This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Chobe Princesses
Chobe Princesses
Chobe Princesses
Chobe Princesses
Chobe Princesses
Chobe Princesses

Reviews of Chobe Princesses

Wildlife sightings and reviews

61 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Chobe Princesses and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jul-2018, 9 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Chobe Princesses.
Lion

50% success

Leopard

60% success

Cheetah

0% success

Wild dog

0% success

Buffalo

100% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Zebra

86% success

Wildebeest

67% success

Sitatunga

25% success

Aardvark

0% success

Brown Hyena

0% success

Eland

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Roan antelope

0% success

Sable antelope

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 61
Duration
Arrival date
Mr H.
Salt Lake City

"Chobe Princesses review"

2 nights Arrived 14 Sep 2022
"Thanks to good advice from EA, we did this last on our two-week trip to the bush, and it was the perfect way to relax and unwind. No LandCruiser 'free massage.' No rush. No big crowds -- there were 7 of us total on board.

The wide waters and open plains along the river kept the middays cooler and the nights milder, and made a breeze almost always available to help. The staff were kind, genuine, friendly, and knowledgeable. The motorboat 'game cruises' gave us a totally different view of many animals we'd seen on our overland safaris -- often wonderfully different, closer, at eye level, with rich and varied behaviors. The rooms are comfortable, clean, quiet, and cozy, with a lovely shower and thoughtful appointments. And the food was superb, diverse, delicious, and beautifully presented.

We were concerned that two nights would be too little, but it was just right. Though the boat-cruise game viewing is amazing, it has a less diverse palette of habitats to view. The shady steep wooded banks were especially rich in birds and lounging crocs; the open savannas and pans along the river bank gave wonderful views of elephants, ungulates, and baboons coming down to drink, or (for the elephants, ford and swim snorkel-style across). The hippo viewing is superior.

But the boat necessarily covers a limited stretch of the banks, and several nearby channels -- this is not a long boat journey down a wild river through jungle, papyrus marsh, and dusty veld, but a rich, small microcosm near a convenient town with lovely coffee-shops and a usefully-sized and efficient airport. This was the perfect wind-down and reprise for our trip; it might be a useful introduction before heading out overland to 'rough it' in the wild." See all these reviews: 15n in Botswana; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

1 sighting

Zebra

1 sighting

Mrs L.
Gordon

"Chobe Princesses review"

5 nights Arrived 17 Aug 2022
"As our last stop on our month long safari, the Chobe Princess houseboat was the level of comfort we were craving for. With no more bumpy and dusty game drives, we could totally relax with smooth boat cruising on the calm waters of the Chobe River. The use of the photo boat with swivelling seats and a gimble for my camera made it even more comfortable.

The houseboat was beautiful and the food excellent. The Chef, Ellis worked pure magic from her kitchen. We stayed in a beautiful room at the bow of the boat. From the comfort of the king sized bed or chairs on our balcony, we could watch wildlife grazing by the river, hippos bobbing in the water and birds diving for prey.

The game drives (cruises) were amazing. Lots of wildlife including lions to be seen from the water. The huge amount of elephants and their antics at Elephant Bay were a favourite along with several water crossings during which only the tips of trunks could be seen. This is a great location for bird watching too with a vast variety seen.

The Chobe Princess offers three optional game drives per day. As a photographer, I would prefer two with extended times. I'm sure this would have been negotiable but we were hesitant to ask as we were not the only persons this would affect.

This was our second time wildlife cruising on the Chobe River and we would not hesitate to do it again." See all these reviews: 13n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Happy Campers
Perth

"Charming Chobe Princess III"

4 nights Arrived 27 Jun 2022
"We enjoyed seeing all the different animals coming down to the Chobe River, and the antics of the hippos and elephants in the river. The river boat provided a different perspective to game viewing in the camps, and the river safari boat with camera mounts was much appreciated.

There was a wide variety of birdlife, from tiny malachite kingfishers to large storks and herons (especially all the storks competing for nesting spaces in the bushes in the middle of the rapids). Large crocodiles were also plentiful.

We saw a leopard lurking in a tree on the banks, then stalking in the bushes behind some small baby elephants, before being spotted and fleeing, with adult elephants in hot pursuit.

Another highlight was watching several troops of baboons, and not least a group of lionesses conducting an extended (unsuccessful) hunt for baboons along the river bank with much alarm barking and acrobatic displays by these baboons in the trees." See all these reviews: 14n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

10 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

10 sightings

Dr K
California

"Chobe Princesses review"

2 nights Arrived 2 May 2022
"This was a relaxing and pleasant experience. Being on the houseboat was a nice alternative to the "African massage" we experienced at other times on our trip.

The room was comfortable and well equipped. The crew was helpful, knowledgable, and kind. We were surprised at how wonderful the food was with excellent service.

Most of the game viewing was excellent though sometimes the animals were somewhat far from the smaller boats. Birding was a highlight." See all these reviews: 6n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

2 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

2 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Sitatunga

Multiple sightings

Mr & Mrs W
Coventry

"Chobe Princess Review"

3 nights Arrived 1 Nov 2019
"A Chobe Princess on the Chobe River was a great experience - we moved to three separate locations over the three days including Elephant Bay. It was especially enjoyable being on the river after sunset and as the sun rises. The crew and guides couldn't have been more helpful and hospitable. The group dining was a great experience enabling us to meet and talk with the other guests. We were fortunate to have the top berth which gave us great views over the river. A particular highlight was seeing 4 lions coming down to the river bank to feed on a dead buffalo at 7am - with calm water and perfect light for photographs." See all these reviews: 7n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

10 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

6 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Lion

6 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mrs JD
W London

"Chobe Princesses review"

3 nights Arrived 20 Sep 2019
"Superb as previously, and in fact the game viewing--particularly the bird life which was better than in Feb 2012, when we last went on this boat and booked by Audley Travel that year

This year, there were great guests as well----all turned out to be Australian judges--Mike is also a lawyer---they were far from boring but were great fun and we had some very intelligent conversations as well----they were great travelling companions

Our room seemed better than before---larger with lots of cupboards and the lovely french doors onto out own private balcony!

One thing to mention:

In Feb 2012, each couple had their own private tender + driver

Since the boat is now owned by the Zambezi Queen (previously it was called the Ichobezi), there are only 2 x boats available for water excursions

One tender is for only 2 people and is not covered----this was luckily our tender

The only other tender was for a max of 6 people, which suited our situation fine, as there were 6 Australians travelling together---this was a covered boat

We would not have been so pleased had we had to share the large tender with 4 other people to be honest----for one thing, I have to stop every now and then to go to the loo---as I have a loo problem---and that would have been awkward for me

The other thing, that doesn't particularly bother us, was that our tender for just the 2 of us was not covered---and some of the
Australian guests in the larger tender, said that they could not have coped in an uncovered boat---and I can see their point to be
honest

I think that as previously, when not owned by the Zambezi Queen, there should be a tender for each couple or whatever

Staff and food were superb + the copious amounts of wine consumed!

Although in Sept 20" See all these reviews: 8n in Zambia; 6n in Mozambique; 3n in Botswana; 3n in Zimbabwe; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

1 sighting

Elephant

1 sighting

Hippo

1 sighting

Mr & Mrs R
Aberdeen

" Chobe Princess was a highlight of our trip"

2 nights Arrived 1 Oct 2018
"We could not fault our time on the four room Chobe Princess house boat which was a very relaxing way to end thee and a half weeks in Namibia. We had cabin one with the balcony and it was very spacey and luxurious with everything we needed. The other cabins looked pleasant as well.

The food and drink were excellent an we always seemed to be eating. All the staff were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. The two top decks were very comfortable and gave great views over the Chobe and river and park and communal lands on each side.

Our itinerary was after going on board we had a drink, were shown around our cabin then had a leisurely lunch as we cruised slowly up river to our mooring location. We then went for a pleasant sunset cruise on the small tender boat and saw a lot of the elephants that Chobe is famous for. The next morning we had a sunrise cruise again in one of the small boats with one other couple. After breakfast we went on our own on a birding boat trip while the other passengers went on a game viewing trip on the other small boat. Back for lunch as we cruised slowly further up the Chobe river. After lunch there was another game viewing sunset trip that included a spectacular viewing of a leopard drinking at the waters edge. A wonderful day during which we were accompanied by Raymond, a great guide with a passion for birds.

The next morning as we cruised back to Kasane we were sad to leave our houseboat." See all these reviews: 22n in Namibia; 2n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

5 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr & Mrs LN
London

"Chobe Princess"

2 nights Arrived 3 Sep 2018
"The 3 Princesses and Queen are based on the Namibian side of the Chobe river. After the very interesting customs experience (into Botswana / out of Botswana / into Namibia in the most interesting way) we joined one of the three Princesses. There were four rooms and we were given the one at the front which had beautiful views, was very clean and bright and had air conditioning. We joined the other guests who were having their lunch. All of the guests dine at one table. We shared the boat with a lovely family of 4 and another nice couple. All were German and went out of their way to speak in English so we were included in any discussions which was very much appreciated.

The 3 Princesses slowly cruise down the river to set moorings against the river bank and they move to another spot every day. They do not travel huge distances so do not expect that. They are also not allowed to moor or go on the Batswanan side of the river. The only excursions offered were the village visit or tender trips: fishing was not offered to our boat. These limited activities did not bother us at all but might disappoint others.

From the Princess you get in tenders which cruise down the river spotting whatever you can along the way. Each trip was different. We saw many birds, kudu, impala, crocodiles, hippos etc from the water. The highlight was watching many elephants walking along the riverbank at sunset and then swimming across the river for better feeding. Taking advice from previous reviews I had requested, and received, the photographic boat which has 6 fixed spaces for cameras although several were not working. We had a lovely trip the afternoon we joined and we stayed out for sunset. The next day we had an early morning trip, back for breakfast and then another trip afterwards with a further trip in the afternoon/evening. On the morning of departure the Princess slowly cruised back to the home mooring and we were off the boat at around 10am.

The guides were knowledgeable and respectful of the wildlife (unlike some others on the river!). The boat staff were lovely and around when needed but not obtrusive. The food was very tasty indeed and wine and beer plentiful.

The Princess has a small plunge pool on the front deck which was wonderful for dangling our toes in to cool down. There is a generous seating area inside as well as on the outside deck. Numerous books and games were available.

We really enjoyed our stay, it was relaxing, it suited us and was a great way to begin this holiday." See all these reviews: 16n in Botswana; 2n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

7 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

2 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr J & Ms J
Devon

"The highlight of our trip"

2 nights Arrived 18 Jul 2018
"As soon as we stepped onboard we were overwhelmed with the warmth and brightness of the boat and the friendly, efficient and friendly service of the staff, led by Robert. The rooms were bright and airy, with very good hot showers. The food was excellent. We saw a lot of birds and other wildlife on our morning and evening boat trips and they were expertly and safely guided. We were in a less populated area of the Chobe river, so there were not so many boats, which made the experience so much more enjoyable. We did the village walk, which was interesting, and participated in the compulsory dancing! Also unsuccessfully tried tiger fishing off the small boat.
Overall, I cannot recommend this experience highly enough, we shall certainly return." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia; 5n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr P M & family
UK

"Chobe Princesses review"

2 nights Arrived 21 May 2018
"This was a very nice way to spend a couple of nights at the end of our holiday. The boat itself was comfortable and the staff very good. We felt the rooms, particularly the bathrooms and toilets, needed some refurbishment and the boat looked a little 'tired'. The only activity provided was boat trips by small tender along the Chobe River bank - this became a little predictable.

We weren't offered any other activities, such as fishing from a smaller boat. We suspect that because there was a larger group of seven AustralIans aboard the activity was centred on what they wanted and we were expected to tag along. We didn't see a lot of game on the riverbank but this was not an issue as we had already seen plenty in the Delta. The high water levels also restricted the movement of some of the wildlife - we were told that large herds of elephants regularly cross the river when the water level is lower.

Having said that, the bird life was exceptional and the scenery and sunsets spectacular.l" See all these reviews: 8n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Showing 1-10 of 61
96%
61 reviews of Chobe Princesses by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
51
8
2
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Botswana

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Botswana.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Chobe National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Muchenje Safari Lodge

Muchenje Safari Lodge

One of our favourites in the area, Muchenje is a small, welcoming lodge at the quieter, western end of the Chobe Riverfront.


96% (166 reviews)
Garden Lodge

Garden Lodge

Overlooking the Chobe River, the intimate Garden Lodge is a haven of tranquillity away from the bustle of Kasane.


96% (56 reviews)
Savute Safari Lodge

Savute Safari Lodge

Savute Safari Lodge sits on the banks of the Savuti Channel within Chobe National Park, and offers access to excellent game viewing, especially during the dry season.


94% (35 reviews)
Chobe Under Canvas

Chobe Under Canvas

This is a typical location for Chobe under Canvas, a small, semi-permanent camp in the Chobe Riverfront area that offers good value for money and high standards of care.


100% (22 reviews)
Savute Under Canvas

Savute Under Canvas

A mobile camp with the comforts of a semi-permanent tented camp, Savute Under Canvas offers guided game drives within the Savuti region of Chobe National Park.


95% (21 reviews)
Chobe Safari Lodge

Chobe Safari Lodge

Chobe Safari Lodge is a good value, hotel-style lodge in the heart of Kasane offering game drives, boat cruises and fishing trips.


84% (18 reviews)
Chobe Elephant Camp

Chobe Elephant Camp

Located in one of our favorite areas of Chobe National Park, Chobe Elephant Camp is a simple but well-appointed camp with a strong bush feel.


95% (16 reviews)
Chobe Game Lodge

Chobe Game Lodge

Chobe Game Lodge occupies an enviable riverfront location within Chobe National Park and boasts well-earned 'eco' credentials, as well as an excellent all-female guiding team.


87% (12 reviews)
Ngoma Safari Lodge

Ngoma Safari Lodge

With sweeping views across the floodplains of the Chobe River, Ngoma offers superb food and flexible safari activities.


100% (9 reviews)
Zambezi Queen

Zambezi Queen

The Zambezi Queen offers luxurious two- and three-night cruises along the game-rich Chobe River, including game viewing by small boat and 4WD as well as catch-and-release fishing.


96% (9 reviews)
Chobe Chilwero

Chobe Chilwero

On the periphery of Chobe National Park, Chobe Chilwero offers luxurious surroundings and excellent food, which complement superb game viewing on game drives and boat trips.


100% (3 reviews)
Savute Elephant Lodge

Savute Elephant Lodge

Savute Elephant Lodge is a luxurious camp on the banks of the now flowing Savuti Channel. This is a classic big-game area, although its location within Chobe National Park does limit the activities which are possible here.


100% (2 reviews)
Camp Kuzuma

Camp Kuzuma

Camp Kuzuma sits in the Kazuma Forest Reserve and is an excellent place to see elephant in particular. Away from the busier riverfront area of Chobe National Park this camp offers a luxurious base form which to explore this less visited region of northern Botswana.


100% (1 review)
Elephant Valley Lodge

Elephant Valley Lodge

Elephant Valley Lodge is a lovely camp in a beautiful setting – sit in its hide and watch the wildlife come to drink at the waterhole. Activities focus on boating and drives in Chobe which - although very busy, and a long drive from the lodge – is very rich in wildlife.


80% (1 review)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa