This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Khwai Tented Camp
Khwai Tented Camp
Khwai Tented Camp
Khwai Tented Camp
Khwai Tented Camp
Khwai Tented Camp

Reviews of Khwai Tented Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

32 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Khwai Tented Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jun-2018, 5 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Khwai Tented Camp.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

100% success

Cheetah

0% success

Wild dog

60% success

Elephant

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Buffalo

80% success

Giraffe

80% success

Spotted Hyena

80% success

Wildebeest

60% success

Sable antelope

33% success

Roan antelope

25% success

Aardvark

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Showing 21-30 of 32
Duration
Arrival date
Ms B & Ms L
New York

"Natural Beauty"

3 nights Arrived 26 May 2014
"The greeting when we arrived at Khwai was unforgettable, but I mustn't spoil the surprises!

Our guide, Essie, was determined to thrill and amaze us. When we first met, I mentioned all of the incredible animals that I had seen- lions, cheetahs, elephants, giraffes, sable, and more, but told Essie that I had not seen a leopard or a bush baby... By the end of the first day, I saw a magnificent leopard with eyes like fire. By the next night, the bush babies were hopping in the treetops! The following day we saw another leopard, unperturbed by us as she devoured an impala. There were more surprises as well- wild dogs and hyenas to name a few, and one night the hippos took over the entrance to our camp so we had to go in by the back route!

The tents were more basic than some of the over the top luxury camps, but we were always perfectly comfortable, with a deck overlooking the water with majestic birds of all shapes and sizes flying to and fro.

The staff were so warm, friendly and good natured, making us feel at home and bringing us into their world with song, dance and laughter. The highlight was the African dinner, with my favorite- pap and morogo! It was a warm, wonderful place and I am so happy that we had the good fortune to visit!" See all these reviews: 17n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr JF
NW London

"Khwai Tented Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 20 Apr 2014
"We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Khwai. The staff were wonderful and the accommodation was fun (though not for those who can't do without their creature comforts!).

The game sightings vastly exceeded our expectations - although supposedly a sub-optimal time of year (late April), in our 3 days we saw lion, leopard, elephant, hyena + pups, giraffe, hippo, zebra, monitor lizards, wart hog, several different species of antelope and many wonderful birds.

The only criticism (which only became apparent to us after visiting another camp) is that Khwai is a relatively small concession with several operators in the vicinity. Hence good sightings (e.g. hyena pups or a lion kill) rapidly attracted 5 or 6 vehicles. In addition, the area is not as visually attractive as that at, say, Kwara." See all these reviews: 6n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Average
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mr B Dorset
UK

"small more basic camp but very enjoyable"

3 nights Arrived 4 Nov 2013
"A small basic camp with small tents but again a really enjoyable stay.

The staff did everything to make our stay excellent." See all these reviews: 11n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
J & L
Santa Monica

"Best safari of our entire trip"

3 nights Arrived 19 Sep 2013
"What makes this place special are the people. It is a small camp--just six tents--so you really get to know the wonderful staff intimately. They join the guests for meals, so it feels like you are eating with family. Special kudos to Mercy, the camp manager, Kwest, the big boss, and Mwamo, our incredible guide. He has only been doing it for six months, but he is a complete natural at it.

Mention a type of animal you would like to see, and he seems to magically find one--in the pitch black dark, just by waving a flashlight into the bush. The entire camp sings a welcoming song upon your arrival, and wishes you off on departure with yet another song and dance.

We loved every minute of our stay." See all these reviews: 8n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs O
Atlanta

"Khwai Tented Camp"

2 nights Arrived 8 Sep 2013
"The tents, while small, were quite comfortable and contained all the necessary facilities. The bucket shower was a novelty and okay for a short stay.

The food was good and the staff was very friendly. Canaan and Abali (sorry if I misspelled that) helped my husband with his quest to learn some phrases in Setswana which he very much enjoyed.

The game viewing was good but our guide seemed to feel that he needed to get us to where the game was as quickly as possible and drove very fast over some bumpy tracks. I don't think the pressure came from us, we were quite happy to see any and all animals. A slower pace would have suited us just fine." See all these reviews: 13n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Family M
Phoenix

"Great place to begin"

2 nights Arrived 12 Jun 2012
"Khwai is a permanent tented camp with basic accommodations and great service. The tents had
modest beds with down comforters, flush toilet, bucket shower that they filled with water heated
over the fire, separate dining tent where they served surprisingly good meals. The staff met our
every need.

After landing at the Khwai airstrip, Pilot and MP took us on a great game drive on the way to the
camp. Since there were only five tents, my husband stayed with one of our daughters in one
tent and I stayed with our other daughter in another tent. We were zipped in at night and heard
lion growls, hyena laughs, and elephants strolling through camp to munch on the acacia pods.

A night game drive on our second night at Khwai we experienced many first sightings. Pilot would
stop the 4x4 vehicle at almost every sighting or when we asked to spend a bit more time.

We thought this was the perfect place to start our adventure in Botswana." See all these reviews: 10n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs M
Texas

"Great Safari at Kwhai Tented Camp"

3 nights Arrived 21 May 2011
"While the traditional East Africa tented camp is not for everyone, it was for us. We enjoyed the small size and personal attention of every staff member. For wild life viewing it was excellent and our guide, Pilot, was truly outstanding. You could tell he loved his job, the country and its wildlife, and worked hard to see that you got to see everything it offered--from watching leapord devour its kill in the tree on the night drive, to tracking that same leopard the next day, to tracking mama lion and her cubs--both day and night.

We saw a wide variety of mamals and birds too numerous to mention--but I photographed them all.

Food was excellent--prepared by the very capable Temptation, who had been trained in the culinary arts by Orient Express. She had to prepare her meals on a small four top gas stove stove and every meal was presented beautifully and hot. By the end of our three days we felt like part of their family.

Tent life was what we had expected from a previous trip on the Serengetti, and we always had hot water for showers and morning game drives--cold temperatures at night were made more comfortable by hot water bottles in bed. This was the first of 3 camps visited in Botswana, and for personal attention and devotion/skill of the guide/tracker, it was not exceeded." See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana; 4n in South Africa; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs S
Warks

"Great time at Khwai Tented Camp"

3 nights Arrived 4 Nov 2009
"We had 3 nights at Khwai Tented Camp in November 2009 - our second camp of 3 on this trip. We were picked up from the airstrip by our guide Pilot and driven 10 minutes to the camp, where we were greeted in song by the camp staff - a lovely welcome!

The camp is quite small (only 4 tents) and is quite different to the more typical permanent cabin type structures in other camps. It is, however, exactly what we were hoping for in that it is more basic and you feel closer to the animals and your surroundings. The tents are perfectly large enough for two substantial beds, bedside tables, storage chests etc. with a wash basin and flush WC in the adjoining 'room'. The outdoor bucket shower was perfectly adequate and provided plenty of water for the two of us to shower comfortably and the very willing staff would fill it up with hot water on request. A shaded area with chairs at the front of the tent was much appreciated during siesta.

The communal dining tent had 24 hour bar and tea and coffee areas, together with comfortable settee/chairs with coffee table and supply of books and magazines. Outside the dining tent was a fire area with seating and a hammock. The camp overlooked the River Khwai with a wooded area on the far side.

The camp staff were very efficient and friendly and could not have looked after us better. Nothing was too much trouble and we couldn't have asked for more. The food was absolutely magnificent - cooked by Thaelo and served by Joe. Without doubt the best food of our stay in Botswana - and the other camps were pretty good! Salvation and the other staff were pleasant, cheerful and very efficient. We wrote some very favourable comments in the guest book but were surprised to be told that the staff were discouraged from reading the book! I can't help thinking this is a bit short sighted.

The guiding was excellent - Pilot was very knowledgable and good company. We enjoyed game drives and a guided walk with him - game viewing was excellent - including lion, elephant, impala, kudu, leopard tortoise, giraffe, cheetah, hippo, leopard, zebra, side striped jackal, wildcat, baboon, buffalo, tsessebe, red lechwe, warthog, waterbuck, dwarf mongoose, spring hare, honey badger, vervet monkey, crocodile. Birds too were fabulous - far too may to list, but we were very happy to see such a variety.

We very much enjoyed Khwai Tented Camp and we would not hesitate to return." See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs VanZylrus
UK

"Camping at its best!!!"

3 nights Arrived 28 Sep 2009
"Maruska came up with the KTC and said, “This place is quite new to us but we are getting good feedback and hopefully you will like it, it is a bit like the camps used to be in the old days”. She was right and it really was a brilliant place.
This place was the highlight of our trip not least because of the enthusiasm of the Guide called Pilot and all the camp staff.
We were greeted with a beautiful welcoming song and dance and shown to our tent. Our tent was the first in a line of four semi permanent tents. Beautifully clean with a very comfortable bed, plenty of luggage space and the outside bucket shower!! Toilet and washbowl were in a separate section of the tent separated by a zip up tent wall!

Warm water was available for washing in the outside washbasins whenever we came back from a drive and first thing in the morning. The smell of wood smoke and the glowing fire at breakfast each morning and after the dinner was something to remember. The food was consistently excellent and always served with beautiful smiles from 'Open' the newly recruited waiter and Tilo the wonderful cook.
Pilot the guide was outstanding. We couldn't praise him highly enough and was the best we encountered during our entire trip. His enthusiasm was never ending- for a man who has been in the business for 22 yrs! He would make new roads through the bush to track leopards and his tracking instincts were amazing!!

His enthusiasm was such that when we found 2 leopards he took even more photos than us!! Time was never a problem and he gave us that luxury of being able to spend as much time as we wanted with the animals. These 3 nights here in many ways made our trip. Maruska, very well done and thanks for getting us here." See all these reviews: 8n in Namibia; 8n in Botswana; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs I
Austria

"lovely stay being spoiled at kwhai"

3 nights Arrived 30 Jul 2009
"We spent three-nights at Kwhai tented camp and were spoiled rotten from the first to the last minute by the friendly and competent staff. Everyone went out of their way to make us feel at home and our needs were catered for at all times.

The tented rooms are smaller than in Linyanti Bush Camp, but nevertheless extremely comfortable. The lack of running water and electricity in the camp simply adds to the experience! We always had plenty of hot water whenever we needed it and the bucket showers were just great. The food and service at mealtimes were excellent too.

The game drives were a real treat with our guide Pilot. Polite, friendly, extremely knowledgable and a whole lot of fun, he enabled us to see lions on three different occasions, spend around an hour observing and then following a cheetah and then shortly afterwards to see a leopard.

Game was generally easier to spot in the Kwhai area than it had been in our previous camp in Linyanti because of more open areas and Pilot certainly helped us get "our money's worth" with his skill.

If you are travelling in July make sure you do bring some warm clothes as it certainly does get chilly after sundown and stays so until well into the morning. The warm ponchos provided for the game drives and the hot-water bottles in the beds were great!

The only negative comment is that we were asked to sign a form in which we exonerate African Bush Camps from any responsibility even in the case of gross negligence. The wording needs to be changed here." See all these reviews: 6n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 21-30 of 32
95%
32 reviews of Khwai Tented Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
24
8
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Botswana

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Botswana.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Moremi Game Reserve

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Botswana Private Mobile Safari

Private Mobile

The Botswana Private Mobile Safari has no fixed location; it's exclusive to your group and comes with a top professional guide. Expect comfortable camping, great food, and a superb wildlife experience wherever you decide to go.


100% (38 reviews)
Xigera Safari Lodge

Xigera Safari Lodge

Located deep in Botswana's Okavango Delta, Xigera Camp normally focuses on mokoro excursions and motorboat trips, with 4WD game drives when water levels permit.


98% (35 reviews)
Xakanaxa

Xakanaxa

Xakanaxa Camp is a well-established traditional camp beside a huge lagoon within the Moremi Game Reserve, with access to some superb game viewing.


89% (33 reviews)
Machaba Camp

Machaba Camp

Overlooking the Khwai River to Moremi Game Reserve beyond, the classic Machaba Camp combines comfort with excellent game viewing.


91% (30 reviews)
Sable Alley

Sable Alley

Smart, independent and well-run, Sable Alley overlooks a beautiful, hippo-filled lagoon within the diverse Khwai Private Reserve.


95% (22 reviews)
Okuti

Okuti

Okuti Camp has an innovative design and offers game drives and boat trips in a beautiful, game-rich part of Moremi Game Reserve.


94% (17 reviews)
Mombo Camp

Mombo Camp

Mombo is one of Botswana's most exclusive safari camps, set in a beautiful, remote location within the Moremi Game Reserve and with exceptional game densities.


100% (9 reviews)
Chief's Camp

Chief's Camp

Chief's Camp is situated on Chief's Island, within the Okavango Delta's Moremi Game Reserve. Experience one of Botswana's top game-viewing areas by 4WD and mokoro.


93% (8 reviews)
Little Mombo

Little Mombo

One of Botswana's top safari camps, Little Mombo stands on the north side of Chief's Island, in the heart of the Okavango Delta's Moremi Game Reserve.


97% (6 reviews)
Little Machaba

Little Machaba

Overlooking the Khwai River and Moremi Game Reserve beyond, Little Machaba is a classically designed camp with very comfortable tents in a great game-viewing area.


80% (5 reviews)
Hyena Pan

Hyena Pan

Fairly rustic, and relatively inexpensive, Hyena Pan overlooks a natural waterhole that attracts an almost constant parade of animals.


88% (5 reviews)
Camp Moremi

Camp Moremi

Camp Moremi lies within the Moremi Game Reserve, in one of the best locations for game viewing in Botswana.


100% (5 reviews)
Skybeds

Skybeds

Situated in a private reserve close to Moremi Game Reserve, Skybeds offers a simple yet wonderful opportunity to sleep under the stars and watch wildlife from your bed.


80% (4 reviews)
Sango Safari Camp

Sango Safari Camp

Sango offers comfortable tented accommodation, without some of the frills often found in Botswana's camps, with an area that's scenic and gets excellent, consistent game sightings.


100% (1 review)
Khwai Bush Camp
No reviews yet
Khwai River Lodge

Khwai River Lodge

Khwai River Lodge is a luxurious and well-equipped safari camp, on the northern edge of Moremi Game Reserve. This area isn't exclusive, but it is beautiful and has excellent game.


No reviews yet
Tuludi

Tuludi

Tuludi is a brand new luxury camp, within the Khwai Private Reserve, built on a site under giant leadwood trees and overlooking the Okavango Delta floodplains.


No reviews yet
The Jackal & Hide

The Jackal & Hide

The Jackal & Hide camp is located in the Khwai Private Reserve – which borders the Moremi Game Reserve and Chobe


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa