This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Kafunta River Lodge
Kafunta River Lodge
Kafunta River Lodge
Kafunta River Lodge
Kafunta River Lodge
Kafunta River Lodge

Reviews of Kafunta River Lodge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

41 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Kafunta River Lodge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jun-2018, 18 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Kafunta River Lodge.
Lion

94% success

Leopard

100% success

Wild dog

13% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Buffalo

88% success

Spotted Hyena

81% success

Eland

14% success

Wildebeest

13% success

Sable antelope

6% success

Aardvark

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Roan antelope

0% success

Showing 31-40 of 41
Duration
Arrival date
Miss D & Mr P
USA

"Great Safari at Kafunta River Lodge"

2 nights Arrived 6 Sep 2015
"We had a wonderful stay at Kafunta River Lodge. Beautiful lodge, lovely staff, excellent food and amazing game viewing. The only minor inconvenience we encountered was the lack of electricity after 10 PM due to load shedding.

I'm not sure there's much they can do to remedy this, but we did enjoy having power after 10 PM at another lodge we visited that ran on solar panels and batteries." See all these reviews: 5n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mrs & Mr C
Bath

"Kafunta River Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 28 Sep 2014
"Same comments as my earlier review (24-26th September) apply. [ Ed: see below! ]" See all these reviews: 7n in Zambia; 7n in Malawi
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Mrs & Mr C
Bath

"Lovely time at Kafunta"

2 nights Arrived 24 Sep 2014
"Kafunta River Lodge has a lovely position. All chalets overlook a flood plain, so you can watch animals from your viewing deck. We even had a visit from some lions one evening.

The staff, management, guides and support staff, are all extremely attentive and do everything they can in order to make your stay enjoyable. We saw all the animals we wished for, even wild dogs, twice.

My only reservation about Kafunta is that this stretch of the park, the Mfuwe section, has become quite busy, especially around the bridge area" See all these reviews: 7n in Zambia; 7n in Malawi
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms U & Ms S
London

"Kafunta - again!"

2 nights Arrived 10 Sep 2014
"Another happy time on our return from the bush camp.

[Ed: See below for their comments on the first stay here, earlier in this trip.]" See all these reviews: 9n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms U & Ms S
London

"Kafunta"

4 nights Arrived 3 Sep 2014
"Very friendly and comfortable lodge. The service and local staff were wonderful but we found the female managers at times overbearing and controlling. We loved the way that most of the service staff were local - they were fun, engaging and informative. Even the night guards were friendly and fun to talk to.

We had drives with 4 of the guides and found them all to be experienced, knowlegeable and very focussed on giving us the best experience possible. They picked up on our particular interests very quickly and showed us everything we wanted to see.

We loved the pool and the hot tub and we were very happy in our rooms." See all these reviews: 9n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr H & Miss M
UK

"Kafunta River Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 28 Jun 2014
"See my previous comments on Kafunta. [Ed: see below.]" See all these reviews: 14n in Zambia; 4n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr H & Miss M
UK

"Beautifully located safari lodge."

3 nights Arrived 23 Jun 2014
"Well-managed lodge with prospects of even more development under the current management. We received great assistance when we arrived without our main luggage due to problems at Heathrow Airport and every effort was made to ensure that our stay was as comfortable as possible - including a free upgrade to a Suite.

There is a genuine concern to ensure that guests' needs and wishes are met and the manager (Alex) is a good communicator.

We loved the location and enjoyed interesting, exciting game drives during which we saw a wide range of animals and birds. The standard of guiding was good." See all these reviews: 14n in Zambia; 4n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr P & Ms F
Stirling

"Kafunta, Our first experience"

3 nights Arrived 12 Sep 2013
"Our first Lodge on our first safari. We liked everything and everyone.

High points were the views from the lodge, this is better than it looks in the photos. Also the evening drives, which cross the Luangwa either by pontoon, or in our case by driving through the river!

We saw Leopard on our first evening, Lions on a kill (and the arrival of the Vultures), a sleeping Elephant and spectacular sunsets from highground.

The staff and Guides were friendly and helpful. Of especial note were Keith the Operations Manager (get him talking about his early days of conservation work) and Josephat for his knowledge, patience and sense of humour." See all these reviews: 9n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr F & Mrs B
Dorset

"fine experience especially guides and drives"

4 nights Arrived 9 Sep 2013
"From arrival at Mfuwe. welcome to departure, staff were relaxed, welcoming, ready to share their knowledge, give us time. Staff at camp endorsed this in their availability, friendship and genuine interest in giving us the best possible.

In retrospect I think three nights would have given us enough drives, and a necessary extra night at Kabwe, but we elected to do as our agreed itinerary.
Excellent to have company of staff at meals. We saw so many animals on the first trip that we wondered if that would mean disappointments later. Not so. Food was very good, accommodation all we could have expected and more. Setting was a delight. Silences were a bonus." See all these reviews: 9n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs B
Sevenoaks

"Great Safari at Kafunta"

1 night Arrived 8 Sep 2013
"After 2 nights in the Island Bush Camp we returned to Kafunta to find that we had been upgraded to a luxury chalet, and enjoyed a fabulous room and bathroom with private elevated deck. Here we were able to have relax in privacy after drives, continuing to watch animals all around us.

At Kafunta guests are divided into groups for safaris and meals, and eat with their guide. This gives a great opportunity to talk to the guides about the wildlife - and about their lives in Zambia. Lunches were excellent, cold chicken etc and salads, which were brought to the table and we served each other. Evening meals were served plated, but the food was often cold and a little disappointing. There was a long walk between the kitchen and the deck where we ate, and we wondered if it would not have been easier to serve from the side table on the deck.

The management team were friendly and welcomed us back from each drive. Their suggestion that we would enjoy 2 nights at Kafunta after the Island Bush Camp rather than before was a good one - we really appreciated the time in our chalet, which set us up well for the charity trip which followed our holiday." See all these reviews: 8n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Showing 31-40 of 41
96%
41 reviews of Kafunta River Lodge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
35
4
2
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zambia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zambia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in South Luangwa National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Tafika

Tafika

One of the best camps in Zambia, Tafika is naturally built, combining excellent service and food with top guiding skills for a superb wildlife experience.


98% (301 reviews)
Nkwali

Nkwali

On the banks of the Luangwa River, with its own access to the national park, the intimate Nkwali is open year round.


96% (221 reviews)
Kaingo Camp

Kaingo Camp

Small and owner-run, the riverside Kaingo occupies a a quiet but excellent game area, with a series of wildlife hides and a focus on photography.


97% (203 reviews)
Nsefu

Nsefu

One of the Luangwa's oldest camps, Nsefu is a great safari camp in a remote, beautiful and game-rich location with top-rate guiding.


98% (182 reviews)
Mwamba Bushcamp

Mwamba Bushcamp

Small, remote and owner-run, Mwamba offers first-class walking, 4WD safari drives and superb hides, with excellent guides and a real bush feel.


99% (145 reviews)
Tena Tena

Tena Tena

One of the Luangwa's best camps, in a beautiful, remote bush location, Tena Tena is very small, exceedingly well-run and has top-rate guiding.


95% (146 reviews)
Chikoko Tree Camp

Chikoko Tree Camp

Chikoko Tree Camp is an excellent small, rustic bushcamp that concentrates on walking safaris, and is run by a top-quality operation.


99% (113 reviews)
Big Lagoon Camp

Big Lagoon Camp

Big Lagoon Camp is a great little rustic bushcamp built to high standards that focuses on excellent walking safaris, with the emphasis on top wildlife guides.


98% (87 reviews)
Kapani Lodge

Kapani Lodge

Just on the south-east side of the national park, Kapani Lodge is the base camp for Norman Carr Safaris, one of the Luangwa's oldest safari operations. It's also a very solid safari camp that has retained lots of character, and runs very well indeed.


95% (78 reviews)
Flatdogs Camp

Flatdogs Camp

A relatively big safari camp, Flatdogs offers value for money with great guiding and good food in a comfortable, relaxed setting.


98% (72 reviews)
Mchenja Bushcamp

Mchenja Bushcamp

Set in a shady ebony grove on the banks of the Luangwa, Mchenja is a smart tented bushcamp. It combines well with Kakuli and Nsolo – its sister camps with a focus on walking safaris.


98% (66 reviews)
Kakuli Bushcamp

Kakuli Bushcamp

Beside the Luangwa River, Kakuli is a comfortable tented bushcamp offering 4WD safaris and walking safaris – the best of which are camp-to-camp walks linking Kakuli with its nearby sister camps.


97% (65 reviews)
Luangwa River Camp

Luangwa River Camp

Luangwa River Lodge is a small and consciously stylish lodge in the Mfuwe area, overlooking the Luangwa River and the South Luangwa National Park beyond – an area renowned for great game.


96% (65 reviews)
Nsolo Bushcamp

Nsolo Bushcamp

Nsolo is a small, comfortable bushcamp overlooking one or two pools in the usually dry Luwi riverbed. It concentrates on walking safaris in an interesting and diverse area, led by a knowledgeable guide.


97% (54 reviews)
Luwi Bushcamp

Luwi Bushcamp

In a remote part of the South Luangwa National Park, Luwi is a rustic bushcamp whose emphasis is on walking safaris with great guiding and a chance of seeing some rarely seen and elusive antelope.


93% (38 reviews)
Robin Pope Safaris bush-camp

Robin Pope bush-camp

RPS bushcamping in South Luangwa National Park, Zambia


99% (28 reviews)
Lion Camp

Lion Camp

Lion Camp is an established and comfortable camp with a swimming pool, located near to the game-rich Lion Plain in the northern part of South Luangwa National Park.


94% (25 reviews)
Robin Pope Safaris Mobile Safari Camp

Robin Pope mobile

RPS mobile safari camps are at the heart of their set-itinerary walking safaris in South Luangwa National Park, which start and finish at a permanent camp.


98% (23 reviews)
Kapamba Bushcamp

Kapamba Bushcamp

In the remote far south of South Luangwa National Park, Kapamba is a small and very comfortable bushcamp offering good walks and game drives.


95% (19 reviews)
Puku Ridge

Puku Ridge

Puku Ridge is a luxurious designer camp set in a stunning location, high on a hill overlooking a floodplain within South Luangwa. Explore from here on 4WD safaris and walks.


96% (17 reviews)
Mfuwe Lodge

Mfuwe Lodge

In a game-rich area close to the South Luangwa’s main Mfuwe Gate, Mfuwe Lodge is relatively large by park standards, but it’s stylish, modern and family friendly.


94% (16 reviews)
Kuyenda Bushcamp

Kuyenda Bushcamp

Kuyenda Bushcamp is a classic bushcamp with particularly delightful hosts and offers top-class walking safaris in South Luangwa National Park.


99% (15 reviews)
Luangwa Safari House

Luangwa Safari House

Luangwa Safari House is a vast and very smart four-bedroom house specifically designed for families and small groups, and offering an exclusive and flexible safari experience.


100% (14 reviews)
Chinzombo

Chinzombo

Opened in early June 2013, Chinzombo offers luxurious and stylish accommodation with very high levels of service and excellent guiding.


98% (13 reviews)
Bilimungwe Bushcamp

Bilimungwe Bushcamp

A smart bushcamp with four very spacious chalets, Bilimungwe offers interesting walking safaris in pretty riverine woodland, as well as day and night safari drives.


95% (12 reviews)
Chindeni

Chindeni

Chindeni Bushcamp is a very modern and minimalist camp, which is a far cry from your traditional bushcamp and unlike most of the other camps in South Luangwa.


97% (12 reviews)
Three Rivers Camp

Three Rivers Camp

In the remote far south of South Luangwa National Park, Three Rivers Lodge is being constructed by the confluence of three of the valleys rivers.


95% (11 reviews)
Kawaza Village

Kawaza Village

Kawaza Village – beside the South Luangwa National Park, offers guests the rare opportunity to appreciate local village life. Visit for a few hours or stay overnight.


95% (11 reviews)
Robin's House

Robin's House

With your own expert guide, private vehicle, chef and valet, the two-bedroom Robin's House offers an exclusive, flexible safari experience – and is open year round.


95% (11 reviews)
Island Bush Camp

Island Bush Camp

Island Bushcamp is a good-value, rustic, walking-only camp, in arguably one of the most remote parts of the South Luangwa, well away from all other camps.


100% (10 reviews)
Mwamba Camp-out

Mwamba Camp-out

The Mwamba-Camp Out allows you to have an incredibly adventurous night in the bush, sleeping under mosquito nets with activities led by some of the best guides in Zambia.


92% (5 reviews)
Chamilandu Bushcamp

Chamilandu Bushcamp

A very comfortable little bushcamp, Chamilandu has a picturesque setting by the Luangwa River, with a range of habitats that can be explored on foot and by 4WD, day and night.


100% (5 reviews)
Zungulila

Zungulila

Zungulila is a small, comfortable tented bushcamp with an emphasis on walking safaris, in the remote southern section of the South Luangwa.


93% (3 reviews)
Chichele Presidential Lodge

Chichele Lodge

Chichele Presidential Lodge stands within the park on a hill with superb views. Its hotel-like, air-conditioned rooms and child-friendly attitude make it ideal for families or those who don't want to get too close to the bush outside.


100% (1 review)
Luwi Riverbed Sleepout

Luwi Riverbed Sleepout

For an adventurous night in South Luangwa National Park, come and sleep out in the bush, around a campfire, with an experienced guide and game scout.


100% (1 review)
Shawa Luangwa Camp

Shawa Camp

Due to open in June 2020, we’re expecting Shawa Luangwa Camp to be a small, intimate and rustic camp, with a good location in a remote section of the South Luangwa National Park.


100% (1 review)
Mapazi Camp

Mapazi Camp

Mapazi Camp is a basic safari camp in the far north of the South Luangwa, with walking safaris led by renowned guide Deb Tittle.


No reviews yet
Chikunto Safari Lodge

Chikunto

Chikunto Safari Lodge is a new property in Zambia's South Luangwa National Park, sitting on a peninsula of land created by the meandering Luangwa River.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa