This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Khwai Tented Camp
Khwai Tented Camp
Khwai Tented Camp
Khwai Tented Camp
Khwai Tented Camp
Khwai Tented Camp

Reviews of Khwai Tented Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

32 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Khwai Tented Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jun-2018, 5 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Khwai Tented Camp.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

100% success

Cheetah

0% success

Wild dog

60% success

Elephant

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Buffalo

80% success

Giraffe

80% success

Spotted Hyena

80% success

Wildebeest

60% success

Sable antelope

33% success

Roan antelope

25% success

Aardvark

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 32
Duration
Arrival date
Mr&Mrs TGC
Oakville

"Khwai Tented Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 2 Jun 2019
"It was a nice change to stay in a tent rather than chalet cabins. The whole camp was a little more rustic but the creativity of the meal locations was lovely.

In the public Moremi Game Reserve, there was lots of game but no off-road driving was allowed, which was disappointing in terms of getting close to some of the animals. However, in the private concession area it was very crowded around attractions with up to 11 vehicles at one time. " See all these reviews: 11n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Buffalo

3 sightings

Elephant

5 sightings

Giraffe

5 sightings

Hippo

6 sightings

Leopard

3 sightings

Lion

3 sightings

Roan antelope

1 sighting

Sable antelope

1 sighting

Wildebeest

5 sightings

Zebra

5 sightings

Mr M
Stockport

"Khwai Tented Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 27 May 2019
"Lunches great. Afternoon tea fine. Dinners could be better, food not often hot which for 12 guests is rather surprising. Given the cost of the stay, a bottle of wine left on the table would be sensible, as many Americans (there were 6 in our group) commented on this being a frustrating procedure to wait for a top up.

Room was more than adequate with very comfortable beds, and good hot showers. Hot water flask much appreciated. Did suffer some kitchen noise, which would be frustrating if you wanted a lie in, but as we were up at 5.30 for game drives it was tolerable.

Uncle Ken was a great guide on the game drives, and enjoyed a joke, which is important when you are spending many hours together .

BB excelled on the Mokoro trip pointing out all the birds.

The visit ticked all the boxes, we wanted to see leopards, painted dogs(saw pack of 21 on two days) and malachite kingfisher, and we did. However, as reported, a leopard sighting comes with a whole convoy, we were first on one occasion so I got some good shots although it was rushed because the animal kept moving with the extra cars coming, the second sighting on another day was a scrum down not very edifying.

Wifi connectivity good in the office, was much appreciated.

Got a bottle of bubbly in the room on last night presumably for my special birthday.

Take a euro adapter as the South African adapter is too big (fortunately I checked this out beforehand and Tracy confirmed both would be useful for our entire trip).

Anyone thinking of going must be prepare for cold mornings and the inevitable African massage. Also getting there can be challenging, the internal direct flight is 25 minutes but you may drop off other people, so it could be longer. If you are tall getting to the front of the plane, because we were second off, it was extremely challenging as the ceiling is very low and little space between seats, I am 6’ 4”. Also if you are unlucky you may wait over an hour before Mack Air you fly you out, as happened to us, which when combined with a drop off meant we missed afternoon tea and when straight out on a 4 hour game drive with one initial drink and nothing then until a sun downer 3 hours later, this after a 4 am start in Windhoek.
" See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia; 3n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Sightings Report

Buffalo

2 sightings

Elephant

4 sightings

Giraffe

2 sightings

Hippo

4 sightings

Leopard

2 sightings

Lion

4 sightings

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Wild dog

2 sightings

Wildebeest

1 sighting

Zebra

2 sightings

Miss A.
Pulborough

"Khwai tented camp number two"

3 nights Arrived 26 Oct 2018
"Again we were well accommodated as requested with a tent nearest to the main tent and hot water jugs whenever we wished, much appreciated as tea addicts!

Staff were all very helpful and skilled, inevitably the guides take pride of place and are allocated for the stay, which is really helpful in every way. All the staff are well trained, very caring and friendly with a good sense of humour, which I am sure they need given the international range of visitors.

This camp was quite different to my expectations, as the web site has not been updated, so the tents were comparatively new, well furnished with modern equipment including re charging units in the tent, great except that the African 3 pin adaptor did not fit, but much more convenient to have an inhouse charging point.

We very much appreciated the fact that our wants and wishes were fully and unquestionably met whenever possible, ie which animals, details about plants , trees bushes etc We are both gardeners, so the amazing knowledge of the guide Action on all these matters was excellent and much appreciated.

We did drive past the village, but our hopes of visiting the village and school was not on offer, not sure if this was due to the relocated camp or not. We had indicated a desire to make local contact when we booked, but no negotiation seemed possible. A shame as we did not really like the idea of just being passing ships in the night, without at least meeting some locals who were in fact very near the camp." See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Elephant

2 sightings

Giraffe

1 sighting

Hippo

4 sightings

Leopard

3 sightings

Lion

1 sighting

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Zebra

2 sightings

Mr Greg M
USA

"Khwai Tented Camp August 18-21, 2018"

3 nights Arrived 18 Aug 2018
"Nice camp, minimal number of tents (6) but a bit too close together for our liking, in an attractive setting (although there was no visible surface water in the adjacent pools in front of the tents while we were there). Transport arrangements with Mack Air from/back to Maun were excellent. The staff paid good attention to detail, provided wonderful service and extras including a wonderful welcome, dinners served outdoors, in the boma, singing/dancing...all were very enjoyable. Wildlife drives (in new/beautiful/well maintained vehicles) were completed twice a day, with good emphasis to make sure all guests got to see highlight species (leopard, wild dogs, lions, hyena with pups, etc.) while also making an effort to see different parts of the area on each drive. Our guide was very knowledgeable/experienced and worked hard to give us great drives, though had a tendency to go for the "home run" photo location from the start, rather than work our way into position in a series of stops that allowed the animal some adjustment time....only cost us really one great opportunity on a lioness, who may not have been as habituated as the female leopard (Blue Eyes) to such activity.

We were last in the Khwai River area in 2007, at Khwai River Lodge, then owned by Orient Express and now by Belmond I understand. It was too large a camp (I recall 12 tents but now I learn they have 15!) and that is just too many for us to have a fly-in/wilderness experience. Overall, there seemed to be more human activity in the area, more vehicles patrolling around, numerous vehicles to a desired sighting in a very short time, large group of yellow-hatted individuals across the river one day on some sort of field outing, planes flying in/out of the airstrip on a frequent basis, Moremi reserve a bit run down/over used with baboons trashing mobile camp sites daily, etc. At one point in Moremi I took a picture of a lion that looked like the "Pied Piper" as there was a long line of vehicles following him or trying to get ahead of him (in a cloud of dust) that kind of ruined the experience and made us feel bad/uncomfortable and we pulled out (though we were the first ones to spot him) and went another direction. Given our numerous past trips to southern Africa, maybe we need to go further into the Delta next time...." See all these reviews: 3n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Buffalo

1 sighting

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

2 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

2 sightings

Spotted Hyena

2 sightings

Wild dog

2 sightings

Wildebeest

4 sightings

Zebra

5 sightings

Mr J
Ealing

"Felt like home in the wilderness"

3 nights Arrived 7 Jun 2018
"This was my first time in Africa, and a brilliant introduction. I was on a safari car ten minutes after my plane landed, and the very first thing I saw was a huge bull elephant not ten metres away. Less than an hour later we saw a pack of wild dogs hunting which was fascinating.

I can't list all of the wildlife encounters, but the highlights were leopards everyday, 2 x lion hunts, and the many, many close encounters with the elephants who are totally relaxed around humans. We saw a minimum of fifteen elephants a day.

My guide Sinka was an absolute professional who was confident in any situation, and found wildlife long before the other guides. He explained the complicated ecosystem to us, and was kind enough to take me on a night drive alone which was extremely exhilarating, included a serval sighting and also taught me a lot about hippo behaviour. The atmosphere in Botswana at night is tense and exciting, and I am grateful to Sinka for showing it to me.

The atmosphere at the camp itself is totally relaxed and only disturbed by elephant trumpeting, hippo grunting and songs in Setswana. All of the staff are members of the local community and know the area extremely well. My tent was remarkably comfortable, spacious and had all amenities provided including charging ports and USB. I had total privacy at all times and my own viewing balcony where I spent many hours watching and listening to the hippos who were about 100m away and partied all night long. The meals were excellent and served in a very personal manner at a dinner table by the fireplace under the stars until everyone was ready for bed. One thing to note - the staff live offsite, wake up at 4am and have a journey to and from the camp but are too polite to mention this, so please don't keep them up all night if you do visit.

Highlights of the camp itself were the Boma dinner, conversations with the staff especially Kennedy the host, and checking the sand outside the tent for footprints from nocturnal visitors. The camp is the perfect size to be luxurious while still being familiar and cozy, and is surrounded by atmospheric wilderness." See all these reviews: 6n in Botswana; 3n in Zimbabwe; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

1 sighting

Elephant

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

3 sightings

Lion

2 sightings

Spotted Hyena

3 sightings

Wild dog

3 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Prof V & Mr T
Oxford

"Great start to our holiday!"

3 nights Arrived 26 Mar 2018
"This was the first of four camps on our trip and got us off to a great start - after being picked up from the plane, we went straight out on a game drive and saw a leopard.

Our guide, Ken, had a great personality - really lively and friendly, as well as being very skilled at finding animals. The next day we saw lots of lions, including a pair mating; and on subsequent days we saw more leopards, and also some wonderful birds, including Verreaux's Eagle Owl.

The tents are lovely and we really enjoyed the food. The camp has a really fun and charming atmosphere. " See all these reviews: 11n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr J
Livingston

"Special welcome at Khwai Camp"

2 nights Arrived 30 Oct 2017
"We received a wonderful welcome by a group of the staff singing for us when we arrived!! (Wish we had gotten on video!! ) They also had evening entertainment with more singing at a special sit-down dinner. Very special. Food very good.

The Camp Management gave us a personal 50th Anniversary card and gift bottle of wine in our room! The Assistant Mgr. Kennedy was especially attentive and helped me have internet in the office.

The accommodations were great and well cared for. Always plenty of bottled water and insect repellent available.

Our Guide Mighty did very well and got us out extra early so we were successful in finding the Wild Dog pack! Great pictures." See all these reviews: 7n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr C
Knaresborough

"Khwai Tented Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 13 Sep 2017
"A beautifully positioned camp, with a great outlook. The staff were lovely and we enjoyed our stay here.

Due to the number of camps in the area and therefore the related number of vehicles, some of the game viewing felt more like a safari theme park, certainly compared to what we experienced at Lebala.

It was good to be able able to experience both game drives and mokoro trips from the same camp.

Our guide, Sinka, was very knowledgable and went out of his way to give us varied experiences, including tracking wild dogs." See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr J
Florida, USA

"The BEST!"

2 nights Arrived 2 Sep 2017
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr F
California

"Amazing Honeymoon at Khwai Tented Camp"

3 nights Arrived 13 Jul 2017
"I cannot speak highly enough about our experience at Khwai Tented Camp! From the moment we arrived to the moment we left, everyone worked tirelessly to make sure that we had an incredible experience. In particular, Ken was simply the best guide in the region. Every day, he set out to find certain rare animals (lions, leopards, wild dogs), and he never failed to deliver! But more than that, he would find the animals long before any of the other jeeps, so that we would have quality time with the animals before the hordes descended. I got the impression that other drivers were tracking Ken instead of the animals themselves.

Beyond the amazing wildlife we saw, though, the Camp also succeeded in making our stay incredible in a million little ways. The newly refurbished tents were lavish: an incredibly comfortable bed, a great shower, lots of little amenities, and a porch overlooking a hippo-filled river. And the staff were so attentive and considerate! In particular, Dudu really went above and beyond to plan a customized candlelight dinner for us to celebrate our honeymoon. But every member of the staff was incredible, and the food and wine never failed to impress.

I am struggling to think of something negative to say about our experience, but I simply cannot. This place is an absolute joy. " See all these reviews: 3n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 1-10 of 32
95%
32 reviews of Khwai Tented Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
24
8
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Botswana

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Botswana.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Moremi Game Reserve

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Botswana Private Mobile Safari

Private Mobile

The Botswana Private Mobile Safari has no fixed location; it's exclusive to your group and comes with a top professional guide. Expect comfortable camping, great food, and a superb wildlife experience wherever you decide to go.


100% (38 reviews)
Xigera Safari Lodge

Xigera Safari Lodge

Located deep in Botswana's Okavango Delta, Xigera Camp normally focuses on mokoro excursions and motorboat trips, with 4WD game drives when water levels permit.


98% (35 reviews)
Xakanaxa

Xakanaxa

Xakanaxa Camp is a well-established traditional camp beside a huge lagoon within the Moremi Game Reserve, with access to some superb game viewing.


89% (33 reviews)
Machaba Camp

Machaba Camp

Overlooking the Khwai River to Moremi Game Reserve beyond, the classic Machaba Camp combines comfort with excellent game viewing.


91% (30 reviews)
Sable Alley

Sable Alley

Smart, independent and well-run, Sable Alley overlooks a beautiful, hippo-filled lagoon within the diverse Khwai Private Reserve.


95% (22 reviews)
Okuti

Okuti

Okuti Camp has an innovative design and offers game drives and boat trips in a beautiful, game-rich part of Moremi Game Reserve.


94% (17 reviews)
Mombo Camp

Mombo Camp

Mombo is one of Botswana's most exclusive safari camps, set in a beautiful, remote location within the Moremi Game Reserve and with exceptional game densities.


100% (9 reviews)
Chief's Camp

Chief's Camp

Chief's Camp is situated on Chief's Island, within the Okavango Delta's Moremi Game Reserve. Experience one of Botswana's top game-viewing areas by 4WD and mokoro.


93% (8 reviews)
Little Mombo

Little Mombo

One of Botswana's top safari camps, Little Mombo stands on the north side of Chief's Island, in the heart of the Okavango Delta's Moremi Game Reserve.


97% (6 reviews)
Little Machaba

Little Machaba

Overlooking the Khwai River and Moremi Game Reserve beyond, Little Machaba is a classically designed camp with very comfortable tents in a great game-viewing area.


80% (5 reviews)
Hyena Pan

Hyena Pan

Fairly rustic, and relatively inexpensive, Hyena Pan overlooks a natural waterhole that attracts an almost constant parade of animals.


88% (5 reviews)
Camp Moremi

Camp Moremi

Camp Moremi lies within the Moremi Game Reserve, in one of the best locations for game viewing in Botswana.


100% (5 reviews)
Skybeds

Skybeds

Situated in a private reserve close to Moremi Game Reserve, Skybeds offers a simple yet wonderful opportunity to sleep under the stars and watch wildlife from your bed.


80% (4 reviews)
Sango Safari Camp

Sango Safari Camp

Sango offers comfortable tented accommodation, without some of the frills often found in Botswana's camps, with an area that's scenic and gets excellent, consistent game sightings.


100% (1 review)
Khwai Bush Camp
No reviews yet
Khwai River Lodge

Khwai River Lodge

Khwai River Lodge is a luxurious and well-equipped safari camp, on the northern edge of Moremi Game Reserve. This area isn't exclusive, but it is beautiful and has excellent game.


No reviews yet
Tuludi

Tuludi

Tuludi is a brand new luxury camp, within the Khwai Private Reserve, built on a site under giant leadwood trees and overlooking the Okavango Delta floodplains.


No reviews yet
The Jackal & Hide

The Jackal & Hide

The Jackal & Hide camp is located in the Khwai Private Reserve – which borders the Moremi Game Reserve and Chobe


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa