This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Ubuntu Camp
Ubuntu Camp
Ubuntu Camp
Ubuntu Camp
Ubuntu Camp
Ubuntu Camp

Reviews of Ubuntu Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

23 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Ubuntu Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Feb-2019, 9 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Ubuntu Camp.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

89% success

Cheetah

88% success

Wild dog

13% success

Giraffe

100% success

Wildebeest

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Buffalo

89% success

Eland

89% success

Spotted Hyena

89% success

Elephant

88% success

Roan antelope

43% success

Hippo

38% success

Oryx

13% success

Aardvark

0% success

Black Rhino

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Striped Hyena

0% success

Showing 11-20 of 23
Duration
Arrival date
Lauren
California

"Excellent Mobile Camp Experience!"

3 nights Arrived 18 Sep 2015
"Ubuntu was the camp we were most nervous about, because it's a mobile camp that seemed to have the fewest creature comforts. Well, we were wrong, and had nothing to be concerned about- Ubuntu was an experience enjoyed by our group of 4. In fact, it was our Uncle's favorite camp of the entire trip!

The tents were well appointed and very clean, and it was incredible to us that even tho the camp doesn't have running water, the ability for us to take a hot shower and have flushing toilets was amazing. The staff was truly on call to be sure you could take a hot shower, use the bathroom sink, etc. We all felt like the staff at Ubuntu worked the hardest in the sense of providing a comfortable experience-- they heated the water and poured it into the buckets and faucets, they cooked food in the middle of nowhere in an amazing bush kitchen, etc. All camp staff worked hard throughout the trip, but Ubuntu staff set themselves apart making a comfortable experience while being truly off the grid.

Meals were delicious, and in fact our favorite meal of the trip was at Ubuntu- a roasted white fish with a delicious sauce. We are still talking about that fish!! Wildlife in this part of the Northern Serengeti was outstanding, with a wildebeest crossing, lions, leopard, and excellent birding.

The sunrises from the tent were the best we had- they have the tents perfectly positioned, and this was an incredible start to each day.

One sidenote that I know is addressed in Ubuntu's on site booklet-- we wish the camp would stop using firewood from the area immediately surrounding your camps. We enjoy campfires, but we’d give them up in a heartbeat to help preserve microhabitats.

We hope to return to Ubuntu one day, and wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to others!" See all these reviews: 12n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms Heidi
Chicago

"Outstanding Camp, Staff, Safari and Service"

3 nights Arrived 15 Sep 2015
"We LOVED Ubuntu Camp!!

As soon as we landed in the Serengeti we were met by the camp's manager who drove us to our safari open vehicle. It was amazing to get right into the game drive as they were waiting for the crossing! We were surprised we were on a shared drive vehicle as everything else had been private but it worked out. We had a full vehicle of 6 people with our guide.

Ubuntu Camp was an excellent experience, one we will never forget. This was a very good version of "glamping". We were in a zipup tent but had a flushing toilet and hot bucket shower. No complaints with the tent at all. The staff were so amazing at bringing us hot water to shower in and making sure we had clean water to brush our teeth and warm water to wash our faces. It was incredible. Every morning they would wake us up with our morning coffee right outside our tent as we watched the sun rise. Incredible service. We enjoyed the breakfast with the group every morning, the food was fantastic!!! The staff was so professional and completely on par to whatever any guest needed to drink, eat, etc. We felt like we were at the Four Seasons camping style.

We had an amazing time eating meals with the group, enjoying drinks and conversation by the fire and playing games in the main tent with the staff. We even got a tour of the bush kitchen, which was VERY cool!

On our final night at Ubuntu Camp, our safari guide drove us to this beautiful cliff in the Serengeti where the staff had set up a bar with drinks and appetizers for our group to enjoy the sunset. It was literally unbelievable. Upon returning from our final evening game drive, the staff had set up a beautiful private dinner in front of our tent. There was a little fire and candles everywhere. It was such a cool experience! This camp stops at nothing to ensure everybody has an amazing, unique time. We loved listening to the animals during the night, we never felt scared but just really enjoyed the experience.

We loved Ubuntu Camp and would recommend everybody to go and really live the bush life :)" See all these reviews: 8n in Tanzania; 6n in Seychelles; 2n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr P
Seattle

"Three night stay"

3 nights Arrived 24 Feb 2015
"Many problem was that the animals were not there (no fault of yours!) ands it was dry, arid and dusty because of lack of rain. They were not as attentive about keeping our plumbing filled up - ran our of shower water, toilet water, thermos water and sink water!

Really enjoyed the Masai village visit arranged by Goodluck and Fazo." See all these reviews: 10n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Average
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs S
E Sussex

"Ubuntu Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 14 Feb 2015
"This was by far the best camp we visited, the whole team at the camp were professional, friendly and we were made to feel part of a big family. In future if booking another safari Asilia camps would always be our first choice, we could not make a higher recommendation.

They also make a good birthday cake - thanks Anna !" See all these reviews: 9n in Tanzania; 7n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs C
Bristol

"Ubuntu camp"

4 nights Arrived 12 Feb 2015
"Ubuntu camp staff welcomed us warmly and we really enjoyed staying here.

The tent and bed were very comfortable. We had some minor water supply issues in the bathroom, but as soon as these were reported - Anna - the camp manager waved a magic wand and water was flowing normally again.

Catering was excellent, with generous picnics provided for lunches." See all these reviews: 12n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
MW&JS
UK

"Ubuntu Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 12 Feb 2015
"We requested a tented camp away from the crowds but within access of varied habitats and wildlife and Ubuntu delivered on both counts. Outside the Serengeti National Park itself but with access to lakes,rivers,woodland and the plains and with the freedom of off road driving this lovely camp sat at the edge of a series of rocky gullies overlooking the Ngorogoro Highlands.

On arrival we had lunch outside under the trees-the first of many imaginative and tasty meals - the best of the whole trip by far. Anna and her staff were all incredibly friendly and helpful. The tents were comfortable and lighter than those at Dunia -it was a joy to sit outside admiring the views and the sun birds visiting the acacia trees in bloom below the cliffs .Facilities for charging batteries are plentiful.

Breakfast starts at 6.30 unless you want to start earlier with a packed bush breakfast.

There was only one open vehicle in camp, which had already been allocated and though Merinje our guide explained the advantages of a closed vehicle (less dust for example) we remain unconvinced overall .For one thing i am too short to see through the roof opening and standing on the seats is not an option while moving and the side windows were hard to open and close.Fortunately we were the only occupants for most of the stay which lessened the feeling of being in a box.

While the purpose of our trip was to to see the migration and wildebeest calving ,the main herds had passed though earlier than usual and despite Merinje's heroic efforts, the nearest we got to a birth was a fresh placenta waiting for the vultures. Nevertheless we had great game and bird sightings. Highlights included watching the sun rise over nearby Lake Magadi with a flock of sacred ibis reflected in the water ,numerous Kori bustards in breeding plumage, ostriches with chicks, the courtship dance of Grey Crowned Cranes, magnificent male lions , leopard, eland , oribi , bouncing gazelles as well as the usual suspects .

The opportunity for a walking safari accompanied by two Masai was very welcome although no big game was sighted. On our last morning before driving to the airstrip we were offered the chance to make a bee-line for wild dogs which had been sighted some distance away ,out on the plains.After a hectic bumpy ride Meleji our Masai spotter was the first to see a small pack of well-fed wild dogs . A fitting end to a great 3 days ." See all these reviews: 10n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms M
Lethbridge

"Great Safari Location"

2 nights Arrived 6 Feb 2015
"This mobile camp is quite isolated and far from the safari crowds. We enjoyed the isolation away from other safari vehicles. Close to the camp we saw a troop of resident giraffes.

We appreciated the hot showers, very clean accommodation, free laundry and extra touches provided (ie. laundry soap, Q tips, bath robes, etc.). Everthing was kept in excellent repair. The food was very tasty and our best packed luches were from this camp.

All the staff were excellent and met all of our needs. The acting camp manager, Anna, was charming efficient.

If we came back to Tanzania we would love to stay here again. We wished we had planned to stay here longer." See all these reviews: 8n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
The Sand Martins
Oxon

"Amongst the wildebeest at Ubuntu"

4 nights Arrived 18 Sep 2014
"Ubuntu is a lovely bush camp with wide views across the northern Serengeti. We were surrounded by huge herds of wildebeest which "mooed" us to sleep each of the 4 nights we stayed there. The tent was very comfortable and there were bucket showers on demand. The camp is very well run by David, and the atmosphere was excellent. The food in the camp at Ubuntu was also excellent.

Our guide Goodluck was the best we had on this trip, and one of the very best guides we have experienced on our many safari trips in Africa: he could really "read the bush". We were fortunate to witness three spectacular crossings of the Mara river by wildebeest and zebras, virtually without any waiting around, and on one day we spotted a total of 33 lions in different prides." See all these reviews: 11n in Tanzania; 1n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs W
Texas

"Ubuntu Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 29 Aug 2013
"Great camp with wonderful guides who were very knowledgeable. We were assured of an open vehicle and did not receive same; however, it all worked out for the best and the vehicle we were in was acceptable for four people but would have been cumbersome for more than that number.

Everyone in our camp saw the rhino except for us as our driver for two days said it was either two far, too hot, or too late even though everyone was coming in for three days saying they had seen the rhino. We were assured we would see the rhino at Sayari as we would be there three days and it was in the area of the rhino where everyone was seeing it. Did not happen as we spent one entire day searching and one half of another. Our guide, Humphrey, gave it his best, but the rhino did not co-operate. This was our only disappointment." See all these reviews: 7n in Tanzania; 6n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Mrs B & Ms W
Surbiton

"Wildebeest calving season at Ubuntu"

2 nights Arrived 2 Feb 2013
"A long way from the airport but also a long way from other camps which gave us a feeling that we had the plains and the little wildebeest calves to ourselves.

For a mobile camp, the accommodation, facilities and food were all excellent. Our guide Makubi was enthusiastic, knowledgeable and fun, and Meleijahas our Maasai warrior was exceptional - spending time with him was a great experience and he spotted wildlife, particulalry cheetah, that were way in the distance." See all these reviews: 8n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 11-20 of 23
99%
23 reviews of Ubuntu Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
22
1
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Tanzania

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Tanzania.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Diving & snorkelling

Diving & snorkelling

Find captivating marine life beneath the waves

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Serengeti Migration Area

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Olakira

Olakira Camp

Comfortable, friendly and relaxed, Olakira Camp moves between the Mara River and the southern Ndutu area, in line with the wildebeest migration.


96% (73 reviews)
Sayari Camp

Sayari Camp

In the northern Serengeti, near the Mara River, luxurious Sayari Camp offers excellent wildife all year – boosted further by the wildebeest migration.


96% (62 reviews)
Nomad Serengeti Safari Camp

Nomad Serengeti Camp

Serengeti Safari Camp is a well-appointed tented camp that moves several times a year to follow the predicted path of the migration.


97% (55 reviews)
Dunia Camp

Dunia Camp

Dunia Camp is well located for the migration from December to March, and has excellent game viewing for the rest of the year.


94% (53 reviews)
Namiri Plains Camp

Namiri Plains Camp

Namiri Plains is one of the best camps in the Serengeti and its remoteness ensures a fantastic wildlife experience away from the crowds.


98% (44 reviews)
Lamai Serengeti

Lamai Serengeti

Set high in the kopjes with fantastic views, Lamai Serengeti offers top service and guiding and good migration sightings from Jul-Oct.


99% (37 reviews)
Kati Kati Camp

Kati Kati Camp

Kati Kati is a small, very simple bushcamp, which is well-positioned to explore the wildlife-rich Seronera area.


92% (24 reviews)
Ndutu Safari Lodge

Ndutu Safari Lodge

Large and economical, but not luxurious, Ndutu Safari Lodge is well located in the southern Serengeti, so book early to get space.


91% (15 reviews)
Alex Walker's Serian Serengeti

Serian Serengeti

Serian Serengeti is a mobile tented operation run by Alex Walker which moves between two locations following the wildebeest migration.


92% (13 reviews)
Klein's Camp

Klein's Camp

Klein's Camp, in a private area of the northern Serengeti, sets high standards. Activities include walks, nights drives and Maasai village visits.


98% (12 reviews)
Kimondo Camp

Kimondo Camp

Kimondo Camp is based in the remote Lamai Wedge in the northern Serengeti from Jul–Oct, and on the southern Kusini plains from Nov–Mar.


98% (11 reviews)
Serengeti under Canvas

Serengeti under Canvas

Two of the three Serengeti under Canvas camps move through the Serengeti National Park every few months to follow the wildebeest migration.


98% (11 reviews)
Grumeti River Camp

Grumeti River Camp

Grumeti River Camp offers a laid-back atmosphere combined with top service, first-rate food, expert guiding and an excellent location.


93% (9 reviews)
Lemala Kuria Hills

Lemala Kuria Hills

Lemala Kuria Hills is a luxury permanent camp that is ideally located for wildlife all year around, but especially during the wildebeest migration.


100% (8 reviews)
Lemala Mara-Ndutu

Lemala Mara-Ndutu

Lemala Mara-Ndutu is a semi-permanent camp that moves between the north and south of the Serengeti to witness the wildebeest migration.


100% (7 reviews)
Lemala Nanyukie

Lemala Nanyukie

Lemala Nanyukie is a stylish camp located in the quieter part of the central Serengeti.


100% (6 reviews)
Lemala Ewanjan

Lemala Ewanjan

Lemala Ewanjan is a comfortable and stylish tented camp in the Seronera area of the central Serengeti National Park.


97% (6 reviews)
Kubu Kubu

Kubu Kubu

Kubu Kubu is a contemporary, tented lodge, well located in the central Seronera area of the Serengeti National Park.


100% (5 reviews)
Lobo Wildlife Lodge

Lobo Wildlife Lodge

The large Lobo Wildlife Lodge has simple, functional rooms in a stunning location. It's a good base for exploring the north-eastern Serengeti.


72% (5 reviews)
Kusini Camp

Kusini Camp

Kusini Camp is permanent, luxury camp located on a beautiful kopje in a quiet, wildlife-rich corner of the south-west Serengeti.


65% (4 reviews)
Mbalageti Lodge

Mbalageti Lodge

Mbalageti is a well-run lodge in a quiet part of the Serengeti's western corridor – an ideal location during the Apr-Jun migration.


93% (3 reviews)
Serengeti Serena Safari Lodge

Serengeti Serena

The Serengeti Serena Safari Lodge is a large, hotel-style lodge and a good family-friendly base from which to explore the central Serengeti.


90% (4 reviews)
Serengeti Walking Mobile Camp

Serengeti Walking Mobile

This fairly simple camp offers only walking activities, but it's very well done and combines well with more conventional camps or lodges.


85% (4 reviews)
Serengeti Sopa Lodge

Serengeti Sopa Lodge

Serengeti Sopa Lodge is an international-style hotel offering good-value accommodation in the central Serengeti, with lovely views of the plains.


100% (3 reviews)
Singita Mara River Tented Camp

Singita Mara River

Singita Mara River Tented Camp is a luxurious camp in the isolated and rewarding Lamai wedge region of the northern Serengeti.


87% (3 reviews)
Serengeti Green Camp

Serengeti Green Camp

Serengeti Green Camp is a comfortable camping experience, in your own private safari camp and at the heart of a great wildlife area.


93% (3 reviews)
Serengeti Migration Camp

Migration Camp

Serengeti Migration Camp is a smart tented camp, good for the wildebeest migration from Jul–Aug, or to explore the Lobo Kopjes any time.


93% (3 reviews)
Mkombe's House Lamai

Mkombe's House Lamai

Mkombe's House Lamai is a fully staffed private house in the Wogakuria Kopjes district of Serengeti National Park.


100% (3 reviews)
Faru Faru Lodge

Faru Faru Lodge

On the north bank of the Grumeti River, Faru Faru is a small, chic hideaway in this exclusive corner of the Serengeti.


100% (3 reviews)
Sasakwa Lodge

Sasakwa Lodge

On a hill looking over the Serengeti plains, Sasakwa Lodge is grand, luxurious safari camp, one of the most opulent properties in Tanzania.


100% (3 reviews)
Kirurumu Migration Camp

Kirurumu Migration Camp

Kirurumu is a rustic tented camp which moves around the Serengeti twice a year to follow the wildebeest migration.


100% (2 reviews)
Sabora Tented Camp

Sabora Tented Camp

Sabora Tented Camp is a smart tented camp – one of the most luxurious, professional and stylish properties to be found in Tanzania.


100% (2 reviews)
Olmara Camp

Olmara Camp

With just eight guest tents, including two family tents and three signature stargazer tents, Olmara is a simple, family-friendly camp with a wonderfully attentive team. The camp captures an authentic bush experience, welcoming travellers of every kind.


100% (2 reviews)
Ndutu Kati Kati

Ndutu Kati Kati

Ndutu Kati Kati is a seasonal tented camp, based in the southern Serenget from Dec-Mar, ideal for the migration as it passes through.


80% (1 review)
Olduvai Camp

Olduvai Camp

Olduvai Camp lies between Ngorongoro and the southern Serengeti plains. It's a good base for the southern plains during the rainy season.


60% (1 review)
Serengeti Bushtops

Bushtops

Serengeti Bushtops is a permanent luxury camp in the northern Serengeti, with spacious and private tents with their own hot tubs.


100% (1 review)
Mara Mara

Mara Mara

Mara Mara is a smart tented camp in the northern Serengeti, situated on a small hill close to the Mara River.


100% (1 review)
Esirai Migration Camp

Esirai Migration Camp

A season migration camp, with only 8 tents and 1 family tent and plenty of character. Esirai is ideally placed for excellent wildlife and enjoys a simplistic and comfortable under-canvas experience.


80% (1 review)
Mwiba Lodge

Mwiba Lodge

Mwiba Lodge is a luxurious property located on a private concession on the edge of the southern Serengeti.


100% (1 review)
Nimali Mara

Nimali Mara

Nimali Mara is a luxurious safari lodge in a quiet region of the northern Serengeti with good access to the wildebeest migration.


100% (1 review)
Four Seasons Safari Lodge Serengeti

Four Seasons Serengeti

The Four Seasons Safari Lodge is the only hotel in the Serengeti offering international facilities such as a gym, spa and children’s club.


100% (1 review)
Lake Masek Tented Camp

Lake Masek Tented Camp

Ideally located for the wildebeest migration from Dec–Apr, Lake Masek Tented Camp is a good, mid-market safari camp.


100% (1 review)
Seronera Wildlife Lodge

Seronera Wildlife Lodge

Seronera Wildlife Lodge is large hotel-style safari lodge in the heart of the Serengeti, offering good value and a great location.


80% (1 review)
Mara Kati Kati

Mara Kati Kati

Mara Kati Kati is a simple bush camp in the northern Serengeti, based from Jul-Oct near the Mara River for the wildebeest migration.


No reviews yet
Nasikia Naona

Nasikia Naona

Naona Camp is a small tented camp, located in the Moru Kopjes, west of the Serengeti central area


No reviews yet
Kirawira Camp

Kirawira Camp

Set high on a hill, in the Serengeti's western corridor, Kirawira is a relatively large tented camp in the Serena group.


No reviews yet
Mbuzi Mawe

Mbuzi Mawe

Mbuze Mawe is a comfortable tented camp in a convenient, central-north location when driving through the Serengeti.


No reviews yet
Serengeti Pioneer Camp

Serengeti Pioneer Camp

Serengeti Pioneer Camp is a luxurious tented camp in the central Serengeti, styled on African explorers' camps of the early 20th century.


No reviews yet
Taasa Lodge

Taasa Lodge

Taasa Lodge is a slightly quirky option offering guided walks and night game drives, which are not permitted in Serengeti National Park.


No reviews yet
Nimali Serengeti

Nimali Serengeti

Opened in July 2017, Nimali Serengeti is a smart, permanent tented camp located in the Seronera area of the central Serengeti.


No reviews yet
Nomad Expeditionary Walking Camp

Nomad Expeditionary Walking Camp

Nomad Expeditionary Walking Camp is a simple camp of up to three tents, plus infrastructure, that changes location to allow guests to do substantial walks between campsites.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa