This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Khwai Tented Camp
Khwai Tented Camp
Khwai Tented Camp
Khwai Tented Camp
Khwai Tented Camp
Khwai Tented Camp

Reviews of Khwai Tented Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

32 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Khwai Tented Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jun-2018, 5 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Khwai Tented Camp.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

100% success

Cheetah

0% success

Wild dog

60% success

Elephant

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Buffalo

80% success

Giraffe

80% success

Spotted Hyena

80% success

Wildebeest

60% success

Sable antelope

33% success

Roan antelope

25% success

Aardvark

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Showing 11-20 of 32
Duration
Arrival date
raedrian
Canada

"Terrific African Tent Safari Experience"

3 nights Arrived 23 Apr 2017
"We arrived at this camp after extensive rains that limited access to some game areas but we still got plenty of game sightings with highlights being (close) encounters with wild dogs and leopards. On our last day, Gideon (our excellent driver/guide) managed to get us to some farther areas with some exciting river crossings.

The facilities were as promised, not luxurious but in keeping with traditional tenting camps from the past. Everything was clean and well kept. Only downside was that there was no electrical outlet in the tent for charging tablets/phones etc. However, there was a charging "station" in the dining/common room. Meals were in the open air and beautifully presented. The service was second to none, the staff was outgoing and eager to please.

We have been to much more luxurious resorts but we felt that here we were more in the "real Africa" and thoroughly enjoyed it." See all these reviews: 5n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mrs S
Brentford

"Khwai Tented Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 7 Nov 2016
"The tents although ensuite were fairly basic (about to close for rebuilding on another site closer to the river).

Delicious food, small and intimate setting, lovely staff. Excellent game drives, varied & abundant wildlife including leopards, wild dogs, and huge numbers of hippo!

We very much hope the staff who were so friendly and welcoming & mainly local, and were to be laid off due to closure of the camp, will be re-employed when the new camp opens." See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia; 8n in Botswana; 1n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr Ig
Mexico

"Great experience at Khwai Tented Camp"

3 nights Arrived 9 Jun 2016
"Understanding that the camp will be going through a major remodelling of all facilities by the end of the year, our overall experience was fantastic. We fully enjoyed our stay in a tented camp. Details like the warm water bottles in bed, and sharing meals with the staff made our stay even more enjoyable

Service was always attentive, on time, very polite and patient.

The safaris were unique, we had the opportunity to witness fantastic animal interactions. All guides in the camp were amazing, and the way they shared information on animal sightings was a very valuable addition to our experience.

Absolutely loved our guide: Partner Kadisa. He was always enjoyable, knowledgeable, patience, funny, attentive. He made our safari rides something very special.
Also enjoyed very much all the help, service and great conversations with Junior at Camp.

Overall absolutely great experience." See all these reviews: 3n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs C
Herts

"Khwai Tented - our favourite camp"

3 nights Arrived 8 Jun 2015
"We loved the intimacy of this camp.

There were only six people staying there at any time during our stay which meant plenty of attention for us. We found it a well organised camp with everybody keen to please. There was always food made especially for me (gluten free and dairy free).

Our guide, (Partner), was very special - he formed a good relationship with us and his tracking skills were excellent. We saw wild dogs for the first time which was a special moment for us all. The memory of the last night's meal out in the bush will remain with us for some time." See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr J
Arlington

"Khwai Tented Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 5 Oct 2014
"We enjoyed our stay at Khwai Tented Camp. The setting and scenery is quite stunning and a real contrast to the dryer conditions in and around Chobe. The camp itself is set right on the water of a marsh, which brings lots of animals around. The hippos can be seen all day and heard all night. The frogs also come out at night, creating such a unique setting. We were also lucky enough to see a leopard wander through the camp in the late evening after dark.

The accommodations are a basic tent with running cold water and electricity. The beds are comfortable and bucket showers are quite nice and refreshing. Everything was in working order for us, and we were satisfied with the service. The meals were full service and tasty. There was limited choice on the menu, though it wasn't a big problem for us because we are not too picky.

Our guide was very knowledgeable and did a great job finding the action for us. We were lucky enough to encounter a pack of wild dogs twice and even got to see them in action hunting and chasing after another pack. The area has a lot of water around, which makes the scenery really spectacular as well. And the remoteness of the area means you won't encounter many other vehicles. This gives a feeling of having the entire area to yourself." See all these reviews: 10n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Stefy & Carlo
Italy

"Relaxing stay on the Kwai"

4 nights Arrived 21 Aug 2014
"The camp is a very convenient location in the private concession still very close to the Moremi game reserve, where we went twice. The staff was nice and always tried to accommodate our requests.

Compared to the experience with Savute Under Canvas, the game drives tended to be a little bit crowded since they used to have 7 people on one vehicle. They always tried to make everyone happy that led to "flexible" time schedule (that is starting a little bit later) for game drives and we had to put it as a special request to leave at 6.30 am one morning to see the sunrise.

The area is very nice and we had good game viewing, but itineraries were always quite similar to each others, in a short range from the camp (main constraints were brunch and dinner timing). The tent was comfortable but missing a clothes rack or hangers, we requested a chair to use for that purpose.

The overall stay was nice and relaxing, a little bit less focused on maximizing game drives (that was our main interest) compared to the Savute Under Canvas." See all these reviews: 8n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Scott & Sue
USA

"Khwai was nice but not all that different"

3 nights Arrived 7 Jun 2014
"We had a nice time at Khwai after four days in Chobe and Savute. We had set our expectations on a few things: it's in the delta (meaning: water activities), outside Moremi Reserve (meaning: walking safaris, night drives, off-roading). While the staff really tried hard, we found that this experience wasn't as different from Chobe and Savute as we thought and the operation wasn't as top notch.

Activities: We couldn't do walking safaris because the grass levels were too high and the guides felt it was too dangerous. Understandable. Night drives were merely a continuation of the afternoon drive, which was a nice add-on but not an activity in and of itself. Off-roading allowed for some closeups that we couldn't get in the reserves, but was also an add-on rather than the bulk of an activity. As for water stuff, it was awesome being in a tent that's just a few meters from water where hippos are doing their thing around the clock. But otherwise, there wasn't much of a water element to the activities. We did a 1-hour mokoro cruise but it was more of a novelty than an actual activity.

While we were right outside Moremi, we never actually entered the park. Our guide is a local Khwai resident and suggested that we stick to the Khwai concession. He knows that terrain extremely well, but we couldn't help but wonder what if anything we might have missed in Moremi.

We really had expected some elements that didn't exist at the Chobe camps (e.g. walking, water activities) but those didn't materialize. We did have a chance to visit the Khwai village and meet our guide's family which was a nice change from non-stop game drives.

As for the staff, they were very friendly. Terry runs a great kitchen and the team did a great job prepping our gluten-free meals. Our room and laundry was great. But compared to &Beyond, we felt that there was a bit of finesse missing. The operation was well run, but not clockwork like we had been spoiled with at &Beyond. It lacked the military precision. We noted a lot of staff turnover while we were there (many staff work for 3 months at a time, then get 3 weeks off) so the teams were in a state of flux. We also noticed that the two game vehicles they had were sharing one spare tire. Each car should have two spare tires all the time. We also noticed that our guide's vehicle had radio trouble intermittently with no backup handset. It's the little things like this that stuck out.

Overall we felt there was some polish missing that we had expected at this price point! We brought this up to the camp management and they tried their hardest to make our remaining time memorable. The highlight was a bush dinner where it was just us in the wilderness. It almost felt like a scene from The Bachelor complete with song, dance, and candlelit dinner surrounded by rhinos and elephants!

I'm glad we had this experience at Khwai. Looking back, if we were to do this again, we'd probably combine Khwai with only one other land-based camp (rather than two), or we'd combine the other land-based camps with a true water-based camp deeper in the delta. Khwai offers a little bit of everything but we didn't feel that it excelled at one thing in particular." See all these reviews: 7n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs A
Edinburgh

"luck runs out at Khwai"

3 nights Arrived 6 Jun 2014
"After the excitement of the previous camps, Kwai turned out to be a bit of a damp squib. To be fair, I think we just ran out of luck here, and the wildlife experience, in contrast to the previous two camps, was rather pedestrian. Daniel, our guide, tried his best and the staff were helpful and friendly but we saw little in the course of the morning drives.

I think it needs to be said that the very early morning routine i.e. beginning the drives at 6am worked against us as the weather was so cold many animals had not emerged at this early hour. Starting game drives so early is fine in the summer when the temperatures rise quickly and the animals are most active in the relative cool of dawn and dusk, but in the winter this is not really an issue, and, as I said, can be inimical to great sightings. Camps should be more flexible in this regard and on cold mornings visitors could happily set out at 8 or 9am and get a better viewing experience in my view. Having said that, it was great to see the sun rising through the mists at Duba Plains.

The late afternoon drives were better and our highlight at Kwai was the hyena den where four youngsters had been whelped a few weeks previously. It was great to see these much maligned beasts playing with their cubs and showing a caring and gentle side to their natures.

On the winter note, the weather can be seriously cold overnight and in the mornings, so it's therefore important to take as much warm clothing as can sensibly pack in your suitcase. We did not pack enough despite Expert Africa's warning." See all these reviews: 13n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
U family
Saltash

"Friendly Khwai Tented Camp"

2 nights Arrived 6 Jun 2014
"Wonderful welcome by staff singing a Setswana song. Small, intimate, natural camp which allows you to experience bucket showers and campfire chats (meeting people from all over Europe and USA). Beauty is a lovely manager and Esse is an excellent guide.

At this camp, we probably had our best experience of close encounters with mainly sightings of individual animals: elephant, giraffe, kudu, lion, waterbuck, warthog, fish eagle and crocodile (on other side of water!). We had a very enjoyable 1/2 hour with a mother hyena and her cubs; literally 2m away. Good groups of red lechwe, impala and zebra; also dwarf mongoose, plus various large wading birds like Marabou, saddle-billed and gap-billed stork.

In June, the camp has enough water bordering it to support views of Hippos from your lodge veranda. We had an excellent sundowner, again with Hippos, allowing numerous photos to be taken at leisure, in stunning lighting." See all these reviews: 8n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs H
Surrey

"A highlight - Kwai Tented Camp"

3 nights Arrived 1 Jun 2014
"A real contrast to Savute Safari Lodge. We were given a warm welcome by the wonderful camp staff who sang and danced for us. Bucket showers - no problem, in fact better temperature and water pressure than many camps we stayed in. Food and ambience fantastic.

We stayed in Tent 1 overlooking the floodplain. The only thing we missed was somewhere to hang our clothes as there was no canvas wardrobe.

Our guide was Pilot who seems to be famous throughout Botswana. Our drives were divided equally between the Moremi Game Reserve and the Kwai Community Concession. A one-off was Pilot simulating a lion's roar and enticing 2 male lions to emerge from the bush. The noise from all 3 was unbelievable. The lions belonged to a pride of eleven. We were able to see them all including tiny triplet cubs.

On our first night a child in Kwai Village had been attacked by a leopard and Pilot was on a mission to find the cat. Five game drives later Pilot was confident we found the guilty leopard. He claimed he could tell from the way the leopard looked at him!

Other sightings included a spotted hyaena den with 3 females and 5 small cubs; and a real-life bush baby. Our send-off was as special as our arrival, only this time we joined in the singing and dancing.
" See all these reviews: 24n in Botswana; 7n in Mozambique; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Showing 11-20 of 32
95%
32 reviews of Khwai Tented Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
24
8
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Botswana

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Botswana.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Moremi Game Reserve

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Botswana Private Mobile Safari

Private Mobile

The Botswana Private Mobile Safari has no fixed location; it's exclusive to your group and comes with a top professional guide. Expect comfortable camping, great food, and a superb wildlife experience wherever you decide to go.


100% (38 reviews)
Xigera Safari Lodge

Xigera Safari Lodge

Located deep in Botswana's Okavango Delta, Xigera Camp normally focuses on mokoro excursions and motorboat trips, with 4WD game drives when water levels permit.


98% (35 reviews)
Xakanaxa

Xakanaxa

Xakanaxa Camp is a well-established traditional camp beside a huge lagoon within the Moremi Game Reserve, with access to some superb game viewing.


89% (33 reviews)
Machaba Camp

Machaba Camp

Overlooking the Khwai River to Moremi Game Reserve beyond, the classic Machaba Camp combines comfort with excellent game viewing.


91% (30 reviews)
Sable Alley

Sable Alley

Smart, independent and well-run, Sable Alley overlooks a beautiful, hippo-filled lagoon within the diverse Khwai Private Reserve.


95% (22 reviews)
Okuti

Okuti

Okuti Camp has an innovative design and offers game drives and boat trips in a beautiful, game-rich part of Moremi Game Reserve.


94% (17 reviews)
Mombo Camp

Mombo Camp

Mombo is one of Botswana's most exclusive safari camps, set in a beautiful, remote location within the Moremi Game Reserve and with exceptional game densities.


100% (9 reviews)
Chief's Camp

Chief's Camp

Chief's Camp is situated on Chief's Island, within the Okavango Delta's Moremi Game Reserve. Experience one of Botswana's top game-viewing areas by 4WD and mokoro.


93% (8 reviews)
Little Mombo

Little Mombo

One of Botswana's top safari camps, Little Mombo stands on the north side of Chief's Island, in the heart of the Okavango Delta's Moremi Game Reserve.


97% (6 reviews)
Little Machaba

Little Machaba

Overlooking the Khwai River and Moremi Game Reserve beyond, Little Machaba is a classically designed camp with very comfortable tents in a great game-viewing area.


80% (5 reviews)
Hyena Pan

Hyena Pan

Fairly rustic, and relatively inexpensive, Hyena Pan overlooks a natural waterhole that attracts an almost constant parade of animals.


88% (5 reviews)
Camp Moremi

Camp Moremi

Camp Moremi lies within the Moremi Game Reserve, in one of the best locations for game viewing in Botswana.


100% (5 reviews)
Skybeds

Skybeds

Situated in a private reserve close to Moremi Game Reserve, Skybeds offers a simple yet wonderful opportunity to sleep under the stars and watch wildlife from your bed.


80% (4 reviews)
Sango Safari Camp

Sango Safari Camp

Sango offers comfortable tented accommodation, without some of the frills often found in Botswana's camps, with an area that's scenic and gets excellent, consistent game sightings.


100% (1 review)
Khwai Bush Camp
No reviews yet
Khwai River Lodge

Khwai River Lodge

Khwai River Lodge is a luxurious and well-equipped safari camp, on the northern edge of Moremi Game Reserve. This area isn't exclusive, but it is beautiful and has excellent game.


No reviews yet
Tuludi

Tuludi

Tuludi is a brand new luxury camp, within the Khwai Private Reserve, built on a site under giant leadwood trees and overlooking the Okavango Delta floodplains.


No reviews yet
The Jackal & Hide

The Jackal & Hide

The Jackal & Hide camp is located in the Khwai Private Reserve – which borders the Moremi Game Reserve and Chobe


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa