is a well-appointed tented camp that moves several times a year to follow the predicted path of the migration.


97% (50 reviews)
Namiri Plains Camp

Namiri Plains Camp

Namiri Plains is one of the best camps in the Serengeti and its remoteness ensures a fantastic wildlife experience away from the crowds.


97% (36 reviews)
Lamai Serengeti

Lamai Serengeti

Set high in the kopjes with fantastic views, Lamai Serengeti offers top service and guiding and good migration sightings from Jul-Oct.


99% (34 reviews)
Ubuntu Camp

Ubuntu Camp

Ubuntu Camp has several locations in the Serengeti, following the wildebeest migration, so it is often in a great location to see the herds.


99% (21 reviews)
Kati Kati Camp

Kati Kati Camp

Kati Kati is a small, very simple bushcamp, which is well-positioned to explore the wildlife-rich Seronera area.


91% (22 reviews)
Ndutu Safari Lodge

Ndutu Safari Lodge

Large and economical, but not luxurious, Ndutu Safari Lodge is well located in the southern Serengeti, so book early to get space.


92% (12 reviews)
Kimondo Camp

Kimondo Camp

Kimondo Camp is based in the remote Lamai Wedge in the northern Serengeti from Jul–Oct, and on the southern Kusini plains from Nov–Mar.


98% (11 reviews)
Alex Walker's Serian Serengeti

Serian Serengeti

Serian Serengeti is a mobile tented operation run by Alex Walker which moves between two locations following the wildebeest migration.


93% (11 reviews)
Klein's Camp

Klein's Camp

Klein's Camp, in a private area of the northern Serengeti, sets high standards. Activities include walks, nights drives and Maasai village visits.


98% (10 reviews)
Serengeti under Canvas

Serengeti under Canvas

Two of the three Serengeti under Canvas camps move through the Serengeti National Park every few months to follow the wildebeest migration.


100% (10 reviews)
Grumeti River Camp

Grumeti River Camp

Grumeti River Camp offers a laid-back atmosphere combined with top service, first-rate food, expert guiding and an excellent location.


93% (9 reviews)
Lemala Nanyukie

Lemala Nanyukie

Lemala Nanyukie is a comfortable and stylish tented camp that opened in 2018 in the central Serengeti.


100% (6 reviews)
Lemala Kuria Hills

Lemala Kuria Hills

Lemala Kuria Hills is a luxury permanent camp that is ideally located for wildlife all year around, but especially during the wildebeest migration.


100% (6 reviews)
Lemala Mara-Ndutu

Lemala Mara-Ndutu

Lemala Mara-Ndutu is a semi-permanent camp that moves between the north and south of the Serengeti to witness the wildebeest migration.


100% (6 reviews)
Lemala Ewanjan

Lemala Ewanjan

Lemala Ewanjan is a comfortable and stylish tented camp in the Seronera area of the central Serengeti National Park.


96% (5 reviews)
Lobo Wildlife Lodge

Lobo Wildlife Lodge

The large Lobo Wildlife Lodge has simple, functional rooms in a stunning location. It's a good base for exploring the north-eastern Serengeti.


72% (5 reviews)
Serengeti Serena Safari Lodge

Serengeti Serena

The Serengeti Serena Safari Lodge is a large, hotel-style lodge and a good family-friendly base from which to explore the central Serengeti.


90% (4 reviews)
Kubu Kubu

Kubu Kubu

Kubu Kubu is a contemporary, tented lodge, well located in the central Seronera area of the Serengeti National Park.


100% (4 reviews)
Mbalageti Lodge

Mbalageti Lodge

Mbalageti is a well-run lodge in a quiet part of the Serengeti's western corridor – an ideal location during the Apr-Jun migration.


93% (3 reviews)
Kusini Camp

Kusini Camp

Kusini Camp is permanent, luxury camp located on a beautiful kopje in a quiet, wildlife-rich corner of the south-west Serengeti.


65% (4 reviews)
Serengeti Sopa Lodge

Serengeti Sopa Lodge

Serengeti Sopa Lodge is an international-style hotel offering good-value accommodation in the central Serengeti, with lovely views of the plains.


100% (3 reviews)
Serengeti Walking Mobile Camp

Serengeti Walking Mobile

This fairly simple camp offers only walking activities, but it's very well done and combines well with more conventional camps or lodges.


87% (3 reviews)
Serengeti Migration Camp

Migration Camp

Serengeti Migration Camp is a smart tented camp, good for the wildebeest migration from Jul–Aug, or to explore the Lobo Kopjes any time.


93% (3 reviews)
Faru Faru Lodge

Faru Faru Lodge

On the north bank of the Grumeti River, Faru Faru is a small, chic hideaway in this exclusive corner of the Serengeti.


100% (3 reviews)
Singita Mara River Tented Camp

Singita Mara River

Singita Mara River Tented Camp is a luxurious camp in the isolated and rewarding Lamai wedge region of the northern Serengeti.


87% (3 reviews)
Serengeti Green Camp

Serengeti Green Camp

Serengeti Green Camp is a comfortable camping experience, in your own private safari camp and at the heart of a great wildlife area.


93% (3 reviews)
Kirurumu Migration Camp

Kirurumu Migration Camp

Kirurumu is a rustic tented camp which moves around the Serengeti twice a year to follow the wildebeest migration.


100% (2 reviews)
Sabora Tented Camp

Sabora Tented Camp

Sabora Tented Camp is a smart tented camp – one of the most luxurious, professional and stylish properties to be found in Tanzania.


100% (2 reviews)
Sasakwa Lodge

Sasakwa Lodge

On a hill looking over the Serengeti plains, Sasakwa Lodge is grand, luxurious safari camp, one of the most opulent properties in Tanzania.


100% (2 reviews)
Four Seasons Safari Lodge Serengeti

Four Seasons Serengeti

The Four Seasons Safari Lodge is the only hotel in the Serengeti offering international facilities such as a gym, spa and children’s club.


100% (1 review)
Seronera Wildlife Lodge

Seronera Wildlife Lodge

Seronera Wildlife Lodge is large hotel-style safari lodge in the heart of the Serengeti, offering good value and a great location.


80% (1 review)
Mkombe's House Lamai

Mkombe's House Lamai

Mkombe's House Lamai is a fully staffed private house in the Wogakuria Kopjes district of Serengeti National Park.


100% (1 review)
Serengeti Bushtops

Bushtops

Serengeti Bushtops is a permanent luxury camp in the northern Serengeti, with spacious and private tents with their own hot tubs.


100% (1 review)
Ndutu Kati Kati

Ndutu Kati Kati

Ndutu Kati Kati is a seasonal tented camp, based in the southern Serenget from Dec-Mar, ideal for the migration as it passes through.


80% (1 review)
Lake Masek Tented Camp

Lake Masek Tented Camp

Ideally located for the wildebeest migration from Dec–Apr, Lake Masek Tented Camp is a good, mid-market safari camp.


100% (1 review)
Olduvai Camp

Olduvai Camp

Olduvai Camp lies between Ngorongoro and the southern Serengeti plains. It's a good base for the southern plains during the rainy season.


60% (1 review)
Mwiba Lodge

Mwiba Lodge

Mwiba Lodge is a luxurious property located on a private concession on the edge of the southern Serengeti.


No reviews yet
Serengeti Pioneer Camp

Serengeti Pioneer Camp

Serengeti Pioneer Camp is a luxurious tented camp in the central Serengeti, styled on African explorers' camps of the early 20th century.


No reviews yet
Taasa Lodge

Taasa Lodge

Taasa Lodge is a slightly quirky option offering guided walks and night game drives, which are not permitted in Serengeti National Park.


No reviews yet
Mara Mara

Mara Mara

Mara Mara is a smart tented camp in the northern Serengeti, situated on a small hill close to the Mara River.


No reviews yet
Nimali Mara

Nimali Mara

Nimali Mara is a luxurious safari lodge in a quiet region of the northern Serengeti with good access to the wildebeest migration.


No reviews yet
Mara Kati Kati

Mara Kati Kati

Mara Kati Kati is a simple bush camp in the northern Serengeti, based from Jul-Oct near the Mara River for the wildebeest migration.


No reviews yet
Nimali Serengeti

Nimali Serengeti

Opened in July 2017, Nimali Serengeti is a smart, permanent tented camp located in the Seronera area of the central Serengeti.


No reviews yet
Kirawira Camp

Kirawira Camp

Set high on a hill, in the Serengeti's western corridor, Kirawira is a relatively large tented camp in the Serena group.


No reviews yet
Mbuzi Mawe

Mbuzi Mawe

Mbuze Mawe is a comfortable tented camp in a convenient, central-north location when driving through the Serengeti.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa