This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Kafunta River Lodge
Kafunta River Lodge
Kafunta River Lodge
Kafunta River Lodge
Kafunta River Lodge
Kafunta River Lodge

Reviews of Kafunta River Lodge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

41 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Kafunta River Lodge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jun-2018, 18 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Kafunta River Lodge.
Lion

94% success

Leopard

100% success

Wild dog

13% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Buffalo

88% success

Spotted Hyena

81% success

Eland

14% success

Wildebeest

13% success

Sable antelope

6% success

Aardvark

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Roan antelope

0% success

Showing 21-30 of 41
Duration
Arrival date
Mimi
Miami

"Kafunta River Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 5 Jun 2018
"See prior review.

[Ed: see below]" See all these reviews: 9n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mimi
Miami

"Great Safari Lodge and Chalets"

2 nights Arrived 1 Jun 2018
"Everyone at Kafunta was friendly, helpful and knowledgable. The chalets were so comfortable and the views from the rooms and the lodge unsurpassed! We loved the varied dining options at the Elephant Blind and the Tree house area. The pool and hot tub a real plus.

Our favorite was Three Rivers and the sleeping platform under the stars. T.J. (?) the manager there was a great host and all the staff were friendly and helpful. Our guide for most of the time was David and he was SUPERB!!

We especially appreciated his taking us to part of the Anglican church service and the Agricultural Service project in the village." See all these reviews: 9n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

6 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

3 sightings

Lion

10 sightings

Spotted Hyena

5 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mrs P & Mr K
Hamilton

"A truely special place"

4 nights Arrived 18 Apr 2017
"We fell under the spell of Kafunta River Lodge, and South Luangwa National Park and would love to return!

This is an incredible place with a stunning view over the river plain that takes your breath away.

We were there early in the season (April) so there was only one other couple at the lodge - we felt well and truly spoilt by the attentive and friendly staff.

The safari guiding (with Jarbis) was excellent and we had some amazing experiences despite it still being at the tail end of the rainy season - this was in no small part due to the knowledgeable guiding.

The food is great, lovingly made, and served on the deck overlooking the river." See all these reviews: 10n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs E
Belgium

"Absolutely excellent!"

1 night Arrived 16 Sep 2016
"I will just repeat what I said before:

We absolutely loved Kafunta River lodge! It was the last stop on our safari and also the best. Of course it was also the most expensive of our trip so one must take that into account. However we felt that Kafunta offered amazingly good value for money! I can't imagine what any of the more expensive lodges could offer more.

The pictures on the website don't do it justice, the place is just gorgeous. Especially the suites. The extra cost is limited (I think 50 usd pppn) and the rooms are just fabulous. So I would recommend anyone to upgrade if they are available, it is very much worth it. They are huge and offer wonderful views! They made up the upstairs daybeds for us one night to have a romantic sort of sleep out, so romantic!

The food was divine, the drinks delicious and very cold.

I cannot praise the staff enough! Everyone was incredibly friendly and exceptionally service oriented.

Highly recommended!" See all these reviews: 5n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs E
Belgium

"Absolutely excellent!"

2 nights Arrived 12 Sep 2016
"We absolutely loved Kafunta River lodge! It was the last stop on our safari and also the best. Of course it was also the most expensive of our trip so one must take that into account. However we felt that Kafunta offered amazingly good value for money! I can't imagine what any of the more expensive lodges could offer more.

The pictures on the website don't do it justice, the place is just gorgeous. Especially the suites. The extra cost is limited (I think 50 usd pppn) and the rooms are just fabulous. So I would recommend anyone to upgrade if they are available, it is very much worth it. They are huge and offer wonderful views! They made up the upstairs daybeds for us one night to have a romantic sort of sleep out, so romantic!

The food was divine, the drinks delicious and very cold.

I cannot praise the staff enough! Everyone was incredibly friendly and exceptionally service oriented.

Highly recommended!" See all these reviews: 5n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs F
Essex

"Excellent Safari at Kafunta Lodge"

4 nights Arrived 15 Aug 2016
"The location is amazing and the staff provided first class service. The Safari went beyond our expectation and this was in part due to our fantastic guide Andrew, whose knowledge of the wildlife was superb. We could not have asked for anything more - if we did I am sure it would have been provided!

The layout and the quality of the Lodge is exceptional. It is a first class venue that provided a first class experience. An amazing place to stay and a place recommended to experience and enjoy the wonders of Safari." See all these reviews: 4n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr R
Otley

"Amazing stay at Kafunta River Lodge"

3 nights Arrived 26 Jul 2016
"The service was excellent, with quality meals and beautiful accommodation.

The lovely reception area, with infinity pool and natural hot spa is perfect for relaxing between game drives as well as having meals.

With great views onto the plain there's always wildlife around to observe." See all these reviews: 5n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs M
New Mexico

"Amazing Safari at Kafunta River Lodge"

5 nights Arrived 20 Jul 2016
"I could not imagine that a safari adventure could be any better. Kafunta River Lodge is located next to a great lagoon, fed by the natural hot spring that feeds the spa. Every lodge has a great view of the river and the various wild life that comes to drink and lounge in the water. The deck where meals are served overlooks the lagoon and you have a wonderful view of the Hippo, Elephants, Giraffe, African Wild Dogs, Lions and what ever else happens to wander by.

The staff is first rate all the way and someone is always around to tend to your every need. The chef and staff prepared some of the best meals that you could ask for. The lodges are open and airy with a private deck that over looks the river.

We were very fortunate to have Martin for our guide for most of our stay. He can spot a wild dog a half mile away just from the white on the tip of it's tail. We saw almost every animal on our list of "hope to see" by the second day. The guides are very knowledgeable and are a wealth of information, although as good as he is I find it hard to believe that Martin can tell how many spots are on a leopard just by looking at the footprint. We saw Lions, Leopards, Elephants, Hyena, Wild Dogs, Giraffe, Eagles, Hippos, Antelope. Wild dogs making a kill, a leopard with a fresh kill, leopards during the day, leopards at night. If there was wildlife around than Martin would find it, he is amazing.

The staff are so much fun, you can tell that they all love the Luangwa Valley and do every thing they can to ensure that you have a good time.

Robert and Joan" See all these reviews: 8n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Dr W & Dr J
Victoria

"Kafunta River Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 8 Jul 2016
"See previous comments [Ed: see below]" See all these reviews: 14n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Dr W & Dr J
Victoria

"Kafunta River Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 4 Jul 2016
"Great location. Very friendly staff who looked after us very well.

In terms of overall safari experience there were a few too many safari trucks on game drives but that is in part probably due to price - you pay more for exclusiveness. Great variety of game.

the leopard chalet was extra special as was the lunch up the tree platform." See all these reviews: 14n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 21-30 of 41
96%
41 reviews of Kafunta River Lodge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
35
4
2
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zambia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zambia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in South Luangwa National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Tafika

Tafika

One of the best camps in Zambia, Tafika is naturally built, combining excellent service and food with top guiding skills for a superb wildlife experience.


98% (301 reviews)
Nkwali

Nkwali

On the banks of the Luangwa River, with its own access to the national park, the intimate Nkwali is open year round.


96% (221 reviews)
Kaingo Camp

Kaingo Camp

Small and owner-run, the riverside Kaingo occupies a a quiet but excellent game area, with a series of wildlife hides and a focus on photography.


97% (203 reviews)
Nsefu

Nsefu

One of the Luangwa's oldest camps, Nsefu is a great safari camp in a remote, beautiful and game-rich location with top-rate guiding.


98% (182 reviews)
Mwamba Bushcamp

Mwamba Bushcamp

Small, remote and owner-run, Mwamba offers first-class walking, 4WD safari drives and superb hides, with excellent guides and a real bush feel.


99% (145 reviews)
Tena Tena

Tena Tena

One of the Luangwa's best camps, in a beautiful, remote bush location, Tena Tena is very small, exceedingly well-run and has top-rate guiding.


95% (146 reviews)
Chikoko Tree Camp

Chikoko Tree Camp

Chikoko Tree Camp is an excellent small, rustic bushcamp that concentrates on walking safaris, and is run by a top-quality operation.


99% (113 reviews)
Big Lagoon Camp

Big Lagoon Camp

Big Lagoon Camp is a great little rustic bushcamp built to high standards that focuses on excellent walking safaris, with the emphasis on top wildlife guides.


98% (87 reviews)
Kapani Lodge

Kapani Lodge

Just on the south-east side of the national park, Kapani Lodge is the base camp for Norman Carr Safaris, one of the Luangwa's oldest safari operations. It's also a very solid safari camp that has retained lots of character, and runs very well indeed.


95% (78 reviews)
Flatdogs Camp

Flatdogs Camp

A relatively big safari camp, Flatdogs offers value for money with great guiding and good food in a comfortable, relaxed setting.


98% (72 reviews)
Mchenja Bushcamp

Mchenja Bushcamp

Set in a shady ebony grove on the banks of the Luangwa, Mchenja is a smart tented bushcamp. It combines well with Kakuli and Nsolo – its sister camps with a focus on walking safaris.


98% (66 reviews)
Kakuli Bushcamp

Kakuli Bushcamp

Beside the Luangwa River, Kakuli is a comfortable tented bushcamp offering 4WD safaris and walking safaris – the best of which are camp-to-camp walks linking Kakuli with its nearby sister camps.


97% (65 reviews)
Luangwa River Camp

Luangwa River Camp

Luangwa River Lodge is a small and consciously stylish lodge in the Mfuwe area, overlooking the Luangwa River and the South Luangwa National Park beyond – an area renowned for great game.


96% (65 reviews)
Nsolo Bushcamp

Nsolo Bushcamp

Nsolo is a small, comfortable bushcamp overlooking one or two pools in the usually dry Luwi riverbed. It concentrates on walking safaris in an interesting and diverse area, led by a knowledgeable guide.


97% (54 reviews)
Luwi Bushcamp

Luwi Bushcamp

In a remote part of the South Luangwa National Park, Luwi is a rustic bushcamp whose emphasis is on walking safaris with great guiding and a chance of seeing some rarely seen and elusive antelope.


93% (38 reviews)
Robin Pope Safaris bush-camp

Robin Pope bush-camp

RPS bushcamping in South Luangwa National Park, Zambia


99% (28 reviews)
Lion Camp

Lion Camp

Lion Camp is an established and comfortable camp with a swimming pool, located near to the game-rich Lion Plain in the northern part of South Luangwa National Park.


94% (25 reviews)
Robin Pope Safaris Mobile Safari Camp

Robin Pope mobile

RPS mobile safari camps are at the heart of their set-itinerary walking safaris in South Luangwa National Park, which start and finish at a permanent camp.


98% (23 reviews)
Kapamba Bushcamp

Kapamba Bushcamp

In the remote far south of South Luangwa National Park, Kapamba is a small and very comfortable bushcamp offering good walks and game drives.


95% (19 reviews)
Puku Ridge

Puku Ridge

Puku Ridge is a luxurious designer camp set in a stunning location, high on a hill overlooking a floodplain within South Luangwa. Explore from here on 4WD safaris and walks.


96% (17 reviews)
Mfuwe Lodge

Mfuwe Lodge

In a game-rich area close to the South Luangwa’s main Mfuwe Gate, Mfuwe Lodge is relatively large by park standards, but it’s stylish, modern and family friendly.


94% (16 reviews)
Kuyenda Bushcamp

Kuyenda Bushcamp

Kuyenda Bushcamp is a classic bushcamp with particularly delightful hosts and offers top-class walking safaris in South Luangwa National Park.


99% (15 reviews)
Luangwa Safari House

Luangwa Safari House

Luangwa Safari House is a vast and very smart four-bedroom house specifically designed for families and small groups, and offering an exclusive and flexible safari experience.


100% (14 reviews)
Chinzombo

Chinzombo

Opened in early June 2013, Chinzombo offers luxurious and stylish accommodation with very high levels of service and excellent guiding.


98% (13 reviews)
Bilimungwe Bushcamp

Bilimungwe Bushcamp

A smart bushcamp with four very spacious chalets, Bilimungwe offers interesting walking safaris in pretty riverine woodland, as well as day and night safari drives.


95% (12 reviews)
Chindeni

Chindeni

Chindeni Bushcamp is a very modern and minimalist camp, which is a far cry from your traditional bushcamp and unlike most of the other camps in South Luangwa.


97% (12 reviews)
Three Rivers Camp

Three Rivers Camp

In the remote far south of South Luangwa National Park, Three Rivers Lodge is being constructed by the confluence of three of the valleys rivers.


95% (11 reviews)
Kawaza Village

Kawaza Village

Kawaza Village – beside the South Luangwa National Park, offers guests the rare opportunity to appreciate local village life. Visit for a few hours or stay overnight.


95% (11 reviews)
Robin's House

Robin's House

With your own expert guide, private vehicle, chef and valet, the two-bedroom Robin's House offers an exclusive, flexible safari experience – and is open year round.


95% (11 reviews)
Island Bush Camp

Island Bush Camp

Island Bushcamp is a good-value, rustic, walking-only camp, in arguably one of the most remote parts of the South Luangwa, well away from all other camps.


100% (10 reviews)
Mwamba Camp-out

Mwamba Camp-out

The Mwamba-Camp Out allows you to have an incredibly adventurous night in the bush, sleeping under mosquito nets with activities led by some of the best guides in Zambia.


92% (5 reviews)
Chamilandu Bushcamp

Chamilandu Bushcamp

A very comfortable little bushcamp, Chamilandu has a picturesque setting by the Luangwa River, with a range of habitats that can be explored on foot and by 4WD, day and night.


100% (5 reviews)
Zungulila

Zungulila

Zungulila is a small, comfortable tented bushcamp with an emphasis on walking safaris, in the remote southern section of the South Luangwa.


93% (3 reviews)
Chichele Presidential Lodge

Chichele Lodge

Chichele Presidential Lodge stands within the park on a hill with superb views. Its hotel-like, air-conditioned rooms and child-friendly attitude make it ideal for families or those who don't want to get too close to the bush outside.


100% (1 review)
Luwi Riverbed Sleepout

Luwi Riverbed Sleepout

For an adventurous night in South Luangwa National Park, come and sleep out in the bush, around a campfire, with an experienced guide and game scout.


100% (1 review)
Shawa Luangwa Camp

Shawa Camp

Due to open in June 2020, we’re expecting Shawa Luangwa Camp to be a small, intimate and rustic camp, with a good location in a remote section of the South Luangwa National Park.


100% (1 review)
Mapazi Camp

Mapazi Camp

Mapazi Camp is a basic safari camp in the far north of the South Luangwa, with walking safaris led by renowned guide Deb Tittle.


No reviews yet
Chikunto Safari Lodge

Chikunto

Chikunto Safari Lodge is a new property in Zambia's South Luangwa National Park, sitting on a peninsula of land created by the meandering Luangwa River.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa