This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Mushara Bush Camp
Mushara Bush Camp
Mushara Bush Camp
Mushara Bush Camp
Mushara Bush Camp
Mushara Bush Camp
Mushara Bush Camp
Mushara Bush Camp
Mushara Bush Camp
Mushara Bush Camp

Reviews of Mushara Bush Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

236 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Mushara Bush Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 12 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Mushara Bush Camp.
Lion

64% success

Leopard

27% success

Cheetah

40% success

Giraffe

92% success

Wildebeest

92% success

Zebra

92% success

Elephant

91% success

Oryx

91% success

Eland

56% success

White Rhino

44% success

Black Rhino

36% success

Spotted Hyena

33% success

Brown Hyena

11% success

Aardvark

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Roan antelope

0% success

Sable antelope

0% success

Showing 31-40 of 236
Duration
Arrival date
raedrian
Canada

"Good stay at Mushara Bush Camp"

2 nights Arrived 17 Apr 2017
"This resort has a more traditional look to its spacious cabins which were spread out on the grounds giving privacy and character.

The food was very good, the staff generally good but a few seemed to need some guidance from their colleagues.

The safaris were in Etosha Park but game was somewhat sparse due to the unusual heavy rains keeping game away from the traditional water holes...no fault of the resort.

A good value resort in a good location." See all these reviews: 22n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mrs B
Gabriola Island

"Mushara review"

3 nights Arrived 13 Apr 2017
"The camp was great, food excellent, staff helpful. But the only reason to go here is to experience Etosha, the camp doesn't have really its own interest points.

Luckily Etosha was superb on most of our visits to it, but otherwise this would not have worked for our group." See all these reviews: 21n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr B
Chiswick

"Mushara Bush Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 10 Apr 2017
"This was one of our favourite places. The lodge area was lovely and the permanent tents were very well designed. It could not have been a more family friendly place. The staff were exceptionally obliging and went out of their way to entertain our 8 year old niece who was charmed. The food was some of the best we had.

Our guide, Imelda, was exceptional. We said that we wanted to see a black rhino and she worked extremely hard to find one and spotted one at a great distance while driving the car! Although it was far away it was easy to see with binos and a real treat. She also found a pride of lions who had recently feasted. She was extremely knowledgeable on birds as well as mammals, it was a privileged to be out with her." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs P
Seattle

"Great stay at the Mushara Bush Camp!"

1 night Arrived 5 Apr 2017
"We had a wonderful one night stay at the Mushara Bush Camp. Upon entering the grounds, we finally saw our first warthogs of the trip! The cute little guys were grazing on the front lawn as we entered the well-designed and welcoming reception and dining area.

The food, particularly dinner, was quite good and we were very pleased with our room, that was a perfect blend of inside/outside space. We enjoyed that the bathroom area was enclosed and private, while the main living area had the option of being private and closed or open and well-ventilated. The fan in the room was also a useful addition.

We arrived around 2 PM and were able to squeeze in an afternoon game drive. Given the short notice, the camp was great in accommodating us and finding us a guide as they were already very busy that afternoon. The drive itself was not the best as the game during this time of year was sparse, except for giraffe and antelope. To fill the time, we attempted to ask our guide questions about the park itself as well as the bird life, but he did not provide a lot of information and his answers were brief. This was a little disappointing, but altogether, we were just happy to be out on a drive in Etosha.

The only other thing worth noting is that we did not get to experience the pool, but it looked lovely. It seemed to be a great attraction for those looking to spend part (or all) of the day relaxing with friends or family." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs M
Chiswick

"Comfortable stopover just outside Etosha"

2 nights Arrived 29 Mar 2017
"Mushara offers a lovely setting some 20km outside Etosha park, with a thatched main building and tented rooms lying off a path that meanders through the bush. There is a comfortable pool area for relaxing, and wild animals sometimes wander through the grounds.
However, unlike many camps, there are no views to be had. What's more the front desk service was so laid back as to be almost invisible. On arrival there was a gentle attempt to sell us a guided tour in the park, but we declined and were unsure whether in fact the camp would have provided it or contracted it out. Of the six camps we stayed at, this was one of the two that were least 'must do', simply because it lacks views or other activities. If I were going again, I would investigate alternatives that might have a bit more 'energy' and be closer to the Park itself, and that offer what looks like a convincing guided tour.
Chris' Bradt guide book says most people self-drive in the park but our experience was that it was hard to find animals after an unusually wet rainy season, and hard to spot them as we drove through; we wondered if in fact staying within the park (in order to be able to make an earlier start before the gates open) and using a guided tour would have been a better bet." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr J
Luanda

"Mushara Bush Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 22 Mar 2017
"Kid could play and enjoy
Staff very friendly
A lot of mosquitos during dinner ....free mosquito cream should have been provided
Shower far from swimming pool" See all these reviews: 8n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Ms & Mr KF
London

"Awesome lodge just outside Etosha"

2 nights Arrived 21 Mar 2017
"Really enjoyed bush camp. We had the best meal of our trip here- very tasty.

The rooms were simple but effective and a lovely mix of canvas and permanent. The pool area was lovely.

The staff were very friendly. We had a lovely game drive here ( we did some ourselves but had one driven too)

I would love to come back here." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs & Mr C-J
BC

"Mushara Bush Camp review"

1 night Arrived 14 Mar 2017
"This was our introduction to African Lodges and we were so impressed and delighted with the personal reception and the time taken to introduce us to the Lodge, its facilities, meals, services, and our accommodation.

Mushara is advertised as Family Friendly and, as a past primary teacher, I was very impressed with the playground and toys they had readily available for children.

The staff went above and beyond what was required to acquaint us with Park procedures and they even renewed our weekly cell for us.

Our stay was just overnight so we did not do any of the Activities provided." See all these reviews: 7n in Namibia; 6n in Botswana; 3n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs K
Kitchener

"Beautiful and great safari! "

2 nights Arrived 5 Jan 2017
"Mushara Bush Camp was a dream! The staff is so kind and helpful. We had a fantastic tented chalet, and they left us a treat and note congratulating us on our wedding (it was our honeymoon). The chalet got a bit hot during the day, but that was okay because they had a wonderful pool to lay by and beat the heat!
The food was excellent, we especially liked the BBQ night!
We did a half day safari through them, our driver was knowledgeable and helped us see many animals including elephants, giraffes and zebras! It was a lot of fun!" See all these reviews: 7n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs S
Toronto

"A beautiful place"

2 nights Arrived 22 Dec 2016
"Mushara Bush Camp is a beautiful place. We loved the verandah where breakfast, lunch, and dinner were served.

We loved our drives from the camp to Etosha National Park." See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 31-40 of 236
94%
236 reviews of Mushara Bush Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
177
50
8
1
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Etosha National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

Set within Etosha National Park, Okaukuejo Camp is a large, well-equipped restcamp, with a productive floodlit waterhole.


83% (641 reviews)
Halali Camp

Halali Camp

Halali is a large, government-run restcamp in a convenient central location inside Etosha National Park.


79% (319 reviews)
Ongava Tented Camp

Ongava Tented Camp

Built around a waterhole Ongava Tented Camp offers good service, delicious food, comfortable rooms, easy access to Etosha and wildlife in camp.


93% (146 reviews)
Ongava Lodge

Ongava Lodge

Ongava is a smart lodge with fantastic views that offers a range of driving and walking safaris on its own reserve, and guided drives in Etosha.


92% (144 reviews)
Dolomite Camp

Dolomite Camp

Opened in 2011, Dolomite Camp allows visitors access to the far west side of Etosha National Park, which was previously off limits to most visitors.


86% (94 reviews)
Mushara Lodge

Mushara Lodge

Not far from the entrance to Etosha, Mushara Lodge offers comfortable and tastefully decorated rooms in a convenient location for exploring the park.


92% (85 reviews)
Namutoni Camp

Namutoni Camp

Centred on an old fort, the government run Namutoni Camp is located just inside Etosha National Park, close to Fisher's Pan.


82% (82 reviews)
Onguma Tented Camp

Onguma Tented Camp

Onguma Tented Camp is a lovely, little tented camp which centres around an attractive waterhole a short drive from the Von Lindequist Gate to eastern Etosha.


92% (80 reviews)
Onguma Bush Camp

Onguma Bush Camp

For great wildlife viewing without breaking the bank, the affordable and understated luxury of Onguma Bush Camp could be perfect.


93% (77 reviews)
Hobatere Lodge

Hobatere Lodge

To the west of Etosha National Park, on the edge of Damaraland, Hobatere Lodge offers good game-viewing on its own reserve.


90% (67 reviews)
Mushara Outpost

Mushara Outpost

Mushara Outpost is a comfortable, stylish lodge, and a good base from which to explore nearby Etosha National Park on your own or with a guided safari.


93% (55 reviews)
Onguma Tree Top Camp

Onguma Tree Top Camp

For a bird’s eye view across African bush, the stilted rooms at Onguma Tree Top are truly special.


97% (42 reviews)
Onguma The Fort

Onguma The Fort

The Fort is the jewel in the crown of the Onguma lodges, and arguably the whole of eastern Etosha.


95% (36 reviews)
Onguma Etosha Aoba

Onguma Etosha Aoba

From its woodland setting on the Onguma Reserve, Etosha Aoba is within easy striking distance of Namibia’s flagship national park.


89% (32 reviews)
Taleni Etosha Village

Taleni Etosha Village

Only 4km from Etosha's southern entrance, Taleni Etosha Village is an affordable base from which to explore the park.


93% (26 reviews)
Etosha Safari Lodge

Etosha Safari Lodge

A short drive from Etosha National Park's southern entrance, Etosha Safari Lodge is a convenient base from which to explore the park.


84% (24 reviews)
Etosha Safari Camp

Etosha Safari Camp

Funky, low-key and very original, Etosha Safari Camp is well placed for visiting Etosha National Park on a self-drive or guided safari.


87% (23 reviews)
Little Ongava

Little Ongava

The beautifully located and luxurious Little Ongava is a stunning place to stay in order to explore Etosha National Park and the private Ongava Reserve.


97% (23 reviews)
Safarihoek Lodge

Safarihoek Lodge

In the middle of the Etosha Heights Reserve, Safarihoek Lodge offers comfortable accommodation and excellent game-viewing.


95% (22 reviews)
Mokuti Etosha Lodge

Mokuti Etosha Lodge

With 106 rooms, child-friendly Mokuti Etosha Lodge is more like a hotel than a lodge. Facilities to include a gym, spa, tennis courts and even a snake park.


92% (10 reviews)
Mountain Lodge

Mountain Lodge

In the heart of the Etosha Heights Reserve, Mountain Lodge offers the chance for game drives and bush walks away from some of the crowds of Etosha.


97% (7 reviews)
Andersson's at Ongava

Andersson's at Ongava

With game drives on both its private reserve and in Etosha, Andersson's at Ongava also offers access to the Ongava Research Centre.


100% (5 reviews)
Etosha Garden Hotel

Etosha Garden Hotel

Safari in Etosha National Park Namibia, whilst based at the nearby Etosha Garden Lodge.


60% (4 reviews)
Vreugde Guest Farm

Vreugde Guest Farm

Vreugde Guest Farm is a delightful owner-run and working sheep farm where you can expect a warm welcome and charming hospitality.


95% (4 reviews)
Villa Mushara

Villa Mushara

Villa Mushara offers luxury in a peaceful and isolated location. It is a good choice for honeymooners & those wishing to indulge themselves.


93% (3 reviews)
Toshari Lodge

Toshari Lodge

Safari in Etosha National Park Namibia, whilst based at Etosha Gateway Lodge.


80% (1 review)
Onkoshi Camp

Onkoshi Camp

Onkoshi Camp is owned and run by Namibia Wildlife Resorts. Built on elevated wooden platforms it overlooks Etosha Pan.


No reviews yet
Etosha Oberland Lodge

Etosha Oberland Lodge

A short drive from Etosha National Park's southern entrance, Etosha Oberland Lodge promises a convenient base from which to explore the park.


No reviews yet
Safari House

Safari House

The private Safari House on the Etosha Heights reserve is a great option families or friends travelling together.


No reviews yet
Etosha King Nehale

Etosha King Nehale

A short drive from the national park’s northern entrance, Etosha King Nehale Lodge is an interesting and comfortable base from which to explore the park.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa