This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Pension Palmquell
Pension Palmquell
Pension Palmquell

Reviews of Pension Palmquell

Wildlife sightings and reviews

9 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Pension Palmquell and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 1-9 of 9
Duration
Arrival date
Ms M
Colorado

"Pension Palmquell review"

1 night Arrived 3 Aug 2019
"Pension Palmquell was a beautiful facility. We loved the peaceful gardens that we passed through on our way to our room. The breakfast was a delicious assortment of cereal, bread, meat, cheese and fruit plus made to order eggs.

The location is great. It was only about 45 minutes from the airport. After we arrived and unpacked and went to Spar, a nearby grocery store. It was well stocked so we were able to pick up a variety of snacks and water.

We would highly recommend Joe's Beerhouse for dinner. They have a wide range of game meat and local beers. Our hotel called a cab to take us there and the restaurant had a shuttle to take us home so we could enjoy our cocktails.

We were grateful for the advice you gave us on tipping! We felt confident in tipping the people that watch the car while parked even though they gave us attitude. It was also helpful for tipping the taxi drivers, hotel staff and guides." See all these reviews: 6n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs D
Southampton

"Pension Palmquell review"

1 night Arrived 30 Oct 2014
"A perfect location for a first night stop, in a quiet residential area, with easy access from the airport.

A bonus, was the excellent evening meals they offer 6 days a week (excl. Saturday).

There is a small supermarket close by to stock up with a few supplies." See all these reviews: 20n in Namibia; 3n in Botswana; 1n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Excellent
Dr J & Ms G
UK

"Pension Palmquell review"

1 night Arrived 6 Aug 2014
"A great place – very elegant, welcoming and warm staff, lovely garden.

My husband had dinner at their restaurant which he pronounced one of the best of the holiday. It was in a lovely area too." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr F & Ms G
Surrey

"Pension Palmquell overnight Saturday"

1 night Arrived 8 Mar 2014
"Restaurant closed on Saturday evening, but several excellent alternatives are within easy walking distance, especially O Portuga - wonderful garlic gambas and huge portions!.

Checkers supermarket nearby is open all weekend." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Mr M & co
Portugal

"Pension Palmquell review"

1 night Arrived 8 Sep 2012
"Great breakfast but the facilities in general are a little to labyrinthical for my taste" See all these reviews: 6n in Namibia; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Average
Mr D & Mrs S
Wilts

"Idea 1st stop over"

1 night Arrived 25 Oct 2011
"Easy to locate after a long journey from UK.

Made very welcome and staff aware that the trip was our anniversary and asked if we had any special requests." See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Family R
Brighton

"Pension Palmquell review"

1 night Arrived 28 Jul 2010
"This was a very nice place to spend our first night in Namibia. It was easy to find from the airport and easy to find our way back to after driving into the centre of Windhoek for dinner.

There was a room safe, an electric gate at the entrance and there was a man sitting near the gate keeping an eye on things at night so we felt very safe and secure. (not that Windhoek felt unsafe!).

Our room was clean and comfortable and we liked the garden with its flowers and tall trees.

There was a nice buffet breakfast on offer as well as eggs and bacon cooked to order." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mrs B & friend
Bodmin

"Pension Palmquell review"

1 night Arrived 30 Oct 2008
"The room was clean, but lacked any style and could have been anywhere in the world - shame that because it was set in lovely gardens.

The management on the day we arrived seemed disinterested and were more interested in talking to each other rather than us.

The breakfast was very good." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs R
Norfolk

"Final stop"

1 night Arrived 22 Aug 2008
"We have fond memories of this place as an emergency sanctuary after our first visit to Namibia. (when we arrived 36hours late due to a damged plane) We were not disappointed. The rooms are luxurious, well-equipped and surrounded by lush gardens. The hosts are welcoming and attentive. It is a shame this was only an overnighter before flying home. This is our top place to stay in Windhoek." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia; 7n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Showing 1-9 of 9
89%
9 reviews of Pension Palmquell by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
5
3
1
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Windhoek

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Olive Grove

Olive Grove

In a quiet Windhoek suburb, Olive Grove is one of our favourite guesthouses: stylish, with a friendly, welcoming atmosphere and excellent food.


88% (339 reviews)
Galton House

Galton House

Galton House is a cool stylish sanctuary in a quiet suburb of Windhoek with a pool and restaurant.


90% (147 reviews)
Elegant Guesthouse

Elegant Guesthouse

The Elegant Guesthouse is a friendly, comfortable establishment with a lovely, tranquil garden, and is a good choice for an overnight stay in Windhoek.


86% (124 reviews)
River Crossing

River Crossing

On a game reserve between Windhoek and the airport, River Crossing is a convenient yet relaxing place to start or end a trip.


82% (115 reviews)
Haus Sonneneck

Haus Sonneneck

Haus Sonneneck was one of Windhoek's best pensions just a few minutes' drive away from the city centre, however it has now closed.


86% (102 reviews)
Villa Violet

Villa Violet

Villa Violet is a friendly, owner-run guesthouse in a residential area of Windhoek, just a few minutes' drive from the city centre and numerous restaurants.


90% (99 reviews)
Hilltop Guesthouse

Hilltop Guesthouse

A long-standing favourite, the small, owner-run Hilltop Guesthouse is comfortable, smart and good value.


91% (55 reviews)
Heinitzburg Hotel

Heinitzburg Hotel

One of the oldest hotels in Windhoek, the Heinitzberg occupies a great hill-top location but can feel like a relic of a bygone era.


85% (40 reviews)
GocheGanas

GocheGanas

For somewhere to really pamper yourself, Gocheganas Lodge & Spa offers wildlife combined with extensive wellness treatments.


95% (37 reviews)
Olive Exclusive

Olive Exclusive

The Olive Exclusive is perhaps Windhoek's most luxurious boutique hotel but remains a friendly and unpretentious place to stay.


95% (33 reviews)
Etango Ranch Guest Farm

Etango Ranch G. Farm

Etango offers simple, clean, comfortable accommodation and it’s the closest accommodation to Windhoek International Airport.


88% (21 reviews)
Immanuel Wilderness Lodge

Immanuel Wild'ss Lodge

Within easy reach of Windhoek, Immanuel Wilderness Lodge is a good overnight option for those who don't wish to stay in the city.


81% (17 reviews)
Rivendell Guesthouse

Rivendell Guesthouse

Rivendell Guesthouse offers great value, relaxed accommodation in a homely atmosphere with helpful and extremely friendly staff.


89% (17 reviews)
Sun Karros Daan Viljoen

Sun Karros Daan Viljoen

Situated within the Daan Viljoen Nature reserve Sun Karros is a simple lodge with gentle game viewing and bird watching opportunities.


77% (15 reviews)
Avani Windhoek Hotel

Avani Windhoek Hotel

The Avani Windhoek Hotel and Casino lack the personal touch of Windhoeks smaller guesthouses but is well located in the heart of the city.


80% (11 reviews)
Hotel Thule

Hotel Thule

Windhoek’s Hotel Pension Thule offers stunning views across the city and a reputable in-house restaurant, within easy reach of the international airport.


91% (9 reviews)
Am Weinberg Boutique Hotel

Am Weinberg

In a quiet upmarket suburb of Klein Windhoek, the stylish Am Weinberg has a friendly, welcoming atmosphere and luxury facilities.


93% (3 reviews)
Omaanda

Omaanda

Omaanda offers luxury accommodation and wildlife viewing within easy reach of the international airport and Windhoek City.


100% (2 reviews)
Desert Express

Desert Express

The Desert Express runs from Windhoek to Swakopmund on set departures. Recently this schedule has been somewhat erratic.


80% (1 review)
Ti Melen Guest House

Ti Melen

Overlooking Avis Dam, Ti Melen is on the outskirts of Windhoek, yet only 10-minutes from the city's amenities.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa