This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Dunia Camp
Dunia Camp
Dunia Camp
Dunia Camp
Dunia Camp
Dunia Camp
Dunia Camp

Reviews of Dunia Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

44 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Dunia Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Sep-2018, 7 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Dunia Camp.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

86% success

Cheetah

43% success

Wild dog

0% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Buffalo

86% success

Spotted Hyena

86% success

Zebra

86% success

Wildebeest

71% success

Eland

33% success

Black Rhino

29% success

Roan antelope

29% success

Aardvark

0% success

Oryx

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Striped Hyena

0% success

Showing 21-30 of 44
Duration
Arrival date
Family S
Sheffield

"Deep in the Serengeti, a warm welcome awaits!"

2 nights Arrived 21 Aug 2014
"Dunia camp blends so well into the landscape, you can genuinely feel alone in the Serengeti; amazing! We were greeted warmly, the staff were lovely and the service was excellent. The food was also exceptional; as well as all the extras, the fish as main course on our first evening and the pork the second were as good as we have had anywhere, ever - how do they do it?!

The camp was a fabulous experience. We loved the quirkiness of the bucket showers, which were perfectly warm and serviceable - the bathrooms are also generally well equipped. The tents were genuinely comfortable and the views of sunrise (from the beds!) were absolutely beautiful. Half an hour after a glowing dawn, the sun rose above a hill opposite the camp, affording a double opportunity to relish the natural beauty.

It was the dry season in the central Serengeti when we were there, so the big herds of wildebeest etc were further north, but we still saw an extensive range of wildlife. For instance, on our last morning, as we headed to the airstrip at Seronera (an hour's journey, but we dawdled and took two) we saw - lions, leopards, cheetahs (yes, all plural!), giraffes, elephants, buffalo, warthogs, baboons, zebra, ostriches, hyenas, jackals, many different antelope and lots of birds. But we came to realise that 'sightings' themselves are only a small part of the story on safari . The knowledge brought by our fantastic guide, Stanford, encouraged us to understand some aspects of the animals' behaviour and that was endlessly fascinating so that even after 7 full days we were still all engaged and involved.

The Serengeti itself was a fascinating landscape with the 'kopjes' (granite tors) providing interest in the central area and the sheer extent of the plains in the south being breath-taking." See all these reviews: 7n in Tanzania; 5n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Dr & Mrs S
Cheshire

"Dunia camp"

4 nights Arrived 28 Jul 2014
"Dunia camp is well run, with excellent and friendly staff.

A particular gold star for fixing the bucket showers for us. We are both rather short, and couldn't reach the shower to turn it on and off. We were given a crate to stand on - but that was a bit hazardous. We mentioned this to the camp manager the next morning, and by the time we returned from the game drive they had rigged up a couple of chains that worked perfectly! I call that customer focus." See all these reviews: 14n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr B
Rayleigh

"Dunia Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 23 Feb 2014
"We arrived at Dunia Camp after a long tiring journey which included the Serengeti.

We had some idea of what to expect after our previous Camp at Lemala Manyara, particularly as both run by the same Company. This Camp appears to be slightly larger and more spread out. Bearing in mind that our two couples had booked almost a year ahead, we found our accommodation to be at both extremes of the camp which we would not have preferred.

We found that the staff, again, could not do enough for you but it did seem to lack some of the personal touches of Lemala. One of the main issues is that there seems to be many more staff and without wearing their name badges on the outside of their clothing, it was difficult to identify them and remember their names.

We were very well looked after and any slight negative comments were minor.

There are always minor issues that could be improved (like running out of some wine and drinks) but when you remember you are staying in the animal's back garden, logistics are not always that easy." See all these reviews: 10n in Tanzania; 1n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr P
Ringwood

"Lovely location"

3 nights Arrived 23 Feb 2014
"We did not find the service quite as good as Lemala Manyara but had an enjoyable stay. We were located in tent 1 on the end so it felt a bit 'on a limb' from a wildlife perspective.

Good location" See all these reviews: 10n in Tanzania; 1n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr MW & Mr M
UK

"Charming all round"

4 nights Arrived 4 Feb 2014
"Of all the camps and lodges we stayed at, we felt that this was the most charming and had the warmest welcome. It isn't trying to be forced 5-star uber-luxury in the African bush and so there's no pretentiousness to the place. You won't forget that you are living in a tent in the African bush.

The best thing here is the staff, who were without exception extremely charming, helpful and welcoming and made you feel you were a guest rather than a client. Our guide was the best we had, as was the vehicle. There was great attention to detail at every level. The food was a marvel. It wasn't trying to be haute cuisine: it was honest, good food, well cooked and presented. There were always imaginative touches that took it above the ordinary. I doff my toque to the chef, who was quite a character.

The only negative point concerned the hot water. We had to ask for flasks of hot water every morning and the bucket showers should have been better. We've had bucket showers before and have no problem with them, and let's face it they can contribute to the African safari experience, but here they haven't got it right. A small gripe but an important one." See all these reviews: 12n in Tanzania; 1n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Mrs J
Bantry

"Fantastic food at luxury camp"

4 nights Arrived 8 Oct 2013
"We thought Dunia could not be surpassed for friendliness and professionalism of staff, for the best food EVER, for comfort of tents, the quality of guiding and altogether a place which will stay in our memories for a very long time." See all these reviews: 11n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Dr W
West Glamorgan

"Dunia Camp review"

1 night Arrived 7 Sep 2013
"A disappointment after Olakira - staff need more training - eg buffet had no butter and no bowls for fruit and staff seemed not to notice.

Also food was served like a school dinner no real service." See all these reviews: 9n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Mr & Mrs H
Hampton

"Dunia Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 30 Aug 2013
"We really enjoyed Dunia Camp.

Peter is an excellent host and gave us a very clear introduction to camp life. The camp is very well-run. We had had some apprehension about the bucket showers but they were very easy to use and hot water was always extremely promptly provided.

The staff were all very welcoming and seemed to enjoy helping us to learn a new word of Swahili every day." See all these reviews: 10n in Tanzania; 1n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
The A family
Cheshire

"Delightful Dunia!"

2 nights Arrived 21 Feb 2013
"The camp at Dunia nestles at the foot of a hill, with views from all 8 guest tents across the plains. When we first arived, there were hundreds of zebra grazing right outside! The tents are very spacious and extremely well equipped and all with great views. The staff at this camp were led by Richard, the camp manager, who was extremely warm and welcoming and was also a great racconteur, as we found out when he joined us for dinner. His friendliness and unobtrusive attentiveness filtered down through all the staff.

The food was excellent and the standard of bread and cake baking amazing. They are justifiably proud of their tented kitchen and are very happy to show guests around it. Richard found out it was my husband's birthday, so not only did we have a cake but it was delivered in style by all the camp staff singing, dancing and jiggling around the dining table that evening! A very special occasion..." See all these reviews: 6n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
TV & Family
Portugal

"Spacious airy tents surrounded by birdlife"

2 nights Arrived 3 Feb 2013
"The scenery here was absolutely beautiful and the camp was wonderfully situated amongst trees at the bottom of a hill - an incredibly peaceful spot. The tents were enormous and included a large netted sitting area. We discovered later that this was due to the tsetse flies that packed a horrible bite, but still we enjoyed reading in this area in the late afternoon lying on the day bed. As with the other camps, the staff were lovely and very helpful. We didn't think the management was as organised as at the other camps as requests for showers and tea etc. weren't always followed up on and sometime service over dinner was a little slow, but it didn't bother us unduly.

Whilst we were here, one of the guests had a birthday and we were all treated to the staff ushering in a cake with incredible singing and dancing which was just a joy to be part of. It made for a very memorable evening.

This was the camp that we saw a leopard which was a fantastic sight. We also got some good sightings of kingfishers." See all these reviews: 10n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 21-30 of 44
93%
44 reviews of Dunia Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
31
11
2
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Tanzania

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Tanzania.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Diving & snorkelling

Diving & snorkelling

Find captivating marine life beneath the waves

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Serengeti Migration Area

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Olakira

Olakira Camp

Comfortable, friendly and relaxed, Olakira Camp moves between the Mara River and the southern Ndutu area, in line with the wildebeest migration.


96% (60 reviews)
Sayari Camp

Sayari Camp

In the northern Serengeti, near the Mara River, luxurious Sayari Camp offers excellent wildife all year – boosted further by the wildebeest migration.


98% (59 reviews)
Nomad Serengeti Safari Camp

Nomad Serengeti Camp

Serengeti Safari Camp is a well-appointed tented camp that moves several times a year to follow the predicted path of the migration.


97% (49 reviews)
Namiri Plains Camp

Namiri Plains Camp

Namiri Plains is one of the best camps in the Serengeti and its remoteness ensures a fantastic wildlife experience away from the crowds.


97% (34 reviews)
Lamai Serengeti

Lamai Serengeti

Set high in the kopjes with fantastic views, Lamai Serengeti offers top service and guiding and good migration sightings from Jul-Oct.


99% (33 reviews)
Ubuntu Camp

Ubuntu Camp

Ubuntu Camp has several locations in the Serengeti, following the wildebeest migration, so it is often in a great location to see the herds.


99% (22 reviews)
Kati Kati Camp

Kati Kati Camp

Kati Kati is a small, simple camp, which is well-positioned to explore the wildlife-rich Seronera area.


91% (20 reviews)
Ndutu Safari Lodge

Ndutu Safari Lodge

Large and economical, but not luxurious, Ndutu Safari Lodge is well located in the southern Serengeti, so book early to get space.


93% (11 reviews)
Kimondo Camp

Kimondo Camp

Kimondo Camp is based in the remote Lamai Wedge in the northern Serengeti from Jul–Oct, and on the southern Kusini plains from Nov–Mar.


98% (11 reviews)
Kleins Camp

Klein's Camp

Klein's Camp, in a private area of the northern Serengeti, sets high standards. Activities include walks, nights drives and Maasai village visits.


98% (10 reviews)
Serengeti under Canvas

Serengeti under Canvas

Two of the three Serengeti under Canvas camps move through the Serengeti National Park every few months to follow the wildebeest migration.


100% (10 reviews)
Alex Walker's Serian Serengeti

Serian Serengeti

Serian Serengeti is a mobile tented operation run by Alex Walker which moves between two locations following the wildebeest migration.


98% (9 reviews)
Grumeti River Camp

Grumeti River Camp

Grumeti River Camp offers a laid-back atmosphere combined with top service, first-rate food, expert guiding and an excellent location.


93% (9 reviews)
Lobo Wildlife Lodge

Lobo Wildlife Lodge

The large Lobo Wildlife Lodge has simple, functional rooms in a stunning location. It's a good base for exploring the north-eastern Serengeti.


72% (5 reviews)
Lemala Kuria Hills

Lemala Kuria Hills

Lemala Kuria Hills is a luxury permanent camp that is ideally located for wildlife all year around, but especially during the wildebeest migration.


100% (5 reviews)
Lemala Ewanjan

Lemala Ewanjan

Lemala Ewanjan is a comfortable and stylish tented camp in the Seronera area of the central Serengeti National Park.


100% (4 reviews)
Lemala Nanyukie

Lemala Nanyukie

Lemala Nanyukie is a comfortable and stylish tented camp that opened in 2018 in the central Serengeti.


100% (4 reviews)
Kubu Kubu

Kubu Kubu

Kubu Kubu is a contemporary, tented lodge, well located in the central Seronera area of the Serengeti National Park.


100% (4 reviews)
Kusini Camp

Kusini Camp

Kusini Camp is permanent, luxury camp located on a beautiful kopje in a quiet, wildlife-rich corner of the south-west Serengeti.


65% (4 reviews)
Lemala Mara-Ndutu

Lemala Mara-Ndutu

Lemala Mara-Ndutu is a semi-permanent camp that moves between the north and south of the Serengeti to witness the wildebeest migration.


100% (4 reviews)
Mbalageti Lodge

Mbalageti Lodge

Mbalageti is a well-run lodge in a quiet part of the Serengeti's western corridor – an ideal location during the Apr-Jun migration.


80% (4 reviews)
Serengeti Serena Safari Lodge

Serengeti Serena

The Serengeti Serena Safari Lodge is a large, hotel-style lodge and a good family-friendly base from which to explore the central Serengeti.


90% (4 reviews)
Singita Mara River Tented Camp

Singita Mara River

Singita Mara River Tented Camp is a luxurious camp in the isolated and rewarding Lamai wedge region of the northern Serengeti.


87% (3 reviews)
Serengeti Walking Mobile Camp

Serengeti Walking Mobile

This fairly simple camp offers only walking activities, but it's very well done and combines well with more conventional camps or lodges.


87% (3 reviews)
Serengeti Sopa Lodge

Serengeti Sopa Lodge

Serengeti Sopa Lodge is an international-style hotel offering good-value accommodation in the central Serengeti, with lovely views of the plains.


100% (3 reviews)
Serengeti Green Camp

Serengeti Green Camp

Serengeti Green Camp is a comfortable camping experience, in your own private safari camp and at the heart of a great wildlife area.


93% (3 reviews)
Serengeti Migration Camp

Migration Camp

Serengeti Migration Camp is a smart tented camp, good for the wildebeest migration from Jul–Aug, or to explore the Lobo Kopjes any time.


93% (3 reviews)
Faru Faru Lodge

Faru Faru Lodge

On the north bank of the Grumeti River, Faru Faru is a small, chic hideaway in this exclusive corner of the Serengeti.


100% (3 reviews)
Sabora Tented Camp

Sabora Tented Camp

Sabora Tented Camp is a smart tented camp – one of the most luxurious, professional and stylish properties to be found in Tanzania.


100% (2 reviews)
Sasakwa Lodge

Sasakwa Lodge

On a hill looking over the Serengeti plains, Sasakwa Lodge is grand, luxurious safari camp, one of the most opulent properties in Tanzania.


100% (2 reviews)
Olduvai Camp

Olduvai Camp

Olduvai Camp lies between Ngorongoro and the southern Serengeti plains. It's a good base for the southern plains during the rainy season.


60% (1 review)
Serengeti Bushtops

Bushtops

Serengeti Bushtops is a permanent luxury camp in the northern Serengeti, with spacious and private tents with their own hot tubs.


100% (1 review)
Ndutu Kati Kati

Ndutu Kati Kati

Ndutu Kati Kati is a seasonal tented camp, based in the southern Serenget from Dec-Mar, ideal for the migration as it passes through.


80% (1 review)
Four Seasons Safari Lodge Serengeti

Four Seasons Serengeti

The Four Seasons Safari Lodge is the only hotel in the Serengeti offering international facilities such as a gym, spa and children’s club.


100% (1 review)
Lake Masek Tented Camp

Lake Masek Tented Camp

Ideally located for the wildebeest migration from Dec–Apr, Lake Masek Tented Camp is a good, mid-market safari camp.


100% (1 review)
Kirurumu Migration Camp

Kirurumu Migration Camp

Kirurumu is a rustic tented camp which moves around the Serengeti twice a year to follow the wildebeest migration.


100% (1 review)
Mkombe's House Lamai

Mkombe's House Lamai

Mkombe's House Lamai is a fully staffed private house in the Wogakuria Kopjes district of Serengeti National Park.


100% (1 review)
Seronera Wildlife Lodge

Seronera Wildlife Lodge

Seronera Wildlife Lodge is large hotel-style safari lodge in the heart of the Serengeti, offering good value and a great location.


80% (1 review)
Mara Kati Kati

Mara Kati Kati

Mara Kati Kati is a simple bush camp in the northern Serengeti, based from Jul-Oct near the Mara River for the wildebeest migration.


No reviews yet
Kirawira Camp

Kirawira Camp

Set high on a hill, in the Serengeti's western corridor, Kirawira is a relatively large tented camp in the Serena group.


No reviews yet
Nimali Mara

Nimali Mara

Nimali Mara is a luxurious safari lodge in a quiet region of the northern Serengeti with good access to the wildebeest migration.


No reviews yet
Mwiba Lodge

Mwiba Lodge

Mwiba Lodge is a luxurious property located on a private concession on the edge of the southern Serengeti.


No reviews yet
Mara Mara

Mara Mara

Mara Mara is a smart tented camp in the northern Serengeti, situated on a small hill close to the Mara River.


No reviews yet
Mbuzi Mawe

Mbuzi Mawe

Mbuze Mawe is a comfortable tented camp in a convenient, central-north location when driving through the Serengeti.


No reviews yet
Serengeti Pioneer Camp

Serengeti Pioneer Camp

Serengeti Pioneer Camp is a luxurious tented camp in the central Serengeti, styled on African explorers' camps of the early 20th century.


No reviews yet
Taasa Lodge

Taasa Lodge

Taasa Lodge is a slightly quirky option offering guided walks and night game drives, which are not permitted in Serengeti National Park.


No reviews yet
Nimali Serengeti

Nimali Serengeti

Opened in July 2017, Nimali Serengeti is a smart, permanent tented camp located in the Seronera area of the central Serengeti.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa